Anthony ( Rev.) has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

Has nature been calling your name? Test your love of nature at Sunshine Motel and Cabin’s rustic campground. Nestled in the back of the cabins and up a small hill lay three rustic campsites. These campsites are available for rent; perfect for the Eco Tourist, and not for the faint of heart. When we say rustic, it is rustic. No utilities or facilities (toilet not) prov

Read more...

Has nature been calling your name? Test your love of nature at Sunshine Motel and Cabin’s rustic campground. Nestled in the back of the cabins and up a small hill lay three rustic campsites. These campsites are available for rent; perfect for the Eco Tourist, and not for the faint of heart. When we say rustic, it is rustic. No utilities or facilities (toilet not) provided.   Toilet paper if needed.

Currently there are communal fire pits as well as firepits on each site. Private picnic tables and communal tables surround the grounds. Additionally each site is provided with a trash can and BBQ grill. 

Along with our large campsites there is a yard for the kids to play and access to our private beach. Many other trails, lakes and rivers are in the area along with several shopping opportunities. Come enjoy all that we at the  Sunshine can offer you.

Campsite area
Bring your own tents
3 sites
Up to 9 guests per site
Short walk
No ADA access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Pets allowed
No toilet
Amenities
Kitchen available
Picnic table available
Wifi available
Bins available
No potable water
No showers
Laundry absent
  • Check in: After 3PM
  • Check out: Before 11AM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Paddling
Wind sports
Off-roading (OHV)
Climbing
Snow sports
Swimming
Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Sunshine Motel Rustic Camping in Michigan.

Beach
Forest
Lake
Mountainous
River, stream, or...

The vibe at Sunshine Motel Rustic Camping

13 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Rebecca

Horrible experience

Rebecca L.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 1)
July 29th, 2020

The sites themselves were large. The walk to carry items of all sorts was up hill and more than we had expected since I have a 5 year old and a son with a broken leg. We let the owner know we were leaving and did not expect a refund as it was our decision to leave. What was unexpected and uncalled for was the owner running into the parking lot yelling at me through my car window!! Scaring my kids and telling us we would never find another place to stay and that we needed to stay there. I had to roll up my window to get away, and he then tried to stop my older kids in the vehicle behind me!! I would never recommend anyone go to there and deal with that crazy man!! I drove 10 minutes down the road and found an amazing campground that was literally half the price!

Hipcamper Anthony ( Rev.)
Response from Anthony ( Rev.), the Host, on August 5th, 2020

You are correct my husband did run after you and tried to stop you. He was only coming to you to let you know that the site was still here for you had you not found lodging, but you didn't even give him the chance. You also forgot to mention that he offered to haul your things up to the site for you in his utv, and allowed you to park as close as possible because of your son's broken leg. The website does say that it is rustic and without parking and that it is at the sites up a hill behind our cabins.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Megan

Great campsite

Megan L.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
July 30th, 2020

Very kind owners (I think they were the owners anyway), personally showed us to the campsite which had a natural privacy fence of trees. There are tiny lights in jars on the trees next to the trail to the campsite, which I thought was a helpful touch at night. They provide a grill, little campfire pit, a small picnic table and a trashcan with a lid on it (but still cautioned us to take care of anything smelly because of bears). The campsite was pretty large and well taken care of. There were a lot mosquitoes at times (which is to be expected!), but they seemed to come out in waves, not a constant barrage of mosquitoes. I would highly recommend this site for someone who is visiting Porcupine Mountains Wilderness State Park doing day hikes.

Hipcamper Abigail

Loved sunshine motel

Abigail H.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
August 3rd, 2020

Sunshine Motel was absolutely lovely. My friend and I camped on one of the eco friendly spots. It's very private, and a very short walk from your car. Close enough that we went to our car often to store our food. Mason jars with candles line the way on all the paths.
In the mornings, we bathed in Lake Superior at their private beach. In the evenings, we went down to watch the sunset and sometimes swim again (yes the water is cold but you adjust). Also the campsite is very close to a small town, and about 15min from Porcupine Mountain State Park.
The owners of Sunshine motel couldn't have been more helpful. They gathered trash everyday at the campsite, they taught us how to find glowing rocks in the evening, and accompanied us down at the beach. Truly lovely people.
I honestly don't think we could have found a better campsite in the UP. We loved it!

Hipcamper Anthony ( Rev.)
Response from Anthony ( Rev.), the Host, on August 20th, 2020

That's the way nature is meant to be enjoyed thank you for telling others about us.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Micah

Ideal for porc. mtns. day hikes

Micah O.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
August 3rd, 2020

Great hosts that provided grill, table, firepit and access to woods to gather firewood. No bathroom or water but gas station 2 miles away. Site includes access to lake superior within walking distance!

