89%
14 Ratings · 13 reviews
Avatar
Rhiannon M.recommends
August 28, 2022
Grass Tent Pitch for Camping
Wild Camping in Bedfordshire
I have already recommended this to friends. A lovely surrounding and set up, which attracted seemingly lovely people and families. It felt like we’d stumbled onto a bit of a gem. Thanks so much for putting this all together and for a wonderful weekend. So lovely this exists. Very well done.
Avatar
Serkan C. (Host)
replied
September 1, 2022
Thank you so much Rhiannon. Appreciate your kind words.
Avatar
Tim M.recommends
September 2, 2021
Grass Tent Pitch for Camping
This is a really interesting idea - mixing up camping with just a hint of festival - adding a touch of spice to the whole thing. Access to the river was a brilliant bonus. Site was clean and well spaced out. Facilities just about enough. I'd definitely go again - hope they come back to the Turvey site next year.
Avatar
Rachael H.recommends
September 1, 2021
Grass Tent Pitch for Camping
We had a great time at Wild Canvas Camping this summer. We camped with our two children (4 & 7), who loved the open space, the wild swimming and all the activities. There was something for the adults too. Would highly recommend the stand up paddle boarding and pizza at the Luna cafe. Really chilled out atmosphere, very safe and kept tidy and clean throughout our stay.
Avatar
Hannah G.
August 30, 2021
Arrived on my first ever camping trip with my mum and 6 year old daughter. I LOVED this place. So friendly, clean, best pizza I’ve ever eaten. If they do the same next year, we’re in!!!!
Avatar
Vicki B.recommends
August 23, 2021
Traditional Tipi (Furnished)
We got back yesterday from 3 nights ‘glamping’ in a tipi at Turvey House. Our friends joined and were able to pitch their tent near us as there are no designated areas. The site is exactly as the website describes; the atmosphere, activities, facilities, surroundings etc. Nothing ‘sounds better than it actually is’ when you get there… everything is as you hoped it would be and more. Same goes for the pictures; they weren’t taken on their ‘best day’ - that’s exactly how it looks when you arrive. We spent most of our time enjoying our own camp fire but when we did venture out everyone we encountered was lovely (staff and campers alike). In the end the only activity we managed to squeeze in was the paddle boarding which was fantastic. Next year (we will definitely go back) we will try to do a few more of the activities on offer as they sounded really fun. *A note to any camping novices like me: tipis are great: spacious, water tight in the rain, beds included etc BUT you can’t ‘seal yourself in’ the way you can with a tent, so be prepared to share your space with a few spiders. That said I would still book a tipi for next time we visit!
Avatar
Nick M.
August 16, 2021
Just back from our 2nd weekend at Wild Canvas and it was even better than the first. I went will my 2 children aged 7 and 9. We loved the paddle boarding, swimming, arts and crafts, disco..and the delicious food...the smoked meat was soooooo good. We didn't want to leave....so squeezed in a 4th night. Thanks Nick, R & M. (Please do it again next year!)
Avatar
Serkan C. (Host)
replied
August 16, 2021
Thanks Nick, very kind of you to take the time to leave a review here. It is much appreciated. We are super happy you guys enjoyed your second trip to Wild Canvas. All the best to you and the children - Wild Canvas Team.
Avatar
Stuart G.recommends
August 10, 2021
Grass Tent Pitch for Camping
We camped there Friday 6th August to Monday 9th August and absolutely loved it. Firstly, the location is perfect, loads of open space with a glorious river at the end of the field perfect for jumping and swimming in to cool off. The facilities are pretty basic - a few portaloos, a couple of washing up stands with hot water and a block of good, hot showers. But there's tonnes of space so you can either go for a quiet spot or have loads of room for a large group of friends to camp around a communal space. You'll feel like you're in the remote countryside, even though the local village and pubs are only a 15 minute walk away. The only activity we did was the paddle-boarding which was fantastic - excellent supervisor (Dom) and we loved meandering down the Ouse and navigating the hurdles while trying to stay balanced. The cafe and evening meal pop up was great - delicious pizzas for around a tenner, good breakfast options and coffees though would have been nice if the cafe was open all day, not just until 1pm. Best of all was the courtyard area with the bar, open fire and chilled-out DJs in the evening. We couldn't believe the Mad Professor was playing on the Saturday night - what a treat, an intimate crowd dancing under the stars - but DJ Zaf and DJ Soul Serenade (?) were also great on the Friday and Sunday nights. Amazing vibes and atmosphere. Lastly, big shout out to all the staff. They were never less than kind and generous, so laidback and helpful, and always super-friendly. Think of this as a low-key cross between wild camping and a mini festival - it's definitely not glamping or a commercial campsite. We thoroughly enjoyed it and will definitely be back next year if it's on.
