Hipcamp host David P.
Hosted by
David has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

Welcome to the Cibolo Gardens Wildlife Preserve! Just 22 miles from downtown San Antonio, not far off of US 281, our educational homestead is an excellent place to camp.

Covid19 has presented a challenge for all of us in becoming hyper-aware of the need for doing everything we can to stop the spread of the Cornavirus.  Part of that effort has been staying in place for

Read more...

Welcome to the Cibolo Gardens Wildlife Preserve! Just 22 miles from downtown San Antonio, not far off of US 281, our educational homestead is an excellent place to camp.

Covid19 has presented a challenge for all of us in becoming hyper-aware of the need for doing everything we can to stop the spread of the Cornavirus.  Part of that effort has been staying in place for the past two months and we did our part by closing up to guests during that time.  Although we are still vigilant about sanitizing surfaces and having guest guidelines for safe-distancing while staying with us, we believe that it's time and safe to open up with this new paradigm in mind.  There is such a strong need right now for people to get out of the house and do so responsibly.  Spending time outside in nature and in a safe environment is one of the best ways to do that and we want to offer a comfortable space for that.

We have two wooded areas where you can put up your tent or hammock. The north grove, adjacent to parking, offers quick access to the compost toilet, outdoor shower, rainwater filter, electricity, and wi-fi. From here, you are certain to see a chicken or two cluck by.  For a bit more seclusion, the south grove edges up to a cliff, where you can view the most spectacular sunsets. This is where the deer and rabbits like to hang out. You can drive to the site to unload or load your gear. Both areas can host up to 12 tents.  We do ask that you please plan on checking in before 8pm or sunset, whichever comes first.

Feel free to simply relax in the shade of the persimmon and juniper trees. Or, to add some activity to your stay, hike the varying terrain on our 45 acres, hunt for fossils in the dry creek bed, break out your tree & plant id books, or watch the wildlife (even if it’s just the chickens).  Refresh by taking a dip in the above ground pool, or wash off in the outdoor cob shower.  [Please be advised that besides campers, we also host homesteading, wilderness survival, gun safety & herbal medicine classes on our site.  So, do expect company, but you'll definitely have room for privacy. ] 

If you want to explore more Hill Country, nearby attractions for outdoor fun include the Guadalupe River State Park (16mi) or Natural Bridge Cavern (17mi).  

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans and truck campers
10 sites
Up to 5 guests per site
Park at listing
ADA access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
No pets
Amenities
Potable water available
Kitchen available
Showers available
Picnic table available
Wifi available
Bins available
Camping vehicle details
No electrical hookup
No water hookup
No sewage hookup
No TV hookup
Generators not allowed
Pull-in site
Max length 14ft
Surface type: loose gravel
Surface levelness: flat
Doesn't accommodate slideouts
Have a question? Send David a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 9 months out

You know what would make this trip even better?

Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to Cibolo Gardens Nature Preserve

$4
Goods

1/2 Dozen fresh, organic farm eggs

Farm-Fresh and organic chicken & duck eggs (an assortment).

Add to trip
Remove
0
max
$10
Experience

Living with the Land Tour

Pigs, Chickens, Ducks, rabbits, gardens, rain water collection, creative buil...Read more

Add to trip
Remove
0
max
$5

Firewood bundle

Start your trip off right with a bundle of firewood waiting for you at your c...Read more

Add to trip
Remove
0
max

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Hiking
Swimming
Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Cibolo Gardens Nature Preserve in Texas.

Lake
Prairie, meadow, ...
River, stream, or...
Swimming hole
Wetlands
Farm
Ranch
Driveway

The vibe at Cibolo Gardens Nature Preserve

20 Written reviews
This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Drew

Will definitely be back

Drew S.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
April 4th, 2019

My fiancé and I decided to give The Human Path Homestead a try, and I'm so glad we did. We were headed from San Antonio to Jacob's Well in Wimberley and this was right on the way. Dave was very friendly and stayed with us on the phone since GPS isn't accurate the last half mile. When we arrived he gave us a tour, showed us the amenities, and then was quick to give us our privacy. They have a wonderful outdoor shower that's completely enclosed under a large canopy style roof. There's also a large outdoor "Field Kitchen" that has a propane stove top and oven, sink, and multiple tables. They have all the pots/pans, dishes and silverware you would ever need also. Their bathroom is very clean, well kept, and did not smell. There's a large fire pit with plenty of seating. They have 2 sweetheart dogs that love people and receiving pets as well as roosters and hens which was a fun surprise. The Human Path Homestead does a lot of outdoor survival, field training, and sustainable living classes that we would love to try in the future. My fiancé even wants to come back and take a class as part of her bachelorette party. Dave has an amazing piece of property and is just excited to share it. He also said he was going to be buying a disc golf basket soon! Thanks Dave!

