Hipcamp host Brynn B.
Hosted by
Brynn has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

County wide Fire Ban in effect. Propane Firepits only. Due to the fire danger and the desire to keep campers safe the policy will be strictly enforced. We have a couple of propane firepits available for rental, you provide the fuel, please request at the time of booking and book for the amount of nights you need ($10.00 per night)

Right on the Yakima River, river views

Read more...

County wide Fire Ban in effect. Propane Firepits only. Due to the fire danger and the desire to keep campers safe the policy will be strictly enforced. We have a couple of propane firepits available for rental, you provide the fuel, please request at the time of booking and book for the amount of nights you need ($10.00 per night)

Right on the Yakima River, river views available from a couple of Campsites but literally a 2 minute walk to rivers edge. 3 semi Private Campsites spread out nicely amongst the trees and/or in a meadow. 

Site #1: Smaller site, right on the river in a grove of trees. We share the river frontage with the local rafting outfitters so you may see a few boats landing and being removed from the river. So convenient if you are planning a trip down the Yakima!!

Site #2: Larger site in a meadow, can accommodate (2) Families. Not on river (or River view) but a two minute walk to rivers edge.

Site #3: In the forest, two minute walk to river. Must be flexible when booking this site, may have to move you to safer spot if wind conditions warrant.

 Honey Bucket provided, the Portapotty may be a 30 second walk for some folks. We tried to centrally locate the Honeybucket but due to the size of the property its not going to be right next door to every site. This is dry camping for now but will update as infrastructure is built. Planning to have water/electricity by next year. Nine Miles to Ellensburg, 10 miles to Cle Elum. Close to hiking trails, River Rafting outfitter uses our upper 5 acres, excellent blue ribbon fly fishing right in front of you. John Wayne Trail close for Bicyclists. Very Peaceful, but fairly close to activities in Ellensburg or Cle Elum. Horses welcome for small extra fee. Due to the proximity to the river and safety our #1 concern, all campers must be over the age of 6 or a baby in arms.

 We have had several issues with off leash dogs, one in particular could have been tragic, so we are asking guests if you aren't comfortable with your dogs being on leash the entire stay this may not be the perfect fit for you.

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans and truck campers, trailers, RVs
3 sites
Up to 8 guests per site
Park at listing
ADA access
Essentials
Toilet available
Pets allowed
No campfires
Amenities
Picnic table available
Bins available
No potable water
No kitchen
No showers
No wifi
Camping vehicle details
No electrical hookup
No water hookup
No sewage hookup
No TV hookup
Generators not allowed
Pull-through site
Max length 55ft
Accommodates slideouts
Surface type: grass or field
Surface levelness: flat
Have a question? Send Brynn a message!
  • Check in: After 12PM
  • Check out: Before 11AM
  • Cancellation policy: Flexible
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 2
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Response time: Within an hour
  • Response rate: 100%

You know what would make this trip even better?

Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to Buck Meadows River Frontage

$10
Rental

Propane Firepit

Propane Firepit for when the county issues Burn bans. $10.00 per night so ple...Read more

Add to trip
Remove
0
max
$12.50

Firewood bundle

Very generous stack of Firewood on site waiting for you as well as the kindli...Read more

Add to trip
Remove
0
max

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking

Close to John Wayne Trail

Fishing

Excellent Fly Fishing in Yakima. Guided tours available, license required. Public boat launch is right next door!

Hiking

Hiking Opportunities all over the region, Forest Service access,Teanaway Trails, many hiking opportunities.

Horseback riding

Several Outfitters are in the area for guided tours for days or hours.

Paddling

Kayaking on Yakima River for more experienced enthusiasts.

Off-roading (OHV)

We have a very small, well maintained trail system for our golf carts. You are more than welcome to use but please be respectfu...Read more

Whitewater paddling

Rill Adventures, a River Rafting Outfitter leases our Upper 5 acres.

Wildlife watching

Cranes, Owls, Deer, Various Birds, Beavers, Marmots have all been spotted on the property.

Wind sports

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Buck Meadows River Frontage in Washington.

