100%
29 Ratings · 49 reviews
Avatar
Matthew T.recommends
January 24, 2022
Meadow tent pitch
Very friendly campsite very thoughtfully put together. Perfect place to get away from the rat race, especially if you can get down the very rutted lane. Could not want for a better site or a more welcoming owner.
Avatar
Amy R. (Host)
replied
January 24, 2022
Thank you so much Matthew for your lovely review. So pleased you had a good time here and hope to see you again! 😀 
Avatar
Louise F.recommends
November 2, 2021
Meadow tent pitch
We stayed at the iglulu pod. I made a last minute change to this from pitching a tent and the wonderful Amy was sweet and accommodating. When we arrived the weather decided to take a plunge into autumnal sorts and yet we were welcomed with warm smiles and the children were chatted to as if we were old friends. It was lovely. True, the path down to the countryside idyll is rickety and pock marked with huge pools and crevices but the loving care of the owners shines through - there are helpful signs like “ nearly there!” And “ passing place” to guide your down and our children loved the 5 minute drive looking out the window to spot cows or the odd mischievous gnome or very plump pig! The iglulu itself was neatly and cleverly arranged and had good facilities - we had a few hiccups with needing gas cylinders changed etc but the owners were very solicitous and keen to compensate for our every need and available all of the time. It was very appreciated and reassuring. You can feel that they run such a beautiful and happy place for the love of it and the general experience was that we left happy of heart and so pleased that we stayed. Memories of pigs, fairy glens, hooting owls and deliciously hot showers will stay with us always. I’ve not a doubt we shall be booking again soon! Thank you Hideaway - what a refreshing solace from the crazy world you offer! X
Avatar
Amy R. (Host)
replied
November 2, 2021
Hi Louise,  thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate it and thank you for being so understanding about the difficulties we had with the gas fire and solar ! It was a pleasure to meet you and have you to stay and really hope to see you again. Many thanks Amy 
Avatar
Caroline B.recommends
August 14, 2021
Rosie the Gypsy Caravan
We stayed at Rosie the Gypsy caravan and enjoyed every minute of it! It was such fun, like stepping back in time, Rose is beautiful & cosy with a log burner to keep you warm if needed. Set in a secluded spot with hammocks to relax in, or sit by an open fire with woodland views and a lounge area with everything you need, its the perfect spot to truly relax and escape in. The owner was very helpful and friendly, so thank you, we can't wait for our next stay!
Avatar
Amy R. (Host)
replied
August 14, 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We really appreciate it, glad you had a great time, hope to see you again.  
Avatar
Lucy K.recommends
August 10, 2021
Excella - 80's American Airstream
We spent Friday to Monday in the airstream (myself, my husband and our 3 year old) we had a wonderful time. The campsite is on beautiful grounds and all the accommodations are spaced out, particular the airstream has its own private space. A lovely little fairy garden, adorable pig pen and a great little walk through the woods along side a stream. The airstream itself was great, all the home comforts which were perfect for us having our son with us but still a glamping feel with the outside toilet (which was private for us) and it's beautifully decorated. Very friendly owners too. We would love to come back, a very unique and peaceful campsite, obviously run with lots of love!
Avatar
Amy R. (Host)
replied
August 10, 2021
Thank you so much Lucy for your lovely review!! We are so pleased you had a great time,  and hope to see you again 
Avatar
Lorenzo A.recommends
July 24, 2021
Meadow tent pitch
We totally l loved the set up here. Really chilled, lots of space and everything you need without feeling it’s gone over the top. Ideal location for exploring Devon and popping over the border to Cornwall. No noisy roads nearby and you really feel magically removed from the outside world. This is definitely on the visit again list.
Avatar
Amy R. (Host)
replied
July 24, 2021
Thank you so much Lorenzo for your lovely review! We really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again. 
Avatar
Chris K.
July 22, 2021
This is the second year we've stayed and its our favourite site. Really spacious with lots of space between pitches and to play in general. The kids love exploring the site and visiting the pigs. We love the space and quiet feel. Campfires also a bonus. Really happy with our stay and cant wait to go back.
Avatar
Amy R. (Host)
replied
July 22, 2021
Thanks Chris for the review, we really appreciate it. So pleased that you love the site and we look forward to seeing you again. 
Avatar
Catherine B.recommends
July 19, 2021
Meadow tent pitch
The most magical place to take my children. So much space for them to run and play , as well as the playground and fairy area , they spent hours in the hammock den and splashing in the river. The owners were so helpful and kind and I look forward to going back again.
Avatar
Amy R. (Host)
replied
July 19, 2021
Thanks for the review Catherine, we really appreciate it. So glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you again! 