Hipcamper Anthony ( Rev.)
Response from Anthony ( Rev.), the Host, on August 6th, 2020

We appreciate the review. Although running water or utilities probably won't happen for a while as we are trying to keep the sites as eco-friendly as possible we are considering a composting toilet for next year. Thank you.

Helpful
1
Helpful
1
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Tami

So much better than a state park

Tami L.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
August 16th, 2020

So much better than the state park campground! Private space with a big site. Charcoal grill, table, and fire ring are present at the site. We brought a camping toilet and small pop up, standing tent for our bathroom - it was so much better than using the bathrooms at a state park (if we were staying there). Site is close to the hiking trails within the state park and the beaches.
Would do it again a thousand times over.

Hipcamper Anthony ( Rev.)
Response from Anthony ( Rev.), the Host, on August 20th, 2020

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. See you soon.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Kelsey
Kelsey J.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
August 26th, 2020

Great host, he came and told us when bad weather was expected, which was much appreciated since we didn't have service to get weather reports.

Hipcamper Anthony ( Rev.)
Response from Anthony ( Rev.), the Host, on August 26th, 2020

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that the storm wasn't as bad here as they predicted. Hope that you come to visit us again soon.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Annie

It did the job!

Annie S.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Site 1)
September 30th, 2020

Pros: -campsite 1 had a little hut which helped keep things dry with the rain
-amenities included a garbage can, little fire pit, grill, and table
-hosts were very nice and invited us to a community bonfire each night
-private access to lake superior beach just a short walk across the street
-each campsite was large and had plenty of space
-hosts took away garbage at least 1x/ day

Cons: -the campsites aren't super private- while spaced apart, we could see our neighbors and people staying at the motel could walk through the campsite (to walk dogs of just explore)
-it's right off a busy road so there is some road noise
-extra dog fee (only $10) wasn't added so we had to pay more upon arrival- not a huge deal

Overall it didn't totally match our expectations, but served the purpose of having a nice camping trip up north! Thank you!

Nice little building that was a surprise and super helpful for keeping things dry/ off the ground!Sunshine Motel Rustic Camping
Hipcamper Anthony ( Rev.)
Response from Anthony ( Rev.), the Host, on October 2nd, 2020

We thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed the time that you spent with us.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Charissa

Great place and host!

Charissa J.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
October 9th, 2020

Fantastic location! The host is amazing. Really wonderful. If you’re looking for off road camping, I’d go elsewhere, as you’re a bit closer to the road than expected. But you’re tucked back behind the hotel and a bunch of trees and have your own little place. It’s delightful. You can see all the stars. Traffic dies down in the evening and you don’t hear cars really at night. Lots of beautiful trees and everything is kept up really well. The twinkle lights are a nice plus! The host was super helpful and attentive. We spent the next day hiking and it was the perfect place to come back to. Great that you can have a campfire also. Would highly recommend!

Sunshine Motel Rustic CampingSunshine Motel Rustic CampingSunshine Motel Rustic Camping
Hipcamper Josh H.
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
August 25th, 2020
Hipcamper Austen H.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
August 15th, 2020
Hipcamper Grace C.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
August 12th, 2020
Hipcamper Drew L.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
August 7th, 2020
Hipcamper Mackenzie F.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
August 2nd, 2020
Property
Anthony B.’s Land
State
Michigan
Country
United States
$30/night
3 Sites

Safety at Hipcamp

Inclusion Policy

We have a zero-tolerance policy against discrimination at Hipcamp and are committed to helping our Host and Hipcamper community be inclusive.

Learn More
Hipcamp Hand

Hosting Standards

All Hosts should review and adhere to these standards around providing a positive Hipcamp experience, being a thoughtful neighbor, and serving as a responsible citizen.

Learn More

Hipcamper Standards

All Hipcampers should review and adhere to these standards for safety, trip preparation, and respect in order to uphold Hipcamp’s most important value: “leave it better.”

Learn More

Safety partners

Recreate Responsibly

  1. Know before you go
  2. Practice physical distancing
  3. Plan ahead
  4. Play it safe
  5. Explore locally
  6. Leave no trace
  7. Build an inclusive outdoors
Learn More

Leave No Trace

  1. Plan ahead and prepare
  2. Travel and camp on durable surfaces
  3. Dispose of waste properly
  4. Leave what you find
  5. Minimize campfire impacts
  6. Respect wildlife
  7. Be considerate of other visitors
Learn More

National Weather Service

We integrate with the National Weather Service to provide valuable fire advisories to Hosts and Hipcampers. Real-time Red Flag Warnings and Fire Weather Watch Warnings help keep our community safe.

Learn More
Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future