Hipcamp host Richard S.
Hosted by
Richard has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!2019 Best of Hipcamp for New York State !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Property map is not exactly accurate. We reserve the right to  change site numbers without notice. 



!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!2019 Best of Hipcamp for New York State !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Property map is not exactly accurate. We reserve the right to  change site numbers without notice. 


Contact us now to make your reservation. Email, message, text, whatever works. We usually respond pretty close to immediately.  We look forward to seeing you all soon! All the best - Your Host, Rich Spoto.

A little bit about us. This is a small campground. We do have one Glamping site as well as well as a super luxurious pool house  available.  We also supply you with free ice! 

We rent small retro RV's as well, see our other listings!! 

There are 40 acres here to explore with small streams, wetlands and forests. 

We have 4 modern brand new bathrooms with a hot showers in a beautiful new bathouse with a charging station for phones and tablets.  Its pretty amazing!!!!!  We do have sulfur water, its great for your skin but smells! 

Each site usually has a 2 chairs, a table , a grill and a fire ring..... 

We also offer 3 vintage campers for a unique glamping experience. We have a 1984, a 1975 and a 1966 all with solar electric service. Take a look at our listings or ask me. I'll tell you all about them. *Please note that use of the pool is available to guests of the pool house only. 

We also offer hiking excursions. Please book in advance. 

Our sites are in the middle of the 40 acres of beautiful undeveloped land to explore or just enjoy the quiet. There are no street lights to block the view of the nite sky and the fire flies are something to see.  We still have all the cool stuff like tons of restaurants, breweries, wineries & vineyards, and farms all around. 

Boulder Point Camping is centrally located among indoor and outdoor activities, great restaurants, local shops, and antiquing. We are close to loads of hiking trails, state parks, restaurants, creeks, swimming, fishing and more. Sam's Point, Ice Caves Mountain, and Minnewaska State Park just to name a few!  In addition there are plenty of microbreweries, wineries, and farms where you can pick your fruit right off the tree (or vine) as the case may be. We are also a few minutes from Angry Orchard, Gardiner Brewing Company, and Baldwin Vineyards and many many others... 

Dogs welcome with additional $20  fee.

We can accommodate small vans, popups and RVs as well. 

Check out is a strict 11 am unless prior arrangements have been made.

We reserve the right to change your site number without notice.  

1 car per site... 10 dollars per extra car
Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans and truck campers, RVs
17 sites
Up to 8 guests per site
Park at listing
No ADA access
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Potable water available
Kitchen available
Showers available
Picnic table available
Bins available
No wifi
Camping vehicle details
No electrical hookup
No water hookup
No sewage hookup
No TV hookup
Generators not allowed
Pull-in site
Max length 25ft
Surface type: grass or field
Surface levelness: flat
Doesn't accommodate slideouts
Have a question? Send Richard a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 11AM
  • Cancellation policy: Super Strict (30 Days)
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 10% off

You know what would make this trip even better?

Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to Boulder Point! Best of Hipcamp NYS


Solar Generator

Solar generator system, large unit with solar power. Sunjoe brand

Add to trip

Fire starter

Fire starter, fat wood

Add to trip


4 or 6 man tent depending on availability, you set it up and you put it neatl...Read more

Add to trip


A green propane tank for heaters, lights and bbqs

Add to trip

Firewood bundle

Start your trip off right with a bundle of firewood waiting for you at your c...Read more

Add to trip


Offered on the Host's property or nearby.


There are plenty of country roads and riding trails in the area. It's pretty common to see bikers along the roadways and throug...Read more


There is nothing quite as refreshing as mountain air! Minutes from the Shawangunk Mountains, Lake Minneswaska, Mt. Tremper Fir...Read more

Horseback riding

Is there an equestrian in the family? Come enjoy the countryside on horse back. So many horsefarms to choose from. La Luna Farm...Read more


We are located in the southern tip of the Catskill Mountains. Most areas where there is hiking there is also climbing. Mohonk ...Read more


Of course there's swimming. Enjoy fresh water, blue skies, and the beautiful outdoors in one of many, many locations. The local...Read more

Wildlife watching

There are all sorts of animals running around up here. It is a natural habitat for deer, ducks, geese, chickens, cows, squirrel...Read more



Natural features you'll find at Boulder Point! Best of Hipcamp NYS in New York.


The campground is located within 40 acres of private, undeveloped land!

Prairie, meadow, or plain

Sites 2-6 are in a field with some appple and cedar trees ....