Forest
Field
River, stream, or...
Ranch

The vibe at Buck Meadows River Frontage

Places to see near Buck Meadows

49 Written reviews
This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Chere
Chere D.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Site 2)
June 23rd, 2020

The host and hostess were super nice and great, but for the amount of money we spent the trash can was to small especially for multiple people and more then 5 days. They do want you to recycle but I didn’t want to haul garbage out and for the amount of money I was paying they I feel can dump it. We did end up taking 3 bags of garbage with us anyway. The Porta potty was a bit far to walk to, very clean though. The mosquitoes were so bad and it’s not really river front property on your site no view directly you had to walk through woods to get there. Pictures were forsure Deceiving. I don’t think we will come back but we did have some fun as a family kayaking the Yakima.

Hipcamper Brynn
Response from Brynn, the Host, on June 27th, 2020

Good Morning Chere, Site #2 was the only site large enough to accommodate your group, which our description clearly points out is not on the river, but literally a minutes walking distance from the site. After your visit we have since altered our policy and have limited the amount of guests since our infrastructure isn’t set up to have so many people. As you pointed out we provide one large garbage can for your convenience, even though Hipcamp’s policy is to pack it out, however the one can was inadequate for the amount of refuse your group generated. During Covid we weren’t all that happy about handling garbage so In the future we will limit the amount of campers on our sites to mitigate this issue.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Sharon

Spacious and right on the river!

Sharon S.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
July 12th, 2020

We just spent a quick weekend at Buck Meadows, in Duke's Roost! The location was easy to find and right on the river. Unfortunately when we were there, the water was going a bit to fast and it was a little too cool out to jump in, but if either of those wasn't the case, there is a nice little swim beach. All of the sites were large, and had giant fire pits, picnic tables and really nice benches around the fire. The grounds were extremely well kept, and the layout gave lots of flexibility on how we wanted to set up camp. The mosquitos get pretty bad at night, so be sure to bring bug spray! The hosts were great to work with, lots of communcation when booking and they popped by to see how we were when we arrived. We did have to share our little river front beach with some rafters, but that was few and far between, and the people working at the company doing the rafter pick up were friendly and were only seen when they had a raft coming in (2-3 times during the weekend). We will definitely come here again!

Hipcamper Brynn
Response from Brynn, the Host, on July 15th, 2020

Thank you for joining us last weekend. If you come stay again there is a county boat launch a short walk up the road that has a little swimming hole or a very nice lake in Ellensburg for more serious water fun. This time of year the river is high and typically fast for irrigation purposes. In the fall the river is way down and more accessible. Hope to see you again!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Robert
Robert S.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Site 2)
July 12th, 2020

This was our second time staying there. The first stay a couple months ago was great. Beautiful private site on the Yakima river . This time we were dismayed to find a commercial river rafting company on the property. I was looking forward to camping in site 1 on the river but there were rafters coming ashore basically in your campsite so we doubled up in site 2 with our relatives which was no problem and a nice spot. Site number 3 which we stayed at last time now has an access road for the rafters right next to it and looks potentially pretty dusty from traffic. Overall still a good place to camp especially if you book number 2 site

Hipcamper Brynn
Response from Brynn, the Host, on July 15th, 2020

Hi Robert, Thank you very much for your Feedback. We are working our way through a peaceful coexistence with the river rafting company that leases our upper 5 acres and looks like we may have a little work to do. I’ll make sure to explain to campers that they may on occasion throughout the weekend experience some rafters taking out on that site so they can decide on whether or not to stay in that spot. We’d love to have you return in the fall when the rafting season is over and stay with us again, on us, so you can have the peaceful experience you had the first time.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Nick
Nick V.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Site 3)
August 17th, 2020

We stayed at site #3 and thought that the site itself was well maintained and Brynn and Bob were very friendly. However, there were a couple of unexpected hiccups that caused our stay to be less than perfect.

We were provided benches, a picnic table and a small bug zapper to deal with the many mosquitoes at the site (make sure to bring insect repellant or you will get eaten up). We also rented a propane fire pit and our host provided us with an adapter to use small camp propane tanks instead of the large sized bbq tanks. The adapter worked for a couple minutes, then froze the fire pit gas line before violently releasing all of the propane from the tank. Do not use the adapter and only use bbq sized tanks as we are lucky that it did not cause an explosion.

Upon arriving, we were instructed to talk to Bob to get checked in. We asked Bob about river access and the checkout procedure were given a very relaxed responses. We were told that we were free to swim and use the river whenever we wanted, but ended up having to negotiate our time by the river with the rafting company that rents the same property.

