Woody and Renae has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

Come and enjoy the forested privacy that this singular campsite offers.  It is just you camping alone...Not a campground.  Located five minutes from the highway, it feels like you are far removed from civilization.  Our rural neighbors (none in view) have chickens and dogs...note that our site is private but you will hear rooster calling in the morning.  We provide a water s


Come and enjoy the forested privacy that this singular campsite offers.  It is just you camping alone...Not a campground.  Located five minutes from the highway, it feels like you are far removed from civilization.  Our rural neighbors (none in view) have chickens and dogs...note that our site is private but you will hear rooster calling in the morning.  We provide a water spigot, electricity, water flushing porta-potty, a fire ring, plenty of free firewood and a fire starting kit.  Patio table and chairs are on-site for your comfort.  A Storage Shed provides dry storage in case of rain.  As your host, we are focused on providing a great experience with simple primitive camping.

The Holley's Wood Site is blessed to be located in the "Heart of the Smokys".  Relax in the privacy of the woods or spend your day exploring a myriad of activities offered in the Smoky Mountains.  We are less than 20 minute drive-time from:    

SHOP in Bryson City and/or Dillsboro...walk the shops and enjoy the unique brews and foods offered

RAFT/Kayak the Nantahala Gorge

HIKE the numerous trails in the Great Smokys National Park

BIKE at Nationally recognized Tsali Rec Area or Fire Mountain Trails in Cherokee

FISH our Pristine Mountain Rivers and Lakes

GOLF high quality courses within 5 miles of the site -- Sequoia National and Smky Mtn Country Club

FIND out about Pioneer and Native American history at Oconluftee Village, the Cherokee Museum and the GSMNP Visitors Center OR share in the fun at Harrah's Casino.

RIDE the Great Smoky Mountain Railway OR Motorcycle/Sports Car thrill ride the "Tail of the Dragon".  Hop on the Historic Blue Ridge Parkway and experience nature in all its splendor.

It can be overwhelming to decide what to do -- we will be glad to give you "insider info" to refine your plans once you arrive.

Bring your TENT, HAMMOCKS, TRUCK or VAN and tell your friends you vacationed at Holley's Wood, where lifelong memories were made!

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans and truck campers
1 site
Up to 8 guests per site
Park at listing
ADA access
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Potable water available
Showers available
Picnic table available
Bins available
No kitchen
No wifi
Laundry absent
Camping vehicle details
Electrical hookup available
Water hookup available
Sewage hookup available
No TV hookup
Generators not allowed
Back-in site
Max length 14ft
Surface type: grass or field
Surface levelness: requires leveling
Doesn't accommodate slideouts
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 6 months out

You know what would make this trip even better?

Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to Holley's Wood _Solo Site Experience


Firewood bundle

Fire Wood is included in the daily fee.

Add to trip


Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Horseback riding
Whitewater paddling
Wildlife watching


Natural features you'll find at Holley's Wood _Solo Site Experience in North Carolina.


There is a mountain incline to our final 1/10th of a mile. Go at a steady pace and any car will pass well...just with some bum...Read more


The vibe at Holley's Wood _Solo Site Experience


12 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Heather

Holley woods is a hidden gem

Heather N.
recommends this listing.
October 4th, 2020

Staying at Holley Woods was such a joy and exceeded our expectations. My husband and I booked a last minute trip to go see the changing leaves in the NC Mountains. We wanted to be close to Bryson City, Cherokee, and the National Park; but not in a campground. Holley woods meets all of this criteria and then some! The mountain road was easily traveled with a FWD hatchback just be sure to pass the driveway on the way up and back into camp.

This primitive campsite was much larger than we expected and very flat. There was plenty of space for us to enjoy and our dog to roam. The host provided many amenities, making our stay much more enjoyable. They were thoughtful enough to include a charging station, frequently forgotten items box, canopy tent, patio set, some firewood, etc. Not to mention, my personal favorite, fairy jars!

Renae and Woody are very communicative hosts and made sure we had everything we needed throughout our stay. They are very knowledgeable of the area and provided us with many local facts & recommendations. On our second night, they took us on a tour to see the local Elk Herd and Rainbow Trout. By far one of our favorite trips to The Smokies, we will be back!

Hipcamper Catherine

Wonderful place to camp!!

Catherine S.
recommends this listing.
July 9th, 2020

Our group of 7 spent 4 nights at Holley Woods and absolutely loved it. Woody and Renae's land is centrally located - 15 minutes from the cute downtown of Sylva and 20- 30 minutes from mountain biking and hiking trails. Beyond location, their hospitality deserves 5/5 stars between providing extra supplies to make our stay more comfortable and giving local recommendations.

The site comes with more land and more supplies than you would get in a standard campsite. The available wooden shed for storage was more than necessary with summer rain showers that the area receives. The campsite is also very private and quite roomy, as we were able to have two 4-person tents, one 2-person tent and another 1-person tent.

