Joseph H. Stewart State Recreation AreaLeave review
About Joseph H. Stewart State Recreation Area
Campgrounds in Joseph H. Stewart
This park doesn't have any submitted photos—just yet.
Drop some Joseph H. Stewart knowledge on us.
History of Joseph H. Stewart State Recreation Area
Following construction of Lost Creek Dam and Lake on the Rogue River, this park lies on land leased from the Army Corps of Engineers and opened its doors on June 16, 1978. 151 electric campsites along with 50 tent sites form the campground, while the day use area boasts a marina, store cafe and boat moorage facilities.
The park is named after Joseph H. Stewart, who was the leader of the pear industry in Southern Oregon. In 1885, Stewart moved to the Rogue Valley from Illinois and purchased 160-acre property outside of Medford, now known as "Eden Valley Orchard." Joseph Stewart began planting pears, apples, prunes and almonds, and only 5 years after he started, he began shipping fruit on railcars throughout the nation. In 1898, Stewart and his son-in-law A.J. Weeks, purchased land where the park is today. Together they planted pear and apple orchards and an English Walnut grove, most of these trees can still be found in the park.