Hipcamp host Bryan
Hosted by
Pitch your tent or pull up your rig in a spot next to the South Umpqua river surrounded by vineyard, orchard, and pasture on Freed Estate Vineyard. Walk past the grape vines and grazing animals on your way to the tasting room to try the wines made from these very grapes. Enjoy our private access to the river. Roads on vineyard are gravel, please drive 5mph. Camping area Continue reading...

Pitch your tent or pull up your rig in a spot next to the South Umpqua river surrounded by vineyard, orchard, and pasture on Freed Estate Vineyard. Walk past the grape vines and grazing animals on your way to the tasting room to try the wines made from these very grapes. Enjoy our private access to the river. Roads on vineyard are gravel, please drive 5mph. Camping area surface is mowed natural cover and varies seasonally. Check out Freed Estate Vineyard on Facebook and check out our vineyards website at www.freedestatewinery.com

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans, trailers, rv & moto...
No. of sites
2 bookable sites
RV details
Pull-through site, max length 35ft
RV hookups
Electricity, water
Access
Park at listing
Group sizes
Up to 15 people per site
Potable water available
Spigot, hose, pump or well
No fires
Toilet available
Flush toilet, portable toilet
Pets allowed
On leash
No showers
Bath in river or stream
Bins available
Compost bin, recycling bin, trash bin
No picnic table
Wifi available
Have a question? Send Bryan a message!
  • Check in: After 9AM
  • Check out: Before 2PM
  • Cancellation policy: Flexible
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 6 months out
  • Response time: Within 6 hours
  • Response rate: 100%
River, stream or creek
Farm
Ranch
Beach
Cave
Desert
Forest
Hot spring
Lake
Redwoods
Swimming hole
Waterfall
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Paddling
Climbing
Swimming
Whitewater paddling
Wildlife watching
Horseback riding
Wind sports
OHV
Snow sports
Surfing

The vibe at Vineyard on S. Umpqua River

9 Written reviews
This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper AnneTerese
AnneTerese
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
May 23rd, 2018

We had SUCH a great stay at the Freed Estate Vineyard! We didn't get the pleasure of meeting Bryan, but Mike and Pam were absolutely wonderful - so welcoming and fun! The campsites overlook a gorgeous stretch of the river and were so peaceful, very accommodating with fire rings, a (clean!) portable toilet, and easy river access. The vineyard setting is really lovely, the adorable farm animals make for great entertainment while you're over visiting the tasting room, and the quiet nice air all make for a great camping experience. We were only sorry to not be staying longer! (And the wines deserve its own review on the proper platform, but seriously - don't miss an opportunity to meet some truly great wines! )

Hipcamper Brianna
Brianna
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
July 5th, 2018

My stay at Freed Estate Vineyards was excellent! As soon as I arrived Bryan was there to greet me. He even stayed to give me the full line up of their wine and they were all delicious. I also enjoyed the conversations! My site was great and it was a gorgeous evening next to the vineyard. Thanks for a great stay :)

Hipcamper Olivier
Olivier
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
July 24th, 2018

Wonderful location far beyond expectations. We were the only campers there and had the place to ourselves aside from the sweet farm dog keeping watch over us all night which was great. Beautiful river access for swimming, large gazebo structure with tables and seating with river view. There are train tracks on the other side of the river but trains are rare and it was fun to see them come by. Remember to get some wine from the winery. This was our first hipcamp experience and it made us hungry for more. Thanks Bryan!

Hipcamper Karen
Karen
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Site 2)
July 29th, 2018

This was a bit of a marketing oversell. The pluses: Bryan was super nice and easy to deal with, the site did overlook the river, and we did feel safe there. The minuses: our site was basically a rough, dry, dusty clearing with no amenities except a small plywood table. No potable water accessible, no fire ring, a marginally clean portapotty, and bushwhack access down to the river. The whole place felt like it had been nice once but hadn’t been cared for in years. That said, we had a pleasant enough evening and the moon was beautiful. But I wouldn’t have chosen that site if it was accurately represented on hip camp.

Hipcamper Bryan
Response from Bryan, the Host, on August 18th, 2018

I'm sorry your camping experience was not as expected. We have made some changes to our listing to address your comments. Please let me know via direct message if you feel our description is still lacking.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Meredith
Meredith
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
August 2nd, 2018

This was a fun and unique camping experience! Upon arrival, I called Bryan and he came out to meet me right away. He showed me a couple of different areas available for camping - one down in a shaded area, closer to the river, and others along the road in the vineyard. There is a great spot for swimming in the S. Umpqua River, and he even gave me a wine tasting! There was also a little building that serves as a communal area with tables, chairs, and electrical outlets (which was so nice to charge my phone!). This was a great space to escape the hot sun and watch the wildlife enjoy the river.

Vywhokg0lsqw6spn836zVhasjomni4geizlcbnapPhgxcutkia43b2zcyyziZkmofeyl8ezb3vyynwms
Hipcamper Teddi
Teddi
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 1)
August 12th, 2018

This is private land at a vineyard. Roads are gravel - we asked about motorcycle safety and was told it was ok. We totaled our bike on their road :(. They were friendly but were more interested in getting us to wine tasting than getting our camp set up. We then had to wait for them to move their trailer even though they knew we were on a time limit and had reservations. Water says nonpotable but we were told it was ok. We had issues with power and after wrecking the bike we left about midnight. Didn’t stay the night and even though there was a serious accident on their property no refund was offered.
It was a nice piece of land and the water is beautiful. To go play for the day, if I lived there would Ben great. But camping with a 32’ trailer was not ok.

Hipcamper Bryan
Response from Bryan, the Host, on August 18th, 2018

Sorry you didn't stay. We received no report of a motorcycle accident (which is troubling), nor were any of your complaints brought to our attention during your stay. We noticed you left and called to check in and see if everything was ok, we were told that you had left due to a family emergency, again no mention of an accident or a request for a refund was made at that time. We have accommodated rigs of your size and larger in the past without incident. Additionally, we make no assurances in regards to the safety of operating a motorcycle on gravel roads, we expect the operator of the motorcycle to make that decision. Motorcycles are however allowed at our site and have accommodated them without incident in the past. We have requested that HipCamp issue you a refund.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper David
David
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
August 22nd, 2018

I enjoyed the camping and the hospitality very much.

Hipcamper Aimee
Aimee
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
August 24th, 2018

My kiddos, dad, and I loved our stay at Freed Estate Vineyard! Bryan's a hospitable conversationalist re: everything from wine science to the local bird breeds. He stopped by w/ a bottle of delicious '14 Cab Sauv and a couple of glasses, and was happy to loan us a tarp for our tent. Quick access to the S. Umpqua River meander. Friendly farm dog Molly will play fetch w/ you for hours. Weather was smoky and campsite could be slightly more groomed, but all in all great HipCamp spot.

Hipcamper Kathy
Kathy
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
October 1st, 2018

The camping was great, close to the river and the beautiful Syrah grapevines. This was our first hipcamp experience and we are looking forward to more. Thanks to hipcamp and thank you to Bryan and his lovely family.

Property
Vineyard on S. Umpqua
State
Oregon
$15/night
2 Sites