Hipcamp host John A.
Hosted by

  

Cool nights and warm days, fall is here.   Leaves are rapidly falling, time to hike and enjoy the crisp fall air.  Or curl up in front of the fire and relax.  Marsh Billings farm museum in Woodstock has lots of fall activities.  Christmas is not that far away, Vermont Country store is close and Woodstock has unique shopping. 

Spacious one room camp, bun

Read more...

  

Cool nights and warm days, fall is here.   Leaves are rapidly falling, time to hike and enjoy the crisp fall air.  Or curl up in front of the fire and relax.  Marsh Billings farm museum in Woodstock has lots of fall activities.  Christmas is not that far away, Vermont Country store is close and Woodstock has unique shopping. 

Spacious one room camp, bunk bed, dinning table, and chairs. Sweeping view to the South. Swimming pond 5 minute walk. LP burner and some cooking utensils. Wood stove for those chilly nights. No electricity but LED battery lighting. l. Crown Point Country club 3m away. Ascutney hiking and biking trails. Visit Woodstock or Hanover NH. And of course Harpoon brewery and Silo distillery.

Note that we do not charge a cleaning fee like some sites.  We appreciate our guest leaving the camp as found.  So far so good!

NOTE:  Using GPS, Google map, or other device our address may come up as Perkinsville, Ascutney, or even Springfield even though the town is Weathersfield.  Check the map and just confirm that Center Grove Rd is shown or called out as off of Weathersfield Center Rd.  

Please bring your own kindling wood.  Chunk wood is furnished for the inside stove.

Check in and out times are flexible if no one is booked on either side.

And last but not least if wedding bells are in your future your host is a Justice of the Peace and can perform wedding services!

Lodging provided
Cabin
1 site
Up to 6 guests per site
Park at listing
No ADA access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Amenities
Potable water available
Kitchen available
Picnic table available
Bins available
No showers
No wifi
Have a question? Send John a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 11AM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 6 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 10% off

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Paddling

Off site, Connecticut river 3m and Black River 3m

Wind sports

Hang gliding off Mt Ascutney or tandem ride at near by flight park

Snow sports

Cross country on snow mobile trails. Snow shoeing, we have 2 pair to borrow. Alpine Okemo 30 min Killington 55m

Fall Fun

Apples and pumpkins are ready. visit Woods Cider mill and watch cider jelly being made. Visit Woodstock and the farm museum....Read more

Biking
Hiking
Swimming

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Green Mountain Retreat in Vermont.

Mountainous

Lovely view across the Green Mountains

Forest
Wetlands

The vibe at Green Mountain Retreat

Places to see near Green Mountain Getaway

75 Written reviews
This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Kelly
Kelly M.
recommends this listing.
November 19th, 2017

This old writer's studio is the perfect getaway! After being greeted at the main house by chickens and ducks, there is a short drive through the fields and trees to get to this simple little cabin. All of the windows and sweeping views, including Stratton Mountain, make it a great spot to sit back and relax. The host was very accommodating, stocking the cabin with water, fire wood, toilet paper, and plastic wear. The wood stove kept us warm on a chilly evening while playing games by candle light. There is a bunk-bed in the corner, but we opted to crash on our sleeping pads right by the fire. We're looking forward to staying at this site again!

animal chickenscabin lodgingcabin people lodgingGreen Mountain Retreat
Hipcamper Jeffrey
Jeffrey A.
recommends this listing.
August 6th, 2018

We had such a great weekend at John and Patti's Green Mountain Retreat! My wife and I visited for a relaxing weekend with our two beagles, and it more than met our expectations. The host greeted us as we arrived and made our way up towards the cabin. It rained quite a bit that day and the drive up was a little slippery but doable. Well worth it.

John came up the next day to check on us and answer any of our questions. We took the dogs on his recommended 3 mile hike around the property to Cook's Pond and back, it was fun following the directions scrawled on John's handwritten map. The dogs led us, bounding through his fields and along the roads towards our destination. There were (probably) miles of tubing for tapping the sugar maples along the way in the wooded areas, we also ran across wild turkeys and beautiful mountain views along Skyline Drive.

