88%
8 Ratings · 11 reviews
Avatar
Robert K.doesn't recommend
June 24, 2022
Horse Lorry-Rumenco, in wild meadow
DO NOT GO
We expected very basic, but clean accommodation, however, the place was a hell hole, with dirty dishevelled bedding (bottom sheet), which had dried grass on and stains, there was dried food stains on the dining table, the toilet leaked on first use, The place was disgusting. The meadow was a small strimmed area and there is absolutely no view, due to hight bushes/trees obscuring the distance. This was advertised as a romantic spot for two, it is a dirty hell hole. The shower, nowhere near the horsebox, is in a delapidated shed near the entrance of the site. You're given a dirty wheelbarrow to put your belongings in to get to the horsebox. Needless to say, we did not stay, we had to find alternative accommodation, which isn't easy, late in the afternoon, with a dog! Luckily, we found a lovely lady who knew someone with availability, so our holiday wasn't completely ruined, but we are very much out of pocket. The host isn't replying to emails. Hipcamp say they're looking into our complaint.
Avatar
Gary P.recommends
August 8, 2021
Damson Eco Cabin, secluded orchard
We stayed recently, August, you will be transported to a time gone by experience, truly off grid. From the moment you approach( Damson) through a shrub, bush and plant canopy into a "small glen" of nature, peace, wildlife and best of all completely private ( completely surrounded by trees, shrubs etc) to give a perspective of being in true British wilderness, you are taken to a bygone time of holidays. The Hut, is well appointed, with a double and a Day Bed which converts to a double( if required) a dining table, log burner, adequate storage and a covered porch. Little touches here and there are thoughtful and in keeping. If you truly want a back to basics, escape from the World stay, then this is the place. Toilet for Damson is a "Dunny style " with a camping type toilet. Few spiders but adds to the experience. Kitchen facilities are more than adequate with a sink, well organised recycling and some added extras. (Need to boil kettle for washing up water) Shower area is OK, it's warm, gets you clean but as with the whole experience do not expect "luxury" as this is truly not what this is about. The owners are amazing, happy to help, with a great appreciation of their surroundings and their objective. It is truly OFF GRID, so take your torches, candles(safely), charge banks for your phones( if you need them!) Buy extra logs for the log burner if it gets chilly, playing cards in front of the light of the fire, with just sounds of nature was lovely. Be prepared to forget about, dishwashers, fridges, TV and all that other paraphernalia and Embrace the experience. You will not regret it.
Avatar
Jane ?. (Host)
replied
August 8, 2021
Hi Gary, Thank you for such a thoughtful great review, hope to see you again sometime
Avatar
Natasha R.recommends
July 27, 2021
Camping Pitch
Stayed at North Lodge camping this weekend and we were amazed by the camp - more importantly the dog was having the best holiday :) Situated in a fantastic area - with loads of things to do locally. But the best for us was the campsite itself , we loved the eco approach to the campsite. We will definitely be back at some point in the near future :D
Avatar
Nicola C.recommends
July 14, 2021
Camping Pitch
Lovely small field for our exclusive use, awash with wild flowers and wildlife. The composting toilet was clean and environmentally friendly, down a long path away from the camping areas. The owners were friendly. The area beautiful. The shower was the only thing that let it down. I would definitely go back for another weekend away.
Avatar
Jane ?. (Host)
replied
July 14, 2021
Hi Nicola It was great to meet all of you, thanks so much for the feedback, always happy to see visitors enjoying our little site.  Jane and Martin
Avatar
Niki B.recommends
August 31, 2019
Camping Pitch
The perfect campsite if you like a basic, quiet camping experience. We loved staying there. All the amenities required are provided. We particularly liked the wild, natural, rustic nature of North Lodge. Martin and Jane never over-fill the site with campers so you get a fantastic feeling of space and privacy. If you are a wild camping kind of person you're going to love North Lodge!
Avatar
Lee W.recommends
August 19, 2019
Camping Pitch
With the peaceful surroundings and lovely people we had an absolutely lovely stay.the campfire was great and had all the facilities we needed.
Avatar
Nicola B.recommends
August 4, 2019
Preseli Eco Cabin, great views
Our five year old loved butterfly counting, the dog loved the garden. We loved the peace and quiet. We stayed in presilli, which was lovely on colder nights and the veranda was just great to eat under. Martin was very informative and helpful. We will be recommending it to our more eco-concious friends. It was rustic and not at all like some of the bigger sites with playgrounds etc that we have been to, but that is part of it's charm. We will be booking again!
Avatar
Jane ?.recommends
May 28, 2019
Damson Eco Cabin, secluded orchard
What can I say, I went there to be able to have piece and quiet and to be left alone to ponder my thoughts and spend quality time with my niece. It was everything and more. Welcomed by Jane and offered a hot drink which was very much needed after a long journey. When shown to the cabin it was everything I had visioned. The buzzing of Bees and the birds singing was the only noise to be heard. The cabin is situated within its own little garden where you can enjoy the flowers in the day and have a campfire with the stars at night. Close to some very nice beaches with coastal walks that the scenery is amazing. Would highly recommend to anyone needing some time away from everyday life.
Avatar
Leniruk2 A.
April 13, 2019
We were greeted by friendly and playful dog Nell, as Jane welcomed us and showed us the garden way round to Preseli Cabin. What stunning views! We were given a lovely cup of hot tea as we unloaded our gear using a wheelbarrow, and soon sat on the veranda , enjoying peace, birdsong, and spring greenery allround with the hills in the distance. The Cabin offers rustic charm and is perfectly suited for eco-conscious glampers. We had brought our own Kelly kettle, gas-cooker, stove-top coffee percolator , feuerhand lamps and bedding (sleeping bags and duvet on top), and were very snug.The woodburner makes all the difference! The kitchen area is simple and clean, and provides big water carrier bottles , so we could keep water at hand for cooking or washing up. Perhaps a little bolt on the inside of one of the kitchen doors might be a good idea,so one door can be kept closed, when it's cooler outside. We enjoyed being able to take nice hot showers in a clean and we'll equipped shower-shed. Martin &Jane are friendly and helpful hosts, who provided us with a lovely retreat, and we will be back. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area, so North Lodge is an ideal base camp. We recommend the Preseli hills walks, St Dogmaels, Poppit Sands beach, the Nature reserve near Cardigan.
Avatar
Na ?.
August 11, 2016
This is a beautiful, quiet little gem of a campsite in a beautiful part of Wales. The owners are welcoming and laidback and the campsite is thoughtfully set out and with a great respect for nature, so that it appears to spontaneously emerge from the impossibly scenic surroundings. There's also so much to do in the area, eg. castles, a multitude of beaches to meet every wish, market towns, standing stones, glorious walks, that you could spend a fortnight here without getting restless.
Avatar
Charli ?.
March 6, 2014
There's nothing quite like waking up to the views off the Welsh mountains. A truly stunning location. It is a little bit in land so is not as windy as many beach side camping sites, but is still only a 10 minute drive to some lovely beaches. The owners were extremely welcoming, bringing us cups of tea whilst we pitched our tent.It's an eco campsite which has a large communal BBQ/fire error that is somewhat enclosed from where the tents are pitched which made it feel a little like we were on a group camp with with our mates when we were kids. We will be going back!Also nearby Cenarth Waterfalls is a must see.