Hipcamp host Amber S.
Hosted by
Amber has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.
PLEASE READ THIS ENTIRE LISTING BEFORE CALLING. Most of your questions can be answered this way.  Be sure to read all the rules upon booking. DO NOT BOOK THIS SITE IF YOU CAN NOT MAKE THE 5PM CHECK IN TIME. TAKE A SCREEN SHOT of the written directions here (bottom of your confirmation page). YOU WILL LOSE SERVICE ON YOUR WAY. Thank you!!


PLEASE READ THIS ENTIRE LISTING BEFORE CALLING. Most of your questions can be answered this way.  Be sure to read all the rules upon booking. DO NOT BOOK THIS SITE IF YOU CAN NOT MAKE THE 5PM CHECK IN TIME. TAKE A SCREEN SHOT of the written directions here (bottom of your confirmation page). YOU WILL LOSE SERVICE ON YOUR WAY. Thank you!!

TIPI SPECIFICS:   The floor of the tipi has the famous red sand common to this area.  Get grounded and feel the soft sand against your bare feet. There is room for 6 with plenty of room for gear and your sleeping bags and pads. This is an empty space with a dirt floor.  You will need to bring your own sleeping bags appropriate for the weather.

ABOUT OUR CAMPGROUND: The Needles District of Canyonlands National Park visitors center is only 1.5 miles away.  We are 1.5 hours from Arches and approximately 2 hours from Island in the Sky.  You do not need 4wd to get to our place.  Enjoy a beautiful wide open view of the Needles "hoodoo" rocks with the park only a stone's throw away. There is a bathhouse with warm showers and flush toilets.  There are several hiking trails in the area as well as bicycling & 4 wheel drive trails on BLM (public land).

This IS the Wild, Rustic, Dirty Desert, not for Everyone.  This is Camping & keep in mind this is a rugged camping experience not for the faint at heart. The desert is HOT in the summer and COLD in the winter, the weather is Unpredictable and you May experience our Wild storms...Monsoon season runs from July-August which is amazing if you are into photography. Be sure to bring proper gear for the rain (if we get any).

You may hear coyotes, see spiders, experience the annoying desert gnats at certain times of the day during the hotter summer season. You will want to bring bug spray, but if you forgot we do sell it in our camp store. If you stay with us you will get the experience of desert camping, wild, raw and rugged. It is an amazing experience to be had, with beautiful views and the feeling of freedom that is hard to find in more civilized and populated locations.

The rocks nearby are kid friendly, great for climbing and taking amazing photos of our fantastic views and gorgeous sunsets.

Hipcamp messages are the best way to reach us.  We are off the grid with POOR CELL PHONE RECEPTION. Messages are usually returned within 12 hours, however, during open hours you may not get an immediate response.

BATHHOUSE : There is a Bathhouse with Showers and Flush Toilets. Showers are with a Token and must be purchased during store hours. The bathhouse is shared with other campers and gets dirty. We are surrounded by red dirt. Toilets get clogged, it happens in any public bathroom. It is cleaned everyday. The bathhouse is under renovation.
Lodging provided
Canvas tent
1 site
Up to 6 guests per site
Park at listing
No ADA access
Toilet available
Pets allowed
No campfires
Showers available
Picnic table available
Wifi available
Bins available
No potable water
No kitchen
Have a question? Send Amber a message!
  • Check in: After 12PM
  • Check out: Before 11AM
  • Cancellation policy: Super Strict (30 Days)
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 10% off


Offered on the Host's property or nearby.


This tipi is located in the perfect spot for taking the surrounding views and even better sunsets. The rocks nearby are great f...Read more

Off-roading (OHV)


Natural features you'll find at Open View Tipi in Utah.


The vibe at Open View Tipi

53 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Stevi
Stevi M.
recommends this listing.
April 30th, 2018

We absolutely loved staying here! After we got settled in we went for a wonder and climbed up the rocks just behind our camp to watch the sunset, over Canyonlands NP which was magical!
Showers and bathrooms where just a short walk from our Tipi, a nice addition to the campground. The staff at the outpost shop were super friendly, helpful and on hand if you needed anything. We will definitely be back!

people campfire lodgingtentview lodging canyonNewspaper Rock is definitely worth the stop. people lodging camper
Hipcamper Tracie
Tracie S.
recommends this listing.
June 30th, 2018

What an amazing place! Just steps outside Canyonlands. It was sooo beautiful! The host was incredibly kind and helpful. They’re a very sweet family and even checked on us to make sure we were ok and happy. They have anything you might need, and in our case, we’re happy to lend us a grill since there was a fire ban. It’s much easier to find than the directions seem. Tip: make sure you read the info! Check-in is by 6pm. We missed that, and were a little late. Amber was very sweet about it and was in touch and more concerned that we got there safely. I can’t wait to come back!

Hipcamper Amber
Response from Amber, the Host, on July 15th, 2018

Thank you Tracie, I'm so glad you made it and everything worked out great. We would love to host you again in the future!

