Hipcamp host Dan R.,
Hosted by
Dan has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

We have enjoyed playing in and around the Thatcher Brook for 20 years. Now we're looking to share that with others. Located adjacent to the Waterbury Community Path and Ben and Jerry's, its front and center in the Waterbury/Stowe recreation mecca. Take your bike to Hunger Mountain or Perry Hill trail systems. Walk to Ben and Jerry's for a quick ice cream. Maybe take a very

Read more...

We have enjoyed playing in and around the Thatcher Brook for 20 years. Now we're looking to share that with others. Located adjacent to the Waterbury Community Path and Ben and Jerry's, its front and center in the Waterbury/Stowe recreation mecca. Take your bike to Hunger Mountain or Perry Hill trail systems. Walk to Ben and Jerry's for a quick ice cream. Maybe take a very short drive to the Waterbury Center State Beach, or Cold Hollow Cider Mill, or many of the fantastic micro breweries surrounding us like the Alchemist or Prohibition PIg. The property allows primitive camping. Be aware, there are no facilities (like bathrooms). We ask that you leave no trace... take out what you take in. There are several commercial businesses nearby, including a major grocery store, for all your other needs.  Note: There is traffic noise. See the reviews/comments for other campers thoughts on this. The site that was closest to the road in previous years has been moved further away. 

Wildlife is abundant here, including bears, so practice good camping technique by not leaving food, or other smelly items, in tents. The area has excellent cell phone coverage with 4G. 

For 2021, we are offering 2 different sites.  Both are located very close to the brook. Please note, if there is a threat of flooding, we may need to close the sites. In our 4 years with hipcamp, this has never actually happened, but we can't rule it out.  Site 1 is on the south side of our property. Site 2 is on the north side. 

Campsite area
Bring your own tents
2 sites
Up to 6 guests per site
Short walk
No wheelchair access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Pets allowed
No toilet
Amenities
No potable water
No kitchen
No showers
No picnic table
No wifi
Pack it out
Have a question? Send Dan a message!
  • Check in: After 1PM
  • Check out: Before 11AM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 3 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 10% off

You know what would make this trip even better?

Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to Thatcher Brook in Waterbury

$5

Firewood bundle

Start your trip off right with a bundle of firewood waiting for you at your c...Read more

Add to trip
Remove
0
max
$25
Rental

Kayak

We have 3 sit-in kayaks available for use. Contact us for further information.

Add to trip
Remove
0
max

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking

On the adjacent Waterbury Community Path

Boating

There are multiple boat launches for the reservoir within a couple miles.

Fishing

We have stocked the brook with brookies, but them seem quite elusive. You are welcome to try, but don't count on it for dinner!

Hiking

Adjacent to the Waterbury Community Path, which you can lead you to hiking in the nearby mountains.

Paddling

Kayak rentals are available for $25/day with a $50 deposit. Kayaking in the brook isn't really doable, but the Waterbury Reserv...Read more

Swimming

There are a few swimming spots good for dipping in along the brook. The Waterbury Center Beach is located up the street.

Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Thatcher Brook in Waterbury in Vermont.

Beach

There are a few sandy spots along the brook for taking a dip. Or, the Waterbury Center Beach is located right up the road.

River, stream, or creek

The brook runs year round. Please note, it can be quite powerful and dangerous with rains. Most of the summer is quite clear, c...Read more

Farm

We are a hobby farm - vegetables, chickens, etc.

Driveway

Parking is limited. Campers are limited to 1 vehicle, unless they have 4wd and good tires.

Field
Swimming hole
Wetlands

37 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper James

Convenient place to camp for 1 nite

James R.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Site 2)
October 11th, 2021

I stayed at site #2. The clearing up top is hard to spot as it is barely big enough for a full sized car. Do NOT try to bring your vehicle down the path unless you have some SERIOUS ground clearance. Site #2 was a pretty cozy spot and fairly easy to find - in the daytime. Route 100 was a stones throw away and the traffic was pretty steady and loud (even with earplugs) until the middle of the night. Overall, a convenient place to crash for the night.

Site #2 looking toward stream.Site #2 looking toward Route 100.Site #2 with small fire ring.Steep hill and crest - suitable for high riding trucks.
Hipcamper Rachel
Rachel M.
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
October 10th, 2021

We had a great stay at Thatcher Brook. We were in the area to do a modified Green Mountain Gravel Growler ride and Dan’s place is very close to the Waterbury Park & Ride so it was a super convenient stay for us. We weren’t bothered by the proximity to the road since we knew ahead of time. Site 2 was nice and flat and fit two tents easily, and we were able to purchase firewood which Dan had available at his driveway.