When we asked about the checkout procedure, we were told that all we needed to do was let ourselves out of the gate when we were ready to checkout, and not given any specific time. The morning after our last night, Byynn stopped by our campsite to let us know that other campers were coming we needed to be packed up by 11am, which surprised us a bit but is totally understandable. When we got cell service again, I noticed a message on hipcamp around 7am that said we had to be out by 11am but "For future reference, If other campers arent scheduled we are very flexible with the check out time". After cleaning and vacating the campsite completely we decided to dip our feet in the water before our long drive home but were promptly told that we needed to get off of the property entirely, so I'm not sure how flexible they really are.

Hipcamper Brynn
Response from Brynn, the Host, on August 19th, 2020

If you stay in a hotel and there is a check out rule you typically are packed up and checked out by the posted time. We had other guests checking in at noon, when we went to check on your progress at 11:50 you hadn’t even started breaking camp, it was fortunate our other campers had trailer issues so were 45 minutes late. Otherwise we would have received a bad review for the campsite not being ready for them! Checkout time is 11:00 as listed our website, we gave you extra time to checkout, not to go down to the beach without permission, you were gathered at the beach the rafters use to remove their boats so for everyone’s safety I asked you to leave. We bought the adapters trying to help campers who brought the wrong size tank For the propane Firepits but from your description we will be sending those back to Amazon immediately, We do apologize for that, we were told they would work.

Helpful
1
Helpful
1
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Andrea

Perfect two night stay!

Andrea A.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
August 31st, 2020

Brynn and her husband were so welcoming and friendly! They checked in on us from time to time to see if there was anything we might need, were incredibly responsive to any questions we had, and respected our privacy while being as helpful and available as we needed. They gave us tips on activities in the surrounding areas (i.e. spots to chill in the river!) and our site was clean and ready for us when we arrived. We had spot #3 which was a little more private. Within seconds of the river and a generally very clean portable toilet. Awesome hosts, AMAZING property, great time. Totally recommend if you are in the area!

Just seconds from the river.Site #3. So much space, private and sheltered by trees, and with a propane fire pit available for rental!
Hipcamper Brynn
Response from Brynn, the Host, on September 2nd, 2020

We enjoyed meeting you and your friendly roommates. You were wonderful guests and we appreciate how tidy you left the campsite, come back and see us anytime!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Nicole
Nicole P.
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
September 23rd, 2019

The campsite was spacious and peaceful. We could hear occasional cars driving by, but it was otherwise just the sounds of the Yakima river. We were lucky that there wasn’t a burn ban in effect, so we were able to enjoy a campfire. The hosts even prepped some firewood for us so the site was very welcoming upon our arrival. There were no other campers during our stay, but the property seems large enough that other campers wouldn’t have been disruptive.

Hipcamper Brynn
Response from Brynn, the Host, on September 27th, 2019

Thank you Nicole, you were our first hipcamper so appreciate your feedback and positive attitude. We’d love to host you again in the future!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper michael

Magical

Michael M.
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
March 31st, 2020

Bob and Brynn were outstanding hosts. They couldn't do enough to make our stay special. They went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed to feel comfortable, safe and well taken care of. The spot itself was magical. Hate writing about it for fear that it will get too busy. But I must. Right on the river. peaceful, beautiful and safe. And it was early spring before leaves were on the trees. Cant wait to go back in late spring. Each spot has its own vibe all of them private.

Hipcamper Brynn
Response from Brynn, the Host, on April 4th, 2020

Thank you Michael and Ilka! I know you were hesitant to write a review in fear of losing your spot but not to fear we will always have a special place for you here. Best of the best of Hupcampers, can’t wait to see you again!!!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Kayde

Great place!

Kayde K.
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
April 10th, 2020

The hosts were awesome and super nice. The site was very private and had a great view/access to the river.

Buck Meadows River Frontage
Hipcamper Brynn
Response from Brynn, the Host, on April 14th, 2020

Thank you for joining us during this trying time, hope you were able to enjoy some fresh air and relax for a bit. Thank you for leaving the campsite clean and gate shut, great Hipcampers, we hope to see you again!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Robert
Robert S.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
May 9th, 2020

Brynn and Bob, the owners went all out to make us feel welcome. Beautiful huge site on the Yakima river. Firewood stacked for us at our site. Overall A very enjoyable stay

Hipcamper Brynn
Response from Brynn, the Host, on May 14th, 2020

So nice to meet you and Jen. Hope to see you again with your extended family, Thank you for coming!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Property
Buck Meadows
State
Washington
Country
United States
$45/night
3 Sites
Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future