Most sites are accessible by car.... mud season can be a little rough.... site one is a bitch

River, stream, or...
Swimming hole

The vibe at Boulder Point! Best of Hipcamp NYS

Places to see near Boulder Point Camp

92 miles away Explore
This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Elizabeth
Elizabeth L.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Site 2)
September 4th, 2018

This campsite was perfectly adequate. With a few minor improvements, however, it could be really great.

- If you're looking for isolation, this isn't it. The map at checkout was deceptive, as we thought there would be more space between campsites. However, we could easily hear and see multiple other campsites, as well as the owner's house. Luckily our neighboring campers were quiet and polite, but it was very much a "backyard camping" vibe.

- It was advertised as having water -- but, it is well water and smells heavily of sulfur (ie: rotten eggs). So while technically potable, you will likely want to bring your own water (or some sort of filtration system). This should be noted in the description.

- Not all camp sites have the same amenities: example, our site didn't have a picnic table, while most others did. Not sure why this is the case.

- The fire pit at our site (#2) was right next to the dirt road where everyone drives their cars in and out. It was a very odd placement, not cozy or ideal. Would be better if moved a few feet away from the road.

- Our site had a single tree -- very little shade, but more disappointingly, we couldn't use the hammock we brought. It would be helpful to have a better description and layout of each campsite, instead of trying to guess which one we wanted. Not the owner's fault, but Hipcamp developers should consider adding this in the design. A brief description for each site, on the map at checkout, would be very helpful.

Hipcamper Richard
Response from Richard, the Host, on June 7th, 2020

Thanks for the critique, all taken care of on my end!

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Carly
Carly B.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
September 4th, 2017

We had a lovely few days camping at boulder point! Beautiful woods and surroundings. Upon arrival we were met by the host and shown to the site, were also able to purchase as much firewood as we needed for the weekend. The site is not too far from the main house but far enough away where you feel completely secluded. The location is perfect for all local hiking spots in the Shawangunk mountains and Minnewaska State park. Richard was a communicative and friendly host. We had a great time!

Boulder Point! Best of Hipcamp NYSBoulder Point! Best of Hipcamp NYS
Hipcamper Kayci

Expectations were not reality

Kayci G.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 7)
July 22nd, 2020

While there were some positive parts of my trips at Boulder Point. There were just as many issues I had with the site.


The female host was an absolute delight! She was sweet, accommodating, and quick with any needs. Their 2 dogs are very sweet, non aggressive, and were a treat!
The directions given by the hosts of how to get to the site were clear and direct.

The female host cleans the bathrooms 3x a day! While they got trashed very quickly due to the large groups there. She was definitely trying to keep them as tidy as possible which I appreciated. The bathrooms are great - I did not use the showers but they looked nice. And there is a charging station too.

The site is 6 minutes to fast food and grocery stores in case you need to grab anything.

Site 7 is one of the largest sites. Really happy we chose that location for our group. Many of the other sites are on top of each other with not a lot of room.


The listing in terms of description has changed multiple times since we booked.

We were unaware before the trip that this site does NOT have drinkable water. The water is sulfur water and for hygienic purposes only. So we were not prepared to have non drinkable water. This is in the posting now but when we booked it said it had potable water for drinking. Especially since there is a free ice machine - I am unsure how you can have ice for drinks or coolers but have non potable water.

We stayed Friday-Sunday and from Saturday 2pm to Sunday the site could not compete with demands and we were left with no water to clean our dishes or use except for the bathroom. Ice machine also broke during this time. Which they acted like it was a normal occurrence for this to happen. They definitely need to get a new solar generator or find a better way to pump water to the area as every site was booked + each site had at least 6+ people per site. I get why it happened but to add more sites without increasing the resources needed leads to these types of issues. This definitely was a large issue as we were told it would be good in 30 mins and almost 24 hours later it was still not running.

The price of wood also changed from booking to when we got there. It increased from $7 to $10. I wish we were notified of the price increases prior to coming as we booked with 1 price and then it was another. They do accept venmo in case you do not have enough cash.

While they say 9/10pm curfew people were singing and screaming and playing loud music till 3am.

Hipcamper Richard
Response from Richard, the Host, on July 23rd, 2020

OMG the water is drinkable, i drink it daily..... There is nothing wrong with the water system and I have no idea what you are talkign about solar issues? Are yo the one who rented the solar generatore and ran multiple devises for hours and drained it dry? Thats how it works at night, no sun, no juice and whenyou run multiple fans off of it it runs out....its not a house power supply. Yes prices change and it was months ago it changed, and the bundles got much bigger. So we should personally notify each camper of a price change Karen ? Ice maker...we used to give out ice, no longer, because of customers who took advantage, fill entire coolers and overwork the machine. Lets face it, you are a complainer, a Karen. Imagine trying to go after and hurt some ones business when you haven't a clue about anything.

