Shelly & Bri has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

My place is off-grid and rustic! Only 5 miles from Madrid, NM. It is close to art and culture, great views, and restaurants and dining. You’ll love Shanti because of the views, the quiet peace, the unique experience of off-grid life on a mesa at 6800 feet, and the proximity to the artist village of Madrid. My place is good for couples, solo adventurers, and furry friends (pe


My place is off-grid and rustic! Only 5 miles from Madrid, NM. It is close to art and culture, great views, and restaurants and dining. You’ll love Shanti because of the views, the quiet peace, the unique experience of off-grid life on a mesa at 6800 feet, and the proximity to the artist village of Madrid. My place is good for couples, solo adventurers, and furry friends (pets).

Check out my other four rentals too! The yurt, the Tortilla bus, Dusk till Dawn and Golden Dawn at Shanti Community!

Lodging provided
1 site
Up to 3 guests per site
Park at listing
No ADA access
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Fire ban in effect
Potable water available
Showers available
Picnic table available
Bins available
No wifi
  • Check in: After 3PM
  • Check out: Before 11AM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out

You know what would make this trip even better?

Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to Kerouac - #1 HipCamp NM



We kindly ask for a $10 fee per pet. Please purchase this package if you are...Read more

Add to trip

Fresh Bedding Package

Due to COVID, we have updated cleaning policies and procedures, which include...Read more

Add to trip

Firewood bundle

Start your trip off right with a bundle of firewood waiting for you at your c...Read more

Add to trip


Offered on the Host's property or nearby.


Only ten to fifteen minute hike to a magical canyon with a petroglyph

Horseback riding

Horseback riding is available at Broken Saddle only a few miles away in the village of Cerrillos

Snow sports

Skiing and snowboarding are within 30 minutes and an hour away at Sandia Park and Santa Fe

Wildlife watching

You will hear coyotes most any night here at Shanti. Likely also owls.



Natural features you'll find at Kerouac - #1 HipCamp NM in New Mexico.


High desert at 6800 feet

The vibe at Kerouac - #1 HipCamp NM

25 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Mark
Mark W.
doesn't recommend this listing.
June 7th, 2018

We arrived at this location shortly before sunset after a 10 hour drive from Utah. This was the last stop on our road trip that started in Texas, went to the Grand Canyon and Zion before we returned home.

First, it's important to note we are not new to camping in primitive or back woods areas. We've done multiple trips to Big Bend, Marfa, Davis Mountains, and, as stated, we were just coming from GC and Zion. When we arrived my first thought was that the area seemed, for lack of a better term, disheveled. After our long trip we were eager to get out of our car, start a fire before the sun went down, and organize the site for our stay. None of that would end up happening because immediately on exiting our vehicle, within five minutes, our dog got multiple cactus quills deeply embedded in his front paw. It was clear after trying to take a look at them we were not going to be able to remove them at the site and our stress immediately escalated. We contacted the owner for help at this point and she provided us information for emergency vets in the area. At this point, I thought it was a little strange she didn't send her representative out to help us, but I was too wrapped up in the ongoing situation to take real stock of her responses. My girlfriend began to contact emergency vets while I comforted our dog and set about prepping the site for our stay. While we were on the phone with the vet our dog who was now confined to a small space in front of the van we were staying in got another bundle of quills stuck in his back paw. This all happened in, at most, a hour if not less than 30 minutes. When I asked the neighboring site if they had anything that could help they informed me they also had a dog that was aggressive towards other dog. They immediately left. We found out shortly after this that vet services related to this incident were going to be at a significant cost.

We isolated the issue to a plant less than 10 feet from the entrance to where we were staying. I had already located other bundles of quills, but with low visibility we couldn't determine how much more risk there was in the immediate area. The sun was setting, we couldn't determine risk, we already had two incidents, we located the probable root cause, and the neighbor informed me they have a aggressive dog.

At that point we had to make a decision, and that decision for both our safety and our pet's safety was to leave the site and find other accommodations, so I contacted the owner by phone at that point.

I explained to her that based on the hazards we didn't feel safe continuing our stay at her property and would need to find other accommodations. I explained what was happening, our dog was in distress, and my girlfriend was crying at this point. Her response was blunt as she said, 'good luck.' After that, there was a notable moment of silence before she said, 'oh, do you think you should get a refund?'

I'll admit at the time I was escalated, and I found this response infuriating. The question itself wasn't as much of a issue as the tone of her voice, which communicated clearly to me that she was asking sarcastically. A refund at that time was not at the top of my list of concerns given the circumstances. In a situation such as this, her first priorities should have been empathy, a apology, a confirmation that she'd take possible steps to make sure that this wouldn't happen again, and finally the very least she could have done is help us find other accommodations in a area we weren't familiar with.

My opinion is that you do not judge a rental owner's grit by their actions when everything is going well. You measure it by how they respond in a situation where something has gone wrong and in this area this owner failed. Instead of offering assistance or basic empathy she offered a defensive attitude, condescending statements, and even mocked my chances of finding another place to stay on such short notice.

In no way can I recommend staying at this property in good conscience if the owner's priority is not a camper's safety.