Thatcher Brook in Waterbury
Hipcamper Dan
Response from Dan, the Host, on October 12th, 2021

Thanks for staying!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Randell

Ok

Randell H.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 2)
September 22nd, 2021

Nice private setting
Unfortunately heavy traffic noise all night
Paid for firewood bundle did not receive

Hipcamper Dan
Response from Dan, the Host, on October 12th, 2021

Hi. As discussed, firewood is help yourself in the driveway. Thanks

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Lauria

Simple and secluded

Lauria P.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
September 19th, 2021

We had to find a place to stay last minute at 5pm and we were pumped to find a place close to Ben and Jerry’s. Dan is easy going and has a perfect little set up for camping. It was easy for us to get in and out in our 4Runner. Our dog we in heaven, as were we :) We plan to come back the next time we visit Stowe. The wood was dry and he left us alone, so it was a perfect quiet little stay!

Hipcamper Dan
Response from Dan, the Host, on October 12th, 2021

Thanks Lauria!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Elizabeth
Elizabeth H.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Site 1)
August 9th, 2021

This hipcamp wasn’t our best situation, and wasn’t really what we were expecting based on the description. The positives, it’s low cost and right in the middle of town so lots of stuff is pretty accessible. However, it’s right off a very busy road and you’ll be able to identify each type of car all night long. Also, it says you can access the sites with a 4wd vehicle. This is not true. You need a tall vehicle, and even then, if it’s been raining or something, you’re probably not making it. Our 4wd bottomed out trying to get to the sites and we had to park in the driveway, which was just an inconvenient steep walk from the site 1 and pretty far from site 2. This is also where you get your firewood.
I think the most frustrating part of this experience was that we had messaged with the landowner before and he mentioned showing us the options as we were the only ones there that evening and could change our choice (which was great!) but he didn’t say that he wouldn’t be there for a while that evening. We were planning on finishing our hike and heading there to drop stuff off, and then one of us pitching the tent while the other gets food. If we’d have known, we would have altered our plans to better make use of the light. Instead, it lead to a really rushed pitching of the tent because he wasn’t back until less than an hour before sunset (around 8 pm) and we spent awhile trying to figure out where the sites were and how we could access them. We had paid for firewood but only half heartedly tried to use it because it was getting so late and we were tired. We just gave up.
Lastly, it’s right near a river/ stream and they’re are tons of mosquitos. Don’t forget the bug spray!
There are also chickens and a dog who will visit you, so keep that in mind with your animals.

Hipcamper Dan
Response from Dan, the Host, on October 12th, 2021

Hi. Where did you drive down? Nobody else has mentioned bottoming out, and we take our 2wd cars down there frequently. Thanks

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Michelle
Michelle S.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
July 29th, 2021

This site was convenient for us as we wanted to head into Waterbury after a long day of biking. Because it had been raining so much, we didn’t actually stay at the site we booked, but rather in his side yard. It definitely felt like backyard camping but was secluded enough and was a welcome place to rest. Close enough to town to bike in for dinner. Also close to Cold Hollow Cider Mill for breakfast and treats.

Hipcamper Stephen
Stephen O.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Site 2)
June 21st, 2021

Thatcher Brook was exactly what we needed, a homebase near Stowe for a local event - was awesome having Ben & Jerrys right across the street too

Hipcamper Andreea

Cozy camping near smugglers notch

Andreea G.
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
June 7th, 2021

The camping site is very cozy on the bank of a river, easy access from your car but tucked away. Location is great -- right next to Smugglers Notch (bouldering), Waterbury Reservoir, Vermont Artisan Coffee & Tea. The only downside is the noise coming from the road, it's not that loud, but you can hear it.

Hipcamper William
William C.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
October 7th, 2020

Dan was a great host and always responded quickly via text. There was a little road noise but we knew that coming in - not loud enough to wake either of us up overnight. Location and price are unbeatable. A stone's throw away from Ben & Jerry's, and 2-3 minute drive to the heart of Waterbury and Stowe. Would definitely stay again!

Property
Thatcher Brook streamside camp
State
Vermont
Country
United States
$29/night
2 Sites