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Paul
Paul K.
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
September 5th, 2017

Awesome campsites near towns and hiking. We had a great experience staying at Rich's place this past labor day weekend. We stayed in the field site which included a picnic table, a fire ring, and plenty of room for your car and tents. The site was very spacious and secluded. In addition, Rich was a great host. Super friendly, flexible, generous with his firewood, and gave us lots of recommendations for things to do around the area (hiking, restaurants & bars, towns, etc.). 10/10 would definitely recommend - we will be back for sure!

Hipcamper Erica

Nice people. subpar campsites.

Erica A.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 11)
July 5th, 2020

I don’t usually expect showers Or amenities at a campsite but it’s a nice perk. However, there are only two and they contained plastic boxes similar to a motor home bathroom so the floors are always wet. These two showers also hold two of the three bathrooms for the entire campsite. There were at least a hundred people if not double that that quickly overwhelmed three toilets. There isn’t enough privacy to pee in the woods unless you’re at one of the outer campsites so people were waiting in line to use the restroom every morning for more than 15 minutes. At one point one of the bathrooms was locked for hours because they had run out of toilet paper. There is very little privacy from other groups which can be fun if that’s what you’re up for. Everyone was very kind and helpful, however and made themselves very available if we needed anything.
Also for paying close to $400 for two nights, it would be nice if they sprayed or cleared the poison ivy that is all throughout the campsites. Again, I don’t usually stay at campsites with any amenities and therefore pay a fraction of the price so I expected more. Obviously in this part of the country there is poison ivy everywhere, but it would be nice for instance to not have to worry about it in the campsites, around the grills and fire pits etc. I wouldn’t come back.

Hipcamper Richard
Response from Richard, the Host, on July 9th, 2020

Hi Thanks for your thoughts, but they just arent that accurate or justified... we check for poison ivy and we have very little to none, we have zero reports of poison ivy or anyone getting poison ivy, I personally weed-wack and mow the whole campground and what you are seeing is grape vines, they are everywhere throughout the campground. Our bathrooms are nothing at all like an RV bathroom, go google an rv bathroom and youll see the difference. Our bathrooms are regular bathrooms with vinyl flooring...yes its busy....yes we are a little overwhelmed its way busier than normal and we are trying to accommodate everyone during covid-19....Yes sanitizing takes sometime with the baths, yes floors get wet but they are brand new baths...we are adding some portable toilets to help with the overflow... We had nowhere near 100 people let alone double that lol. we had about 70 people the dates you were here...not fair at all Our sites are twice as large as most.... places....most places are all connected as well.. completely unfair and unjustified review... full of inaccuracies... ps come back for wild fresh grapes during harvest season

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper JAS
Jas S.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 14)
July 5th, 2020

It's not really private or secluded. It wasn't clear from the description that camps are that close to each other. I would recommend owner to add clear picture and clarify location with respect to distance between each. I think it will help future campers to join in with right expectations.

Hipcamper Laura

Great camping experience

Laura W.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
September 22nd, 2019

Rich was great and very hospitable. The site was perfect and although there are other sites nearby, site #7 allowed for privacy and plenty of space to still be in the woods. Such a fun time, we will definitely be back again next year!

Boulder Point! Best of Hipcamp NYSBoulder Point! Best of Hipcamp NYS
Hipcamper Una

Well groomed and managed.

Una P.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
September 24th, 2019

We booked Rich's place very last minute (an hr before our arrival) but it was the most painless check in. Rich, the host, is passionate about this side gig and has great personality. That human touch alone really added to our trip experience. His sites are very well groomed, and it features beautiful wild flower patch. Bathroom, which is a new addition was also great, but water does stink as it seems to have high level of sulfer.

The sites are pretty close to each other but still much more space than you'd get at a regular campgrounds and they are divided quite descently.

We stayed at site 5, and the sky from this site was just gorgeous.

Hipcamper Roman
Roman G.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
September 29th, 2019

Nice and clean area!


Best of 2019 New York
1st place
Boulder Point Camp
New York
United States
17 Sites

Lists including Boulder Point! Best of Hipcamp NYS

48 camps including Lakeside Pigs Pears & Fishing and Camp in Alaska's Last Frontier
122 camps including Glamping at Round Mountain and Little Creek Tent Site
41 camps including Woodland Grove Camping and Overlook Lean-to

Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future