Hipcamp host Alex D.,
Hosted by

The Dragon's Lair consists of 23 acres of lush Northwest forest and access to a 13 acre lake. Hiking and biking trails for you and your dog or cat companions. Lake with dock for fishing, swimming, boating or just enjoying reflections! A canoe and paddleboard are available for your use or bring your own small non motorized craft. Join others on the front porch or stay complet

Read more...

The Dragon's Lair consists of 23 acres of lush Northwest forest and access to a 13 acre lake. Hiking and biking trails for you and your dog or cat companions. Lake with dock for fishing, swimming, boating or just enjoying reflections! A canoe and paddleboard are available for your use or bring your own small non motorized craft. Join others on the front porch or stay completely secluded and private in your tent in the woods. Hookup with your extension cable to our house in sites 7-9 for power and water or just power in the upper filed by the shop and large fire pit. Located 5 min from the adorable and historic town of Granite Falls, gateway to the Cascade Mountains and the Mountain Loop Highway! Visit the town Museum or one of our few restaurants and bars. Not too big a town but has all the essentials, find groceries or camping gear at the local grocery and hardware stores. On the outskirts of town visit the fish ladder at the falls, travel the famous Mountain Loop Highway and see Big Four Mountain and Ice Caves, hike numerous day and overnight trails and explore the history of Monte Cristo, a real life ghost town! Lime kiln trial, a local favorite, is only 3 min drive from your campsite! You will love your stay at the Dragon's Lair! 

Site list 

1. Dock - Dragon's tongue, ADA, Not Private, trailer or large tent, no hookups. 

2. River - small tent 10x10 pad on the stream, no hookups, walk in.

3. Medusa - ADA, large tent, private, fire pit, no hookups.

4. Overlook - private, large tent, no hookups, lake view, walk in.

5. Tea tree- private, in the forest, no hookups, walk in. 

6. Veg - ADA, Sunny open field, no hookups.

7. Orchard - ADA, tent, power, fire pit, house adjacent. 

8. Front porch - ADA, concrete parking, house adjacent, power and water. 

9. Right claw - ADA, lawn, power and water 

10. Dragon's breath pit - ADA, large rigs, no hookups. 

NO 30 Amp anywhere!!! 

The King has proclaimed Wednesday as "put the peasants to work day". Camping per site is only $10 on the Dragon Forest Peasant trail. Pick up a sword, a machete or a chainsaw at the armory to help you on your quest to improve and upgrade your encampment or fight in the battle of the Blackberries. Suggest a name to leave your mark on the dragon and earn the right to come back to the same village every year on this day for the same price. These are walk-in sites but a lawnmower is available for transportation of gear. 

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans and truck campers, trailers, RVs
6 sites
Up to 4 guests per site
Park at listing
Wheelchair access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Amenities
Potable water available
Kitchen available
Showers available
Picnic table available
Wifi available
Pack it out
Laundry absent
Camping vehicle details
Electrical hookup available
Water hookup available
No sewage hookup
No TV hookup
Generators not allowed
Pull-in site
Max length 45ft
Surface type: concrete pad
Surface levelness: flat
Have a question? Send Alex a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 6 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 25% off

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Paddling
Off-roading (OHV)
Swimming
Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at The Dragon's Lair in Washington.

Forest
Lake
River, stream, or...
Swimming hole
Waterfall
Farm

16 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Kristyna

Absolutely amazing

Kristyna R.
recommends this listing.
(Site 4)
September 13th, 2021

The Dragon's Lair was beyond what we expected. We arrived and had accidently booked the wrong site (tent site) instead of a van site and Alex was beyond accommodating and fixed us up with a few sites to choose from. This was a Hip Camp treasure there was SO much to do! We picked blackberries, used the canoe in the morning, went on a hike on the property, explored the river, saw turkeys (Turkey Tom!) and chickens and had so much privacy to enjoy our site but yet felt apart of a community as new campers settled in. We wish we had time do try the frisbee golf or use the paddleboard, there were so many things available to do it felt like summer camp. It was more than we had expected and we left feeling so relaxed and refreshed. We will definitely be coming back! Thanks again for such a wonderful stay :)

Hipcamper Alex
Response from Alex, the Host, on September 17th, 2021

Happy to host you again. A. Dragon.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Nancy

A pleasant lakeside campsite

Nancy B.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
September 10th, 2021

My friend and I spent three restful nights here at Campsite 1, which is at the dock to the lake. It is a beautiful setting with wild birds, dragonflies and trails to wander around on. The host is so nice and others that were staying at the house were polite and friendly. We used the canoe, kayak and paddle board, all included in the site. Swimming was refreshing!

Things to consider: This particular campsite (#1) will be a part of the access for others using the lake at this property. There are a few houses on the lake so you can expect some neighborhood noises like dogs barking and the occasional donkey(!). It was pretty quiet at night. Also, there are free roaming resident dogs during the day who stay mostly by the house. My dog was fine with the occasional visit with them.
We hope to return someday!

Peaceful sunset
Hipcamper Alex
Response from Alex, the Host, on September 13th, 2021

Thank you Nancy, it was a pleasure having you here. Alex.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Morgan
Morgan R.
recommends this listing.
(Site 4)
September 9th, 2021

We had such an amazing stay!! Alex was such a wonderful and welcoming host, showing us around the property and making sure we didn’t miss out on any of the awesome things it has to offer. Our campsite was perfect, and our dogs were able to run around and play with the other dogs there. Everyone was extremely respectful, not noisy late at night and the mornings were peaceful and serene. Amenities are great- clean and accessible. Close to lots of great hikes- we checked out mountain loop highway and did mount Dickerman. My partner and I are already planning our next stay at Alex’s place!

