Hipcamp host Erica E.
Hosted by
Erica has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

The property is located in the beautiful upcountry area of Maui with a gorgeous ocean view and an incredible sunset each night. 

We are located in between both of the National Park entrances (Haleakala Summit and the Pools of Oheo). When you pay the entrance fee for one of the parks, you can enter the other park within 3 days without having to pay again. Staying with u

Read more...

The property is located in the beautiful upcountry area of Maui with a gorgeous ocean view and an incredible sunset each night. 

We are located in between both of the National Park entrances (Haleakala Summit and the Pools of Oheo). When you pay the entrance fee for one of the parks, you can enter the other park within 3 days without having to pay again. Staying with us is a good time to see Haleakala on one day and then see the 7 sacred pools on another and then continuing your journey on the Road to Hana.

Our nearest town, Ulupalakua, is just two miles away and is host to the historic Ulupalakua Ranch Store where they serve beef and veggie burgers and Maui’s only winery – try the pineapple wine!

We are an off the grid farm so staying with us is rustic but peaceful. We have a beautiful view of La Perouse Bay, the entire island of Kaho'olawe, and on a clear day you can even see the Big Island.

We are on the dry side of Maui which means mostly beautiful weather with little rain and minimal mosquitoes. We are at approximately 2,000 feet elevation on Haleakala (the inactive volcano) and therefore we have slightly cooler temperatures during the day (80 - 90 degrees F), which can drop down a bit at night (65 - 75 degrees F). It can be windy at times when the trades are blowing.

We are on the less populated side of the island and with very little light pollution - there is an incredible view of the stars & the milky way on a clear night.

For tent camping, we have 10x10 foot wooden platforms you can setup on. Only one tent is permitted to be setup with a maximum of 3 people in the tent per reservation.

You can camp in a vehicle here. We are on a volcano, so it is not perfectly flat.

We prefer that you arrive before sunset to get settled. However, we can still accommodate arrivals after dark but no one can meet you. Instead, we will provide the best directions we can for after hours arrivals. If you intend to arrive after dark please message me when you book for additional information.

There is a portable toilet (cleaned weekly). You can use the unheated outdoor shower if you'd like but don't have high expectations as it is enclosed for privacy but made of pallets and is rustic.

There are no cooking or kitchen facilities provided, please bring your own gear.

We are currently experiencing drought like weather conditions, no campfires permitted. Thank you.

If you don’t have you own camp gear then a 2-person tent with 2 pillows 2 and sleeping bags is available for an extra $30 per night per person (subject to tent availability - please inquire).

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans and truck campers, trailers
3 sites
Up to 3 guests per site
Park at listing
No ADA access
Essentials
Toilet available
No campfires
No pets
Amenities
Showers available
Bins available
No potable water
No kitchen
No picnic table
No wifi
Camping vehicle details
No electrical hookup
No water hookup
No sewage hookup
No TV hookup
Generators not allowed
Have a question? Send Erica a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Strict
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 2
  • Accepts bookings: 6 months out

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking
Hiking
Horseback riding

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Views for Days - Haleakala Maui in Hawaii.

Mountainous
Farm

The vibe at Views for Days - Haleakala Maui

Places to see near Haleakala Life

42 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Tim
Tim M.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
April 1st, 2019

These sites are on a hill will a beautiful view of the coast. Hosts were super accomidating and helpful. It's about a 15 minute drive to coffee and food. Very chill environment 👍

Hipcamper lauren
Lauren B.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Dispersed site)
September 11th, 2018

The actual area was lovely, and the title views for days is right , the views were amazing. However there were volunteer workers camping too, and they seemed to have they’re own way of doing things , which is fine except no one kept us updated when things changed, for example one day they moved all the kitchenwear to a cupboard outside, so we had nothing to eat wih for 2 days until we saw someone in the cupboard. No one also told us the shower was broken, which was then broken for the rest our stay, so we stayed for 5 days without any shower. I am very disappointed as I booked this canpsite as it stated it had a working shower, I understand when you are camping things can break, however the host did not tell us, one of the volunteers we ended up asking. We were not offered any alternative to having a shower, except this small bag which just produced drips. I was very shocked that the host did not even message us to stay she was sorry the shower broke! No compensation was given either, we are traveling the world and camping and we are on a budget, I now feel lile the money i paid for this campsite was wasted, as i could have paid cheaper for a site with no shower!

Hipcamper Erica
Response from Erica, the Host, on October 1st, 2018

I am sorry the main shower was not working during your stay, I was not aware. As I had said both prior to you arriving and after I showed you around that if you need anything please text me or ring the doorbell my house. You did neither and only complained after departing so therefore we were unable to even attempt resolve the issue.