Hipcamper David
Response from David, the Host, on May 17th, 2020

Hi Drew! We loved having both of you stay with us and thanks to your inspiration, we are buying our first two Disc Golf baskets this month! Looking forward to polishing up on my skills :). Come see us again soon.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Heather
Heather B.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Dispersed site)
October 7th, 2018

Not at all what was expected. There were kitchen sinks, salvage metal and junk yardesque surroundings. Lots of people were present and no space large enough for my family tent that I could see. Apparently this location hosts various classes. We left before ever setting up. If you’re looking for a quiet private property or state park feel, this is not it. Our host however was amazing. Quick to respond to messages and very helpful.

Hipcamper David
Response from David, the Host, on January 10th, 2019

Heather – thank you for the constructive feedback and for the compliments to your host 😊. You were our first HipCamper! We were still in transition from a long overdue clean-up and probably should have waited a little longer to place our listing for campers. Honestly, we were very sad that your family decided not to stay and although we completely understand your not being appreciative of the building materials we had yet to re-locate, we would have enjoyed finding a less populated area of the property for you to have some seclusion. We have since, with your feedback, sharpened our description to highlight that we are an event space that hosts wilderness survival, herbal medical and homesteading classes along with inviting campers to stay with us. We hope you’ll come back and give us another chance to hopefully exceed your expectations.

Helpful
1
Helpful
1
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Chad
Chad W.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
November 21st, 2018

The host Brandi is very nice but not transparent with the listing as of 11.21.18. The property has an educational facility onsite. Upon further research due to to the first review mentioning surprises, I discovered that the class offered during our stay would be a combat medic training. The class Eventbrite posting mentioned "live fire" (guns with ammunition), pellets, paintball, "airsoft", knives and "improvised weapons". I spoke with Brandi, who had no plans to restrict access and coordinate between campers and shooters until I pressed the issue. Eventually she reluctantly agreed that someone would communicate with us about this the day of. Furthermore, the remote campsite is within one acre (out of 45 acres total) of the class with gun fire. Brandi seemed perplexed why this would concern me. This blatant disregard for safety is a major red flag.

I discovered these surprises the day before our trip as I had booked prior to the first review. With this new information, I requested a refund from Brandi about ~ 24 hours prior to check in, after the "moderate" Hipcamp cancellation policy allows. She said she "would look into it" and then never got back with me and ignored my follow up text message 5 days later. Luckily Carlos at Hipcamp HQ took care of me.

Check out the educational facility website below for a more accurate idea of what goes on at this property. It looks like a beautiful property but I wouldn't stay there until Brandi and management prioritize camper safety.

https://thehumanpath.net

Hipcamper David
Response from David, the Host, on January 10th, 2019

Chad – thank you for the feedback. It sounds like you didn’t have the experience here at the Homestead you were expecting. For that, we apologize and we’re taking your criticisms to heart in adding more detail to our property description and procedures. I did want to address one of your concerns in particular – and that’s the safety of our guests. As you noted, at the time you visited us, one of the Schools we were hosting (The Human Path) was teaching a Combat Medic Training class that did include a segment on scouting/ tracking. During that exercise, they do utilize live fire airsoft/ pellets for training well away from anyone else not participating. Although the planning for this segment is actually quite restrictive (as our property is concerned) and safety communication is of the utmost importance to any such exercise we host here, it doesn’t sound like you were comfortable with the level of communication our staff had with you with regard to this exercise. My apologies for that and looking forward, we’ll be much more thorough in making sure our camping guests are comfortable with their understanding of any classes we may be hosting during their stay. [Incidentally, it’s actually pretty rare that we do have “live fire” classes hosted here…maybe two to three times per year.] As to our communication with you, Chad, it sounds like we dropped the ball and you deserved better than that. Opening our land up to campers was a relatively new thing to us and although we’re excited about sharing what we also believe to be a beautiful property, we still had some polishing to do on our management of the camping side of things. I hope you’ll come back to see us and give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations, which is our goal.