To cap it off, we came back to the cabin to do a little time-lapse photography of the amazing sky and cabin view. WOW! What an amazing night, got some great time-lapse footage of the clouds rolling along the mountains, and twinkling stars in the pitch black sky. Such a great time.

The Green Mountain Retreat is a great place to get away for the weekend - we can't wait to come visit again during the winter!

Green Mountain RetreatOur dogs loved exploring the property.Green Mountain RetreatGreen Mountain Retreat
Hipcamper Rebecca (Becky)

Fantastic, roomy, well-stocked

Rebecca (Becky) M.
recommends this listing.
January 3rd, 2019

Absolutely recommend! I had a wonderful stay at the writer's cabin. John was incredibly reliable and quick with communication from the beginning (and well facilitated through HipCamp's text set-up) and throughout the stay. The cabin had more resources than we expected: there's a bunk bed that has a twin on top and a full futon on the bottom. There are chairs and tables and a kitchen with: a cast iron pan, 2 pots, 2 very large pots, and a kettle. Silverware and cups and dishes are all there! I would recommend bringing: a good cutting knife, your own pillows and bedding (though there are a couple extra sleeping bags there). The view is terrific. The only downside I can think of is that there is some sound from the highway, which is a ways away but I think comes up due to the valley in front of the cabin. It is not intrusively loud, it is just a reminder that you are not absolutely in solitude with the trees. We were there for NYE but it wasn't snowing and not super cold, nonetheless good to know that you can go in winter and the wood-stove will provide the needed heat! My dog ran around off leash happy and free! Also, there is reception, though we chose to digitally detox and use no electronics! It was all great.

Hipcamper Stephen
Stephen A.
recommends this listing.
February 5th, 2019

As two busy surgery residents, my fiancé and I have found this beautiful place to be our go-to for R&R, which says a lot as we're only off 2 days/month. John is an amazing and attentive host. We will be back!

Green Mountain RetreatGreen Mountain Retreat
Hipcamper John
Response from John, the Host, on February 7th, 2019

thank you and hurry back

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Jim
Jim L.
recommends this listing.
November 27th, 2017

We, including our 2 dogs, had a great time at this mountain cabin. It's a rustic cabin, no running water, electric and an outhouse. However, the hosts were so awesome and so accommodating, that it didn't feel lacking at all. Prior to our arrival, they had put a full 7-gallon water jug in the cabin and already had the wood stove going to warm up the cabin. During our stay, whenever we needed more water or firewood, it was brought to the cabin, we didn't need to go get it ourselves.

The cabin is located away from the main house, maybe about 1/2 mile away thru fields and up a hill top, so we felt like we were in a remote place by ourselves with a lot of privacy. This cabin truly had million dollar views all around, especially from the front of the cabin. The cabin itself had big windows on 3 sides, so that you have amazing views even from inside and felt so airy and open inside. We were planning to go hiking at nearby mountains (Mt Ascutny, Okemo, etc), but we didn't want to leave the cabin. We had such a relaxing time hanging around the cabin, sitting outside, grilling and enjoying the views. Also, we had great time just hiking the trails around the property, the host actually gave us a hand-drawn map of a nice hike around their property.

The cabin comes with a bunk bed, but we just put down a tarp, sleeping pads and then our zero-rated sleeping bag. This combined with the wood stove, kept us cozy and warm, even on the first night when the temps dropped to 15 degrees. The host also checked in on us the following morning, to ensure that we were ok and warm enough. Did I mention that the hosts were so nice? :)

The wood stove not only kept us warm, but it was great to cook on it as well. It's very big, so the stove top area is big enough for big pots, skillet, etc to be used at the same time. We had brought our propane camp stove, but didn't use it much. The coffee, made in a percolator on top of the stove, smelled and tasted awesome. My wife enjoyed cooking on the wood stove so much. The cabin also has a picnic table inside, plus 2 benches, assortment of chairs, etc. Also, the "kitchen" area has a nice counter top area, shelves and a sink, so it made camping life very convenient. The cabin has a big floor space, so that even with all of the furniture and our 10'x8' sleeping area, we had plenty of space to move around inside.

