The Juniper Pine Yurt sits on 6 acres of forested pinyon, juniper, and sage brush atop a mesa approx 45 minutes south of Moab. There is a pit toilet, outdoor shower and the yurt is fully equipped to hold up to 6 guests. The yurt is a great basecamp for exploring the surrounding desert canyons, including convenient access into South Canyonlands NP. The yurt is intended to be
The Juniper Pine Yurt sits on 6 acres of forested pinyon, juniper, and sage brush atop a mesa approx 45 minutes south of Moab. There is a pit toilet, outdoor shower and the yurt is fully equipped to hold up to 6 guests. The yurt is a great basecamp for exploring the surrounding desert canyons, including convenient access into South Canyonlands NP. The yurt is intended to be a tranquil off the grid escape, so the amenities are simple yet comfortable and cozy. You have a wood burning stove and propane heater for warmth. A full kitchen with all the utensils, pots, pans, plates you need to cook up a great meal. Water supplied (during warmer months) for washing up. Solar panels provide enough electricity for light and music and charging a phone. Linens are washed and brought to yurt after each visit, but we also request visitors to help maintain the yurt and keep it clean and tidy for the next visitor.
- Check in: After 2PM
- Check out: Before 10AM
- Cancellation policy: Strict
- On arrival: Go straight to camp
- Minimum nights: 1 night
- Accepts bookings: 12 months out Weeknight discount: 15% off
- Response time: Within 12 hours
- Response rate: 100%
Offered on the Host's property or nearby.
Natural features you'll find at Juniper Yurt Escape in Utah.
The vibe at Juniper Yurt Escape
Places to see near Pinyon Pine Yurt
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Dangerous: not suitable for winter
This property should not be rented out in the winter. There is no difference between this place and camping in a tent in snow. It was awful and unsafe.
The only reason we managed to survive was because we are seasoned campers who just happened to have with us everything we needed for being outdoors in the winter: headlamps, snow boots, zero degree sleeping bags, matches, small bags to carry gear, and because we are fit and able bodied.
+We arrived to 1.5 ft of snow which was blocking the driveway & gate, so we parked on the street. No big deal. We were able to squeeze in through the gate and then trudge through the snow to the yurt . Annoying, but kind of fun since we are fit. The door was blocked by snow and the only reason we got in was because the door opens to the inside. No one had bothered to shovel any parts of this property.
+There is only 1 small space heater which is enough to heat within 2 feet in front of it, not a cavernous space, which this yurt is. The fire place was the same. Three lighters were provided-only one mildly worked which was fairly difficult to use since our fingers were frozen as it was 19 degrees. We slept in 2 layers of clothing, hats, gloves, in our zero degree sleeping bags with multiple comforters.
+The non potable water that came with the property for dish washing was frozen so we were unable to use it for anything. +The two cisterns outside were also frozen.
+Two LED lamps were provided in case there were issues with the inverter (there were not), but neither of them worked, so going to the outhouse would have proven impossible if we didn't have our own lights.
The yurt will not work for you in winter:
*If you are not able bodied
*If you are not small enough to squeeze through the gate
*If you are out of shape or lack the footwear to trudge through snow
*If you do not have your things packed in smaller bags you can carry
*If you do not own a zero degree sleeping bags, and portable lighting options.
The owner should have reached out about the snow and current conditions, provided adequate heating options and explanation of the property. It was clear that the owner either does not live by and is not paying attention to the weather conditions or thinks that having people pay for this experience is acceptable.
In the spring and summer, I'm sure this place is amazing, but it should be closed for the winter.
I look forward to a full refund.
Do not recommend for winter stay
I stayed at Juniper Yurt with my friend Amirah, whose review is listed here and provides information about our less-than-ideal-stay, along with a response from Todd, the host. I'd like to address Todd's response, as I find it quite disappointing (and attempts to negate our experience by citing guests who camped the following weekend and enjoyed it).