Avatar
Serkan C. (Host)
replied
August 10, 2021
Thank you Stuart.. really appreciate you taking the time to leave this and it kind of sums up the vibe so well. Thanks again. 
Avatar
Sel ?.
August 5, 2021
Great staff, being right by river With all the fun that brings and the General atmosphere Around Campsite been just perfect. But highlight for me was listening to Earl Gates head chilling by the river. Very cool camping
Avatar
Nelson C.recommends
August 5, 2021
Grass Tent Pitch for Camping
This place is amazing. me the wife and the kids have a total blast. the site is prestine and the river is great the staff are so helpfull as well. this place is really great for families and first timers because of the good facilities they have and if you don't wanna cook you can just buy pizza or burger. if you want to start a campfire and don't wanna look or bring your own fire woods? they sell them as well, if you don't wanna bring a tent, well you can go glamping as well. the only bummer is its only available on summer so don't miss the chance and come while its still available. i will comeback next year and bring more family members and friends so they can experience it and have a supreme bliss.
Avatar
Dan ?.
July 27, 2021
Wild canvas is exactly what was needed, after a year of being locked indoors i started to become such an introvert, getting used to being indoors and whatnot. Its a great way to spend family time from sitting around a fire in the evening to cooking breakfast in the morning, the activities wild canvas provide for the kids is amazing too. Lets not forget the wild swimming in the river besides the field, its just perfect! Last but not least the Patty and Bun box they have to offer, is TO DIE FOR! All in all im enjoying myself once again at a wild canvas run campsite! Will be back
Avatar
Serkan C. (Host)
replied
July 27, 2021
thank you for your review Dan.. we really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again in future
Avatar
S V.recommends
July 26, 2021
Traditional Tipi (Furnished)
We stayed for the weekend including the opening night. There are three large fields with the bar and music on the edge of the first field so you can seek out the festival vibe if you like or stay further away if you prefer the quiet. Along all fields is a small river in which you can or watch the minnows peck at your feet (watch out for the current though). It’s a beautiful place with a coffee van that offers croissants in the morning and at night there was food. Pizza one night, pulled pork or chicken the other. Showers and toilets are clean. Very family friendly.
Avatar
Serkan C. (Host)
replied
July 26, 2021
Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review. We appreciate it very much. 
Avatar
John ?.doesn't recommend
July 26, 2021
Grass Tent Pitch for Camping
Arrived Friday afternoon and no barrows to transport camping equipment, bar not open until 6 no DJ’s as advertised - the only thing which gave me the festival vibe is the over priced can of warm cider (£5) and the rain and kids shouting late at night - asked staff about music on Saturday and they didn’t know - left after one night disappointing
Avatar
Serkan C. (Host)
replied
July 26, 2021
Thank you for your review. Friday was our opening day and there were a few last minute changes we had to make to accommodate people isolating. We apologise for any inconvenience. We have advertised a campsite with a gentle festival vibe across 6 weeks, our program is spread out across the entire event and a detailed schedule is available on our website and on notice boards at the campsite. I can appreciate that in 1 night here you might not have experience much of it. We did indeed have a DJ on Saturday evening at the bar and this was on the notice board. We do not make it the responsibility of the crew to know the programme. In addition, we have already had dozens of workshops and activities take place including; Yoga sessions, QiGong, Children' s Disco, T-shirt Printing, Crafts workshops, Kids Nature Clubs, Live Music in the Yurt, Story Telling and more, and all this just in the first 3 days! I apologise that the sound of kids on campsite disturbed you, we have always said that this is a family friendly campsite and children are an integral part of it. Also to inform future guests that the Cider is now cold and costs £4 per can. You are of course also welcome to bring your own.
Avatar
Jenan M.recommends
August 17, 2020
Grass Tent Pitch for Camping
I have been camping with my 11 year old son a few times and this time he said when we arrived, "You know I don't like camping. It's boring and I want to go home!" By the end of the first day he said, "Maybe I was being too negative. I really did enjoy today!" What made the difference for him and myself, were the shared events that were on offer, the hula hoop, tai chi and forest sounds classes that we participated in and the friendliness of our neighbouring campers, whose children played with my son and whose grown ups joined me for tea on the camp stove and evening chats around the fire pit. The last night, where we shared a delicious curry at the cafe and had a boogey to music, was a great end to a fab few days and this was despite it raining and storming for most of the time! As a single mum with a reluctant son, I too arrived with reservations we'd feel isolated, or he'd be disengaged but we both had our reservations swept away. Neither of us were expecting to have such a great experience. It's by far our best camping trip together. The friendly staff, campers, camp shop, cafe, coffee box van, barn and tepee with organised events and activities all helped to make us feel welcome and part of a camping community for the few days we were there. Thank you! We'll be going again next year and I'll know now to pack my wellies!