Fort Clinch State ParkLeave review
About Fort Clinch State Park
Campgrounds in Fort Clinch
This park doesn't have any submitted photos—just yet.
Drop some Fort Clinch knowledge on us.
History of Fort Clinch State Park
Named for General Duncan Lamont Clinch, a prominent figure of the Second Seminole War, construction of Fort Clinch began in 1847. It is one of a series of masonry forts constructed between 1816 and 1867 known as the Third System Fortifications. The fort was built at the mouth of the St. Mary’s River to protect the natural deep-water port of Fernandina— the eastern link of Florida’s only cross-state railroad. Never fully completed, the fort still served as a military post during the Civil War, Spanish-American War and World War II.
Fort Clinch became one of the state’s first parks in 1935. The Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) began restoring the buildings at the fort in 1936. In 1937 the CCC began building roads and campgrounds. Today, visitors can tour the fort and see how it may have looked in 1864 as it was being built by Army Engineers.