100%
6 Ratings · 22 reviews
Avatar
Pippa B.recommends
September 2, 2022
Lyra - Luxury 6m Bell Tent
Amazing. Hosts Olivia and Nigel are so welcoming and friendly and do everything they can to make your stay special. We loved the quiet and beautiful location, the pizza and BBQ nights, stargazing and the pool. What a special place to stay, no wonder guests return again and again - we will 😃
Avatar
Carmel T.recommends
August 21, 2022
Luna - Vintage Caravan
We cannot recommend this wonderful campsite enough - it is a little piece of heaven in a fantastic part of France. Our stay in the gorgeous caravan, Luna, was everything we wanted it to be - and more. It has been so lovingly refurbished and every little detail carefully thought about. It is so comfortable and we all slept brilliantly - snoozing until gone 8am - something usually unheard of on camping trips. Olivia and Nigel are wonderful hosts - so friendly and helpful. We will be returning! Thank you for a truly memorable and relaxing holiday. Carmel, Paul, Tabby & Naomi
Avatar
Olivia & Nigel S. (Host)
replied
August 23, 2022
Thank you Carmel, both for taking the time to leave your review and also for your very generous comments. We are genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and it was a real pleasure to meet such a charming family. Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday with us and we look forward to seeing you again sometime. Best wishes, Olivia and Nigel
Avatar
Peter E.recommends
August 4, 2021
Estelle - Luxury 5m Bell Tent
We had a wonderful stay at La Toile Sous Les Etoiles with our almost 2-year-old daughter. She loved looking for small insects and animals around our private garden (slugs, snails, spiders, grasshoppers...) and walking around freely everywhere on the campsite. The attention to detail of Olivia and Nigel is really remarkable. Everything looks great, works perfectly and is beautiful. Some examples: a handcart to get your luggage from the car parking to your tent, a welcome bottle of wine, a coolbox to get your stuff from and to the fridge, the quality of the private bathroom, the bread delivery service in the morning, the small shop at the reception, the warm welcome, the optional social events, tips and info for trips around the area, kindling wood for your personal fireplace... We'd really love to come back and have the experience for a 2nd time! We also definitely recommend La Toile Sous Les Etoiles for families with young children: they will love it! Thank you Olivia and Nigel, and see you next time!
Avatar
Olivia & Nigel S. (Host)
replied
August 4, 2021
Thank you Peter for your kind words.  It was a pleasure to have you and your family here to stay and we are delighted that you found everything so pleasing!  It was our vision to create a space where families can relax and have a fabulous holiday together and you have realised that dream for us.  We would love to welcome you back at any time!  Best wishes
Avatar
Katy B.
August 10, 2020
We had a fantastic week at La Toile with our two girls aged 3 and 6. It was everything we hoped for and more! The bell tents, spaciously set in a wild flower meadow with plenty of privacy, are well appointed, comfortable and beautifully decorated with antique French furniture and handmade touches. The outdoor kitchen with gas rings is a great addition and provided some much needed shade on hot days. We also loved cooking on our Kadai Fire bowl and toasting marshmallows in the evenings. The private bathroom, own fridge with cool box and swimming pool are a massive plus when camping, and set this site apart from others we were considering. The communal spaces have been sympathetically restored, and there are plenty of seating areas around the old barn if you want to eat a meal away from your tent. We particularly enjoyed the pizza night where you get to make your own pizza and watch it cook in the old bread oven. Olivia and Nigel are the perfect hosts, friendly and genuine, nothing seemed too much trouble. They gave us daily advice on places to go which were suitable for children. We went to several lovely lakes with beaches and a market, all within an hour's drive. There's also helpful information and leaflets in the reception area, and an honesty shop for any essentials, the ice creams were a winner with our girls. This is by far the best glamping experience we've had and we wouldn't hesitate to book again!
