Hipcamp host Chaz S.,
Hosted by
Chaz has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

So close, yet so secluded! Tahoe Mountain Camp is 10 minutes from Donner Summit and 15 to Donner Lake and Truckee. Located in the beautiful Tahoe National Forest on a large private and secure stretch of mountain evergreens. With 20 acres and only 50 sites, there is plenty of space between sites. We have about 10 swimming holes along the falls that run through about 1/2 mile

Read more...

So close, yet so secluded! Tahoe Mountain Camp is 10 minutes from Donner Summit and 15 to Donner Lake and Truckee. Located in the beautiful Tahoe National Forest on a large private and secure stretch of mountain evergreens. With 20 acres and only 50 sites, there is plenty of space between sites. We have about 10 swimming holes along the falls that run through about 1/2 mile from Camp, some sites listed are rugged, there are also remote 4x4 access only sites not listed, message me for info. A trail from camp will lead you up to Cascade, Kidd and Long Lakes and all the trails through Royal Gorge and Donner Summit. We have pure spring water to fill your tanks, as well as tables, chairs, ez up tents, and water jugs available. 

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans and truck campers, trailers, RVs
50 sites
Up to 6 guests per site
Park at listing
No ADA access
Essentials
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Fire ban in effect
Amenities
Potable water available
Kitchen available
Picnic table available
Bins available
No showers
No wifi
Laundry absent
Camping vehicle details
Generators allowed
No electrical hookup
No water hookup
No sewage hookup
No TV hookup
Pull-through site
Max length 45ft
Accommodates slideouts
Surface type: loose gravel
Surface levelness: requires leveling
Have a question? Send Chaz a message!
  • Check in: After 12PM
  • Check out: Before 11AM
  • Cancellation policy: Moderate
  • On arrival: Meet and greet
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 3 months out

You know what would make this trip even better?

Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to Tahoe Mountain Camp

$20
Goods

Coleman propane camp stove

Sorry no fires allowed at individual sites and if you need a stove and propan...Read more

Add to trip
Remove
0
max
$5
Rental

camp chairs

Folding chairs if needed

Add to trip
Remove
0
max
$10
Rental

large ice chest

Need more space for drinks and food?

Add to trip
Remove
0
max
$575
Rental

2 seat Polaris RZR 900 w Trailer

This Polaris has all the extras and will make for a fun day

Add to trip
Remove
0
max
$20
Rental

10x10 Pop up shade tent

Lightweight pop ups for extra shade

Add to trip
Remove
0
max
$10
Rental

6 foot folding table

Easy to set up table

Add to trip
Remove
0
max
$50
Experience

Guided hike or trail run.....

We will escort you on the hidden and iconic trails that Tahoe has to offer

Add to trip
Remove
0
max
$5
Rental

Lantern

Battery operated

Add to trip
Remove
0
max

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Paddling
Wind sports
Off-roading (OHV)
Climbing
Swimming
Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Tahoe Mountain Camp in California.

Forest
Lake
Mountainous
River, stream, or...
Waterfall

131 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Raven

Trash & glass strewn. rude host

Raven T.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 20)
August 4th, 2020

Camp elsewhere! This campground was grossly misrepresented, overpriced and hosted by a man who was so condescending, rude and unsettling that we almost didn't stay the night. We attempted to follow instructions to go directly to our site once we reached the "campground" at the top of the hill if no one was there to check us in. We slowly drove the grounds trying to find our site number and instead found a mountaintop recently overlogged, huge heaps of trash and an old refrigerator in the riverbed. When we paused to assess our options, we were quickly approached by the host (Chaz) in a cart who immediately laid into me with aggressive, condescending and somewhat incoherent directives about where I supposed to have stopped to check in (there were no signs and no one present) and where we should have known to stop and camp. We were finally able to get him to point us to where we should pitch our tent, since we deduced from his nervous talking that our site was not actually available or didn't exist at all (?) When he circled back later we asked for water, which is listed as one of the amenities, the host gestured to the back of his cart as if that's where the water was, but when I pointed out that nothing was there he assured me that he would be back around soon with water for us. He never returned. 
A couple more relevant details~
*The next morning we discovered that the ground was covered in broken glass. 
*There were 2 pairs of porto potties, all of them were SO FULL! The piles of poo were less than 12 inches from the seat itself. Health Hazard. 
*There's a train close by that is loud and regularly traveled. Good info if you're a light sleeper.

I've HipCamped a lot and this was by far the worst experience I've ever had.
Awful. Just awful.

Hipcamper Boris

False adverts at its best

Boris Z.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 17)
August 14th, 2020

We arrived expecting a quiet campground in the woods, what we found was an excavated and bulldozed dirt plot sandwiched between a freeway and train tracks. Yes, you hear freight trains pass by all night long and it’s LOUD. And there’s a constant sound of traffic.

Dirt is everywhere, in your eyes, nose, mouth and yes feet. Food, car, tent, clothes were covered and every car that passes adds another dirt cloud. Add to that two small kids and nonexistent potable water specified in the listing and you get hell!

No drinking water, filthy ports potties, uneven tent plots and clouds of dirt, this was a nightmare.

Okay, you see a lake in the cover of this listing? There is none. Unless you are willing to hike for three hours uphill and through the woods in the dirt. Or pay $12 each for Doran Lake public beach.