We arrived at the yurt in the evening after a long drive, and it was around 20-30 degrees or so outside when we got there (so the yurt was not much warmer). We did, in fact, burn some of the provided wood, but the fire took nearly an hour to start, as the wood and kindling was somewhat damp, and none of the provided lighters worked well (or at all). I'd like to point out that we frequently camp and are accustomed to starting campfires.
We got a fire going and continued to add wood, but it was still not providing heat after burning for a while. I even woke up in the middle of the night to add more wood, but it didn't catch, and it was late, and I was too cold to stay up all night tending to a fire. We also pushed the couch and the cot at a close-but-safe-distance to the stove and space heater so we could sleep close to the heat sources. This didn't do anything — I could see my breath all night if I poked my head from under the covers. (The cot also collapsed three different times in the night if I got up or moved around too much. Please check the legs of it, as that could be dangerous for anyone with back or mobility problems.) I'm sure if you burn wood in the yurt for many hours, it can heat the space, but we did not have the luxury of doing so.
Another issue was that I did not have cell service in the area, and Amirah's phone drained almost immediately because of the cold temperatures, and would barely hold a charge, so we were not able to use or rely on our phones.
We are not debating whether the amenities in this yurt are considered glamping or not — not least in part because we were barely able to USE the amenities (water provided inside the yurt was frozen; the snowfall came up to our knees and blocked the gate, so we could not drive our car up to the yurt to easily bring in our things, and no pathway had been shoveled; lighters didn't work; lanterns had no batteries; and, obviously, the shower was not an option as we would have been standing in a couple feet of snow in below-freezing temps). Most of these amenities are certainly all usable in warmer temps or less snowfall.
We are frustrated that there was not adequate preparation for guests traveling to the yurt after it has received heavy snowfall. If the yurt needs to be heated for many hours in order to warm it during 14-degree nights, it would have been helpful to know to give ourselves a lot of extra time to do so. It is a cavernous space — that was a selling point — but that does not serve guests well in wintertime. If you're going to provide lanterns, have batteries in them, or let guests know that they need to provide their own. There wasn't even toilet paper in the outhouse when we got there. There is plenty of TP inside the yurt, but after trudging through a couple feet of snow to initially get to the yurt with our things, then to the outhouse to discover there's no TP, it's quite a chore to then go back inside the yurt, then back to the outhouse. These kinds of things would not be a big deal in warmer temps or a couple inches of snow (though still would be thoughtful touches), but they add up when there is ample snowfall and below-freezing temps.
As a travel writer, and an avid camper, I am accustomed to many types of situations and am almost always over-prepared for them, as well as happy to make the best of them. What I'm most frustrated about is this: If I was not a seasoned traveler and I arrived at this yurt during this time of year expecting a "glamping" experience, this would have been unsafe and horrifically uncomfortable. If you're going to rent this out in winter during heavy snowfall, you need to put a strong disclaimer that it is only for guests who have experience with backcountry camping and yurts.
That's great that the people who stayed the following weekend had a good stay. However, we are not those people, and we are not reviewing their experience, nor does their experience negate ours. We're letting you know about our experience with the yurt during our time there, and I hope that you will either add more information and/or a disclaimer for folks who are not experienced with this type of accommodation option in winter, or consider our complaints and ensure that future guests have easier/better access to the amenities listed.
Unique cozy getaway
Our stay at the Juniper Yurt was super fun and comfortable. Everything was easy to use and looked exactly as described and better. The wood burning stove didn’t take long to make the yurt toasty enough to walk around in plain clothes. There were tons of super soft and warm blankets provided that kept us warm way after the fire was out. Everything we needed was found in the mini kitchen (plus some stuff we didn’t expect that we’d brought along ourselves). The yurt, outhouse and property were very clean and well maintained with more than enough amenities. It was a great retreat and a wonderful place to return from adventures to. We hope to go back for a longer stay. 👍