89%
55 Ratings · 100 reviews
Avatar
Hlbuttrick ?.recommends
August 6, 2022
Extra large tent pitch (6 man)
Had an amazing camp! Pitches were large with loads of space and a fire pit (logs easy to buy). There was a tyre swing across a tiny steam next to our tent, so the small folk were happily occupied most of the time. Instructions were clear and it was an easy walk to Sticker to top up supplies at the local shop. Loads to do in the area too - beaches, Eden project, Lost Gardens of Heligan. An incredible site in a fantastic location. We will definitely be back! Thank you so much.
Avatar
Lisa H.recommends
September 9, 2021
Medium tent pitch (3 man)
We found this place on the internet a bit by accident but we are so glad we did. This camp site is a peaceful little haven. Our children loved the animals espcially the ducklings and enjoyed roaming free around the site. The facilities are basic but were clean and the showers were hot so thats a bonus when camping! We loved it amd would highly reccomend, we are hoping to come back and stay in a bell tent one day soon!
Avatar
Norma ?.
September 1, 2021
It's a gorgeous site in a beautiful setting with the lakes full of wildlife. Sadly with many campers on site there is a need for better toilet facilities. The compost toilets weren't always pleasant to say the least. Just a little tlc would help.
Avatar
Tony G.recommends
September 1, 2021
Medium tent pitch (3 man)
The location is stunning, little to no road noise, just country wildlife. The ducks and their babies marching around all the tents entertaining old and young alike. The resident heron guarding the lake and his many fish hunting spots whilst basking in the sun. The evening open fire beside our tent became a highlight for our family of four, without an internet signal we actually talked, laughed and reconnected on so many levels. Roasted marshmallows helped too ! Looking across the fields at the many firepits was magical and helped to keep the flying biters away. Not a single nip for any of us even though we were pitched facing the lake. The small rowing boats, (3), are a very clever idea and our kids loved them. Their first introduction to boating in a small safe environment. The facilities, whilst described as basic are functional. They are tired, in poor repair, too few for the size of campsite and are not appealing to use. Ironically, the biggest upset is the lack of a sink to wash dishes. This seems like an easy fix. There is no doubt Tony the owner, ( and family ?), work very hard maintaining the site and kudos for their efforts but I can’t help thinking an investment in practical toilet/shower facilities would benefit everyone and make their life so much easier and pay for itself in very short order. It would certainly secure our future visits.
Avatar
Caroline T.recommends
August 31, 2021
Medium tent pitch (3 man)
Gorgeous campsite,a beautifull spot ,facilities are all you need, basic camping suited to the more earthy rugged camper, so many ducks,birds,wildlife, ponds ,our kids loved it here stayed five nights was perfect for us and our kids, totally enjoyed immensely. Thank you so much Tony we will be back!
Avatar
Charlotte S.recommends
August 31, 2021
Extra large tent pitch (6 man)
Our little family spent a wonderful week getting back to basics, playing frisbee, climbing trees, roasting marshmallows, gazing at the stars, boating on the lake and enjoying the sunshine amongst ducklings, owls, butterflies and dragonflies. This place couldn’t get more blissful if you are looking for an authentic family camping experience. Hot showers and flushing toilets are basic but totally fine. What it lacks in facilities it more than makes up for in charm and it’s beautiful setting. This is a superb base from which to explore Cornwall with so many gems right on your doorstep too. We will be back!
Avatar
Oliviaa ?.recommends
August 31, 2021
Medium tent pitch (3 man)
The facilities were ok with sometimes hot showers sometimes cold showers and there are not many facilities for the number of campers as well etc. but that's not the reason you would choose to come to this campsite. This is a wonderful place for a family friendly holiday. The lake adds to the magic of the place with kids enjoying their little bit of freedom. We have a very lively 4 year old with no sense of danger so the open water added an element of risk but we knew that before going. There was another field without the lake around it should we have wanted it. The children adored their stay watching the wildlife and there were so many lovely like-minded people on that campsite in search of the simple life and nature.
Avatar
Dee P.recommends
August 31, 2021
Small tent pitch (1-2 man)
The reason for 5 stars is because everything lived up to our expectations. Although it states that check in time is 2pm we called at 10.30 to see if we could check in earlier and we were told we could come straight away . We chose our spot close to the dam and near enough to the toilet/shower block. Big plus was - Hot showers! No midges or mosquitos. Neighbours were considerate and friendly and kids well behaved. There is kindling and logs on site. Thoroughly enjoyed the ducks and ducklings wandering around camp and the chilled vibe. Will deffo come again.
