Hipcamp host Amber S.,
Hosted by

ABOUT OUR CAMPGROUND and LOCATION: The Needles District of Canyonlands National Park, (not anywhere near the Island in the Sky) visitors center is only 1.5 miles away. We are approximately 1.5 hours from Arches and approximately 2 hours from Island in the Sky.

There is a bathhouse with warm showers and flush toilets.

ARRIVE NO LATER THAN 5PM to

Read more...

ABOUT OUR CAMPGROUND and LOCATION: The Needles District of Canyonlands National Park, (not anywhere near the Island in the Sky) visitors center is only 1.5 miles away. We are approximately 1.5 hours from Arches and approximately 2 hours from Island in the Sky.

There is a bathhouse with warm showers and flush toilets.

ARRIVE NO LATER THAN 5PM to keep your reservation.

SITE SPECIFICS:  Stay in our tipi located at the base of the red rock amphitheater in our peaceful little rustic campground. This tipi comfortably sleeps 6 people. This listing is an open top, dirt floor shelter only priced about $12 more than a regular empty tent/rv pad where you can set up your own tent. You will need to bring your own sleeping bags appropriate for the weather. Bring a shade shelter for the warmer season, or rent one from our little general/camp store.

WHAT TO EXPECT: There are several hiking trails in the area as well as bicycling & 4 wheel drive trails on BLM (public land). This IS the Wild, Rustic, Dirty Desert, not for Everyone.  This is Camping and keep in mind this is a rugged camping experience not for the faint at heart. The desert is Hot in the summer and cold in the winter, the weather is Unpredictable and you May experience our Wild storms...Monsoon season runs from July-August which is amazing if you are into photography. Be sure to bring proper gear for the rain (if we get any). You may hear coyotes, see spiders, experience the annoying desert gnats at certain times of the day during the hotter summer season. You will want to bring bug spray, but if you forgot we do sell it in our camp store. If you stay with us you will get the experience of desert camping, wild, raw and rugged. It is an amazing experience to be had, with beautiful views and the feeling of freedom that is hard to find in more civilized and populated locations. The rocks nearby are kid friendly, great for climbing and taking amazing photos of our fantastic views and gorgeous sunsets.

BATHHOUSE: There is a Bathhouse with Showers and Flush Toilets. Showers are with a Token and must be purchased during store hours. The bathhouse is shared with other campers and gets dirty. We are surrounded by red dirt. Toilets get clogged, this happens in public bathrooms. It is cleaned everyday. The bathhouse is operational while under construction.

CONTACTING US :Hipcamp messages are the best way to reach us. We are off the grid with poor cell phone reception. We are not reachable by phone. Text messages are usually returned within 12 hours, please note during open hours you may not get an immediate response.

TAKE A SCREEN SHOT of the written directions here, (scroll past to the bottom of your confirmation page that comes directly from hipcamp, not this message). YOU WILL LOSE SERVICE ON YOUR WAY.

Lodging provided
Canvas tent
1 site
Up to 6 guests per site
Up to 2 vehicles
2WD Accessible
No wheelchair access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Amenities
Showers available
Picnic table available
Wifi available
Bins available
No potable water
No kitchen
Have a question? Send Amber a message!
  • Check in: After 12PM
  • Check out: Before 11AM
  • Cancellation policy: Super Strict (30 Days)
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 10% off
  • Response time: Within 6 hours
  • Response rate: 83%

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking

There are several trails for bike riding either inside the park or on blm land.

Hiking

There are several beautiful hikes in area.

Off-roading (OHV)

For those into 4 wheel driving, Elephant Hill, Lock Hart Basin and Beef Basin is a short drive away.

Climbing
Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Tipi 2 at the Rocks in Utah.

River, stream, or creek

The Confluence trail is an awesome hike taking you to the overview of where the Green River and the Colorado River meet.

Cave
Desert

Places to see near The Needles Outpost Campground

41 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Karla
Karla J.
recommends this listing.
November 14th, 2022

Amber and Caleb were accommodating, friendly and gave us great suggestions. The view from the campsite is breathtaking! Our campsite had everything we needed like a fire pit and was very clean. It was fun being able to climb on the rocks in the property. We even saw some petroglyphs. Will definitely be staying here the next time we are in the area. Highly recommend!