Hipcamper Shelly & Bri
Response from Shelly & Bri, the Host, on June 21st, 2018

When the guests arrived i immediately responded with contacts to vets. The guest seemed angry and defensive and asked for a refund. I explained that that is not the way we are set up with hipcamp. Moderate is the cancellation policy I have set up with hipcamp. With airbnb, hipcamp and other rental connectors i have rented to over 1000 guests in less than 2 years and all guests but 2 have found what Shanti is .... inner peace. Im sorry their pup got into a cactus, but it is the high desert and something that can happen. Perhaps off-grid high desert communities are not the best option for these guests. I wish them luck in the future and hope their pup is fine.

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Katie
Katie L.
recommends this listing.
May 25th, 2018

Kerouac has been to this day my favorite stay. The bus is tiny- yet spacious with enough room for your bags, waters, even your pup. Plenty of space to explore and run around. The hammock outside the bus was the perfect touch for reading at night & drinking coffee in the morning. The location is perfect for watching the sunset, and the privacy of this listing was the most amazing touch. Don't hesitate if you're looking at this listing!

Hipcamper Jordan
Jordan W.
recommends this listing.
July 31st, 2018

Exactly what I wanted: open skies, quiet, adventure, will absolutely stay again when I'm in the area. The road to get back to Kerouac is rocky (especially for a Scion like mine) but Shelly and Dan were both wonderful in offering to give me a lift out to the property. Tip: wake up early for sunrise. Majorly worth it.

Bout to hit the road.Pano facing the communal space.Caught Kerouac in a thunderstorm.
Hipcamper Jin
Jin Y.
recommends this listing.
August 23rd, 2018

Shelly's place is amazing! I had such a wonderful time staying in Kerouac! The sunset was amazing and the night sky was incredible! I would love to come back again!

Hipcamper Nik
Nik G.
recommends this listing.
August 28th, 2018

<3 In love with this place. Loved the Kerouac, but will definitely spring for the Golden Dawn or Dusk til Dawn buses next time. They are swank and gorgeous! Shelly is not kidding about the rough road! Well worth it though…

Kerouac - #1 HipCamp NMKerouac - #1 HipCamp NM
Hipcamper Sebastian
Sebastian S.
recommends this listing.
September 10th, 2018

The road in is rough but once we arrived it was a magical space. Out of a two week road trip it's still one of our favorite spots! The views and tranquility of the place is unique and incredibly relaxing. Shelly, the host, was super friendly and lovely to meet. She gave us a great recommendation for a short hike nearby after a long drive, that we loved. The hammock outside kerouac was perfection and the sky full of stars was stunning.

Kerouac - #1 HipCamp NMKerouac - #1 HipCamp NMKerouac - #1 HipCamp NMKerouac - #1 HipCamp NM
Hipcamper Julia

Cozy, cute, off the grid getaway!

Julia K.
recommends this listing.
March 13th, 2019

We were greatly impressed by the site. The bus had everything we needed to be comfortable. We looked forward to enjoying a campfire and warm weather, but we encountered snow and extreme winds which made our visit less pleasant. However, Shelly provided an abundance of blankets, water, a lantern, and anything else we needed for the night!

Shelly was incredibly kind and helpful every step of the way. She gave us detailed instructions before we arrived. When we got there, the rain had made the parking conditions unfavorable and our car got stuck in the mud. Shelly did everything in her power, including pushing our car out of the mud, offering us an upgrade, and offering to use her own insurance to help us get out. Ultimately, without her help, the situation could have been a lot worse!

Overall, if we could have fun in the most miserable and unexpected weather conditions in New Mexico, then you can too!

Kerouac - #1 HipCamp NM
Hipcamper Kay

Do it.

Kay L.
recommends this listing.
June 13th, 2019

This was one of the highlights of my cross country road trip with my two ups. If you have time, explore the property and check out the mini canyon on the property. The bus was immaculate, and the property was tranquil. The perfect place to unwind, drink a glass of wine, and watch the sun go down while your pups chase after desert rabbits.

Hipcamper Anna
Anna W.
recommends this listing.
June 24th, 2019

Shelly and her stay-in hosts were amazing! the directions were perfect, bumpy drive but it was so fun. we had a very clear night and seeing the stars way out there was awesome!

Shanti Community
New Mexico
United States
1 Site

Safety at Hipcamp

Inclusion Policy

We have a zero-tolerance policy against discrimination at Hipcamp and are committed to helping our Host and Hipcamper community be inclusive.

Learn More
Hipcamp Hand

Hosting Standards

All Hosts should review and adhere to these standards around providing a positive Hipcamp experience, being a thoughtful neighbor, and serving as a responsible citizen.

Learn More

Hipcamper Standards

All Hipcampers should review and adhere to these standards for safety, trip preparation, and respect in order to uphold Hipcamp’s most important value: “leave it better.”

Learn More

Safety partners

Recreate Responsibly

  1. Know before you go
  2. Practice physical distancing
  3. Plan ahead
  4. Play it safe
  5. Explore locally
  6. Leave no trace
  7. Build an inclusive outdoors
Learn More

Leave No Trace

  1. Plan ahead and prepare
  2. Travel and camp on durable surfaces
  3. Dispose of waste properly
  4. Leave what you find
  5. Minimize campfire impacts
  6. Respect wildlife
  7. Be considerate of other visitors
Learn More

National Weather Service

We integrate with the National Weather Service to provide valuable fire advisories to Hosts and Hipcampers. Real-time Red Flag Warnings and Fire Weather Watch Warnings help keep our community safe.

Learn More
Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future