Hipcamp host Gene W.,
Hosted by

Please make sure you and your party have read and understand ENTIRE listing description including part under Reservations BEFORE requesting to book.  

Currently ONLY booking within 2 weeks > or less - NOT accepting reservations more than 14 days out.  \ 

A place to camp. Sites require walking away from vehicle with gear. Bring your own pads, bedding, tent,

Read more...

Please make sure you and your party have read and understand ENTIRE listing description including part under Reservations BEFORE requesting to book.  

Currently ONLY booking within 2 weeks > or less - NOT accepting reservations more than 14 days out.  \ 

A place to camp. Sites require walking away from vehicle with gear. Bring your own pads, bedding, tent, etc...

If you are uncomfortable around others or feel the need to wear a facemask outdoors please do NOT request to book.

In the center of the California coast

Where the mountains meet the sea

A place beside the creek

And near the ocean

Flooded

In January of this year  '21 an atmospheric river decended upon the canyon in which we lie at the bottom of. The heavy rains and winds brought down trees that were burnt from a large fire in the fall. The logs damned and burst causing a flood of epic proportions, scouring the earth, moving boulders as big as a house and taking out trees as big as a bus. Our home and many facilities were destroyed as the banks breached as high as 30 feet from the river bed. We are currently in the proccess of restablishing the basics. Some things were spared and we still have the ability to host some guests. The land has been dramatically changed but is just as beautiful as it has always been.

Intention

A Home with Family, Friends, and Animals. Striving to create a minimal impact, with a respect and awareness of this wild and natural part of the central California coast. Practicing simple eco-sustainable and environmentally friendly living techniques.

Energy

An escape from the electrical grid. There is no internet, electricity or phone service. There is minimal solar lighting, fire and propane stoves and water heaters. 

Food

The outdoor open kitchen was destroyed but we have set up a campstove and sink for guests or you can bring your own cooking equipment. The organic vegetable garden was spared but the goats, chickens, ducks, and many fruit trees were washed away. We have since gotten some chickens and a rooster.

Water

Drinking water is available filtered from some taps.

Fire

Fires are permitted in only a couple areas.

Facilities

Structures on the land are rustic, generally lightweight and built to blend in with the natural character of the land. There are outdoor composting poopers set up with sawdust and barrels.

Kids

Kids are welcome with an accompanying adult. 

Dogs

Dogs are welcome off leash, unless they attack chickens, goats, cats or other dogs. Please bring a shovel to bury dog poop.

Environment

This is a remote area with beautiful beaches, creeks and hiking trails throughout the forest. Some areas can be very dangerous with steep cliffs and loose rocks.  Be aware that things like spiders, snakes, raccoons, mice, poison oak, etc.. exist in natural areas like this.

Experiences

Enjoy the scenic Pacific Coast highway. Retreat into nature by yourself or with friends and family. Have a romantic getaway. Practice art, music and photography. Spend time to read & write and sit in meditation. Adventure along the creek, to the beach or up the mountains.

Music

No stereos or electronic music devices. Acoustic instruments are encouraged.

Driving

Carpool, parking can become tight. This is a busy, curvy mountain 2-lane Hwy. If a car wants to pass, pull over. 

Garbage

Please do not bring excessive waste products into the forest, and pack it out. There is limited trash service, recyclables can be seperated.

Alcohol

Alcohol is discouraged. It is not intended as a place to party or get drunk. A casual drink is okay.

Contributions

All contributions are put back into the land, helping to facilitate the nurturing and sharing of this sacred space.  

Reservations

 -IN ORDER TO BE ACCEPTED- please write  "My party and I have read and understand the description" and then tell a little bit about yourself/party, in your booking request. 

  We are currently not booking more than 14 days in advance. 2 nights on weekends have preference. Becasue there is no WiFi on the land - the internet may not be checked daily. responses will come form Gene, Elle and sometimes Maggie-who does not live on the property.

If you are uncomfortable around others or feel the need to wear a facemask outdoors please do NOT request to book.

Arrival.

Arrive before dark. Dogs may bark, but are friendly. You are welcome to check-in with hosts and get any assistance you may need, but they are not always available. Make sure you have the Written Directions printed or saved, as there is no reception on the coast.

Provisions

Be prepared before leaving Monterey from the north and Morro Bay from the south with plenty of gas, a light, warm clothes, groceries, wood, ice, and anything else you may want or need from town.

