Hipcamp host Mike
Hosted by
This is a truly unique piece of land, for travelers who want to experience some pure nature and the spirit of a bygone age. The ranch sits at 7,000 feet, surrounded by towering old-growth Jeffrey pines. While nearly all the other camping spots in Big Bear Valley are packed tightly together, as soon as you enter our private five-acre Sky Ranch, you can enjoy peace and Continue reading...
This is a truly unique piece of land, for travelers who want to experience some pure nature and the spirit of a bygone age. The ranch sits at 7,000 feet, surrounded by towering old-growth Jeffrey pines. While nearly all the other camping spots in Big Bear Valley are packed tightly together, as soon as you enter our private five-acre Sky Ranch, you can enjoy peace and quiet. We have two camping options. Be sure to review the description and photos of each. Set up your camp on our Star Deck, located at the top of a slope in one of the most beautiful pine forests you’re ever going to see. You have complete isolation from others, surrounded by pristine forest. Panoramic views of the valley during the day, and spectacular skies at night. It is a 600-foot hike from the parking spot, via a smooth foot trail. Site 2 is for vehicle campers. It’s in a forested area that’s easily accessible by car or RV (charges vary according to number of vehicles and guests). There is a slight slope. Houses are visible (100 to 300 feet away). Water and electric access app. 50 feet away. Both sites are near a huge network of hiking trails, just a couple miles from the PCT. Public bus a couple blocks away. Less than 10 miles from the lake and center of town. Come discover a pristine alpine forest — one that’s changed little since the Serrano Indians first arrived here 3,000 years ago. Key Notes: Propane stoves are OK, and we have a natural-gas BBQ grill available for use. However, for obvious reasons, wood fires are strictly prohibited throughout the National Forest region.
Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans, trailers, rv & moto...
No. of sites
2 bookable sites
RV details
Max length 20ft
RV hookups
Electricity
Access
Park at listing
Group sizes
Up to 5 people per site
Potable water available
Spigot
No fires
Toilet available
Pets allowed
On leash
Showers available
Hot water
Bins available
Recycling bin, trash bin
Picnic table available
Wifi available
Have a question? Send Mike a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Strict
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: None
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Response time: Within an hour
  • Response rate: 100%
Forest
Mountainous
Farm
Ranch
Beach
Cave
Coastal
Desert
Hot spring
Lake
Mesa or canyon
Prairie, meadow, or plain
Redwoods
River, stream or creek
Suburban or backyard
Swimming hole
Waterfall
Wetlands
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Paddling
OHV
Snow sports
Swimming
Wildlife watching
Wind sports
Climbing
Surfing
Whitewater paddling

The vibe at Sky Ranch in Big Bear

11 Written reviews
This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Stepfanie
Stepfanie
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
July 5th, 2018

I spent the night at Star Deck, but there's plenty of space to tent camp and a couple of spots for for vans and RVs. The deck is right next to a trail, so you may see a few hikers (it's still a more private trail). The host is super chill, easy to communicate with. The nightsky was so beautiful! You can see lots of stars. I like that it has direct access to a trail. You have to hike in to set up your camp at the Star Deck area (not flat) so make sure you're comfortable carrying all of your stuff! For the other site, you don't have to walk much. Really peaceful area and pleasant for camping.

I1xlotmzpmnpwvgccetuU1zrrqoq9u0lzn9niig5Civkai8vyeaqj4u80sceCnjn2zkcpotfi2os9llp
Hipcamper Mike
Response from Mike, the Host, on July 13th, 2018

Thanks for the nice review!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Barbara
Barbara
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
June 30th, 2018

Wonderful host!!

Hipcamper Mike
Response from Mike, the Host, on July 13th, 2018

Thanks, Barbara!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Janalee
Janalee
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
July 12th, 2018

It was a great site and we will plan to go there again. We loved the area and that there were hiking trails right on the property and it was awesome that we were the only RV on the lot. No waking up to the typical RV site, where you are surrounding by other campers! But be prepared that the site is NOT level and even using our jacks and extra blocks, we could not get the RV even close to being level. So bring extra blocks! The only other thing that could be better is that there were 3 old boat trailers just sitting on the property. close to where we parked. We had to position the RV so they were out of view.

Hipcamper Mike
Response from Mike, the Host, on July 13th, 2018

Thanks for the nice review, Janalee!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Hannah
Hannah
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
July 15th, 2018

Such a cute spot. Very quiet. Feels like you’re away from the world, but it’s comforting to know that civalization is right down the road. There were surprisingly no bugs either (we went in mid-July). So that’s a huge plus.