Seemingly rare for the area, the site has cell service. This was helpful for doing research of what trails to do and load GPS directions on our smart phones.

While there currently is not running water on the site (it's in progress), Woody provided fresh water jugs to us everyday and we never found ourselves with a lack of water. The toilet situation was a bucket with a toilet seat lid when we stayed (a porta pota was a work-in-progress), but it was not too bad. Woody emptied the bucket everyday, or there are plenty of establishments nearby with bathrooms if you want a little more privacy.

Overall, we can't recommend this site enough to a group looking to make a home in the woods for a few days!

Holley's Wood _Solo Site ExperienceHolley's Wood _Solo Site ExperienceHolley's Wood _Solo Site Experience
Hipcamper Eric

Hidden gem at base of smoky mtns!

Eric H.
recommends this listing.
October 19th, 2020

We had an awesome time camping at Holley's Wood! Renae and Woody were amazing hosts. They made us feel more than welcome and were not intrusive. We could tell that they have put much thought, consideration, and love into this campsite. It was very private yet we had all the things we needed and more. The site was very spacious and scenic. Woody went out of his way to give us not only advice and information about the area but he also shared some history of the land itself which was very cool to learn. He even gave us some maps that included directions and details on points of interest that we were curious about (Nearby hiking trails & "Road to Nowhere" tunnel and trails). This made for some great day time adventures and memories in the surrounding area. At night we took in some amazing star gazing and even caught 3 shooting stars! We are looking forward to staying there again soon and would definitely recommend this site. 10 out of 10! Thank you very much Woody and Renae! Our pup Wally had the best Birthday camp!

Hipcamper Barbara

Sweet spot to camp!

Barbara W.
recommends this listing.
October 26th, 2020

We felt welcomed and safe staying at Holley's Woods with hosts Woody and Renae. It's a great location to access all the local activities whether that's enjoying the natural beauty of the mountains or exploring the surrounding towns and sights. We knew beforehand that the campsite was located in a residential area but the elevation and placement make the campsite setting park-like. We came prepared to "rough it" but were pleasantly surprised by all the thoughtful amenities the hosts made available. We look forward to seeing how the campsite develops over time. Woody and Renae have a wealth of knowledge about the local area and they were both so kind to offer us help during our stay, if we needed it. The local elk herd are a must see! Noise at the campsite was low to average -- actually less than what we've experienced at campgrounds. We got a good night's rest by going to bed soon after dark and rising early as usual. We found several spots to pitch a 4-person tent on level ground at the campsite. The charging station was a plus because our camera battery ran out on the second day. If you're looking for total seclusion you may want to check backcountry sites but if you're looking for safe camping with amenities away from public campgrounds then Holley's Woods fits the bill well. We plan to return in the future and we appreciated the opportunity to safely get away to the mountains for a few days during the pandemic. Thanks very much to our gracious hosts, Woody and Renae.

Plott Balsam Overlook, Blue Ridge ParkwaySteam locomotive arrives at Nantahala Outdoor Center with passengers from Bryson City.Mingo Falls
Hipcamper Woody and Renae
Response from Woody and Renae, the Host, on November 13th, 2020

It was a pleasure to share our "little piece of Smoky Mtn heaven" with ya'll. We felt like it was a blessing to get to spend time with you as you joined us to ride into the Park to see the Elk Herd. To those reading this -- please see the wonderful photos that Barbara and her son took of our region during their stay. You can tell that these guests appreciate the beauty, diversity and history of our region. WE are excited in looking forward to serving these folks again when they come to camp with us.

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Mark
Mark W.
doesn't recommend this listing.
July 13th, 2020

The site is new, and a work in progress. The host seems very into making a good experience for guests, and I am sure this site will improve with time. The general area is more inhabited than I like, and the roosters and dogs down the valley are a bit noisy early in the morning. The forest is nice, but the disturbed area has poison ivy and needs finishing up, filling of trenches, etc... all things that can be accomplished. There was more gravel road traffic noise than I would hope for, although many may not care about this. The free firewood is a plus, and the proximity to the GSMNP is useful. A proper tent pad and composting privy, and more screening from the driveway are suggested. Thanks, and good luck!

Hipcamper Woody and Renae
Response from Woody and Renae, the Host, on July 14th, 2020

Thanks Mark for the feedback. We hear you and we understand how it feels to be annoyed by local noise. Last year we were in a campground that had urban noise pollution with planes landing and trains whistling...and we will not go back there again. Future guests of ours should know that if you bring your own dog it may hear other barking dogs from our neighbor's homes in the distance -- this is the only part of our experience that is similar to staying in a campground. Mark is correct we are improving our site weekly and we appreciate the kindness of our guests for overlooking that process...but we are choosing to remain "open" to serve the HIPCAMP community with a great deal for the price compared to our local campground that can cost $60 a night once you buy your firewood (our firewood is free).