Winter

In the wintertime, Dec-Feb, the days are shorter and it is wetter, windier and colder and there may  be unsafe road conditions. Check the status of Highway 1 before beginning your journey. As many structures are outside it is advisable to check the weather before booking.

Campsite area
Bring your own tents
1 site
Up to 6 guests per site
Park at listing
No wheelchair access
Essentials
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Fire ban in effect
Amenities
Potable water available
No showers
No picnic table
No wifi
Pack it out
Have a question? Send Gene a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Strict
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 3 months out
  • Response time: Within 12 hours
  • Response rate: 67%

You know what would make this trip even better?

Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to A Place to Camp

$25
Rental

surfboard

Surfboards available for rent

Add to trip
Remove
0
max

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Fishing
Hiking
Surfing

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at A Place to Camp in California.

Beach
Coastal
Forest
Mountainous
River, stream, or...
Waterfall

122 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Sean

Lovely animals. crowded.

Sean S.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
November 16th, 2021

A Place to Camp offers a slightly pricy and crowded camping option when you are planning a last-minute camping trip.

The camping space is limited. A young couple with children resides in A Place to Camp. Where you are camping is the hillside scattered between crudely assembled huts built by the residents. They appear friendly and mind their own business. Their cats and dogs are very very friendly too. Bring animal treats when you visit.

The campsites offer an open view of the ocean and the CA 1 bridge. Beware of some entry signs that would likely confuse campers looking for this place. The signs read threatening ("enter at your own risk"), which most likely seeks to deter unauthorized visitors. Ignore the sign if you have obtained authorization from Gene or the property owners.

Hipcamper Gene
Response from Gene, the Host, on November 18th, 2021

Something "lost in translation"......yes , we have a family here camping on the property who will be hosting campers while the owners are on vacation. If they bothered you in any way or made you feel crowded then we are sorry. We are not quite understanding your issue, as you were up the mountain on a small campsite of your choosing with an ocean view and with no other campers around. In fact you were the only campers we had that weekend. Sorry you missed out in all the beauty that surrounds us here. Maggie

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper jakody
Jakody H.
recommends this listing.
November 9th, 2021

Great location and just a couple min walk to the beach. G & Bre are super chill too. I’ll probably be back next year.

The beach a few minutes from “A place to camp”Tent spot up the hill
Hipcamper Isabel
Isabel T.
recommends this listing.
October 22nd, 2021

It was beautiful and the hosts were very hospitable. They offered me some of their dinner and when my car wouldn’t start they changed the oil and jumped it for me.

Hipcamper Eli
Eli K.
recommends this listing.
October 21st, 2021

Great spot. Close to the beach. Quiet.

Hipcamper Kyrie

Perfect place for a weekend getaway

Kyrie F.
recommends this listing.
October 18th, 2021

It was beautiful! Easy beach access, friendly cats, and an overall eclectic nature experience.

A Place  to CampA Place  to CampA Place  to Camp
Hipcamper Harrison
Harrison L.
recommends this listing.
September 28th, 2021

We had a great time at the place to camp, it was quiet and the other few guests were amazing.

Hipcamper Gabriel
Gabriel T.
recommends this listing.
September 11th, 2021

Sweet people. Beautiful spot! Had a great stay!

Hipcamper Brennan
Brennan S.
recommends this listing.
September 1st, 2021

Its a beautiful family owned property! Family is kind and friendly. Location is great to access anything in the Big Sur area. Bring all your own supplies and be independent and you will have a blast. I would recommend this listing!

Hipcamper elina

Nice getaway that isn't so far away

Elina V.
recommends this listing.
August 30th, 2021

The site was very appealing. Loved being away from the other campers and weekend crowds. Loved the animals living on the land, the sound of the running water, the elevated terrain, and the garden. This was our first time there, so when we arrived, someone was there, but there wasn't much information exchange. What would have been most helpful is a posted map/layout of the area upon arrival. We were never greeted by a camp host, so I'm not sure who is in charge of the place. There's certainly room to make some improvements, but the *actual* place is beautiful, peaceful, and remote enough to feel like you're really unplugging. You forget you're near the hwy! A nice getaway, for sure.

Property
Home
State
California
Country
United States
$60/night
1 Site