Adriano & Julia Uliano & Jonah has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

Fall asleep to the sound of frogs and wake up in a botanical garden. Common area with electricity, shared refrigerator, coffee maker, hot water, sink, stove, and barbecue. Hot shower and outside soaking tub too!

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans and truck campers, RVs
1 site
Up to 4 guests per site
Park at listing
ADA access
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Potable water available
Kitchen available
Showers available
Picnic table available
Wifi available
Bins available
Laundry present
Camping vehicle details
No electrical hookup
No water hookup
No sewage hookup
No TV hookup
Generators not allowed
Pull-in site
Max length 8ft
Surface type: loose gravel
Surface levelness: flat
  • Check in: After 4PM
  • Check out: Before 11AM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 3 months out

You know what would make this trip even better?

Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to Hawaii's Rainforest Eden


tent site

Regular size tent with 1 camping cot.. Bathroom, campfire pit, common area w...Read more

Add to trip


Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Horseback riding
Wind sports
Off-roading (OHV)
Wildlife watching


Natural features you'll find at Hawaii's Rainforest Eden in Hawaii.


The vibe at Hawaii's Rainforest Eden

10 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Living

Helpful hosts!

Living L.
recommends this listing.
January 18th, 2021

Very lovely spot and helpful hosts. I needed a winopener for a romantic 🔥 and they helped me out. Kudos to Adriano and Julia.

Hipcamper Ben
Ben B.
recommends this listing.
February 13th, 2021

Nice place to camp close to Kona with all the amenities. I booked a few nights here and ended up staying a few more, a great homebase to explore the West side of the island.

-spotless bathroom/shower/toilet
-20 mins to Kona
-open air hot shower is really nice
-safe and quiet
-tented outdoor common area with coffee/toaster, etc
-nice shaded property complete with avocados falling from the trees

I left all my stuff at my camp here unattended including my bicycle for most of my stay and didn't have to worry, no way you can get away with that at the state campgrounds. Also because the property is at some elevation (~1500') above Kona, the temperature is really nice at night compared to hot down below. The shower uses a propane flash heater and the water is piping hot. The heater actually went out while I was there, and Adriano went into town and replaced it right away, I was impressed. They really care about the guests here and Adriano and Julia were both very nice. Rainforest sounds at night (frogs) are nice to fall asleep to. If I had to choose one con, I'd say some people may be put off by the tent sites, just gravel clearings on the side of a long gravel driveway shared with a neighbor, but it's really not an issue, still quiet and reasonably private. I had a pleasant stay and would stay again. If my girlfriend had joined I may have upgraded to the glamping tents which looked quite nice.

Hipcamper Lea
Lea B.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
February 19th, 2021

The bathroom and kitchen facilities were a bit further away than we expected (a bit of a walk down the driveway) but the campsite was good for a couple nights. We enjoyed using the fire pit.

Hipcamper Caroline


Caroline B.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
February 19th, 2021

The campsite itself is off to the side of a driveway, comprised of small gravelly stones, a fire pit, 2 seat bench, wood piles, and some flora. It is mostly private. I have mixed feelings about the campsite because the gravel doesn’t make it as cozy as it could be... We purchased dry firewood and had a nice campfire the second night (would recommend). The amenities were clean and accommodating. A minute walk to them. The luxury tents seemed more friendly for the sight layout, but maybe less private. Bring a headlamp for sure!

Hipcamper Shayla

Don't stay here.

Shayla C.
doesn't recommend this listing.
February 21st, 2021

We arrived and nobody was here. The place they described as the campsite was next to a big pile of landscaping waste, plus had garbage all around and a full trash can. We called and the hosts just blamed the prior campers. They said they don't do any cleaning between campers. We didn't want to stay there because obviously its unsanitary in the middle of a pandemic, plus there were so many bugs due to the landscaping waste (just in this part of the property), and the tent pitches weren't even flat. It is also a long way to bathrooms and showers (my watch counted 3 flights of stairs). The host finally let us pitch our tent somewhere else (near some tents they rent out on AirBNB) but only after my husband put up a fight about it. Even that area was not flat, or good for camping. They first told us that beyond picking up the garbage and charging a cleaning fee, they wouldn't do anything, that they didnt need to provide it because the camping is so cheap - oh, and the host said that we don't need to worry about the virus here because everyone did a quarantine before they came to Hawaii, he doesnt even wear a mask because we could never get COVID here. He is so oblivous and putting his campers and his family in danger. Other things that made the camping bad - they kept turning the electricity off in the kitchen so we had to cook with flashlights (the main house did have power), there is a lot of road noise, and the shower is weirdly very far away from the toilet so you have to run around getting ready in the morning. If you read all this and stay anyways, just know what you're getting into - i have stayed in some cheap places all over the world with no complaints, but I would not come back here again. At least they had hot water and were pretty close to Kona.

