100%
11 Ratings · 15 reviews
Avatar
Hpesoj A.recommends
August 17, 2022
Daisy Yurt
Glamping with wheelchair
We love the caalm camp this glamping site is very relaxing and clean. We will definitely recommend to our friends and family the place is suitable to all family and also with wheelchair access very happy.
Avatar
Adele T.recommends
August 9, 2022
Buttercup Yurt
Amazing place
This camping site is paradise. We usually go abroad for our holidays but decided on a trip round England. Caalm Camp was our halfway point and I would happily have given up the rest of the trip to stay here. The yurt is spacious and has cooking equipment inside-stove, kettle, pots, pans etc. Each yurt has a private shower room with underfloor heating and the fluffiest towels. The setting is idyllic with nice walks-if you wanted to leave. Hot chocolate round the fire watching the stars was beautiful. Free fire wood. Plenty for the kids too-wooden play area, trampoline, footballs, seperate area with toy cars etc. Lots of space to play. I cannot say enough good things about this place. Plus the owner is welcoming, friendly and available if you need him.
Avatar
Mel K.
March 3, 2022
This is the 2nd time we have been to Caalm Camping in 4 months, we loved it so much last time we had to go back. The Yurts are beautiful and have everything you need. The facilities are brilliant and our girls love the barn with the pool table, ping pong and most of all the trio of goats! We cannot recommend this place enough, it's in beautiful surroundings and has everything you need for a relaxing getaway. Our girls are 6 & 9 and absolutely love it too, we can't wait to go back!
Avatar
Rose T.recommends
August 15, 2021
Snowdrop Yurt
First time glamping with the kids and we were not disappointed. A beautifully maintained site where everything little touch has been thought of, from coat hooks in the yurts to your own personal fridge and bathroom. The yurts are beautiful and well maintained, I was worried about being cold but they are so cosy even without the wood burner lit. Beds are super comfy, my kids slept for hours! Lots to do in the nearby areas too. Would highly recommend!
Avatar
Hannah M.recommends
July 17, 2021
Buttercup Yurt
My partner and I spent four nights in Buttercup yurt and could not have enjoyed it more. The location is great, only a short drive to Shaftsbury and amenities, but far enough into the country that you can see a million stars at night. The facilities are great - having your own lockable bathroom is the dream, and the kitchen had everything we needed to make scrummy dinners to sit by the campfire with. I would thoroughly recommend Caalm Camp to couples looking for a chilled out escape.
Avatar
Alix M.recommends
May 25, 2021
Bluebell Yurt
Enjoyed my stay in one of their beautiful yurts very much! Everything is thought out for your comfort and independance. Very much appreciated having my own bathroom for the duration of the stay, really makes a difference! I stayed alone that time, but will come back for sure with some friends as I am sure this is how the bbq and the beautiful surroundings are best appreciated!
Avatar
Amy M.recommends
May 4, 2021
Daisy Yurt
Wonderful weekend at Caalm camping in beautiful peaceful Dorset countryside. Facilities perfect for a family with small children, kids loved the freedom of playing safely wherever they wanted. Yurts are warm and comfortable perfectly spacious for a family of 5. Each yurt has their own allotted bathroom and kitchen space in the main building with fridge and cooking facilities as well as alfresco bbq and fire pit. Mark was incredibly helpful, nothing phases him! He even directed us to his pond where the kids were beyond excited to catch their first fish. Highly recommend a visit.
Avatar
Zsofia T.recommends
May 1, 2021
Bluebell Yurt
After a year we were soo looking forward to get out from our house and book a holiday. I am glad that I found Caalm Camp in a beautiful Dorset, where ever you go you find a foot path to follow or if you like fishing there is a fishing lakes about 5 minute away! Beautiful yurts, nice and warm very calming! We will definitely come back. The owners are very nice and helpful!
Avatar
Gavin S.recommends
October 20, 2020
Bluebell Yurt
We had a perfect break - what could be better ...? A lovely warm yurt with the homeliness of the roaring logs in the burner, peace and tranquillity, and clean and well thought out amenities. We loved our family break in Dorset and would highly recommend
Avatar
Adam W.recommends
July 25, 2020
Daisy Yurt
What a great way to get away from the hustle & bustle of London! Only 3 hrs door-to-door on public transport or a couple of hours drive will get you to Stour Provost (North Dorset), 15 mins taxi southward from Gillingham train station. Upon arrival we received a warm welcome from Mark who guided us through the facilities: our own Mongolian yurt, personal bathroom facilities and shared kitchen (our own fridge and cupboards). There are some communal sun chairs, but I recommend to bring some folding chairs for your campfire in the evening (don’t forget your marshmallows!). It’s a self-catered stay, so we had a Waitrose delivery on day-two for BBQ supplies. There’s a big ASDA next to the train station too, for whatever you need. The yurt was a traditional Mongolian yurt, very clean and spacious (sufficient for up to 4 people) with natural lighting via a skylight. All mod cons included (lamps, electric fan, kettle & hot-plate for boiling water, etc). The double bed was comfortable, although a little on the hard side. With Covid-19 here at present, we brought our own pillows. The yurt also has it’s own internal woodfire heating system, so on colder nights you can make the yurt toasty warm. The camp-grounds are well laid out and you feel immersed in the countryside. We went on a series of 1.5 hr walks, to the local store through a series of fields/paddocks, as well as around the Goods Farm property which is sizeable and very picturesque! All-in-all, we had a great stay and will consider Caalm Camp for a group stay in the future (to book all 6 yurts out for a birthday, etc).
