Hipcamp host Cole B.,
Hosted by
Cole has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.
It’s been so busy lately on the North Shore lately everyone is looking to camp! Here we only have one site available and a giant area to explore in! Bush crafters welcomed! Off grid camping for tents or hot tents. Our site is overlooking Lake Superior so we have an amazing spot for northern lights.
Campsite area
Tent site
1 site
Up to 7 guests per site
Short walk
4WD Required
No wheelchair access
Campfires allowed
Pets allowed
No toilet
No potable water
No kitchen
No showers
No picnic table
No wifi
Pack it out
Have a question? Send Cole a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Super Strict
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 3 nights
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 20% off

    You know what would make this trip even better?

    Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to Secluded group camping.


    Hiking on private trails.

    Since we're on top of the mountain, there's so much to look at! It's high eno...Read more

    Add to trip

    Firewood bundle

    Start your trip off right with a bundle of firewood waiting for you at your c...Read more

    Add to trip


    Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

    Off-roading (OHV)
    Snow sports
    Wildlife watching


    Natural features you'll find at Secluded group camping. in Minnesota.

    River, stream, or...

    20 Reviews

    This listing has no reviews yet.
    If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
    Hipcamper Kristin

    Had a great experience

    Kristin H.
    recommends this listing.
    August 3rd, 2021

    We enjoyed our stay here! Cole was very helpful with suggestions for great hikes/ places to visit. Our trip was short, so we didn't get to check everything out, but maybe next year. :) The location was beautiful and quiet - heard a lot of thunder the first night, though! There was plenty of room to set up the tent, and there was a fire pit and a couple chairs for us to use. Plus, firewood is offered for sale - very convenient.

    Hipcamper Laine

    Perfect off-grid

    Laine D.
    recommends this listing.
    August 1st, 2021

    Great off-the-grid stay on Cole's property, centered perfectly between Tettegouche State Park visitor's center and Split Rock Lighthouse State Park (10-15 mins drive).

    Cole was a very responsive host and easy to communicate with (text/call). He met us on a 4-wheeler once we arrived at the provided address and guided us to the campsite. This was a primitive site on his property located about one mile up a mountainside on a dirt/gravel road. There's no access to water/electricity and about a 15-yard walk from the parking spot/area into a wooded campsite. Provided was a couple of chairs surrounding a fire pit, some firewood, and tarps just in case it rained.

    At the base of the mountain and less than 10 minutes away is the Black Beach Campground in Silver Bay, MN where you can access toilets/freshwater.

    Note: We had about 1-bar of cell service throughout the area (Verizon). Calls in/out were okay, but the internet was way slow.

    Hipcamper Kate

    Could not locate the camping area

    Kate S.
    doesn't recommend this listing.
    July 20th, 2021

    I messaged Cole to let him know that we were running a bit late and would not make it for the first night we had reserved. I received no answer but thought nothing of it. When we arrived the following day, the address brought us to a property that had a sign posted addressing the land as someone named Steve. We drove back until the road wouldn't support a vehicle of our nature. There was no area clear for pitching a tent or having a fire. Tall grass and trees throughout. I called Cole to make sure we were at the right spot, but received no answer and no call back. I would like to be refunded or at least one night as we left and had to make other arrangements. Because we were late to arrive I understand if both nights cannot be refundable.

    Hipcamper Cole
    Response from Cole, the Host, on February 9th, 2022

    I hope you got your refund sorry about this. We had communication issues around that time.

