100%
2 Ratings · 16 reviews
Avatar
Sue F.recommends
August 28, 2022
Dragonfly
A peaceful stay with quirky facilities. Very thought out interior of the shepherds hut which added to an enjoyable short break
Avatar
Jack C.recommends
June 24, 2022
Kingfisher
Incredible week away from the city!
My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at the kingfisher lake house. The photos really don’t prepare you for how lovely it is in person. I thought the fresh flowers were a lovely touch, as well as the Welsh cakes (which I single-handedly devoured!). What really made our stay was the abundance of wildlife we experienced on the lake. Every day we went out on an excursion we’d be so excited to return back to a welcoming committee of cows, ducks and an overly friendly moorhen - which would eagerly follow us around the cabin waiting for the tiniest crumb of bread which it would rush back to its baby. All day, every day the swallows would swoop down on the lake which was so relaxing to watch and come dusk they would switch out for a show stopping finale of bats which danced around the lake catching bugs until it was so dark you could no longer see them. It was truly magical experience! My absolute highlight of the stay was when we were about to push off in the canoe for a lap of the lake. My boyfriend tapped the front of the canoe and jokingly called to the moorhen looking down at us from the deck “You coming?” and to our great surprise hopped straight on and joined us for a ride before jumping ship half way through to tend to its offspring. We did giggle! Thank you for creating such a wonderful escape to nature.
Avatar
Gareth C.recommends
July 3, 2021
Kingfisher
Stayed in the Kingfisher - which floats on the edge of a beautiful lake. It’s on a working farm but is tranquil, private, and secluded. The accommodation is clean, comfortable, and characterful - with strong emphasis on the amazing views, and an absence of modern intrusions such as TV and WiFi. The hosts were very welcoming - and kept us stocked with ice packs for the cooler. Lots of interesting places nearby with the amazing Pembrokeshire coast a 15 minute drive away, and many castles, and pre-historic sites to explore. Had a wonderful trip and loved swimming and canoeing in the lake, while watching the abundance of wildlife.
Avatar
Molly C.recommends
June 24, 2021
Kingfisher
It is the most peaceful and relaxing place we have ever stayed. If you are going to the dragonfly I 100% recommend staying in the kingfisher as you are on the water. We were lucky with the hot weather and it was stunning. You have everything you need in there, be aware it is the minimum of things but it’s all you need. The pub up the road is lovely also and has a nice outside seating area. If you are looking for a place to stay to unwind and to get away from TV and phones and all the other hectic things in life go here. Will be re recommending to everyone I know and I will be returning.
Avatar
Natalie D.recommends
June 13, 2021
Dragonfly
I had a wonderful few nights in the cosy Shepherd’s Hut. The Welsh cakes and fresh milk were a lovely welcoming touch. Every detail had been thought of - it was perfect. Sitting out on the porch listening to the birds as the sun set was just wonderful. The bed was so comfy - I slept like a log. I will be back to visit again as soon as I can!
Avatar
Amelia C.
September 27, 2020
We stayed in the Shepard's Hut for two nights at the end of September. The hut itself was super cosy and had everything you would need (coffee maker, pots, pans, a coolbox etc). I would advise anyone trying out the 'bush bath' to be patient with the process of getting it up to heat - but it was totally worth it in the end! Bathing under the stars and listening to the sounds of the owl calls was magical (we even saw a shooting star!). The shower in the separate horsebox was functional, though the trips out to the loo left us with chilly feet (would advise bringing wellies and a dressing gown). Altogether a lovely remote getaway with access to the unbounded beauty of the area, would definitely recommend!
Avatar
Katie ?.
September 26, 2019
This is a very special place . 4 girls at Kingfisher in September - it exceeded our expectations . The double bed was so comfortable, the lake bracing for a swim but worth it. To eat outside under the verandah and just talk about life - just unbelievable. We shall return - thank you.
