Hipcamp host Dustin S.,
Hosted by
Dustin has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

This is primative camping, some glamping, and hike to camp. You may choose your own camp site or use a designated one. The park is 14 acres, only three sites are ope offering more privacy. The best site for longer vehicles is site 1 or 3. For site 2 you must hike 150' from parking unless you have four wheel drive. A composting privey is a short distance from each site. The h

Read more...

This is primative camping, some glamping, and hike to camp. You may choose your own camp site or use a designated one. The park is 14 acres, only three sites are ope offering more privacy. The best site for longer vehicles is site 1 or 3. For site 2 you must hike 150' from parking unless you have four wheel drive. A composting privey is a short distance from each site. The hiking trail down to Dark Hollow Branch is difficult with an elevation change of around 200 feet. The park features beautiful mountain views and small waterfalls. One of the unique bonuses of Dark Hollow is you can sometimes hear the lions roaring or wolves howling from the sanctuary located a mile away.

Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans and truck campers, trailers
4 sites
Up to 20 guests per site
Park at listing
Wheelchair access
Essentials
Campfires allowed
Toilet available
Pets allowed
Amenities
Potable water available
Bins available
No kitchen
No showers
No picnic table
No wifi
Laundry absent
Camping vehicle details
Generators allowed
No electrical connection
No water connection
No sewage dump point
No TV hookup
Pull-in site
Max length 34ft
Accommodates slideouts
Surface type: grass or field
Surface levelness: requires leveling
Have a question? Send Dustin a message!
  • Check in: After 1PM
  • Check out: Before 12PM
  • Cancellation policy: Strict
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 18 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 6% off

You know what would make this trip even better?

Take advantage of these offers available to add to your trip to Dark Hollow Park

$8

Firewood bundle

Start your trip off right with a bundle of firewood. We give you enough wood ...Read more

Add to trip
Remove
0
max

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Hiking
Paddling
Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Dark Hollow Park in Alabama.

Swimming hole

Small waterhole below waterfall where you can cool off. Not large enough for full on swimming but great for a dip!

Waterfall

There are several small waterfalls on the property.

Forest
Mountainous
River, stream, or...

73 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Traci

Waterless, overgrown, trash

Traci J.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Site 1)
September 12th, 2021

Our directions to the site were good but things were not like we anticipated when we arrived. There was a vehicle, a tarp lean-to and a laundry line with items on it. I contacted Dustin to let him know someone was at our site. He said those were his items and his broken down vehicle.
There was a large bag of trash on the site, overgrown grass in and around the fire ring and the water was turned off at the meter. I contacted Dustin to let him know and 30 minutes later he messaged back and he said apparently no one paid the water bill and he hadn’t checked it. He offered me $5.
We paid extra for firewood and had large logs that wouldn’t catch as the firewood provided. We had to gather sticks from the woods.
Overall, we are determined people and made a night of it listening to the lions and enjoying the starry night. We decided not to attempt the trail advertised in the listing because of the lack of maintenance on the site we knew the trail was probably worse. We did go to the trail head near sites 2-4 and they had piles of trash.
It appears this location has gone downhill since all the reviews in 2020. It is a beautiful view but otherwise not as listed.

Our camp for the night Water source was turned offGrass knee high and logs too large for a good fire We set up at site 1
Hipcamper James
James G.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
September 9th, 2021

Awesome as usual!

Hipcamper Eliza

Do not go

Eliza M.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Site 2)
August 20th, 2021

This place was not as described, full of broken glass and trash, I left and didn't stay. I can't get a reply from the guy or a refund. I paid in advance for wood that just wasn't there... A TOTAL ripoff, trying to report to HipCamp, don't got there!!

Hipcamper Dustin
Response from Dustin, the Host, on September 2nd, 2021

Sorry as we only had one message from you only asking about the location of the campsites we were not aware of the glass at the time but we have already cleaned it do to some not sharing our love for the trees and dumping illegally at our site. Moving on, after review we will not be refunding due to the fact our records do not show a booking for your profile i am sorry you did not enjoy your experience, have a nice a day!

Helpful
1
Helpful
1
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Mike

Escape from the florida summer!

Mike W.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
August 9th, 2021

Dark Hollow Park was a refreshing stop off the beaten path. We camped in August and the temperature dipped into the high 60’s at night which made it comfortable for sleeping. The view of several rolling mountain ranges was great, a tiny little hike from the fire pit took you down to a running creek that was ice cold.

Overall it was a sweet spot and we enjoyed our stay.

Dark Hollow ParkDark Hollow Park
Hipcamper Chris
Chris C.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
May 24th, 2021

Dark Hollow Park is all that you could ask for—beautiful views, easy and accessible camping spots, a well-stocked fire pit, privacy, and a cacophony of wildlife sounds at dusk and dawn. We pulled in and set up camp, retiring to the back of our station wagon for sleep. It was perfect. And we’ll be back.

Hipcamper Alex
Alex E.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
May 24th, 2021

Beautiful, peaceful and spiritual place.

Hipcamper Camilla
Camilla M.
recommends this listing.
(Site 2)
May 14th, 2021

The Summit feels like you are camping at the top of Pride Rock (Lion King). It is a gorgeous site with plenty of room and lots of good hammock trees. Bathroom facilities are clean and private. You can hear the road but not see it. Definitely could see us camping here again in the future. 10/10

Hipcamper christina
Christina R.
recommends this listing.
(Site 3)
May 3rd, 2021

This place is awesome
We had a wonderful time and will definitely go back

Hipcamper Graham

Peaceful

Graham F.
recommends this listing.
(Site 1)
May 3rd, 2021

Wonderful place!

Awards

Best in 2021 Alabama
Finalist
Property
Dark Hollow Park
State
Alabama
Country
United States
$30/night
4 Sites