100%
10 Ratings · 16 reviews
Avatar
Renata B.recommends
July 10, 2022
Young Oak
A fantastic well equipped campsite
We loved camping at Muiredge. The campsite is amazing - well equipped from crockery, cutlery, pans, books and games in The Barn to hot outdoor (under cover!) showers. The tents were well spaced out and the views across the rolling Perthshire hills were superb. We had a lovely walk along the fields to Gleneagles one day and along the banks of Loch Leven the next. The kids and dog loved it and so did we. We would highly recommend it.
Avatar
Carolyn L.recommends
April 18, 2022
Collie's Wobble
We had a lovely Easter weekend at Muiredge. We stayed in the Collie's Wobble tent, which slept four easily - there's a bed for the adults and two fold-out beds for the kids. Duvet/pillows/sheets/towels all provided. The tent has a toilet and shower attached, plus plenty of decking and a picnic bench along with a barbecue and fire pit. There's loads of spaces for kids to run about and the site felt very safe. The communal barn is excellent: there's a gas burner for cooking, fridge, microwave and plenty of crockery, cutlery, pots and pans etc. There are also board games, books and darts, which was popular with our kids. It's handy for days out - we had fun trips to Perth Leisure Pool (though the Full Moon flume is best avoided if you're not a big thrill-seeker) and Crieff Hydro's Action Glen adventure playground. We ordered food from the Neighbourfood farmers' market which was delivered direct to Muiredge, and there's also a Co-op very nearby in Auchterarder. The owner is very helpful and friendly, and even thoughtfully provided his own wee boy for our younger daughter to play with :-) We'll definitely be back, a really lovely weekend.
Avatar
Kenneth ?.
January 9, 2022
Stayed here in October 21 and loved every minute. This location is beautiful with lovely view over the Scottish countryside and out towards the mountains, sunset is not to be missed! Plenty family activities and walks to be had in the surrounding area. Overall a lovely place to spend a few days relaxing!
Avatar
Paddy C.recommends
October 21, 2021
The Railway Carriage
We stayed in the railway carriage and loved it! The setting is fantastic, so calm and peaceful with great views of the surrounding scenery. The carriage was lovely and was exactly what we were looking for, an unbelievablely comfy bed, great use of space for storage, small set up for making and eating food and who doesn't like a log burning stove!! Would love to come back with more people and utilise the shared space in the cabin as that is a brilliant space!!
Avatar
Jennifer H.
October 1, 2021
We stayed in the Sheep Run bell tent for two nights in September and were part of a larger group who had booked all the other accommodations at the same time - this meant that we had exclusive access to the barn area just for us. The barn area was great for the whole group to meet up and would be a must if the weather wasn't so kind as it was for us! We ordered a Chinese take away, on the first night, from Auchterarder which was lovely. We also managed to have a lovely BBQ, on the second night, in the field enjoying the lovely views and watching some nearby parachutes. The tent had everything that we needed in it - cosy bedding, towels, a lantern, comfortable chair and small table. It had plenty of space in it for the two of us and the private toilet and shower cubicles were very clean. Outside we had a wooden picnic bench, fire pit and BBQ. The kids had a great time enjoying the outdoors and so did the dog - we'll definitely recommend to others and try to come back again some day!
Avatar
Emma ?.
September 27, 2021
We stayed in one of the bell tents as part of a larger group a couple of weeks ago. We couldn’t have had a better weekend! The tents and communal barn are fantastic, warm, comfortable beds and super shower and toilet facilities. Everything was clean and towels were even provided which was an added bonus. The barn comes with large table, comfy sofas, cosy stove fire, fridge, kettle, plates, cups, cutlery and even kids toys. A perfect balance of camping but with some home comforts! A fantastic time was had by all and we wouldn’t hesitate to return, we will be sure to recommend to everyone. ☺️
Avatar
Stef ?.
September 25, 2021
We had such a lovely time at this site. It’s all really new. The tents are ace. Beds are sooo comfy and big, with lovely big duvets. Towels provided and great private showers too! We had 5 of us in the tent; bigger kids in beds and baby in a travel cot. The added extra of the communal barn (free tea and coffee, games, log burner, comfy seating etc) is fab. Also free logs and bbq coals is such a lovely touch. I couldn’t recommend this place more and would work great for groups. We will be back!
Avatar
Katie ?.
September 20, 2021
We stayed in one of the Bell Tents which was in excellent condition and the furnishings and facilities were perfect - the sleeping arrangements were very comfortable and the private shower block was extremely clean. Our children thoroughly enjoyed their stay. A lovely set up which is ideal for family get togethers with picture perfect scenery! Thankyou for a great stay!
Avatar
Audrey ?.
September 19, 2021
Had a great weekend at Muiredge for a friends birthday surprise. Far exceeded our expectations of glamping. Residing in the shepherds hut was great, so cosy and comfortable with lovely bedlinen, towels even soap provided all enviromentally friendly. Lovely touch Susan, wild flowers in our accomodation. There were 28 in or company which included 6 children ranging from ages 4 to 9, they had a blast which did not involve computers or any electric devices, flying kites, going for walks, hide and seek, hula hooping, even adults participated, great hilarity. We had the surprise party in the barn, great ,should weather not be kind to you , it was to us. BBQ in the open surrounded by our tents and the most fantastic scenery. Both Angus and Susan could not have been more helpful, set up everything for our arrival. In a nutshell go for it get away from the hustle and bustle and enjoy nature with a touch of luxury. Thank you to Angus and Susan
Avatar
Wilma R.
