Hipcamp host Shelly
Hosted by
My place is off-grid and rustic! Only 5 miles from Madrid, NM. It is close to art and culture, great views, and restaurants and dining. You’ll love Shanti because of the views, the quiet peace, the unique experience of off-grid life on a mesa at 6800 feet, and the proximity to the artist village of Madrid. My place is good for couples, solo adventurers, and furry friends Continue reading...

My place is off-grid and rustic! Only 5 miles from Madrid, NM. It is close to art and culture, great views, and restaurants and dining. You’ll love Shanti because of the views, the quiet peace, the unique experience of off-grid life on a mesa at 6800 feet, and the proximity to the artist village of Madrid.
My place is good for couples, solo adventurers, and furry friends (pets).

Check out my other four rentals too! The yurt, the Tortilla bus, Dusk till Dawn and Golden Dawn at Shanti Community!

Accommodation provided
No. of sites
1 bookable site
Park at listing
Group sizes
Up to 3 people per site
Potable water available
Bottled water or jugs
Fires allowed
Firewood provided, communal fire ring
Toilet available
Pit toilet
Pets allowed
On leash
Showers available
Cold water only
Bins available
Compost bin, recycling bin, trash bin
Picnic table available
No wifi
Have a question? Send Shelly a message!
  • Check in: After 3PM
  • Check out: Before 11AM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Response time: Within an hour
  • Response rate: 100%
Hot spring
River, stream or creek
Swimming hole
Horseback riding
Snow sports
Wildlife watching
Wind sports
Whitewater paddling

The vibe at Kerouac

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Mark
doesn't recommend this listing.
June 7th, 2018

We arrived at this location shortly before sunset after a 10 hour drive from Utah. This was the last stop on our road trip that started in Texas, went to the Grand Canyon and Zion before we returned home.

First, it's important to note we are not new to camping in primitive or back woods areas. We've done multiple trips to Big Bend, Marfa, Davis Mountains, and, as stated, we were just coming from GC and Zion. When we arrived my first thought was that the area seemed, for lack of a better term, disheveled. After our long trip we were eager to get out of our car, start a fire before the sun went down, and organize the site for our stay. None of that would end up happening because immediately on exiting our vehicle, within five minutes, our dog got multiple cactus quills deeply embedded in his front paw. It was clear after trying to take a look at them we were not going to be able to remove them at the site and our stress immediately escalated. We contacted the owner for help at this point and she provided us information for emergency vets in the area. At this point, I thought it was a little strange she didn't send her representative out to help us, but I was too wrapped up in the ongoing situation to take real stock of her responses. My girlfriend began to contact emergency vets while I comforted our dog and set about prepping the site for our stay. While we were on the phone with the vet our dog who was now confined to a small space in front of the van we were staying in got another bundle of quills stuck in his back paw. This all happened in, at most, a hour if not less than 30 minutes. When I asked the neighboring site if they had anything that could help they informed me they also had a dog that was aggressive towards other dog. They immediately left. We found out shortly after this that vet services related to this incident were going to be at a significant cost.

We isolated the issue to a plant less than 10 feet from the entrance to where we were staying. I had already located other bundles of quills, but with low visibility we couldn't determine how much more risk there was in the immediate area. The sun was setting, we couldn't determine risk, we already had two incidents, we located the probable root cause, and the neighbor informed me they have a aggressive dog.

At that point we had to make a decision, and that decision for both our safety and our pet's safety was to leave the site and find other accommodations, so I contacted the owner by phone at that point.

I explained to her that based on the hazards we didn't feel safe continuing our stay at her property and would need to find other accommodations. I explained what was happening, our dog was in distress, and my girlfriend was crying at this point. Her response was blunt as she said, 'good luck.' After that, there was a notable moment of silence before she said, 'oh, do you think you should get a refund?'

I'll admit at the time I was escalated, and I found this response infuriating. The question itself wasn't as much of a issue as the tone of her voice, which communicated clearly to me that she was asking sarcastically. A refund at that time was not at the top of my list of concerns given the circumstances. In a situation such as this, her first priorities should have been empathy, a apology, a confirmation that she'd take possible steps to make sure that this wouldn't happen again, and finally the very least she could have done is help us find other accommodations in a area we weren't familiar with.

My opinion is that you do not judge a rental owner's grit by their actions when everything is going well. You measure it by how they respond in a situation where something has gone wrong and in this area this owner failed. Instead of offering assistance or basic empathy she offered a defensive attitude, condescending statements, and even mocked my chances of finding another place to stay on such short notice.

In no way can I recommend staying at this property in good conscience if the owner's priority is not a camper's safety.

Hipcamper Shelly
Response from Shelly, the Host, on June 21st, 2018

When the guests arrived i immediately responded with contacts to vets. The guest seemed angry and defensive and asked for a refund. I explained that that is not the way we are set up with hipcamp. Moderate is the cancellation policy I have set up with hipcamp. With airbnb, hipcamp and other rental connectors i have rented to over 1000 guests in less than 2 years and all guests but 2 have found what Shanti is .... inner peace. Im sorry their pup got into a cactus, but it is the high desert and something that can happen. Perhaps off-grid high desert communities are not the best option for these guests. I wish them luck in the future and hope their pup is fine.

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Katie
recommends this listing.
May 25th, 2018

Kerouac has been to this day my favorite stay. The bus is tiny- yet spacious with enough room for your bags, waters, even your pup. Plenty of space to explore and run around. The hammock outside the bus was the perfect touch for reading at night & drinking coffee in the morning. The location is perfect for watching the sunset, and the privacy of this listing was the most amazing touch. Don't hesitate if you're looking at this listing!

Hipcamper Jordan
recommends this listing.
July 31st, 2018

Exactly what I wanted: open skies, quiet, adventure, will absolutely stay again when I'm in the area. The road to get back to Kerouac is rocky (especially for a Scion like mine) but Shelly and Dan were both wonderful in offering to give me a lift out to the property. Tip: wake up early for sunrise. Majorly worth it.

Hipcamper Jin
recommends this listing.
August 23rd, 2018

Shelly's place is amazing! I had such a wonderful time staying in Kerouac! The sunset was amazing and the night sky was incredible! I would love to come back again!

Hipcamper Nik
recommends this listing.
August 28th, 2018

<3 In love with this place. Loved the Kerouac, but will definitely spring for the Golden Dawn or Dusk til Dawn buses next time. They are swank and gorgeous! Shelly is not kidding about the rough road! Well worth it though…

Hipcamper Sebastian
recommends this listing.
September 10th, 2018

The road in is rough but once we arrived it was a magical space. Out of a two week road trip it's still one of our favorite spots! The views and tranquility of the place is unique and incredibly relaxing. Shelly, the host, was super friendly and lovely to meet. She gave us a great recommendation for a short hike nearby after a long drive, that we loved. The hammock outside kerouac was perfection and the sky full of stars was stunning.

Shanti Community
New Mexico
1 Site