Hipcamp host Cari L.,
Hosted by
Cari has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

🏕 Site Details Below ⬇️

The Hideaway is your peaceful getaway from the city in the Kern River Valley. Have a section of a mountain to yourself to decompress from the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles.

Just a quick drive from the city into the Seqouia National Forest, you'll be tucked away while only minutes from Lake Isabella and the Kern River where you can enjoy

Read more...

🏕 Site Details Below ⬇️

The Hideaway is your peaceful getaway from the city in the Kern River Valley. Have a section of a mountain to yourself to decompress from the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles.

Just a quick drive from the city into the Seqouia National Forest, you'll be tucked away while only minutes from Lake Isabella and the Kern River where you can enjoy fishing, boating, hiking in the Sierra National Forest, Soak in the Hot Springs in the Kern River and wind your day down with a beautiful sunset in the forest with a fire going (season permitting).

We are a brand new campsite and do not have a ton set up yet but we wanted to begin to share the beauty of this magical mountain as soon as possible and so here we are!

It's a simple set up for now but it's a work in progress ;)

✅ We have built fire-pits for you to use, please only use the fire pits while you can tend them. We have strong winds and so you MUST douse all fires with provided potable water before you go to bed or leave the camp. 

✅ This is a LEAVE NO TRACE campsite and we require you to bring your trash out with you. We truly appreciate your understanding with this. Thank you!

✅ We have a porta-potty on site currently for you as we set up something fancier ;) 

✅ There is wildlife here so please be aware and practice caution. You may see deer, wolves, coyote, cattle, and we've even heard of bear here. Please be aware to not leave food out unattended and pack it away at night. 

✅ We are actively working on and improving the site, so please refrain from approaching the work site on the main pad at the front of the mountain. Parts of the property had a run in with the Stagecoach Fire in This property fell victim to the Stagecoach Fire in 2020 so we are giving it some TLC. 

✅ You may bring your pet if they are friendly enough but please keep them to your site and on leash if they tend to run off as we have no fencing to stop them and other campers may not be comfortable around animals. Of course, we would truly appreciate you cleaning up after them as well.

✅ Most of us tend to get service at the front of the mountain here which is great news for those who still need to keep in touch a little bit. With the worksite active, you'll be able to use the front parking area for service. 

We hope you continue to check back in with us as we continue to create your sacred escape from the city! This site's details are below... 

🏕 Site Details 🏕

Site #1

The closest to the front of the mountain, by the parking area that has the easiest access. The rest of the sites require a small uphill walk around the site. So if you need something that's easier on the knees, this is for you. Once our bathroom is set up this will also be the closest site for convenience. **A small camper van could fit on this site with enough room for a space by the fire pit.

Once you pull into the parking area, you'll see a campfire to the right, with a large flat tent area that you could also park your small vehicle in.

Please check out our other sites to see if there's a better fit for you.

Site #2 

A cozy tent site in the middle of the high ridge with views all around. There is a small stairway up from your parking spot to the tent site and fire place. There is enough room for a small tent here. Once our bathroom is set up this will be just a 2 min quick downhill walk.

Once you pull into the parking area, follow the road ahead to the right. You'll see Site #1 with the pull-in site and next to it a small area for you to park and bring your things up. You'll be on a beautiful part of the ridge where you can relax under the trees and among the natural rocks that bring this site so much character.

Please check out our other sites to see if there's a better fit for you.

Site #3 

One of our larger sites that sits back on the highest point of our mountain by the water tower with beautiful views on both sides of the mountain. You'll come up into the camp, through the parking lot and turn right to drive up to the end of the driveway to your campsite.

You can set up your larger tent at the end of the driveway and a smaller one up by the fire pit. Both tent areas have beautiful views of Breckenridge Mountain.

Please check out our other sites to see if there's a better fit for you.

If you are not sure if your vehicle or this location is suitable, please reach out to us, before proceeding with your booking.

Campsite area
Bring your own tents
3 sites
Up to 4 guests per site
Park at listing
No wheelchair access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Amenities
No potable water
No kitchen
No showers
No picnic table
No wifi
Pack it out
Laundry absent
Have a question? Send Cari a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 11AM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 3 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 10% off
  • Response time: Within an hour
  • Response rate: 60%

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Paddling
Off-roading (OHV)
Climbing
Swimming
Whitewater paddling
Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at The Hideaway Mountain Retreat in California.

Mountainous

2 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Lilian

Windy stay but amazing stars

Lilian O.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 3)
October 11th, 2021

This place has some upsides and some down sides. The upsides are that the place is pretty well situated if you're coming from Vegas or LA and need a stop over or home base from which to see Sequoia National Forest. In addition, the place has little to no light pollution, so the stars are amazing. Finally, the place does allow camp fires and wood is available, a very nice touch.

The downsides are that the site is on top of a mountain with little wind cover. Be prepared and bring wind resistant clothes and a good tent. The roads to get in and out are a little rough (narrow and windy). The physical space to put your tent is small - two person tents will have no problem, four person tents will fit but take up the whole space. (Note - this is newly available land so the owner is likely to increase the space available.)

Finally, check the fire map before you go. There was a small fire about 2 miles from us that was being put out when we arrived. We weren't in any danger but it spoked us.

Hipcamper Cari
Response from Cari, the Host, on October 24th, 2021

HI Lilian, Thank you for spending time on our mountain! 
 Our campers usually post their tent at the top of the driveway for Site 3 which provides plenty of space and an unobstructed view of Breckenridge Mountain. 

It was definitely a windy weekend with a large dust storm coming through Kern County which I’m sure made it pretty windy for you guys. Thankfully that same storm cleared the smoke that we’ve been having for a few weeks from the recently put out forest fires up north (French Fire and Windy fire). Makes for better breathing ◡̈ 

Hopefully, you can come check us out again soon when we have more set up and the weather is calmer <3

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Traci

An amazing mountain retreat!!

Traci L.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
September 20th, 2021

The host was delightful. She took us for a tour around the property as it it quite large. They have BIG plans for this campground! My husband and I like to try out new campgrounds and The Hideaway doesn’t disappoint! Our stay was very private and peaceful. The views are unmatched and the sunsets were breathtaking! An awesome mountain retreat complete with wildlife. There was a nice breeze so it wasn’t to hot. They have built very nice fire pits at each site. Toilets were very clean. We will definitely stay here again and recommend others to try it out as well! Thank you for a wonderful weekend! We will be back!

Hipcamper Cari
Response from Cari, the Host, on October 23rd, 2021

Thanks Traci! glad you had a great time. Can't wait for you to be back when it's all set up <3

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Property
The Hideaway
State
California
Country
United States
$47/night
3 Sites