Hipcamper Adriano & Julia Uliano & Jonah
Response from Adriano & Julia Uliano & Jonah, the Host, on February 22nd, 2021

Wow. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed and felt so negatively about your stay. To respond to your review for our readers from my perspective, the space is self check-in for the convenience of guests. We have included detailed instructions so guests are able to find space and amenities easily. My husband and I were out when you arrived, but I immediately responded to each of your several phone calls. On the phone you were concerned that there was a full trash bin and wood items to burn on top of the campfire pit. I explained to you that we have other guests so the trash bin may fill up. We would be sure to empty it immediately for you. We clean and disinfect daily but apparently a guest had a lot of trash that day! We apologize as I understand this was not welcoming. We have just begun on hip camp as I explained to you and appreciate feedback that will help make this experience wonderful for our guests. The trash bin and wood issue has been addressed. Even though your camping space was clean, being near the full trash bin made you concerned about COVID cleaning precautions and you wanted to pitch your tent somewhere else. I told you we didn't have another place but we would do what we could to accommodate you. My husband would be home within the hour. You stated you didn't want to wait that long. My husband rushed home to help you and stopped immediately to help you when he saw you. In the hurry he may have not grabbed his mask from the house, I don't know. Everyone has their own opinions about COVID. Regardless, our space is cleaned and sanitized to the highest standard, as can be seen in other guest reviews. Your husband wanted to pitch his tent in several areas that weren't possible. We were able to find an agreeable solution for you in a site that already had a tent pitched. We offered for you to use this tent and space at no extra charge. Over the next several days with us you used the clean shared kitchenette with oatmeal and coffee and bathroom areas with no further complaints. We are sad to read your review after all of our efforts to help you enjoy your stay.

Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Emily

It's a place to crash near kona

Emily M.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
February 22nd, 2021

For the record, it was the cheapest "camping" (besides backpacking/camping in HVNP) that I could find on the island. I came prepared with all of my camping essentials, but this would have been an entirely different experience if I had not already been camping for prior days.

The HIP camp site is up the driveway (past the house) on this little gravel patch. It's up a very steep hill, and in order to access the toilet, you have to walk behind the house. For the shower, you have to go further down the driveway near all of the 'fancier' AirBnB tents. You're literally pitching your tent on a gravel patch, so if you are just looking for a place to crash then it's fine. No water or electricity by the site, you have to walk down to the common areas which are shared with the AirBnb 'tents.'

The host (Adriano) was friendly to me when I checked in since I was confused on where the HIPcamp site was. According to their memo in the kitchen, they are a Christian couple (Brazil / Michigan) who have lived in Africa for the past decade, and are looking to cultivate a 'diverse' Christian community in Hawai'i. They are essentially building a 'sanctuary,' or getaway for their Christian compadres who will visit over time.

There was a few neighbors jamming outside, a few louder motorcycles driving on the road next to my tent, and their TV that I could hear until around 11pm. Nothing too major though!

The fire pit was nice (I didn't actually use it because the wood provided was wet), and the second night it absolutely down-poured. Overall, I'd recommend for a night or two, but that's only if you have plans to get out and explore during the day!

Hipcamper loyana

Last night on the island

Loyana M.
recommends this listing.
February 26th, 2021

Fell asleep to the relaxing sound of frogs surrounded by beautiful gardens. Great spot.

Hipcamper Lyndsay

Cheap but not well maintained

Lyndsay V.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
February 27th, 2021

Campsite was a turnout on a long uphill gravel driveway.. it was somewhat seculded with trees surrounding but with loud neighbors and limited space. The gravel camping area had dog poop and trash all around it. Also with slanted terrain, we kept sliding to the edge of our tent. The fire pit was decent but the firewood was all too wet to burn. We couldn't find the outdoor shower and the host was unresponsive.

Hipcamper Emily M.
recommends this listing.
February 22nd, 2021
Hipcamper Sydney H.
recommends this listing.
January 22nd, 2021
Julia U.’s Land
United States
1 Site

Safety at Hipcamp

Inclusion Policy

We have a zero-tolerance policy against discrimination at Hipcamp and are committed to helping our Host and Hipcamper community be inclusive.

Learn More
Hipcamp Hand

Hosting Standards

All Hosts should review and adhere to these standards around providing a positive Hipcamp experience, being a thoughtful neighbor, and serving as a responsible citizen.

Learn More

Hipcamper Standards

All Hipcampers should review and adhere to these standards for safety, trip preparation, and respect in order to uphold Hipcamp’s most important value: “leave it better.”

Learn More

Safety partners

Recreate Responsibly

  1. Know before you go
  2. Practice physical distancing
  3. Plan ahead
  4. Play it safe
  5. Explore locally
  6. Leave no trace
  7. Build an inclusive outdoors
Learn More

Leave No Trace

  1. Plan ahead and prepare
  2. Travel and camp on durable surfaces
  3. Dispose of waste properly
  4. Leave what you find
  5. Minimize campfire impacts
  6. Respect wildlife
  7. Be considerate of other visitors
Learn More

National Weather Service

We integrate with the National Weather Service to provide valuable fire advisories to Hosts and Hipcampers. Real-time Red Flag Warnings and Fire Weather Watch Warnings help keep our community safe.

Learn More
Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future