September 19, 2021
We booked all 6 tents and the shepherd's hut and railway carriage for a birthday celebration and could not have asked for more! Everyone had a fantastic time, all 16 adults and 6 children! Having the barn was an extra bonus with the log burning stove, fridge, tea, and coffee facilities. It was well equipped with dishes, cutlery and glasses! Everything you could wish for! Beds and bedding were comfortable and all tents having their own shower and toilet was great not having to share this facility! Angus and Susan were very helpful and friendly and could not have done more for us, thank you again for a great weekend! This place is a great find and will be a huge success!
Avatar
Matthew H.recommends
September 14, 2021
Young Oak
My partner and I were looking for somewhere not too far from Edinburgh, for a weekend of relaxation. We booked Muiredge on the spur of the moment, as we had never had a glamping experience. We arrived later than expected on Friday evening, just in time to see a stunning sunset. Susan was there to greet us, and we were made to feel very welcome. I wasted no time getting the firepit going, - with the bag of logs provided free of charge - and the BBQ on, and we enjoyed the first evening just chatting and staring at the stars. It was a bit chilly, when it came to bedtime, but the cold was soon forgotten in the very comfortable and warm bed. My 10 hour sleep! was interrupted temporarily with the obligatory toilet visit, and on the short walk to the bathroom I was met with stunning views of the mist covered hills to the North of the site. We planned to have a trip out on the Saturday, but instead found ourselves relaxing on the deck, reading, chatting and watching the young swallows being trained by the elders. We did manage a wee trip to Auchterarder, to pick up essentials for the evening. Angus came over early evening, and spent some time telling us about the work that had been done to get the site up and running, and the plans for the future. It was great to hear about the tree planting they'd carried out, and we were shown the source of the wood that was used to construct the bathrooms. On the subject of the bathroom, for me, a poor shower can be a real dampener :) on a trip, at Muiredge it added to the experience. We had taken equipment of our own, but took advantage of the cool boxes, and BBQ tools, available in the big shed. I can genuinely say, that the only disappointment, was having to pack up and leave on the Sunday, we discussed staying for another night, but work commitments prevented it. I normally bank on it taking a couple of days to properly wind-down when away, but it was immediate at Muiredge. We'll definitely be returning at some point in the future.
Avatar
Kirsten K.
September 13, 2021
Muiredge was the perfect location for our large family get together. It felt so safe in the current climate as there was so much space both outside and inside a converted barn, for us all to be together. We spent the evening having a bbq outside and enjoying drinks while taking in the beautiful surroundings. The views were absolutely stunning and there was ample room for the children to run around freely. There are all the amenities that one needs. The accommodation was so comfy and we were delighted to find a super kingsize bed in the bell tents. It was such a success we have decided to make it an annual event. Thanks to Angus, the perfect host who made sure we had everything we needed. Whether it’s a couples getaway youre after or a big family get together, I’d highly recommend. We’ll definitely be back.
Avatar
Mhairi K.recommends
September 9, 2021
Sheep Run
Lovely accommodation. We stayed in the sheep's run. Lots of indoor and outdoor space and nice walks for the dog. Close to amenities yet secluded enough to get a real country side experience. Great place to go to get away from it all and chill. We will definitely be back. Thanks again!
Avatar
Tommars ?.
September 7, 2021
I’m not an enthusiastic camper. We were invited to an extended family and close friends birthday party at Muiredge. With some trepidation we arrived and fell in love with the converted Shepherd’s hut. Complete with pine panelling, wood burning stove and separate shower and toilet cubicle - how did it all fit in? Like a Tardis! The bed was proper luxury with two bunks that could be folded out to accommodate young ones. There was space for the children to run outside and burn off energy safely and a huge indoor space in the converted barn for gatherings/communal eating etc with a wood burning stove if needed. The converted railway carriage and tents all were fitted out in the same luxurious style and with the same attention to detail. Camping? Not really - but a luxurious place to stay with or without family to relax or explore the Perthshire countryside - certainly!
Avatar
Stewart C.recommends
September 1, 2021
The Railway Carriage
So pleased do have found this wonderful gem!!!! Such a memorable experience, we both had a great and deeply restful time. Highlights included alfresco dining under the stars (so many on a clear night), glass of wine in one hand and bonfire crackling away. Breathtaking views in all directions and the most stunning sunrises and beautiful sunsets. The train carriage was so cosy and romantic. Log burner kept us super toasty. Felt private, secluded and luxurious. Fantastic wildlife, have never seen so many swallows. We went for a long picturesque walk up the moor and came back with a bumper batch of blaeberries.. Susan and Angus are really warm, friendly and approachable. Their attention to the smaller things really reflects their commitment to the ideal camping experience. Muiredge provides everything and more to get the ideal nature experience, with little effort required from the camper. Thank you so much for having us!!!!!! We will definitely be back! Keep doing what your doing! :-) Couldn't ask for more. Great holiday!