Avatar
Olivia & Nigel S. (Host)
replied
August 10, 2020
Thank you Katy, both for taking the time to leave us a review, and also for the fabulous comments.  We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your family with us and we will remember it fondly.  Your girls were a delight and the drawings they left for us have inspired a new 'gallery' idea for our website.  I hope you had a good journey home, and thank you for having the confidence to visit us in these uncertain times.  We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you here again.  Best wishes.
Avatar
David B.recommends
September 10, 2019
Galileo - Super 7m Luxury Bell Tent
La Toile was everything we had hoped for and we highly recommend it to anyone who is considering it. Firstly, the site was amazing. The field and tents were laid out in a very clever was to ensure privacy for the tents whilst the swimming pool / play area were a good place for the children to play and have fun. The tents was great. It had everything that we needed, the beds were comfortable and the Kadai fire bowl was great for cooking. Nigel and Olivia were amazing hosts. They always ensured we had everything that we needed and that we had plans for the day. The pizza evenings were great (you made your own and Nigel cooked them in the old bread oven) and enabled everyone to get to know each other. Within about an hour fro the campsite there were lots of places to visit and things to do. Closer by there were local markets and several walks form the campsite itself. Overall, we cannot recommend La Toile enough. We had such a fun, relaxing and enjoyable week, I'm sure we'll be back soon.
Avatar
Olivia & Nigel S. (Host)
replied
September 10, 2019
Thank you David, it's so rewarding to receive such a lovely review.  We are delighted that you and the family enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate all your kind comments. We very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime - we have lots of plans for next season, and beyond!  Best wishes...
Avatar
Shelly ?.
September 3, 2019
We were warmly welcomed by Nigel and Olivia on our arrival and they were the perfect hosts throughout our stay. A lovely bottle of fizz, home cooked cookies and a welcome bag for the kids were lovely touches and greatly appreciated when we first arrived. Every day Nigel and Olivia provided us with great tips on what to do and how to really make the most our stay. We all loved the pizza evening and the night we sat around the campfire chatting to the other guests whilst the kids toasted marshmallows and explored the starry sky with the help of Nigel telescope. The campsite itself is very peaceful and its easy to relax in the many spaces on offer throughout the campsite. The tents are beautifully decorated (as are all areas) and Inside the tent you will find absolutely everything you would need. There was a fire pit to cook on as well as an additional range in the barn so it made cooking very easy and convenient. Its a wonderful place to relax, take in nature, let children run wild and to make new friends.
Avatar
Olivia & Nigel S. (Host)
replied
September 3, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, and for your kind words.  We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, it was a pleasure having you here.  Hope that we may see you and the family again sometime...……….  With best wishes.
Avatar
Jonathan H.
August 22, 2019
This holiday was everything we hoped for and more. After a long drive down from Tours, we were relieved to find we had found the right place as we turned into the parking area only to be greeted with a personalised welcome sign designating our parking space. We then met our hosts Nigel and Olivia who went on to show us round the site and our amazing bell tent for the week. The welcome we received was above and beyond our expectations, with nice touches such as a bottle of fizz on arrival and goody bags for the kids. The homemade biscuits went down a treat! Olivia and Nigel have thought of everything..from your own dedicated bathroom and fridge to a bottle opener on the fridge room wall. The pizza nights are incredible, and as it was on the night we arrived it gave us a chance to meet everyone else. Our children enjoyed meeting the other children and loved the outdoor cinema and ice cream. We had a star gazing /marsh mellow toasting night which was thoroughly enjoyed by all, the children played with the other children to dusk and the adults enjoyed star gazing and looking through Nigel's telescope and chatting over a wine. We had a threat of storms one night and Nigel set up a movie for the children and the adults sampled local cheese and wine. The next morning the weather was a little grim and Nigel treated everyone to fresh croissants/choc au pains. Our boys loved the swimming pool, games area and catching bugs in the bug jar Nigel had made. Our little boys made some lovely friendships and got the most out of every minute of the day playing with their new friends in the meadow but we knew they were in sight. Memories they have made on this holiday i am sure will last them a life time. We definitely hope to be back. ps we are missing noodle the dog!
