Hipcamp host Hilary I.,
Hosted by
Hilary has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

Pitch your tent and start fishing in the pond! Then enjoy a hot shower, cozy up by the campfire, and relax on this beautiful, 10-acre campground full of amenities to ensure you have a relaxing stay. 

About the property 

Down a hidden gravel drive with wetlands on either side you will find a completely fenced in field surrounded by pine, oak, and

Read more...

Pitch your tent and start fishing in the pond! Then enjoy a hot shower, cozy up by the campfire, and relax on this beautiful, 10-acre campground full of amenities to ensure you have a relaxing stay. 

About the property 

Down a hidden gravel drive with wetlands on either side you will find a completely fenced in field surrounded by pine, oak, and swamp maple trees. There are two ponds located on the property both stocked with bass, bluegill, and sunfish. The front pond is home to many natural Florida wildlife and is a great location to bird watch. The property is also home to several sheep and Pency the Llama. 

Located a few miles from Brooksville and the Suncoast Parkway, this quiet and peaceful setting is just 5 minutes from the parking area and trailhead for the Suncoast Trail and 10 miles from the famous Weeki Wachee Springs, where you can spend the day at the local park or float down the river with the manatees. 

Withlacoochee State Park and other natural preserves with trail access and kayaking are only a short distance away, and Dames Cave, Homosassa Springs, and Chasawiska Springs are all within a ~20-minute drive as well. Spending a day at the beach is easy with plenty of options along the Nature Coast. We’re also less than an hour from Tampa and Clearwater and two hours from Orlando. 

A perfect weekend get-away for anyone looking to “unplug,” Smokey Acres is also a great stop for those passing through the area. We are a close distance to many racing, livestock, boating and fishing events. We have no problem accommodating whatever you’re towing!

Whether you'd like a leisurely day on the river or an adventure in the Gulf, there are plenty of boating options nearby. Be sure to make it back to the property in time to enjoy amazing sunsets that bring peace and tranquility to your experience. 

Our neighbors, JG Ranch, offers U- Pick Fruit and Vegetables or a great selection of local harvest at their roadside stand. 

This 10-acre property has been in my family for decades. My Husband and I were married under the oaks and have had our share of campfires together out there. 

I've recently moved back home with my own family and as much as we enjoy the land for ourselves we'd love to share it. Any profit from hosting campers will help us maintain our sustainable farm that we're hoping to expand onto Smokey Acres. 

About the listing

Pitch your tent in one of our three first-come, first-serve campsites. 

During your stay, enjoy access to water, restrooms and hot showers as well as picnic tables and fire pits. We usually have firewood available for a small donation. 

Charcoal grills are provided in the BBQ area.

We love that you brought your pet but we also want to keep ours safe so please keep all pets on a leash or lead.

While you will have privacy at your site, we do have a few different campsites on the property, so you may run into other campers in common areas or in passing during your stay.

Additional Details to Note:

  • Camping vehicle hookups provided, see below for details 
  • Good cell service for all carriers
  • Hosts will greet campers upon arrival but then leave campers to enjoy their stay
  • ATV use on land is not permitted

Campsite area
Bring your own tents
1 site
Up to 8 guests per site
Park at listing
Wheelchair access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Amenities
Potable water available
Picnic table available
Bins available
No kitchen
No showers
No wifi
Have a question? Send Hilary a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Flexible
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 6 months out

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking

Suncoast Trail is less than 5 minutes from campground, with parking lot at trail head. Withlacoochee State Trail is also a shor...Read more

Boating

Whether you'd like a leisurely day on the river or an adventure in the Gulf there are plenty of boating options nearby.

Hiking

Hiking to Caving we have it all local!

Paddling

Too many options to list!

Off-roading (OHV)

Out of respect for any other campers we ask that you don't use these on the property. There are plenty of trails close by with ...Read more

Swimming

From springs to rivers and sandy beaches there are lots of swimming areas nearby.

Wildlife watching

Wild Turkeys and deer can be seen from your campsite but there are lots of animal sanctuary's nearby to get up close and person...Read more

Fishing
Horseback riding

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Smokey Acres Campsite 1 in Florida.

Field

A large clearing with ponds surrounded by trees.

Farm

We aren't a farm farm but there is livestock on the property.

9 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Keith
Keith W.
doesn't recommend this listing.
December 27th, 2021

When I booked it I specifically asked if there was a hot shower. Hillary told me there was. The add on Hipcamp shows a shower base with a shower curtain etc. I arrived and drove down a cow path to the camp sites. There were a few older rvs parked at some sites that look permanent. Nobody around. Found the toilet and shower. No handles on shower just a red and blue circle plastered on the shower wall. No shower curtain. Checked behind the outhouse and didn’t see a water heater that would supply hot water. Only one pvc pipe supply with a ball valve to get cold water up there. I don’t think the folks who run it are being honest. Cant recommend. Learned a lesson and lost some $. Booked a hotel nearby and left. Hadn’t had a shower in a few days of sleeping in my truck.