    Remove vote :(
    Hipcamper Samantha

    Large secluded camping spot

    Samantha G.
    recommends this listing.
    July 19th, 2021

    Great private spot for a backcountry camping family get together! This location fit our family perfectly. We had a larger group of 8 people which included 3 tents, a 13'x9' bug screen tent and a pop up changing room tent/makeshift potty and we still had plenty of room to sit around the fire together! Cole had excellent communication skills (if he hasn't given you his number directly make sure to message through Hipcamp, he answers quickly!). To get to the spot you take some bumpy and small uphill rocky roads but they were no problem for our Subaru and Jeep. We even had a car make it up and down several times but wouldn't recommend if it's wet. There's an address on Hipcamp that will bring you about halfway to the spot but make sure to meet with Cole to follow him the rest of the way because the address doesn't bring you to the exact spot. One of the best parts about the location was how close it was to lots of amenities like Black Sand Beach and Tettagouche State Park. Really amazing spot. Bugs were not bad first day but we came back fro a hike pretty sweaty and icky in the evening day 2 and the mosquitos weren't super friendly (to be expected) so our bug tent was very useful! No bathroom but a jug of water, pop up changing tent, and a bucket with kitty litter worked great! If you love a good off grid backcountry camping experience this is the place for you! Look no further! Cole was very friendly and made us feel welcome!

    ToiletBig spot for family
    Hipcamper Kate
    Kate S.
    doesn't recommend this listing.
    July 10th, 2021

    We arrived a day late. When I reached out to Cole on the update I got no response. When we arrived to the location there was no visible area to camp, tall grass and no clearings. I called cole to make sure we were at the correct location. I got no answer and no call back. I would like for my trip to be refunded as we did not stay and could not contact the host

    Hipcamper Samantha

    Great location, beautiful, 10/10!

    Samantha K.
    recommends this listing.
    June 13th, 2021

    We really enjoyed our stay here! The campsite is very private and in an awesome location (excellent cell service with Verizon, btw). We had a massive tent and had a ton of space for it, hammocks, a campfire, chairs and a table, etc. I loved how secluded it was while also being close enough to other people/places that I didn’t feel too afraid (I’m a chicken haha). Cole was beyond helpful during our stay and is very quick to respond if you need anything. He’s very knowledgeable and kind! We were met on arrival and he helped us set up (even in a dense fog/rain!). Their home is a tiny house just up the mountain. If you’re lucky, you’ll get to meet their cute dog, too!

    We took a RAV4 and had no issues getting to the place. I think any car would be completely fine if you take it slow. It’s a pretty standard dirt road with some bumps but nothing a decent vehicle can’t handle. Super close to Tettegouche State Park (best views/never really crowded!) and not too far from Gooseberry Falls. The town of Silver Bay has a gas station and a few places to eat/drink if that’s your jam. The Black Beach (5 min drive) is really beautiful with rocks you can climb around and great views. There’s also a nice picnic area there, too! Ask Cole about the app you can download for maps of hiking trails. We didn’t explore their property much (we were pretty busy!) but it butts up against the Tettegouche State Park and has access to the Superior Hiking Trail. The bike trail is also very close and stretches on for ever! Next time, I would probably want to bring my bike and just cruise on the trail along the lake.

    Overall, 10/10 and I would (and will!) absolutely return!

    Hipcamper Riga
    Riga M.
    recommends this listing.
    May 3rd, 2021

    Cole was very welcoming and communicative. He showed us the way up to the camp site and made sure we had everything we needed. The site was beautiful with a good view!

    Hipcamper Joseph
    Joseph D.
    recommends this listing.
    October 19th, 2020

    The site was better than advertised! Very secluded spot in the hills with a beautiful view, the drive up to the spot was a very steep dirt road that was a blast to drive up and added to the feel of seclusion and ruggedness of the site (Whether on purpose or not). There was plenty of firewood available and hiking trails throughout the land, but I didn't get the chance to check them out.

    Hipcamper Ben
    Ben C.
    recommends this listing.
    October 5th, 2020

    Funny Farm was awesome!!! Cole was a super cool host and the whole trip was so much better than expected.
    We went during the fall and staying here was totally worth the cold night. The views were way better expected, Cole and his puppy took us around the property showing the cliffs with views I didn’t even know we had in Minnesota, let alone something I could find on hipcamp. The whole experience was way better than I could’ve expected and I’d recommend it to anyone.

    The Funny Farm
    United States
    1 Site