Avatar
Lesley F.recommends
July 6, 2019
Kingfisher
The pictures do not really do it justice. 4 people would be cosy. The quirky little decorations were wonderful. The owners were very relaxed and trusting. I could spend hours here watching the light and birds change as the day goes along. Brilliant if you have teenagers who need to revise/read!!!!Top of my list to come again. Thank you so much for a much needed quiet place.
Avatar
Samantha S.recommends
May 22, 2019
Kingfisher
My husband and I stayed here fore my 30th birthday and it was the best decision. Nicola and Bruce were incredibly helpful throughout the booking and stay. I was left speechless as we arrived up to the property, I haven't stayed anyway quite as spectacular as this. It was beautifully secluded and tastefully decorated. There were fresh flowers, milk and welshcakes upon our arrival which was a lovely additional touch. The bed was very comfy and looked straight out onto the lake, which was perfect to wake up and go for a swim. It was a really amazing experience to be so close to nature but still have the comfort and luxury of the lodge. I couldn't recommend this place more and I am already looking at when I can next book. There were absolutely no faults for me, Perfect trip.
Avatar
Amadeusz S.
May 18, 2019
The houseboat on a lake is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed in. No internet, quietness and a wood burner are like a complete retreat from the struggles of every day life and a travel back in time. The host was really kind and helpful, providing all that we needed and even left us some absolutely amazing Welsh biscuits, fresh flowers and wood for the fireplace. Truly recommend!
Avatar
Lisa T.recommends
May 14, 2019
Kingfisher
Our stay at the Kingfisher boathouse was simply the best; beautiful and so peaceful with only farm animals and wildlife as neighbours. We took our kayaks and had a paddle around the lake, which was lovely. We did not want to leave. Amazing to think this place is only 20 minutes away from home; we will definitely be returning.
Avatar
Lesley ?.
September 25, 2018
This place is just magical. From the moment we arrived to the moment we, sadly, left I enjoyed every second The hut is extremely well appointed, bedding, kitchen area, wood burner. All fabulous. It’s so peaceful and the lake is wonderful to swim in. Watched the tiny ducks diving, the swallows feeding and the bats in the evening. Perfect, just perfect. I’m almost reluctant to leave a review because then other people might go and it gets too busy. We’ve been to a few places round the world but this really is at the top of my list of places to return to. Like one of the other reviewers I was a bit weepy to leave. Great weekend. Thank you
Avatar
Catherine G.
August 28, 2018
We arrived after a long drive including a breakdown on the motorway. As we turned the corner to the Kingfisher hut our breath was literally taken away. We were met with an extremely warm welcome and calming reassurance including a recommendation for a local (excellent) mechanic. Within minutes all the stress and strain of the journey was gone. We swam in the beautiful pond morning and night and woke to the ducklings happily swimming about in the morning. My highlight was seeing a kingfisher on our last day. I could not fault anything the warm welcome, comfortable and beautifully planned hut and the excellent Wales people and countryside. As we waved good bye I wanted to cry and only cheered up when I thought that we can and will be back as soon as possible.
Avatar
Paul ?.
August 9, 2018
Very secluded and in harmony with nature. We even glimpsed a kingfisher on our last day. It was like having a private piece of heaven and great fun for the kids with immediate access to the lake. thanks to Nicola for being a lovely host. Will certainly recommend to friends and family
Avatar
Neil ?.
July 23, 2018
With the hussle and bussle of everyday life, its easy to forget its the simple things in life are what really matter. The Kingfisher Houseboat is literally the perfect getaway. Waking up, lying in bed with the doors open, watching the swallows dive, the HUNDREDS of blue dragonfly, and the sound of absolute silence. There is literally nothing better. We have travelled all over the World, and stayed in some incredible places but this tops it all...and it was 10 minutes down the road from where we live. An absolute hidden gem. Stunning decor, a log fire, a tasty breakfast hamper, a canoe for the lake, a swing chair on the decking - Kingfisher has everything and Nicola and Bruce have thought of everything. I am racking my brain trying to find something that wasn't perfect. We shall definitely be returning! Thanks guys.