Hipcamper Hilary
Response from Hilary, the Host, on January 13th, 2022

I'm sorry that you felt we were being "dishonest". We quickly responded to your concern and gave directions on how to turn the shower on. After we received your message we went right over to meet you, which you weren't there and to fix the issues but found the bathhouse was indeed not broken but all intact. All utilities are secured and blocked off for the safety of our campers.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Patrick
Patrick M.
recommends this listing.
December 18th, 2021

The campsite was very spacious with everything I needed.

Hipcamper Hilary
Response from Hilary, the Host, on January 13th, 2022

Glad ya'll enjoyed your stay.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Tosha
Tosha R.
recommends this listing.
December 12th, 2021

Really open spaces. There were other campers but we never crossed paths. So close to everything but you feel like you’re deep in the wilderness. My dogs loved all the new places to explore. The host was very helpful and left us alone. The bathroom and shower were soooo cute and very well kept. We did not want to leave.

Smokey Acres  Campsite 1Smokey Acres  Campsite 1Smokey Acres  Campsite 1Smokey Acres  Campsite 1
Hipcamper Hilary
Response from Hilary, the Host, on January 13th, 2022

So happy ya'll and the pups enjoyed your stay!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Janie

A great getaway from life.

Janie S.
recommends this listing.
December 6th, 2021

We had a peaceful and relaxing time at Smokey Acres. The sights are well spaced out, so you don’t feel like you are on top of the next site, that’s a plus for us. The hosts are pleasant and helpful. We caught every species of fish in the pond. Bass, crappie, blue hill, catfish, shimmer and a turtle. We are looking forward to our next trip.

Smokey Acres  Campsite 1Smokey Acres  Campsite 1
Hipcamper Hilary
Response from Hilary, the Host, on January 13th, 2022

So happy ya'll enjoyed your stay and caught plenty of fish! Hope to have ya back soon!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Andrew

The perfect spot for group camping!

Andrew K.
recommends this listing.
May 28th, 2021

I was looking to see the blood moon, so anywhere outside of street lights would have sufficed. I live within an hour of site. I have done quite a bit of primitive camping and this definitely was not primitive. Its 1 mile from 711 to give perspective. It was perfect for my intention. The grounds are clean, bathroom/shower space was Top notch. The ambiance was perfect the vibe is where I found issue. There are stationary trailers in and around property that I did not feel the most safe around. I know they are trying to make money, but I think that if they removed those it could literally be a gold mine. I tent camp alone, so safety is always something I take seriously. Now in groups you will certainly be happy with environment. The owners are informative and welcoming, so I don't want to take away from that at all. My overall observation is that they have more than the right business plan and land however they have to let go of the humans that take advantage of the space. I would give it an A+ rating all day everyday minus the humans that live there. I believe that a space like has great potential!!!!

Hipcamper Julie
Julie S.
recommends this listing.
May 21st, 2021

Nice open space! Perfect for what we needed. Thanks.

Hipcamper Megan

Our site didn't quite match listing

Megan D.
doesn't recommend this listing.
April 18th, 2020

Unfortunately, the site that was shown on HipCamp did not necessarily match what we were presented with, but let's start with the pros. There was a grassy field with beautiful oak trees. There was great bird watching and we were visited by Sandhill Cranes and Red-headed woodpeckers every day. There was a compost toilet that was clean and didn't smell bad. It also had a good supply of toilet paper and hand sanitizer. They even had a spigot from the ground for hand washing.

The cons are that there were more than 3 individual campsites on the property with at least 6 groups camping that I counted. There were many large trash heaps around the property that consisted of items like wall siding, old furniture, and ripped up carpet. There was also a lot of rusted out metal garbage strewn about the trees. This site did not have a traditional fire ring and picnic table as the listing said. The "fire ring" we were given was a broken rusted out above ground item and the "picnic table" looked like it came from someone's bulk trash. It was a white plastic set that looked like it had been outside for a very long time. Finally, it was pretty close to a main road and there was lots of traffic noise.

This site does have potential if it was cleaned up with its nice trees and tucked away location.

"Picnic table" that we were givenTrash heap in background between us and next group of campers.Unfortunate trash heaps ruin the ambiance
Hipcamper Carol

Wish this could be my secret place!

Carol F.
recommends this listing.
April 9th, 2020

This is such a wonderful place to stay. I hesitate to leave a review because I want to keep it a secret so I can come back whenever I want, lolol. Having the compost toilet, potable water and many shade trees makes it as easy to tent camp as it gets. Highly recommend!!!!!

Hipcamper Cassaundra Z.
recommends this listing.
June 19th, 2020
Property
Smokey Acres
State
Florida
Country
United States
$17/night
1 Site