Hipcamper Mike
Response from Mike, the Host, on August 2nd, 2018

Thanks, Hannah. You’re welcome back any time.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Barbara
Barbara
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 2)
July 21st, 2018

Much different than expected. Site one looks very private and from the photos, site two does as well. We found the clearing which was an empty lot with several beautiful trees but surrounded by houses and air bnb rentals. The woman taking care of the property for the host was very nice and mentioned that there was a wedding that had left behind a porta potty which was nice because we were under the assumption that there wouldn't be a bathroom available (true dry camping) which was what we were expecting but thankful that wasn't the case because we weren't necessarily in nature but rather an open lot. Furthermore, the porta potty isn't permanent so I would assume that the "bathroom" availability listed would be in the house? Even though the host was very kind and offered for us to use the house vicinity, we weren't comfortable with that. There was also a mention of a shared grill and a solar hot water shower in the listing description..? No idea where any of that was. There also wasn't a picnic table, water spigot or trash/recycle bins anywhere near site two as listed. It was a fine spot to sleep in our truck for the night but we won't be back and I don't think it's worth $30 dollars a night. "Site two" is simply mis-listed. I think the site should be clearly explained with photos that show the space as is, rather than fancying it up to sell it. We were let down because it wasn't what we were expecting.

Hipcamper Mike
Response from Mike, the Host, on August 11th, 2018

Um, OK. Our notes: Actually, Site 2 is as described and depicted. The photos were taken by HipCamp, and we don’t think they “fancied it up.” This is a simple vehicle camping site, so of course it has to be accessible by (dirt) road. There are homes on the other side of the road, but farther than 100 feet away, and there are scores of trees around. Thus we think the site offers a lot more nature than a typical campground site. Yes, there were bath and shower facilities in our home, with a semi-private entrance, and if needed, we are always glad to show the locations of the water spigot, solar shower, grill, and picnic table. We do suggest that campers read all the information available at the HipCamp site, and perhaps be reasonably good at finding things out in the open. :)

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Anand
Anand
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
July 25th, 2018

Site #1 is more private and shown as the deck. It’s at the edge of propert abutting the forestry land. It has a okay view too. Benefit is that there are no three campers around. You are out a few hundred yards on your own. The deck itself needs work and has many nails sticking out so be careful. Overall, the deck is private for where it easy and you can barely see the houses around.

Hipcamper Mike
Response from Mike, the Host, on August 11th, 2018

Nails are being pounded in as I write this! Thanks for the suggestion and the nice review.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Gabrielle
Gabrielle
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 1)
July 28th, 2018

Site was as expected, super cute. However, apparently the county was clearing out trees for a couple days on the property and the first morning we woke up to machinery and sawdust covering everything. We packed up camp and left even though we had reserved two nights, because the machines were pretty much on top of us by 830am. Mike didn’t alert us at all about what was going on until we had already been set up for a few hours and a woman (I’m assuming Mary Ellen) came yelling at us that “there was a big problem” when we got to the campsite after dinner in town (our tent was set up for over 5 hrs at this point). Common courtesy would have been to alert us on what was happening, but there was absolutely no attempt to do so. Hip amp customer service was awesome and did everything they could, and I’m 100% happy with how they dealt with it, but super disappointed by our experience with the actual site. I know the county work was out of the host’s control, but when it came to what he COUL control, the spigot water they advertised was completely dried out, but luckily intuition led me to grab a gallon of water in town after dinner “just in case”. And the solar shower and pit toilet (also advertised in the confirmation email) were nowhere to be found. It’s a shame because the tent platform is cute and it’s a quick drive to the lake, and there were so many positive reviews for the site.

Hipcamper Mike
Response from Mike, the Host, on August 11th, 2018

We are very sorry this didn’t work out. Mike didn’t alert you because I was in the Alaskan outback at the time, and had no idea what was happening. Even if I’d known that the county had started clearing fuel from the adjacent forest (which is wonderful), we had zero information about their work schedule, and certainly would not have expected them to show up on a weekend. Unfortunate. The water spigot works just fine, however it now occurs to us that some campers may not be familiar with ranch-style spigots. We will have to revise our camping instructions accordingly. We are always happy to provide information about the location of the solar shower and pit as well.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Maddie
Maddie
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Site 2)
August 6th, 2018

The sky ranch is a nice location and land. Our group rented both camping sites the sky deck and the corral. At the corral, you use the bathroom in the main house which is nice especially for people who are newer to camping. The host is very nice but not on site and we had some communication issues with the housesitter. The host was very nice and explained she was temporary but there were times she made us feel less than welcome on site.

The ranch has a few other buildings on site that are also rented out. We had no problem with the other people but just wasn't expected.

A good campsite overall - hopefully with a new housesitter soon.

Hipcamper Mike
Response from Mike, the Host, on August 11th, 2018

Mary Ellen is generally quite popular with guests, but obviously there was some friction this time. Thanks for the nice review otherwise!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Property
Sky Ranch in Big Bear
State
California
$30/night
2 Sites