Hipcamp host Alexander
Hosted by
The property is located within 15-20 miles of Belen, NM. The beautiful Manzano Mountains can be admired from the property. Located close to the Rio Grande River. This property is located within an hour drive to Albuquerque, NM and is also accessible to Rio Metro train service – also a travel time of one hour. There are many nature outdoor activities available in the area: Continue reading...

The property is located within 15-20 miles of Belen, NM.

The beautiful Manzano Mountains can be admired from the property.

Located close to the Rio Grande River.

This property is located within an hour drive to Albuquerque, NM and is also accessible to Rio Metro train service – also a travel time of one hour.

There are many nature outdoor activities available in the area: hiking, bird watching, fishing, hunting, etc.

No utilities are provided on the property.

Campsite area
Bring your own vans, trailers, rv & motorhomes
No. of sites
2 bookable sites
RV details
Max length 60ft
RV hookups
None
Access
Park at listing
Group sizes
Up to 5 people per site
No potable water
Bring your own water
Fires allowed
No toilet
Dig a cathole, pack it out
Pets allowed
Off leash, on leash
No showers
Pack it out
No picnic table
No wifi
Have a question? Send Alexander a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 55% off
Desert
Beach
Cave
Coastal
Forest
Hot spring
Lake
Mesa or canyon
Mountainous
Prairie, meadow, or plain
Redwoods
River, stream or creek
Suburban or backyard
Swimming hole
Waterfall
Wetlands
Farm
Ranch
Hiking
OHV
Wildlife watching
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Horseback riding
Paddling
Wind sports
Climbing
Snow sports
Surfing
Swimming
Whitewater paddling

The vibe at 1/2 Acre MT View Property

1 Written review
This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper mark
mark
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 2)
August 10th, 2018

This 1/2 acer lot is exactly that, an empty 1/2 acer lot among hundreds of others in this abandoned subdivision on a high plain in the middle of nowhere New Mexico. I was able to navigate to the site via GPS, but once there there was no real way to tell if I was on the propper 1/2 acer I paid to camp on and not on another 1/2 acer plot. But that's besides the point, my AWD vehicle barely made it to the site and what I believed to be the site was overgrown with bushes, so there was no room to park my vehicle and no open spot large enough to pitch a tent. I didn't camp there. I found a nice open spot to camp about a half a klick west, on one of the old subdivision "roads", technically not on anybody's property. I also don't recommend this site during the late summer monsoons, it's super exposed. A severe thunderstorm rolled in at sunset and lightning was striking the ground within miles of the camp. I literally ripped up stakes and bugged out within 15 minutes. I just made it out to a paved road before the torrential downpour hit and lightning strikes surrounded me. It was super dangerous being that exposed. So seeing that i didn't set up camp at the paid spot and I had to bug out due to severe weather, I should get a refund. But it was really cheap (you get what you pay for) and I suggest that the owner use that fee to at least mark his property boundaries, and clear a spot to park and pitch a tent. I also suggest he warn potential campers about lighting danger during monsoon season and suggest 4WD to get there. Beautiful views for sure, but the owner needs to add some value because there are better "free" spots right next to his.

Wmpvdtx2g7crlrwth75dLeujauxnhem1wb1qimidGtvjsq4izoj7vhdnetdm
Hipcamper Alexander
Response from Alexander, the Host, on August 13th, 2018

Thanks so much for your review and your insight on my land. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to visit it, but do plan on going there later this year - preferably not during the monsoon season. I'm sorry about the danger you encountered on the property, but am happy you were able to find a place to shelter yourself from the lightning. The tips you've left really gives me some great info about how I can invest the $8 you've paid to stay at my property, so that I can mark the location and remove the overgrown shrubbery -- really $4 after Hipcamp takes their cut. I tried to make the price fitting according to the nature and location of the property -- Its true, it is in the middle of nowhere, but that's what I believe makes it so great! Unfortunately, I cannot do much about the weather, especially with it being monsoon season in that area. That's kinda outside of my hands. I would love to work something out with you to remedy your unpleasant stay. Once these issues are rectified, if it is not to much for you, I'd like to offer you another stay outside of the monsoon season. I've come to known that the landscape is very beautiful.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Property
Desert Recreational ReTREAT
State
New Mexico
$10/night
2 Sites