Hipcamper Karen

Fun camping near the creek

Karen C.
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
September 8th, 2021

Alex has an amazing property with a lake, a wooded trail, hidden campsites, a creek with frogs, friendly dogs, kittens, chickens and Tom the turkey. We brought kayaks and she also let us use her paddleboards. So much to do and see on the property and nearby. I would love to go back and spend another day on the lake.

Hipcamper Ryan
Ryan B.
recommends this listing.
(Site 7)
September 7th, 2021

Great place for the “shakedown cruise” of our Airstream. Alex was super flexible as we tried to figure out our setup. It’s a really cool property with a huge variety of potential camping spots, all with their own style, whether RVing or tenting, and plenty of room to roam. Easy access to Granite Falls, the Lime Kiln Trailhead, and the beautiful Mountain Loop. Lots of friendly dogs around (keep that in mind for your own pets and sleep schedules), and hey, the high-tech Japanese bidet toilet with the heated seat was a nice unexpected touch! Thanks for the fun stay.

The Dragon's Lair
Hipcamper Alex
Response from Alex, the Host, on September 17th, 2021

It was a pleasure hosting you and congratulations from A. Dragon.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Matt

Perfect for an easy, fun getaway.

Matt K.
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
September 7th, 2021

This is a great place for an easy, fun getaway. There's plenty to keep kids entertained - tire swing, trampoline (the safe kind with a net around it) frogs in the woods, hammocks, friendly chickens and a charming turkey named Tom, plus the lake, which is great for swimming. There were two stand-up paddle boards, a canoe and a kayak. Alex was an excellent host - she gave us a tour of the whole property when we arrived. Access to an indoor toilet and sink made it even easier. Thank you for letting us come play - we'll definitely be back!

Hipcamper Hailey

Good location, poor management

Hailey M.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 1)
September 6th, 2021

Good location- liked the campsite

Poor customer service/ management - seemed like manager had someone filling in for him. Normal management is probably ok.

Hipcamper Alex
Response from Alex, the Host, on September 13th, 2021

It's true we had our housekeeper fill in, he is a little different, I'm sorry "Normal" management was not around (it will never be, we are not "Normal" to be living with a Dragon). His job was to show you around to your site and bathroom which i believe he did and told me it went smoothly and that you were nice, don't know what other customer service expectations you have from a campsite but I promised him he would not have to do this again and deal with people who have comments like this.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Nicole

Nope, not for us

Nicole A.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 1)
September 1st, 2021

Dock spot #1 is not private despite the listing description. It’s the only access to the lake so everyone will be walking straight through your camp at all hours. This was disappointing since I had been messaging Alex and explained our wanting privacy - she didn’t communicate how it was set up. We booked 3 nights and after the first night decided this spot wasn’t for us. When she came down in the morning in her robe to tell us we were supposed to park two of our three cars up near their house (through a tight tree tunnel that will scratch up your small car) I told her we were probably going to leave as we were looking for privacy. Note: *I’ll take responsibility for the parking as other members of my party were told to park up there but I didn’t realize it was required and she didn’t mention it during booking when I asked for the exception for the extra car.* I didn’t ask for my money back or anything so I was surprised when she got defensive and said “Well YOU chose it”. Ummm, ok I told her I chose it because it said it was private (the pics didn’t show it so I trusted the listing). To which she replied “well it is kind of private”. Nope again, not when a steady trail of people suddenly are in the middle of your camp, talking to your kids. Then she said “I mean it’s kind of obvious, this is the only access to the lake”. Well maybe it’s obvious if you’re psychic but it wasn’t based on all the photos, reviews and site map. We were ready to leave peacefully and chalk it up to a bad marketing job but Alex’s rude customer service made for a frustrating morning. She did snarkily offer for us to “go find a different spot” but at that point I was over it. We found a zen spot elsewhere and had a great few days despite this experience.

Hipcamper Alex
Response from Alex, the Host, on September 13th, 2021

When Nicole texted Alex asking him which site to choose for privacy, she did not choose the recommended site but chose #1 which clearly states has the dock that is accessible to everyone. It could be private if one did not take up the whole space with three tents and three cars leaving no access for others but they left none. When Nicole texted asked if there was room for an extra car Alex said there is room in the extra parking, when they arrived we showed them the parking, no scratching involved unless they wanted to drop off their stuff, but they parked where we asked them not to park at the end of the trail to the dock scratching their cars of their own free will. When Alex came down to the lake for a swim and asked to move the cars, this group was rude and complained and said they were leaving, they didn't want to resolve the issue just complain and interpret any attempt to help as a "snarky comment". They never came to ask us if another spot was available nor take a look at the other areas on the property. They also caused damage to one of our paddles by separating it and losing a piece. Happy not to host this group again.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Lesley

Boondocker’s paradise

Lesley C.
recommends this listing.
(Site 8)
August 31st, 2021

Beautiful location surrounded by big trees , grassy lawns and a pristine lake. Very relaxing and quiet.
But…. close to so many things to go see and do. Downtown Granite Falls, Wallace Falls, Big four ice caves, downtown Snohomish with great shopping and restaurants and the Oso memorial all within 30 - 40 minutes driving distance.
Hosts are super friendly as are the dogs, chickens and Tom the turkey. I was sad to leave 😕.
Limited parking options for big rigs but they made sure we had everything we needed and offered a couple options for our 35’ MoHo w4 slides. . Driveway from road is no problem for height or width access. Plenty of parking for tow vehicle also.
Thank you Alex for sharing your beautiful property with us.

Walking down to the lake Beauty in the forest Tom the main attraction  ⭐️ View from our RV camping spot
Property
Alex D.’s Land
State
Washington
Country
United States
$55/night
6 Sites