Hipcamp host Todd S.
Hosted by

The Pinyon Pine Yurt sits on 6 acres of forested pinyon, juniper, and sage brush atop a mesa approx 45 minutes south of Moab. There is a pit toilet, shower house and the yurt is fully equipped to hold up to 6 guests. The yurt is a great basecamp for exploring the surrounding desert canyons, including convenient access into South Canyonlands NP. The yurt is intended to be a t

Read more...

The Pinyon Pine Yurt sits on 6 acres of forested pinyon, juniper, and sage brush atop a mesa approx 45 minutes south of Moab. There is a pit toilet, shower house and the yurt is fully equipped to hold up to 6 guests. The yurt is a great basecamp for exploring the surrounding desert canyons, including convenient access into South Canyonlands NP. The yurt is intended to be a tranquil off the grid escape, so the amenities are simple yet comfortable and cozy. You have a wood burning stove and propane heater for warmth. A full kitchen with all the utensils, pots, pans, plates you need to cook up a great meal. Water supplied for washing up. Solar panels provide enough electricity for light and music and charging a phone. Linens are washed and brought to yurt after each visit, but we also request visitors to help maintain the yurt and keep it clean and tidy for the next visitor. 

Lodging provided
Yurt
1 site
Up to 6 guests per site
Park at listing
No ADA access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Amenities
Showers available
Bins available
No potable water
No picnic table
No wifi
Have a question? Send Todd a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 10AM
  • Cancellation policy: Strict
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 15% off
  • Response time: Within 12 hours
  • Response rate: 100%

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Paddling
Off-roading (OHV)
Climbing
Snow sports
Whitewater paddling

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Pinyon Pine Yurt Escape in Utah.

Desert
Forest
Canyon
Mountainous
Field

The vibe at Pinyon Pine Yurt Escape

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Tiffany
Tiffany C.
recommends this listing.
July 18th, 2020

Wish we had more time here! Was the perfect set up to bring a 6 year old camping for his first time. Tons of wildlife along the dirt road to get there too.

Hipcamper Tyler
Tyler F.
recommends this listing.
June 22nd, 2018

Wonderful place to stay! The privacy and comfort are worth the longer drive to the national parks. Perfect for “roughing” it without having to actual rough it

Hipcamper Carter
Carter C.
recommends this listing.
August 24th, 2018

My stay in the Pinon Yurt was so nice. I had spent the entire day in Indian Creek and Canyonlands and this spot was so close to the park. The yurt had all of the conveniences you could need. I cooked a nice dinner on the stove and enjoyed sleeping in the super comfortable bed. The views from the back of the property were incredible and I enjoyed wandering around.

The key is available in a lock box right on the doorBed was so nice to crash into after a long day out in the parksGreat lounging area Easy parking right in front of the yurt
Hipcamper Todd
Response from Todd, the Host, on October 11th, 2020

Thanks guys, and love the photos!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Teresa

Unfinished construction site?

Teresa S.
doesn't recommend this listing.
August 29th, 2019

The yurt was spacious, clean and had a mountain of mostly folded sheets and towels that looked like they would collapse the metal shelving they were stacked on. There was a handy collection of dishes, ear plugs (though it was so quiet I didn't need them) and batteries for the lanterns (in case the solar power was depleted). There was a fancy camping stove for cooking (which I didn't use). The miles of gravel road required to drive on to reach the yurt were well-maintained.... That's the good part.

The outhouse was a couple hundred feet away from the yurt and the car park. After walking there as soon as I arrived, I discovered an overflowing trash can full of empty toilet paper rolls and not a single square of usable materials that women require while visiting the potty room. I was not a happy camper.

When I arrived about 6pm, my thermometer indicated the yurt was almost 20ºF hotter than the outdoor temps. I saw no visible signs the glass dome was propped open to let out the hot air (as indicated in one of the host's emails.)

The shower facility was rustic, but mostly just unfinished construction. Within plain sight of the yurt, there was an unattractive, massive pile of ash where the fire pit had been emptied time and time again. At the kitchen sink, one of the plastic gallon jugs had about 1" of water in it. When I unscrewed the lid, the sour smell indicated the water had been in there quite a long time and was unsafe for any use.

In the immediate area (as in underneath and beside the yurt), there was a random variety of construction equipment like a window, insulation, PVC pipes, plus partially submerged giant underground tanks that you had to walk around to get from the car to the yurt. The entire facility felt like it was abandoned halfway through the project.

There was no view of anything interesting or pretty to make putting up with these conditions worth the two nights I paid for. When I realized I needed ice for my cooler and had to drive ten miles to get it, I packed my belongings and did not come back. For the first time ever, I forfeited one night of what I paid and was darn happy to leave that place.

P.S. I have stayed in a lot of "rustic" places with no plumbing, no electricity, and no outhouses. I had no complaints because I knew what I was getting. I have never left a bad review anywhere -- until now.