Helpful
3
Helpful
3
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Irina
Irina B.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
October 20th, 2018

It was amazing! Privacy, great views, wonderful folks, chill atmosphere, Brian one of the managers was so nice and welcoming along with the whole crew who works the bee farm. Also there’s this kid whose name I forgot because I’m bad with names who played the quitar like a pro but with such humility I had one of the best morning listening to him play while I was having breakfast. Loved, loved everything about the camp.

Right next to my tent a quiet relaxing morning Sunset at camp
Hipcamper Corey

Peaceful adventure

Corey S.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
January 17th, 2019

One of the best parts of our trip . Met some amazing people and the view is hard to beat.

Hipcamper Michael
Michael M.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
February 27th, 2019

Great locaion in Maui's upcountry, awesome views of Kaho'olawe and the Big Island. Very welcoming feel to the bee farm and peaceful at night. Would definitely stay here again.

Hipcamper Emi

Nature to the max!!

Emi W.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
July 24th, 2019

Erica and the volunteers at the bee farm were super nice and friendly! The view from the site was just breathtaking! It's quite and private, and porta- potty toilets were all working well and very convenient. We did not use their outside shower, but it would have been a cool experience to take a cold shower in nature. ;) We brought out our equipped RV camper, so we didn't have to use anything at the site, except their porta-potty. We stayed up late and looked up the sky and wowed by the amazing stars above us. I have never seen that many stars in my life! We would definitely try to go back. It is far from everything, so plan well! Driving in at night will be challenging, so come and settle before it gets dark, and make sure buy all the food and drinks in town first. There are not any convenient shop nearby! When prepared and equipped well, this place will be an amazing and unforgettable experience for anyone. :)

Views for Days - Haleakala MauiViews for Days - Haleakala MauiViews for Days - Haleakala MauiViews for Days - Haleakala Maui
Hipcamper Simon
Simon A.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
January 3rd, 2020

Great to get away from it all and feel the power and wonder of nature. No frills but amazing people and location.

Hipcamper Dion

Magical tent spot on the hill

Dion C.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
January 4th, 2020

A very unique and beautiful spot, rustic and off the beaten path. There are wooden platforms to pitch tents in and every one has an epic view. It’s a bonus how water goes through the slats so rain doesn’t accumulate under your tent. It’s pretty much off-grid so don’t expect a ton of amenities like running water or electricity. If you’re comfortable roughing it, this spot is awesome. There are dogs, cats, deer, chameleons, and super cool fellow travelers to meet.

Views for Days - Haleakala MauiViews for Days - Haleakala MauiViews for Days - Haleakala MauiViews for Days - Haleakala Maui
Hipcamper shane

The views!

Shane W.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
January 14th, 2020

A very unique and friendly environment. We started the road to Hana and ended it here. It was our first night without rain. The camp has private platforms set up which are awesome. The night we stayed did have a good amount of wind. They did offer more wind protection sites, but we decided to stick with the platform for the views. It worked out great. The host Erica was an awesome communicator and the workers on the farm are very kind and helpful.

Property
Haleakala Life
State
Hawaii
Country
United States
$39/night
3 Sites

Safety at Hipcamp

Inclusion Policy

We have a zero-tolerance policy against discrimination at Hipcamp and are committed to helping our Host and Hipcamper community be inclusive.

Learn More
Hipcamp Hand

Hosting Standards

All Hosts should review and adhere to these standards around providing a positive Hipcamp experience, being a thoughtful neighbor, and serving as a responsible citizen.

Learn More

Hipcamper Standards

All Hipcampers should review and adhere to these standards for safety, trip preparation, and respect in order to uphold Hipcamp’s most important value: “leave it better.”

Learn More

Safety partners

Recreate Responsibly

  1. Know before you go
  2. Practice physical distancing
  3. Plan ahead
  4. Play it safe
  5. Explore locally
  6. Leave no trace
  7. Build an inclusive outdoors
Learn More

Leave No Trace

  1. Plan ahead and prepare
  2. Travel and camp on durable surfaces
  3. Dispose of waste properly
  4. Leave what you find
  5. Minimize campfire impacts
  6. Respect wildlife
  7. Be considerate of other visitors
Learn More

National Weather Service

We integrate with the National Weather Service to provide valuable fire advisories to Hosts and Hipcampers. Real-time Red Flag Warnings and Fire Weather Watch Warnings help keep our community safe.

Learn More
Hipcamp is created with ❤️ and hope for our future