Chaz is a money hungry narcissist that decided to make a milking cow out of this property by bulldozing a beautiful patch of local woods and plopping event tables here and there. With no regard to nature. We felt like we spent the night on a construction site. Not even putting minimal effort into making decent tent sites or making it in way nice.

For less money I could have stayed at any of the beautiful well-kept campgrounds right next to Lake Tahoe.

Never again!

Hipcamper Chaz
Response from Chaz, the Host, on August 16th, 2020

Boris, you have quite the flair for drama! We can agree that you don’t want to be here and that’s fine with me. Looking at other reviews, you are an outlier and I don’t appreciate the name calling and attack on my character. I wish you well and hope you find a happy place!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Joseph

Did not feel safe

Joseph R.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 42)
August 6th, 2020

We would not suggest staying here. We did not feel safe. Inappropriate gun shots with no explanation. We left in the middle of the night. It was a pretty awful experience.

Hipcamper Chaz
Response from Chaz, the Host, on August 8th, 2020

Sorry to hear that your experience was not as expected. We had a bear in camp raiding food that was left out. We did our best to warn campers and that we would be in bear patrol and possibly shooting a warning shot to scare the bear off. I apologize that you didn’t get that message. We have extensive gun safety protocol. Sorry again for your below par experience.

Helpful
3
Helpful
3
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Victor

Great location.

Victor C.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Site 14)
July 27th, 2020

Great location for this tent site. Little bit noisy at night thought since there is a train coming back every hour and you can hear it loud and clear.

Hipcamper Chaz
Response from Chaz, the Host, on August 12th, 2020

Hi Victor, I’ve been staying here now for over 6 weeks and the train has never come every hour. Some nights it may come 4-5 times but that is rare. Most nights it come 1-3 times. I’d hope you come back and have one of those nights. Sorry I wish I could have them come less.

Helpful
1
Helpful
1
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Amy

Could be nice but he has some work

Amy H.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Site 24)
August 1st, 2020

I asked what sites were for travel trailers and he said all 50. We get there and our site was no where near acceptable for our camper. Not big enough at all. The next day we were able to move to a much better that fit our travel trailer. Trash dumpster is a mile away down the road. Still working on getting water on site. We were under the impression that a lake was close by. It is a hike up hill for a mile and 1/2. I think he opened prematurely. You must clear your own site. The area to park is there but find and clear where you want your tent. Dusty powdery sites and roads. He is working on wood chips to put down.

Hipcamper Angie

False advertising. rude host.

Angie B.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 20)
August 4th, 2020

This campground is woefully misrepresented on hipcamp. After finding our way up the hill, we followed the written instructions to continue on to our campsite number if no one was there to check us in.
During our little drive about the campground we realized that this place had most likely just been logged. We didn't find our campsite since apparently our campsite number did not exist (more on that later), but what we did find were giants heaps of construction trash around the campground and a refrigerator dumped in the river bed near where we eventually were told to pitch our tent.
The host, Chaz, rushed up to us in his golf cart just as the sun was setting and berated my wife for not knowing where to stop to check in (no signs, no one was there) and proceeded to talk down and condescend to her for several minutes until she finally was able to ask him where our site was. His answer was incoherent and then he proceeded to look around as if on the spot and pointed behind where are car was stopped, saying that this was our campsite and the campsite numbers get moved around but also that this wasn't an actual camping spot (???)... he then tried to sell us on how it was the "best" campsite.. which in the morning we discovered was littered with broken glass. The host was so rude and weird to us that, had the campground not been filled with other campers, we would have left. Speaking of a very populated campground.. there were 2 pairs of portopotties all were extremely full (the pile was about 12 inches from the seat). We had also asked Chaz for water (as potable water is listed as one of the amenities) he pointed to his cart and said "See the back of my cart, I have it right here" .. but there wasn't anything there which we pointed out immediately, and he assured us he would bring us some, which he never did. There was also a really loud and regular train, but that was the least of our discomforts. Would not recommend this site to anyone, especially at this outrageous price.

Hipcamper Sheridan
Sheridan L.
recommends this listing.
September 7th, 2020

An amazing trip ! The site has these amazing swimming holes and waterfalls that are so underrated! Chaz made our trip so memorable, he was nice and a fun guy always checking in. Felt very safe. A great campground for young adults! A Labor Day weekend well spent. !!!

Tahoe Mountain Camp
Hipcamper Ashley
Ashley S.
recommends this listing.
(Site 13)
July 17th, 2020

Unbelievable campsite, great for a nice get away from town! It was a perfect campsite where you felt like you were in the mountains and really could enjoy a peaceful experience! Chez was one of the best camp host I have ever come across, definitely would recommend and will definitely be going back in the future!

Hipcamper Chaz
Response from Chaz, the Host, on July 27th, 2020

Thanks so much! Enjoyed meeting you, plz come see us again!

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Madison
Madison M.
recommends this listing.
(Site 24)
August 9th, 2020

Hands down great experience! The site is gorgeous and Chaz is so welcoming and accommodating. I highly recommend this location for couples, solo, and/or families. We will definitely be back soon; and next time, I’m renting the Polaris from them 😉

Property
Charles S.’s Land
State
California
Country
United States
$55/night
50 Sites