I can go on and on, but I'll stop with the last note about the hosts. As I mentioned before, they were so hospitable and responded promptly whenever we contacted them, before and during our stay. We had stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday and they even brought us slices of delicious homemade pies! We really appreciated it, especially their kindness and thoughtfulness.

We can't recommend this place enough to anyone looking for an amazing vacation and will definitely recommend to family and friends. In our opinion, the location, the hosts and the price can't be beat. We really didn't want to leave and if I didn't have to work the next day, we'd have extended our stay for one more day, if the hosts were open to it.

Thank you so much again for your hospitality and we will definitely be back!

View from the frontGreat sunset views every nightsunset view from inside the front doorFront of the cabin
Hipcamper Kristie
Kristie R.
recommends this listing.
January 19th, 2018

Stayed over a few nights in mid-January with my dog to try out our winter camping gear and systems. The cabin and its environs were just lovely--couldn't have asked for more peaceful. Temps ranged from 35 to about 50 in the cabin depending on how long the wood stove had been going, which made for a very comfortable stay even though it was about zero at night outside. Bring traction or snowshoes to explore the property and its trails--Yaktraks were fine for the quarter-mile or so hike in to the cabin, but I did wish I'd had something stronger for longer walks. The hosts were quite helpful with all the necessities but provided plenty of quiet and privacy, which was much appreciated. We had a wonderful time!

Green Mountain Retreat
Hipcamper Chantilly
Chantilly W.
recommends this listing.
January 30th, 2018

Something about this cabin was so peaceful. We came up for a weekend for my husband's birthday and absolutely loved it! Our hosts were friendly, communicative, and checked in during our stay to make sure we had everything we needed. The wood stove was warm and the view was unbelievable.

If you're coming for a winter trip, just make sure you have the correct gear. For instance, our host John recommended crampons (spikes for the bottom of your shoes for icy conditions.) I had no idea what those were, but we picked some up beforehand, and we definitely needed them! The road up to camp turned icy and was a bit steep for driving. Walking to and from camp would've been impossible without the crampons.

Thank you again!!

forest winterTending to the firewinter sunSunset view
Hipcamper Mike
Mike P.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
February 13th, 2018

I was excited to spend a night at John's Green Mountain Retreat and spent the time leading up to my trip really talking it up to my friends and family. They were extra jealous when I showed them the photos in the listing.

I've been in need of a getaway and even though my stay would be just one night, it was the key part of a week-long road trip up North.

After arriving in town early and buying some time at a local lunch spot, I showed up for my reservation at the exact earliest moment I could. I was looking forward to maximizing my stay.

Long story short, John accidentally overbooked and allowed the previous nights guest to stay another night. He offered me a place above his garage as well as a cash refund but I decided to just take the refund and head further West. I had to drive past the sunset but luckily found another location to spend the night, even though I felt like I lost a good bit of rest time.

I understand that accidents happen and John was apologetic and also gave me a refund but it certainly left a bad taste. I do hope to plan a trip back someday if I can.

Hipcamper John
Response from John, the Host, on February 14th, 2018

Dumb mistake on my part!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Andrew
Andrew O.
recommends this listing.
February 20th, 2018

Really great spot! John's cabin is an awesome little getaway with tons of privacy, gorgeous views and lots of peace and quiet. John was a super accommodating host and made sure we had everything we needed to be comfortable for the weekend - including his own maple syrup for sale at his house. The cabin provided the perfect amount of shelter from the winter elements while being rustic enough to feel like the woodsy getaway we were after. The drive up to the campsite wound through the woods a short way and opened up into a beautiful clearing that felt like a little oasis in the Green Mountains. The wood stove inside provided plenty of heat on a few very cold February nights and was also a nice cooking surface. I'd love to come back during the spring or summer and would highly recommend this spot to anybody looking for a cozy, minimalist cabin for the weekend!

Property
Green Mountain Getaway
State
Vermont
$62/night
1 Site

Lists including Green Mountain Retreat

42 camps including Dragonfly Meadow Farm and Mountain cottage with Epic Views
22 camps including Little Creek Tent Site and Shofar Farms Yurts
134 camps including Upper Esopus Creekside Camp and Glamping at Round Mountain