Avatar
Olivia & Nigel S. (Host)
replied
August 22, 2019
Thank you for your review Jonathan, much appreciated.  We very much enjoyed welcoming you and your family to our little piece of France and we are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday, our dream is being realised as we witnessed you and your boys enjoying themselves, their confidence with the creepy crawlies growing daily and Noodle is missing all the attention!  WE would love to see you again, Best wishes.
Avatar
Paul ?.
August 17, 2019
Our stay with Nigel and Olivia was a real treat, the tents were comfortable and well furnished and the location was beautiful and very relaxing. Nigel and Olivia, seem to be constantly working on ideas to make their guests stay as enjoyable as possible - home made pizza night (great for socialising), star-gazing etc. The site is very safe allowing children to explore and make friends. 20 guests in total which means that the campsite is friendly and not too busy. Deserves the 5 star reviews - we'd love to return to this camp site.
Avatar
Olivia & Nigel S. (Host)
replied
August 17, 2019
Thank you Paul, both for taking the time to leave your review and for the lovely compliments.  We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and would love to welcome you back sometime ------ more developments in the pipeline for 2020!  We very much hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in France.  Best wishes.
Avatar
Sam T.recommends
August 12, 2019
Aurora - Luxury 6m Bell Tent
If you are looking for bespoke and exclusive (only x6 pitches) glamping in the heart of France then La Toile Sous Les Etoiles is the place for you. Nigel and Olivia have thought of everything! From personalised washrooms to fridges to outdoor cinemas to communal pizza nights to fire pits to BBQs to French chic furniture to comprehensive utensils to swimming pools to outdoor games to even a solar shower - it is all here! They are very welcoming hosts and if you get lucky with your fellow campmates the children will all run free playing together well into dusk and beyond giving you time to kick back and relax together under the stars. We were just passing through for three nights but could easily have done more. Thanks again!
Avatar
Olivia & Nigel S. (Host)
replied
August 12, 2019
Thank you Sam!  It was lovely to meet you and your family and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.  It was a joy to witness all the children getting along so well, relishing their freedom and looking out for each other. Our dog is missing the attentions of your youngest and we will treasure our photos of them together!  I hope the rest of your trip went smoothly and that the special birthday went well...…… Best wishes.  
Avatar
Inez G.
July 19, 2019
We had a lovely stay in the Cassini tent. Actually it was amazing. We loved our spot in the far corner of the wildflower meadow, the way the lights changed throughout the day, the smell of the grass, the coolness at night. The tents are beautifully decorated with lots of attention to detail. What a wonderful place created by very welcoming hosts. I wholeheartedly recommend staying here!
Avatar
Olivia & Nigel S. (Host)
replied
July 19, 2019
Thank you Inez, for both your review and for coming here!  We are so glad you and the family had a good time and hope that we will welcome you back again sometime (or maybe we'll be neighbours!?).  Best wishes.
Avatar
Amy G.
July 15, 2019
This is a truly fantastic hidden spot and I couldn’t recommend it highly enough! 100% worth the effort of a little extra driving to get away from the touristy strongholds. From our arrival our hosts made sure we had everything we needed, recommended places to explore and even helped us out of a tight spot when we realised every single super market in France is closed on a Sunday afternoon. The tents are luxurious and every teeny detail has been thought out. You can choose total privacy in the spacious areas around your tent, or choose to hang out by the pool or in the shade of the barn.. The showers are hot and powerful - though we would recommend an eco friendly solar shower in the evening light of the meadow! One night we made pizza in the traditional French bread oven (400c!!) with our fellow guests - a fantastic evening sitting at the long table under the apple trees, chatting, drinking vin rouge and enjoying the delicious food carefully prepared by our hosts. On another we lit a fire in the fire bowl under a magnificent old oak, drank our complimentary fizz, listened to owls and stared up at the magnificent Milky Way, before retreating into the absolute luxury of our linen sheets - the tent lit by gentle solar powered lamps and fairy lights. Tranquil, magical, peaceful and somewhere I immediately wanted to bring people to experience. Thank you Olivia and Nigel!