Tipi 2 at the Rocks
Hipcamper chad
Chad R.
recommends this listing.
October 13th, 2022

Great place to stay. Welcoming, beautiful place. The landscape is incredible, the campground felt safe and well cared for. Beautiful skies. Great little store for anything you might have forgotten. Was fun to spend a night sleeping in a tipi. The cots are comfortable and you are off the ground. Nice floor covering. Bathrooms are clean. Will definitely be back.

Hipcamper Jeff
Jeff H.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
April 30th, 2022

Teepees are dirty hammock’s very uncomfortable. Bad diesel smell from the equipment shed all night. We couldn’t stand it and left.

Hipcamper Louis
Louis J.
recommends this listing.
April 15th, 2022

loved our trip and experience. Lots of space, quiet, room to roam and a fabulous tipi to make a fantasy come true. I will be back!

Hipcamper elise
Elise C.
recommends this listing.
March 26th, 2022

The land is beautiful and so close to Canyonlands. We enjoyed our stay, but just a few tips to make it more enjoyable - if you’re bringing dogs, bring a long leash with a carabiner or something to affix to the picnic table because they have to be on leash at all times. It made it tricky to unpack while holding two dog leashes :-) definitely bring camp chairs, a tarp for the sand floor, sleeping bags, pillows, and extra blankets if you’re going in spring or fall. There is a small flashlight at the top of the teepee - not sure if the host put it there or if it was left by another guest. Bring headlamps and anything else you’d normally bring camping. The water tank ran out when we woke in the morning, but we were able to drive to a trailhead a few miles away to use a pit toilet.

Hipcamper Amber
Response from Amber, the Host, on May 23rd, 2022

Hello Elise, thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to go into the park to use the restroom. We were unaware of a toilet left running which ran us out of water. We have replaced the parts so this shouldn't happen again. It's unfortunate these things do happen at times living if grid in the desert, we do our best to keep incidents like these to a minimum.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Ronald

Not glamping

Ronald S.
doesn't recommend this listing.
November 5th, 2021

Tipi 2 is very basic: no floor, no tables or other amenities, just 4 large cots filling the entire space.

We opted for our tent.

Hipcamper Amber
Response from Amber, the Host, on November 6th, 2021

This time exactly how it's described on this listing. The glamping tents are where the real bed, night stand and table are listed. There is however a picnic table outside at each site. Thank you for your feedback...

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Andrya

Wet

Andrya P.
doesn't recommend this listing.
October 19th, 2021

I was looking forward to comfortable stay after poor weather. The dirt floor and cots inside the tipi were wet from an overhead leak, the short road way awash, the door ties rotted, and the restrooms and shower less than pristine. Even the picnic table was held up by a boulder instead of a missing leg. Because inclement weather was predicted, I slept in my van.

Hipcamper Amber
Response from Amber, the Host, on October 21st, 2021

Hello Andrya, this is an affordable shelter we do not charge a cleaning fee we are very clear on the listing that this is an open top tipi. Things don't "rot" out here. These ties were sewn on in May this year, they take a lot of abuse out here from the sun, wind and many guests. We appreciate any issues brought to us in person so we can take care of them immediately. We were not informed of the broken leg on the table, we keep wood on hand to fix these things when they happen. The roads are a mess due to our very uncommonly but welcomed wet stormy monsoon season. We are rustic and rugged business out in the middle of desert country. We don't get maintenence on the spot like the "cleaner, more prestine" campgrounds. We (Caleb and Amber) are operating out here alone doing our best to keep the doors open and our business running smoothly. Things aren't perfect here, however, we do aim to be, to some this can be part of the charm. We all that guest bring issues to us personally to give us a chance to take care of it.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Amy
Amy W.
recommends this listing.
October 10th, 2021

Gorgeous location. Campsites well spaced out and like our tipi site, right up against the red rock cliff base. Climbing around on the rocks was fun and allowed for beautiful views. The tipi was dry and clean and very pretty, but we did sleep on an air mattress on the floor instead of in the hammocks provided.

Hipcamper Clare
Clare M.
recommends this listing.
October 4th, 2021

Beautiful surroundings! Great access to the park and love the fact they have extended quiet hours!!

Tipi 2 at the RocksTipi 2 at the RocksTipi 2 at the RocksTipi 2 at the Rocks
Property
The Needles Outpost Campground
State
Utah
Country
United States
$45/night
1 Site