Avatar
Na E.recommends
July 18, 2019
Foxglove Yurt
We cannot recommend Caalm Camp highly enough. It is a blissful retreat set amid beautiful countryside; an idyllic location. Mark`s friendly welcome on arrival set the tone of the whole weekend. Our yurt - Foxglove was clean, spacious and extremely comfortable. Having your own designated bathroom with luxurious towels and also your own designated kitchen space is a huge plus and the communal dining area with a cosy seating area and TV enabled us to watch both the Cricket World Cup and the Wimbledon Men`s Singles Final in total comfort. If you need a few days away to relax whilst enjoying the feeling of luxury `camping` you cannot do better than Caalm Camp. It is our second visit and we will definitely be back again. The added bonus is the close proximity to some excellent eating places and also with so many places of interest to explore in the local area. We had a perfect weekend. Thank you Mark.
Avatar
Liz ?.
May 8, 2019
We have just returned from 3 nights at Caalm Camp, with our two daughters, one of whom is profoundly disabled and medically complex. We were nervous about how we would manage, but it was all fine! The Yurts are really well set up- beds (which a hoist could get under), a log burner to stay warm, a ramp for getting the wheelchair in and out, and electricity for plugging in my daughter’s medical equipment. There was also a BBQ, fire pit and a tap outside the yurt and lots of available firewood. The communal kitchen was well set up and having a private bathroom/wet room made the whole stay for my daughter possible. The owners were always willing to help, and have a whole supply of equipment (shower chairs, bed raisers, shower hoses etc) which can help make your stay even more accessible - it is definitely worth asking what equipment they have before you go, as you may not need to take so much with you! The site is very clean and tidy, and my other daughter loved the play equipment and the animals. I’m sure we will be going again.
Avatar
Charlotte ?.
August 11, 2018
On arrival, we were greeted by Mark, the owner of caalm Camping. Mark automatically made us feel welcome and at home. Caalm is everything you want and more out of glamping, the facilities are simply the best. We stayed in the Buttercup yurt, which was filled with total charm. The beds were made with crisp white linen and were so so comfortable. The children have never slept so well. Outside the yurt was you’re own fire pit and bbq which was great for relaxing at night and cooking for the family on. We had our own private shower room with toilet, wash basin, etc. It was spotlessly clean and well presented. The communal kitchen was also spotless and was a real treat having our own fridge too. My children were spoilt for choice when it come to play time. Having a sandpit and Wendy house area with ride on toys and a play park too. There was a games room with ping pong and pool too. My daughters made good friends with the resident goats, one in particular they become very fond of and were very friendly too. Pizza night was a must, we chose the toppings and both Mark and Caryl prepared and cooked them fresh in the beautiful wood fired pizza oven. All in all it’s the best glamping experience and site we have ever been to and we will be sure to be returning very soon with all our family. Caalm camp really is the best. Thank you!
Avatar
Tom ?.
February 7, 2017
Caalm Camp is one of those places that has just got it spot on. Their yurts are stunning, facilities incredible, and hospitality fantastic. I'm personally not the biggest fan of traditional camping after many unfortunate experiences but yurting at Caalm was certainly not one of those. The yurts are built to the highest spec and stay warm and dry throughout the day. Providing actual beds make a massive difference as well. The thing that makes Caalm special for me is the access to the shared house with a separate bathroom per yurt, a shared modern kitchen, games room, and living room. Despite being their for a whole weekend, we only left the campsite a couple of times as there was so much to keep us busy on site. The fuller-than-life resident goats also completed the experience, for sure! If you're considering Caalm Camp, stop reading this review and book right away!
Avatar
Natasha ?.
February 7, 2017
We just returned from 3 wonderful days at Caalm Camp. Myself and husband were a bit worried about taking a toddler 'camping'! Upon arrival our worries diminished! Mark greeted us and showed us around and we quickly realised we had over packed and should've booked a week! We have stayed in yurts elsewhere but Caalm Calm is head shoulders above our previous experience. The yurts were beautiful, clean, comfortable and had everything you should ever need. The fan was a lovely edition as it was very hot when we arrived. There are electric sockets, a water tap outside the yurt and a BBQ and fire pit for your use. There's a set of picnic plates, cups and cutlery for use when BBQ-ing. The shared kitchen was large, clean and stocked with every utensil you should ever need. Having our own fridge was perfect for all our toddlers essentials and for a few bottles of wine! Our own bathroom was clean and large and the white fluffy towels were a real luxury. Our daughter enjoyed playing with the toys and if it rained I could see this communal area would be a welcomed edition. The atmosphere was so calm and relaxing and we so enjoyed watching our daughter play with the other children and explore the beautiful countryside safely. We met some lovely families and had a wonderful time visiting Peppa Pig World and Swanage. Shaftesbury looked so interesting and pretty we needed more days as there are lots of places we wanted to see. Mark was welcoming and would call by in the evenings to ensure everyone was happy and all ok. He really had thought of everything though so there was nothing more we could ask for. We can't wait to return!