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Macy

For the desert dwellers

Macy T.
recommends this listing.
August 21st, 2020

The drive in to canyonlands is something out of a desert dream. Unfortunately, I was unprepared for the extreme & consistent heat of the desert. If you are prepared for the heat, this is the place to be. A sacred space in the midst of a beautiful, yet unforgiving landscape. I plan to return in the fall when the heat is less dangerous. However, I would recommend this space to anyone wanting to experience canyonlands! The shop is a welcoming and friendly space for a weary and worn traveler. The tipi was a break from the elements. The bathhouse was maintained as expected and promised.

Be aware that due to the remote nature of the location, much of the amenities in the shop are additional costs. The hosts are intentional with keeping cost low, so anything besides the minimum is going to add expense.

Also, I would recommend staying for the sunset!

Hipcamper Andrew
Andrew K.
recommends this listing.
May 29th, 2018

Great location right next to the Needles entrance to Canyonlands. The sunset view was fabulous. The Campground was clean and quiet. The Tipi was very spacious and it was nice that there was a large rug on the floor inside as well as a small cot. A perfect place to stay when you’re adventuring in Canyonlands.

Sunset Open View TipiOpen View TipiThe view out the door of the tipi
Hipcamper Rosie
Rosie W.
doesn't recommend this listing.
June 12th, 2018

Concept Great! View Epic! That’s where it ended. We got close and I attempted to message the host Amber with no success. Asked where we should go for check-in and arrival. No response. We pulled up to the store and met a young man who was kind but not informative. Told him the name and asked where we were to be taking refuge. He explained the location of our tipi, firewood cost, and that was it. We went on our way to break for camp and cook dinner. We had no metal grill for cooking open flame. Ended up borrowing one from a vacant lot. Cooked dinner and went to clean up. No potable water, no water at all. Would have been nice to know. Then went to take our included showers. Come to find out there are showers that take tokens. Tokens we didn’t recv. On our way back, saw the front desk guy. Asked about the water, “there’s water for sale $3” (store closed). Asked about the showers, “there’s tokens for sale” (store closed). The reservation amenities said shower included and water avail. Then our boy just walked away.
All these things would have been nice to know before we drove into the Canyonlands with no cell service or safe driving circumstances at night. It was an awful experience.

Hipcamper Amber
Response from Amber, the Host, on June 12th, 2018

I am so sorry you had such a bad experience with us. I will say this here so future guests see this as well. I do state in 2 different sections that check in time is no later than 6pm. These issues you had are part the reason for the strict check in time. I clearly state that we have bottled water for purchase and there's a free refill station inside the park. As for the grate not being there at the tipi, I was unaware and when I checked the tipi it was still there. The shower tokens are available during regular store hours.

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Cynthia
Cynthia K.
recommends this listing.
June 18th, 2018

Great campground. Quiet, beautiful views, clean, remote setting

Hipcamper Gina
Gina C.
recommends this listing.
July 11th, 2018

Great campsite !! Absolutely beautiful at sunset.

Hipcamper Ashly
Ashly O.
recommends this listing.
July 14th, 2018

This tipi is beautiful! It was so fun sleeping in here. The campsites are fairly close together like a typical campsite so don’t expect much privacy but you will have a ton of space. The surrounding views are unbelievable. So much beauty here! You will be right off the entrance to canyon lands so it’s location is perfect. This is very far away from any towns. Come prepared although the store has almost everything you could need, even ice cream! They also offer showers and WiFi at a small price. Perfect for a stop during a long camp trip in the Canyonlands.
First enjoy the sunset and then enjoy the most beautiful dark sky you’ve ever seen in your life. Every single start is twinkling and bright. The moon is was shining so bright it woke me up out of my sleep! And the milky way is right there in all it’s glory. Just wow.
This is a magical place. I highly recommend.

Open View TipiOpen View Tipi
Hipcamper Amber
Response from Amber, the Host, on July 15th, 2018

Thank you so much Ashly! I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience here at the Outpost! We hope you come back to visit soon!

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Lori
Lori W.
recommends this listing.
July 21st, 2018

Would definitely stay here again!!

The Needles Outpost Campground
United States
1 Site

Safety at Hipcamp

Inclusion Policy

We have a zero-tolerance policy against discrimination at Hipcamp and are committed to helping our Host and Hipcamper community be inclusive.

Learn More
Hipcamp Hand

Hosting Standards

All Hosts should review and adhere to these standards around providing a positive Hipcamp experience, being a thoughtful neighbor, and serving as a responsible citizen.

Learn More

Hipcamper Standards

All Hipcampers should review and adhere to these standards for safety, trip preparation, and respect in order to uphold Hipcamp’s most important value: “leave it better.”

Learn More

Safety partners

Recreate Responsibly

  1. Know before you go
  2. Practice physical distancing
  3. Plan ahead
  4. Play it safe
  5. Explore locally
  6. Leave no trace
  7. Build an inclusive outdoors
Learn More

Leave No Trace

  1. Plan ahead and prepare
  2. Travel and camp on durable surfaces
  3. Dispose of waste properly
  4. Leave what you find
  5. Minimize campfire impacts
  6. Respect wildlife
  7. Be considerate of other visitors
Learn More

National Weather Service

We integrate with the National Weather Service to provide valuable fire advisories to Hosts and Hipcampers. Real-time Red Flag Warnings and Fire Weather Watch Warnings help keep our community safe.

Learn More
Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future