Hancock Forest Management has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

Large site located walking distance of the Smith Mt. Gate, which access the travel management portion of the Sled Springs hunt unit. Large open area with easy parking and access.

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans and truck campers, trailers, RVs
1 site
Up to 20 guests per site
Park at listing
Wheelchair access
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Picnic table available
No potable water
No kitchen
No showers
No wifi
Pack it out
Laundry absent
Camping vehicle details
No electrical hookup
No water hookup
No sewage hookup
No TV hookup
Generators not allowed
Pull-through site
Max length 40.0 ft
Accommodates slideouts
Surface type: grass or field
Surface levelness: requires leveling
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Super Strict
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 4 nights
  • Accepts bookings: 6 months out


Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Wildlife watching


Natural features you'll find at Smith Mt. Gate #2 cv. or. in Oregon.


1 Review

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Rodney

Horrible camp site progran

Rodney B.
doesn't recommend this listing.
November 2nd, 2021

Perhaps the worst camping/hunting experience I have ever had. I have been hunting since 1959. I started the Noregaard area when Mr. Noregaard was still alive in 1972 for another 15 years. I came back to the area a few years ago, but will not ever return due to your absolutely horrible management of the "camp sites". My money was totally waster on your camping program.
First off, no one advised us that there would be a logging operation in the immediate vicinity. Trees were cut only 44 yards from our tent. I used my range finder to confirm the closeness. Logging operations started on Oct 25, 2021 at 4:15 am and each day thereafter. This start time was almost 2 hours earlier than we had anticipated on getting a start on the hunt each day. The noise could be heard miles away by both human and animals alike. In fact, Smith Mt. Gate #1 was virtually eliminated the first day with the trees surrounding it knocked down, resulting in no camping site at all. The experience was a total disaster, with the noise and trees being cut down literally in our camp site. I do not know how you can advertise a hunting camp site with such lack of consideration or notice. Obviously, the various parts of your organization are not communicating. Neither I, nor my hunting partners have any plans of using your program locally or otherwise ever again. Just a failed operation on your part. I would never recommend this program to anyone. I WOULD ASK THAT MY PAYMENT OF THE USE OF YOUR CAMP SITE BE REFUNDED.

Hipcamper Hancock Forest Management
Response from Hancock Forest Management, the Host, on November 3rd, 2021

We are so sorry you had an undesirable experience, in the future if you have any concerns while camping with us please reach out and we will be happy to relocate you or find a solution to your problem.

Remove vote :(
Hancock Lands
United States
1 Site