Hipcamp host Summer  R.
Hosted by
Summer has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

About a 10 minute drive from Grand Marais. 5 acres of dispersed, first come first serve campsites. You can go far enough back to have no view of the house. 2 mile hike to beautiful views of Lake Superior where Cutface Creek meets. Plenty of hiking and nature minded activities very close by.

Campsite area
Bring your own tents
14 sites
Up to 2 guests per site
Short walk
No ADA access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Pets allowed
No toilet
Amenities
Potable water available
No kitchen
No showers
No picnic table
No wifi
Pack it out
Laundry absent
Have a question? Send Summer a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Super Strict
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out

You know what would make this trip even better?

Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to Far North Escape

$2
Goods

S'mores

The kits include enough for 2 smores

Add to trip
Remove
0
max

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Paddling
Climbing
Snow sports
Swimming
Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Far North Escape in Minnesota.

Coastal
Forest
Lake
River, stream, or...
Driveway

The vibe at Far North Escape

10 Written reviews
This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Ryan

Great place that we'll visit again!

Ryan B.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
July 5th, 2020

What a beautiful remote stay! We extended our stay after the first night. Ryan and Summer were excellent hosts. It was great to get to know them and make new friends in the process :) The location is in a secluded beautiful field of wildflowers, and there are plenty of pine trees to camp near or set up a hammock between. It can be a bit tricky to make it if you're van or car camping, but we managed with a stock Ford Transit high roof. We hope to be back again soon, and would recommend for anyone in the Grand Marais, MN area!

Morning SmilesHammock Sunshine ☀️  Fire Pit Smiles 😀 Campsite & Superior
Hipcamper Nicholas
Nicholas C.
recommends this listing.
June 21st, 2020

This place is awesome! More than anything we wanted privacy, and it delivered! More than that, the property is beautiful: big open flower fields with patches of forest - so you can pick if you want to be in the trees or the prairie. The owners were very kind and helpful, and never bothered us about anything unless we asked for help. The campsite is big enough that you can get far away from the owners house, so it never felt like we were on someone else’s land. It’s beautiful and tranquil! Will be back!

The view!The view from the our campsite!My dog enjoying the beauty.
Hipcamper Summer
Response from Summer , the Host, on June 28th, 2020

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful
1
Helpful
1
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Ian
Ian R.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
June 28th, 2020

Nice place to camp! Listing is accurate, close to town and some beautiful parks. Ryan was great.

Hipcamper Jessica

Great camping near grand marais!

Jessica M.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
June 29th, 2020

Awesome experience! These guys are just opening up their space and I felt honored to be one of the first campers! They took extra special care of me as a solo female camper which I appreciated. Felt like I was alone enough to have a legit camping experience while knowing I wasn’t totally isolated. Recommend 100%. ☺️

Hipcamper Jeff

Worst camping spot ever

Jeff K.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Dispersed site)
July 3rd, 2020

I got there and there was no one around. I saw a path labeled hipcamp but even in my truck the path was not driveable. I never found my spot or received any guidance. Once I left he contacted me to come back. At that point I gave up and was half way home. I never slept there. It was a total failure

Hipcamper Summer
Response from Summer , the Host, on July 6th, 2020

I issued a full refund...I am truly sorry that you had a bad experience at Far North Escape. Come back anytime so we can redeem ourselves. Thank you, Ryan & Summer

Helpful
1
Helpful
1
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Madeline

Great stay!

Madeline H.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
July 4th, 2020

We enjoyed our stay and loved being able to have our dog there with us. The site was mowed and had a nice rock fire pit. Pretty private spot in the trees too. There was one bird who did its best to keep us up the first night but, other than that, our stay was great. Also, super close to downtown Grand Marais. Thanks Ryan!

Far North EscapeFar North Escape
Hipcamper Mindy
Mindy L.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
July 5th, 2020

We had a great time at Far North Seclusion. The site was in a beautiful field of wily flowers. It was not as secluded as I was expecting. One campsite was right in view of the house. There were about 4 sites that were flattened down by a vehicle, mowed and had an area for a fire pit. Only one site had a lot of shade. On a cool evening that wouldn't really matter. Ryan was very prompt at answering texts.

Far North Escape
Hipcamper Rachael
Rachael C.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
July 7th, 2020

We traveled during 4th of July weekend and had no reservations. We were able to book right away and our host reached out shortly after. Very communicative and was friendly upon arrival. We ended up getting the spot closest to their property but still felt like we had our own space! Perfect for what we needed. Our host even gave us 2 free tokens for 9 oz. pours @ Voyageur Brewery! An easy 10 minute drive from downtown Grand Marais. We would stay again!

Far North Escape
Hipcamper Jason

All good!

Jason Z.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
July 12th, 2020

I mean it's a field, with some mowing...but it's $28 bucks a night on the North Shore so who's complaining? Plus Ryan is a good host with great communication and its in a good location. The sites are maybe a bit closer together than I liked but again for that price I'm not complaining. I would definitely recommend and plan on staying again as the area is my favorite in Minnesota, even with all the damn construction going on. Thanks for having us!

Hipcamper Summer
Response from Summer , the Host, on July 15th, 2020

I'm glad you had a good time. The construction in town is very annoying. Come back anytime!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Property
Good Harbor Hill
State
Minnesota
Country
United States
$27/night
14 Sites
Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future