Avatar
Caroline V.recommends
August 30, 2021
Billy Blue 6M Private Bell Tent
Had a wonderful week in Billy Blue bell tent. Best pitch on the site, secluded and private. Campsite is very pretty, chilled and quiet after 10pm. Little kitchen well equipped. Had all we needed - bar some more anti-squirrel devices! Bathroom facilities basic but adequate. Owners friendly and easygoing. Would love to go back.
Avatar
Sarah M.recommends
August 30, 2021
Cherry Blossom, private 6M Bell Tent
Me and my daughters had a lovely week at Pleasant Streams Farm. Beautiful surroundings with baby ducks, goats, lakes and rope swings! The compost loos were fine and the showers were great. We stayed in one of the bell tents and it was lovely. We had everything we could need for the week. We even had a welcome pack of wine, biscuits and marshmallows on our arrival! And the owners were so friendly and helpful. Also, lovely beaches and seaside towns in the area and only 30 mins drive from Newquay. Thanks for a lovely holiday!
Avatar
Ali C.recommends
August 30, 2021
Extra large tent pitch (6 man)
Just home from a lovely 2 weeks staying here. After being a little cautious from some of the reviews, we were really delighted with our experience. Week one was a little cooler … week two the sun shine endlessly and we could have been in France. The site is indeed basic, and the facilities could do with a lick of paint and more frequent cleaning given the amount of campers… but nothing we couldn’t cope with. Kids had great fun exploring and being kids which was a joy to watch. And meant the adults could enjoy a glass of wine in the golden hour in peace! Like others have said… a little work and this place could be truly beautiful. The wood shed and storage caravan needs a good tidy up as it feels it lets the site down. And the jetty’s could do with strengthening!! I think as well, whilst pitch where you like is lovely - a few guidance rules would be very helpful to avoid arriving back from a day out to find a new tent a bit close for comfort. A few larger groups arrived too which caused a few noise issues so some gentle site management particularly in the evenings would be a bonus. All in all though a really lovely experience and for a bargain price. (FYI I had spoken to the farm prior to arriving to clarify my tent size, to avoid the nasty surprise that lots have had with being charged more. It would solve all problems to simply have the tent dimensions next to ‘small, medium and legs etc’ on the booking form to avoid confusion and a disappointing start to a holiday). May well be back. Thanks Pleasant Streams.
Avatar
Dean P.
August 28, 2021
Thank you for our stay absolute perfect very affordable stay for a little family with lots of things to do with a short drive too them all. And the free roaming ducks and 2 lakes with boats and fish too feed. And I’ve heard people complain about the showers in previous post which I found strange cos they were more than amble for a camp site. There is absolute nothing too complain about here. When you come just pick your pitch and the owner comes too you when he gets the chance.
Avatar
Gemma C.recommends
August 23, 2021
Large tent pitch (4-5 man)
Absolutely adored staying here for the weekend. The campsite has basic facilities but the compost loos are good for the environment and were clean. There are also hot showers. The best part of this campsite are the beautiful little lakes, and the baby ducks running around gave the weekend a total blissful feel.
Avatar
Marta K.recommends
August 22, 2021
Medium tent pitch (3 man)
I loved everything about my stay. I can't really understand negative comments as the camp site is a hidden gem. We were lucky enough to pitch our tent near the lake, we watched geese and birds while drinking morning coffee. It was my first camping experience ever but I loved it. No power, no wi fi and lack of phone reception turned out to be a blessing rather then a problem. Of course there are no 5 star facilities but there is drinking water available, toilet facilities, and a shower. All in all it's a garm campsite:) We will be back of again in Cornwall
Avatar
Konrad H.doesn't recommend
August 20, 2021
Medium tent pitch (3 man)
Place with big potential but seems owners take care more of money then customers. At first everything seems OK to me, I was told to pitch where you want. When I set up my tent member of staff came to me and said you must move your tent from here, it is only for glamping ( there is no sign is for glamping and I been advised to pick where i want) So I moved by advise. Second thing I been asked to pay more for my 3 person halfords tent! Which on coolcamp booking site been classified as medium tent, but they said is large!!! Really. (to be clear my tent is 220cm to 320cm). I thought is everything for now but I was wrong! Later on lady came with a van and she claimed I took her place for the van to park up! (to be clear at this time I pitch on the place showed by owner/staff). So I spent the night with van wheel parked in my tent entry. Lovely night I glad it wasn't my only camping on this trip but it was only one with bad taste. Like I said at beginning: place with big potential but also need big changes! not bad but far from good recommendion.