Helpful
1
Helpful
1
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Tiffany

Rest assured

Tiffany C.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
March 18th, 2019

After reading some of the reviews I contacted the host to ask what kind of courses they would be offering during my stay. I got a quick response and it put my mind at ease!
Our stay was short and sweet. There are a couple of dogs running around and several people staying on the property for the courses but overall it was fairly quiet and yet close to the hiway-- so not too far off the beaten path.
The outdoor shower was very cute. The outdoor kitchen was supplied with numerous propane stoves, an oven, pots and pans. There was an enclosed shelter with a fridge and table to sit and play games if we wanted. I really like the hammock set up in the shower area.

They have hot and cold water for your showers! the outdoor shower walls are pretty coollarge utility sink to wash your dishes in the outdoor kitchen areaThe outdoor kitchen, not seen in this picture is a nice bar height table to sit at
Hipcamper David
Response from David, the Host, on March 27th, 2019

Thank you, Tiffany. We hope you come back to see us soon!

Helpful
2
Helpful
2
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Charlotte

Wonderful stay. returning asap

Charlotte T.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
March 24th, 2019

David and Brandi were wonderful. The land was clean, well managed, and showed a labor of love in every amenity. From the shower, to the compost restroom to the kitchen area, it was all accommodating, well made and accessible. Their passion for their land has inspired us to come to the classes they host in the future. I highly recommend checking this place out, meeting the hosts, petting the dogs and enjoying what they have made on this unique piece of land. PS they are installing a disc golf basket very soon!

Hipcamper David
Response from David, the Host, on March 27th, 2019

Charlotte - you guys were awesome and thank you for the kind words! And for the gift of the two disc golf discs. I think I played with them for like an hour after you left :). Come back to see us soon and we'll have that basket up for you. - Dave

Helpful
1
Helpful
1
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Naved

First homestead stay ever

Naved K.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
May 27th, 2019

As a whole I really enjoyed my weekend there. My biggest complaint is all the spiders. They have a few sweet pups that will let you pet and scratch them. David is a great and easy going host. Had cold and hot water, kitchen, place for a bon fire, pool, and shower. I will be back again

Cibolo Gardens Nature PreserveCibolo Gardens Nature PreserveCibolo Gardens Nature Preserve
Hipcamper Jacob

Great campsite!

Jacob G.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
July 22nd, 2019

This campsite was great! We were lucky and and were no other campers there with us. That made our stay feel much more as if everything was for us.

The campsite included a fire pit with chopped up wood and twigs to get a fire going with ease, multiple tables, a full outdoor kitchen with a double gas stove top, a gas toaster oven, and gas grill), an above ground pool that was kept very clean and a shower(with hot water). There were quite a few spiders in the shower and the bathroom but that is expected when you are outside. The host did say he sprays the shower down daily to try and rid the near that area) There was also an AC room that we were able to use when we wanted to get out of the heat. This room also included a fridge that we were able to use if need be. On top of that our host said we were free to roam the 45 acres and check out the area.

Over all it was a great experience. The host was very friendly and keeps up the site well.

Cibolo Gardens Nature PreserveCibolo Gardens Nature PreserveCibolo Gardens Nature PreserveCibolo Gardens Nature Preserve
Hipcamper David
Response from David, the Host, on July 24th, 2019

Thanks Jacob! We enjoyed having you and your family stay with us and look forward to you coming again.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Rachel

Good people, interesting site

Rachel E.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
March 1st, 2020

I recommend setting your GPS to the church mentioned in the directions and following the directions from there. The side road says "dead end" but don't let that deter you. The roads on the property are bumpy, so driving in with a regular car is a bit of a challenge, but doable.

Shortly after I arrived, I was greeted by David, who gave me a quick tour of the amenities available and also explained what the site is all about. He was very friendly and welcoming. I happened to stay during a weekend when there were no classes and no other campers, so it was very quiet. They have two dogs on property, who are both friendly. One of the dogs came by my camp a few times to check things out and let me pet her for a while.

I was given plenty of privacy during my stay. The communal fire pit is very nice and having firewood available of all sizes made building the fire easy. It's fun to check out the pigs, chickens, geese, and rabbits. You're also allowed to walk around the site and just look around. David did check on me once and recommended a path to the creek, but I didn't have a chance to go, so I'll have to do that next time.

The only real drawback I found to this site is that it's close enough to US-281 that you can still hear the road noise. It's more white noise than anything though. Overall, it's a great place.

Hipcamper David
Response from David, the Host, on March 4th, 2020

Thanks for the review, Rachel! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you coming back :)

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Iesa
Iesa L.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
June 14th, 2020

Amazing host!
Great campsite!
100% recommend!

Property
Overalls and Bird Calls
State
Texas
Country
United States
$30/night
10 Sites
Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future