Brad and Coreena has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

This a family price - for 2 Adults & 2 Children. NOT 4 ADULTS.

Nice place to set up camp and enjoy yourself near Awoonga dam and all of its glory. Wonderful spot to enjoy the peace and tranquility of your immediate surrounds. Barra fishing nearby at Awoonga dam.

Welcome to our not-for-profit grounds now open to the public. The camp has been set up as a youth-orie

Read more...

This a family price - for 2 Adults & 2 Children. NOT 4 ADULTS.

Nice place to set up camp and enjoy yourself near Awoonga dam and all of its glory. Wonderful spot to enjoy the peace and tranquility of your immediate surrounds. Barra fishing nearby at Awoonga dam.

Welcome to our not-for-profit grounds now open to the public. The camp has been set up as a youth-oriented facility that welcomes travelers and regional people. All proceeds go towards running costs and improving facilities. We have an onsite caretaker (LES) for maintaining the property. 

Dog friendly (must be controlled at all times!) and good access for caravans and all types of vehicles.

NOISE restrictions are in place and MUST be adhered to.

There is to be no discharge onto the grounds from caravans etc

Campsite area
Tent or RV sites
4 sites
Up to 6 guests per site
Up to 1 vehicle
No wheelchair access
RV Information
Travel trailers, Fifth wheels, Pop-up campers, Class A RVs, Class B RVs, and Cars allowed
Vehicles under 35 feet allowed
Pull-in site
Surface type: grass-or-field
Surface levelness: flat
Ask about slideout accommodation
Hookups: No electricity, water, sewage, or TV connection
Generators not allowed
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Amenities
Potable water available
Showers available
No kitchen
No picnic table
No wifi
Pack it out
Laundry absent
  • Check in: After 12PM
  • Check out: Before 2PM
  • Cancellation policy: Flexible
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 3 months out
  • Response time: Within 6 hours
  • Response rate: 92%

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Boating
Fishing
Paddling
Swimming

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Camp Akuna - FAMILY NON-Powered in Queensland.

River, stream, or...
Swimming hole

22 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Rachel

Camp akuna

Rachel D.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
May 22nd, 2022

Camp Akuna is a beautiful site, perfect for road trip stop overs, large functions or just fun camping trips. With a large kitchen at your disposal, managed by Les, the 24/7 onsite caretaker it makes everything so much easier and less hassle. Clean toilets and showers are available with hot water. The large hall (available for group functions) was originally opened in 1969 as a scout camp. There is a swimming hole located a short distance from your camp site, accessible via both a walking track and a public road.

Camp Akuna - FAMILY NON-PoweredCamp Akuna - FAMILY NON-PoweredCamp Akuna - FAMILY NON-PoweredCamp Akuna - FAMILY NON-Powered
Hipcamper Leigh

Great camp but not worth prebookin

Leigh B.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
April 23rd, 2022

Lovely camp! So clean and tidy and not far from shops and beautiful beaches. Les the caretaker was brilliant! Kept the place spotless! Toilets showers and kitchen were spot on. My only comment would be that i would recommend just turning up as it cost us $90 for 2 nights (2 adults & 2 dogs) as a pre booking on hip camp, but if you just turn up it will cost you only $15 per night, which is a little disappointing when you find out others are paying a fraction of the price to stay at the same camp.

Hipcamper Brad and Coreena
Response from Brad and Coreena , the Host, on May 26th, 2022

Thank you Leigh for your review. I have reviewed you booking and you booked the FAMILY site which is for 2 x adults and 2 children ($40 Per night). I can only assume you must have inadvertantly selected the wrong site when booking hence your $80 fee. (not $ 90 as stated in your review). Our normal non powered standard sites are $15 PP per night, so your fee would have only been $60 in keeping with the $15 pp as you mentioned. As a gesture of good will we will refund you $20 for your oversight. Other wise thank you for your kind words of praise of Les and our Campground, Happy travels.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Jo
Jo K.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
April 18th, 2022

Campground is fantastic!
Les (caretaker) is great. Definitely be back!!

Hipcamper Craig
Craig M.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
April 18th, 2022

Great clean open flat location so close to the creek for water activities. Also close enough to the lake for boating and fishing.
The care taker was such a nice helpful bloke.

Hipcamper Charity
Charity L.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
April 6th, 2022

We loved Camp Akuna! The caretaker was very welcoming and friendly. He keeps the grounds maintained beautifully and amenities were exceptional. Camp Akuna is a quiet place and walking distance to the water. Would highly recommend to all.

Hipcamper Brad and Coreena
Response from Brad and Coreena , the Host, on April 9th, 2022

Thank you Charity for your lovely review. Much appreciated. Kind Regards from , Brad & Coreena.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Daniel

Amazing time!

Daniel W.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
January 17th, 2022

Awesome facilities! Great area! The walk down to the creek is short and awesome swim! Plus down the road to the rope swing is alot of fun for the young and young at heart!

Hipcamper Peter
Peter M.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
January 6th, 2022

Excellent stop ove. Would stay again.

Hipcamper Aimee
Aimee W.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
January 5th, 2022

Was greeted by caretaker Les. He was very accommodating and nothing was too much hassle. The back track to the creek was a bit overgrown from the recent rain so taking the road was the easiest option with little kids. Fantastic, peaceful place to stay and can choose own spot. Facilities were always kept clean.

Camp Akuna - FAMILY NON-PoweredCamp Akuna - FAMILY NON-Powered
Hipcamper Mark

Relaxing weekend away.

Mark U.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
December 5th, 2021

Camp Akuna is an awesome camp. Very relaxing with a beautiful camp ground great amenities and you can have a fire. Short walk to Pikes crossing for a relaxing swim or paddle board or you can try your hand at fishing also. The caretaker is very friendly and helpful..

Property
Camp Akuna Pikes Crossing INC
State
Queensland
Country
Australia
AU$40/night
4 Sites