Hipcamper Todd
Response from Todd, the Host, on October 11th, 2020

A lot of complaining here, it would have been better for you to just not stay here and go get a motel in town next time. Anyways, since this review was written the remainder of the "Construction items" have been removed. We were replacing all the insulation on the underside of the yurt, which was a major job. We are constantly spending money, time, and pouring a lot of blood sweat and tears into the yurt to make it a better experience for guests. We're not perfect. We don't have electricity (besides solar for lights and music) and there's no running water. That's why it's rustic, and it's WAY more challenging to keep clean. We do our best every week, month and year to make this a fun experience for guests. All we ask in return is that you're realistic, respectful and come with a positive attitude for camping with a little extra comfort. If not, just don't stay here. Thanks, Todd

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Lukas

Cozy, spacious, and remote

Lukas H.
recommends this listing.
August 17th, 2020

The Yurt was a fantastic experience. The drive from the main highway is about 15 minutes on a dirt road, so expect your car to get some dust on it. I drove a sedan and it was totally fine. I think the neighbor's dog stole my shoe, so just be careful what you chose to leave outside the yurt (the dogs are really friendly so there is no concern about the dogs themselves). The Yurt has everything you need and was very comfortable and cozy. I'd imagine that during the winter, the wood stove inside would be incredible for keeping you warm (I was there in the summer so it was unnecessary). I highly recommend this Yurt for anybody visiting the Needles district of Canyonlands as it is the closest part of the park to the Yurt.

Hipcamper Todd
Response from Todd, the Host, on October 11th, 2020

Thanks Lukas!!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Neal
Neal S.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
October 9th, 2020

The yurt was lovely, very charming and comfortable. However, the outhouse, while usable, was dirty, filled with cobwebs and no hand sanitizer. The toilet paper also ran out before the end of the stay. The shower house was very dirty and unusable. The grounds were in a cool location with beautiful views of the moon and stars. There was random trash scattered around the property. The were several friendly dogs as expected, but one night they were barking quite a while and kept us awake. The place has great potential and it was a fun experience to sleep in a yurt.

Hipcamper Todd
Response from Todd, the Host, on October 11th, 2020

Thanks Neal, hope you can come back, Todd

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Allie

Can i stay forever?

Allie O.
recommends this listing.
June 7th, 2019

Staying in this yurt was a trip of a lifetime in itself. It was peaceful, beautiful, and stress-free — we cant wait to come back and rent out the Pinyon Yurt next time we’re back out in Moab area. I’d recommend this rental to anyone and everyone (its great for those who camp, like myself, and those who are less experienced with the outdoors, like my friends). Loved all the little touches in the yurt. The directions were straight forward and the host was easy to communicate with if any promised arose (which didn’t!). Love love love. Wish I could go back right now!

Hipcamper Todd
Response from Todd, the Host, on October 11th, 2020

Love reading reviews like this! Thanks Allie for being so positive and glad you enjoyed the yurt! Todd

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Nolan
Nolan T.
recommends this listing.
July 24th, 2019

Todd’s place was incredible. It’s so close to the parks, and far enough from the city you can see the stars. We saw deer, eagles, rabbits, and even a skunk nearby.

We drove in at night, and found the place without a problem. My girlfriend was a bit scared of hitting the dogs, but just drive by at a steady pace and you’ll be fine.

I would love to stay here again when we come back to explore more of the area.

Hipcamper Todd
Response from Todd, the Host, on October 11th, 2020

Thanks Nolan, hope you can return soon, Todd

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper holly

Great campsite but needs help

Holly M.
recommends this listing.
August 21st, 2019

This yurt and surrounding grounds is really cool BUT needs a bit of TLC. The outhouse was just fine if it had been swept out this season. It's chock full of spiderwebs and literally dozens of dead flying insects were hanging in webs. Gross. Also, the showerhouse was there, looked like at some point it was serviceable but was dirty and looked in disrepair - def not usable without some serious elbow grease and basic tools. The bathroom situation is a big deal to me - maybe if I could pee off the deck I'd not care so much! ;-) also, the yurts vent didn't open and the fan wasn't operational so it was super uncomfortably hot in there til the middle of the night - we visited in August so we expected hot but it was frustrating that the tools (vent and fan) to cool down were there but were not usable. The bed was comfy, plenty of bedding and stuff available. Quiet and dark. Pretty far off the beaten track.

Property
Pinyon Pine Yurt
State
Utah
Country
United States
$65/night
1 Site

Lists including Pinyon Pine Yurt Escape

102 camps including Marble Mountain Yurt and Luxury Eco Yurt at The Cedars Ranch

Safety at Hipcamp

Inclusion Policy

We have a zero-tolerance policy against discrimination at Hipcamp and are committed to helping our Host and Hipcamper community be inclusive.

Learn More
Hipcamp Hand

Hosting Standards

All Hosts should review and adhere to these standards around providing a positive Hipcamp experience, being a thoughtful neighbor, and serving as a responsible citizen.

Learn More

Hipcamper Standards

All Hipcampers should review and adhere to these standards for safety, trip preparation, and respect in order to uphold Hipcamp’s most important value: “leave it better.”

Learn More

Safety partners

Recreate Responsibly

  1. Know before you go
  2. Practice physical distancing
  3. Plan ahead
  4. Play it safe
  5. Explore locally
  6. Leave no trace
  7. Build an inclusive outdoors
Learn More

Leave No Trace

  1. Plan ahead and prepare
  2. Travel and camp on durable surfaces
  3. Dispose of waste properly
  4. Leave what you find
  5. Minimize campfire impacts
  6. Respect wildlife
  7. Be considerate of other visitors
Learn More

National Weather Service

We integrate with the National Weather Service to provide valuable fire advisories to Hosts and Hipcampers. Real-time Red Flag Warnings and Fire Weather Watch Warnings help keep our community safe.

Learn More
Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future