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Alexander
Alexander C.
recommends this listing.
July 20th, 2020

This was exactly what my wife and I were looking for as a base camp for visiting the National Park. It is about an hour from Newfound Gap (and the Appalachian trail) and closer to Mingo Falls, Deep Creek area, and other places on the North Carolina side. It was also a private place with no other people or buildings in sight. For trying to camp and hike in the Park responsibly during COVID-19, the seclusion was a plus. We knew all that going in and made this a good choice; however, the campsite is much better than we realized. Woody and Renae clearly enjoy crafting a great camping spot, with free firewood, a box of tools that are there for campers to use (e.g. a lighter and can opener are present in case you forget yours), and plenty of potable water. There’s a bucket toilet right now in a stall with toilet paper supplied. Woody was also excited to talk about plans for further tweaks to the site, give recommendations for what to do, and offer help if you need anything... and he knows he talks a lot so he’ll warn you to stop him if you have things to do. Very nice guy. In other words, the drive up the narrow dirt road isn’t great for a large RV, but if you are tent camping, this is a gem.

Hipcamper Woody and Renae
Response from Woody and Renae, the Host, on November 13th, 2020

So Glad you folks had a great experience...that's exactly meets our goal. We love our region. Using Hipcamp is a Win-Win for all of us because you can continue to come stay with us many more times and never have the feeling that you have "seen it all" or be overwhelmed by public mayhem (like found on the Gatlinburg side of the Smokys). I can tell that you folks were doing what we do during our vacations...You were "finding the J-O-Y in your JOurneY".

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Jim


Jim O.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
September 8th, 2020

Scam. We got a confirmation that we’d be able to stay there during our trip. And then we got a message saying they were out of town and we’d need to cancel the trip. We were still charged for the stay although they canceled on us.

Hipcamper Woody and Renae
Response from Woody and Renae, the Host, on October 7th, 2020

I am sorry that you were disappointed Jim. We were called out of town unexpectedly and did not have presence of mind to close our HIPCAMP calendar. As soon as we got the booking notification, I messaged you that we had to decline the request to stay at our site. I immediately notified HIPCAMP that your booking was to be cancelled. When later I heard back from you that you had not received a refund...I immediately contacted HIPCAMP and they assured me that your money had been credited back to you. I messaged you about what HIPCAMP told me about the refund and asked you to please contact me if there were any other problems. I did not hear from you again. This is not a "scam", we should have notified HIPCAMP of our emergency to leave town but I hardly think that warranted this negative review!

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Brett
Brett G.
recommends this listing.
October 25th, 2020

Awesome stay and really great site!

Hipcamper Terence

Fantastic experience a+

Terence R.
recommends this listing.
November 8th, 2020

Woody and Renae were wonderful and the site was a great experience. We were expecting a site with other people and to our surprise it's one booking for the entire site so we had it all to ourselves. The hosts are very friendly and had some nice little bonuses at the site such as all the firewood we could want, extra lights, water stocked and ready to be used by a prep station above and beyond what's already available via the site's spigot. We knew about the neighboring roosters in the morning from the description and sure enough they were a lively bunch but it wasn't anything that I'd describe as over the top. We had a great time and will be returning. A+ experience, thank you again.

Hipcamper Woody and Renae
Response from Woody and Renae, the Host, on November 9th, 2020

Terence, Meeting you @ Holley's Wood was so positive. Terence exemplifies why Hipcamp is so successful in bringing together land owners and folks who want to be in the Great Outdoors and explore our Smoky Mountains Region. Renae and I look forward to hosting you and your friends/family in the future. -- Sincerely grateful to have shared the weekend with you -- Woody. -- Note to the Public: This guest took advantage of two of our favorite things to do in our area -- they viewed the local Elk herd and watched the Sunset at Clingman's Dome in the GSMNP.

Remove vote :(

Safety at Hipcamp

Inclusion Policy

We have a zero-tolerance policy against discrimination at Hipcamp and are committed to helping our Host and Hipcamper community be inclusive.

Learn More
Hipcamp Hand

Hosting Standards

All Hosts should review and adhere to these standards around providing a positive Hipcamp experience, being a thoughtful neighbor, and serving as a responsible citizen.

Learn More

Hipcamper Standards

All Hipcampers should review and adhere to these standards for safety, trip preparation, and respect in order to uphold Hipcamp’s most important value: “leave it better.”

Learn More

Safety partners

Recreate Responsibly

  1. Know before you go
  2. Practice physical distancing
  3. Plan ahead
  4. Play it safe
  5. Explore locally
  6. Leave no trace
  7. Build an inclusive outdoors
Learn More

Leave No Trace

  1. Plan ahead and prepare
  2. Travel and camp on durable surfaces
  3. Dispose of waste properly
  4. Leave what you find
  5. Minimize campfire impacts
  6. Respect wildlife
  7. Be considerate of other visitors
Learn More

National Weather Service

We integrate with the National Weather Service to provide valuable fire advisories to Hosts and Hipcampers. Real-time Red Flag Warnings and Fire Weather Watch Warnings help keep our community safe.

Learn More
Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future