Avatar
Sarah N.recommends
July 16, 2021
Iglulu camping pod
It was the second time I had visited Hiedaway, but the first with my three children. They absolutely loved the freedom to explore and enjoyed finding lots of hidden areas around the site. We loved having the hammocks to lay in and the fire pit. It is a very relaxed and welcoming campsite with good facilities. Looking forward to coming again sometime
Avatar
Amy R. (Host)
replied
July 16, 2021
Thanks for the review Sarah, we really appreciate it. Glad you had a good time and the kids enjoyed themselves ! Hopefully see you again 
Avatar
Michelle R.recommends
July 14, 2021
Meadow tent pitch
From arrival to the moment of exit the site is all it says on the package! You will not regret taking time to make camp here 😊
Avatar
Amy R. (Host)
replied
July 14, 2021
Thanks Michelle for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it and glad you had a good time. Hope to see you again! Thanks 
Avatar
Martin S.
July 14, 2021
We went to Hideaway to meet friends (already staying in iglulu) for a couple of nights. The track to it is quite long, bumpy and narrow so we had checked it out beforehand (something we rarely do) and decided we could manage. Our motorhome is 7m x 2.8m and 4 Tons. The track was fine and with some shuffling we got into the camping field. A large field with pitches around the edge, partly levelled & visually shielded so you don't feel overlooked. Sadly there had been a lot of rain and the field is not flat so every time we tried to go up the field we slid to a halt. We settled on a pitch roughly level with the entrance. The slope was significant and a motorhome is not the best for that, so we were camped at more of an angle than we ever had before. Getting on our ramps was not possible due to slippery grass, though they would not have made a lot of difference. The atmosphere is relaxed, quiet and idyllic with great views from the top of the field. The staff members are all very friendly and helpful. We were impressed with the variety of their accommodation. We really enjoyed our stay but unfortunately the rain continued on and off and was sometimes torrential so despite being on the drier side of the field, we sank in an inch or two. Eddie to the rescue with the tractor and pulled us out, a procedure he seemed quite familiar with. We thoroughly recommend this site, though if you have a heavy motorhome be prepared for the slope and pray for dry weather. Rumour has it they are planning to put in some hardstanding.
Avatar
Amy R. (Host)
replied
July 14, 2021
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Martin, we really appreciate it. Yes shame about the weather while you were here, it's glorious now, typical!! 
Avatar
Steven B.recommends
July 4, 2021
Jabba the Hut
We were lucky enough to book Jabba the Hut for a single night. The hosts were wonderful, even jump-starting our car the next morning. A superb little hut, near a wonderful stream with extraordinary lichen. Communal areas were wonderful but the best part was it being so far away from any roads and just waking up to the sounds of nature after a night sat by the fire provided by our hosts. We will be back to try the gypsy caravan, the streamliner and the other pods, because I glamp. I don't camp. (Too disabled). And I'm a snob!
Avatar
Amy R. (Host)
replied
July 4, 2021
It was lovely to meet you both, glad you had a great time, look forward to seeing you again!  
Avatar
Gary B.recommends
June 8, 2021
Meadow tent pitch
Great campsite, with loads of woods and little places to explore. Hidden away - great for a quiet camping trip.
Avatar
Amy R. (Host)
replied
June 8, 2021
Thanks for the review Gary, we really appreciate it and hope to see you again! 
Avatar
Mareena A.recommends
June 5, 2021
Meadow tent pitch
Absolutely beautiful campsite, gorgeous stream walks and lots to discover along the way! The hammock garden was a massive hit too! Peaceful, well laid out, and perfect amenities for the site, flushing toilets and compost toilets,proper showers, plenty of firewood and an honestly shop for camping essentials! We loved it so much we booked to come back again in August, after just 1 night there!! After such a tough year, this really was the perfect little getaway to forget everything and recharge!
Avatar
Amy R. (Host)
replied
June 5, 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review!  We are so glad you had a great time. Look forward to seeing you again ! 
Avatar
Liz H.recommends
June 1, 2021
Little Owl Pod
My boyfriend and I stayed in the little Owl hut for two nights and we had a really lovely time! We enjoyed having some drinks by the firepit in the evening and watching the stars over the field. Great atmosphere at the campsite overall and we were sad to leave. Hope we can return again soon!
Avatar
Amy R. (Host)
replied
June 1, 2021
Thanks Liz for your lovely review we really appreciate it! Hope to see you again. 
Avatar
Michael R.recommends
May 6, 2021
Meadow tent pitch
Tucked away along a farm track is this wonderful site, unusual and quirky in all the right ways. The only downside is that I couldn’t stay longer
Avatar
Amy R. (Host)
replied
May 6, 2021
Thank you so much for the review Michael, hope to see you again (for longer!)