Avatar
Olivia & Nigel S. (Host)
replied
July 15, 2019
Thank you Amy, and Sam, for your lovely comments.  We loved meeting you both and are so pleased you had a good time, it was great to witness your enjoyment of our little corner of France and we very much hope that we can welcome you back sometime.  
Avatar
Rebecca M.
August 20, 2018
A field of wild flowers, six bell tents, the most incredible star filled sky at night. We've had the most wonderful week. Outdoor cinema night for the children, make your own pizza nights, star gazing nights. Olivia and NIgel have made this Glamping site truly special. If you choose to venture out and explore, there are some very pretty towns, the countryside is magnificent and the river offers canoeing and gorgeous walks. However, you could quite easily stay at La Toile Sous Les Etoiles all day and play badminton or lounge by the pool and soak up the sun and scenery!! Can't wait to return.
Avatar
Olivia & Nigel S. (Host)
replied
August 20, 2018
Thank you Rebecca, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and it was a pleasure to have you and your family here for the week.  We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you here again in the not too distant future.  Best wishes.
Avatar
Amanda D.
August 18, 2018
If you’re thinking of glamping I can’t recommend this place highly enough. The hosts Olivia & Nigel really have thought of everything & go to great lengths to make you feel welcome & to provide lots of things to make your stay easy. A bottle of fizz on ice upon arrival, a designated fridge with milk & cool blocks, our own cool box to use whilst here, our own designated bathroom (one for each family here)! Bath & pool towels. Condiments, oil, seasoning, communal kitchen & eating area (group pizza night Veri sociable & loads of fun) plus your own fantastic Kadai fire bowl to cook on when you want to, plus gas ring, kettle, pans, cutlery, crockery. There’s even a little honestly shop with basic provisions if you don’t want to go to the supermarket! All you need to do is turn up with your suitcase! We will definitely return, a truly outstanding experience.
Avatar
Olivia & Nigel S. (Host)
replied
August 18, 2018
Thank you Amanda, your comments are truly appreciated.  I'm only sorry you and your family weren't able to stay longer, but we very much look forward to welcoming you here again.  Best wishes.  
Avatar
Tracey T.
July 18, 2018
I recently ran a drive activity in central France for Land Rover and the perfect accommodation was critical to our programme. La Toile Sous Les Etoiles surpassed all expectations and our guests loved the luxury camping concept. The accommodation and facilities are exceptional. Olivia and Nigel were the perfect hosts and we were all sad to leave. I am heading back soon, it's the perfect get-away.
Avatar
Vignola F.
July 17, 2018
We spent four lovely days at La Toile sous les Etoiles just after school break up. We were seeking out the full camping experience but lack our own full kit, so finding this place really was a treat. We wanted for nothing at all, it was like being in a hotel but under the stars - comfy beds, beautiful crockery, practically an entire kitchen's worth of kit for us to cook with, and the list could go on forever. There is so much thought that has gone into every detail here, to make the experience comfortable and pleasurable. My girls ran around like wild things all week, practicing their independence by finding their own way to the loo, or playing with the resident pooch Noodle. They made up their own adventures, and of course with the pool they could swim all day and we could relax with them, and I didn't have to fall back on the electronic babysitter once in the whole trip! They felt so comfortable that by the end they were referring to our fellow guests as family! This is a testament to the amazing hospitality shown to us by Nigel and Olivia, their passion and love for what they do is so evident in everything here, we really felt completely at home. You will be wowed and touched by the attention to detail everywhere you look. The icing on the cake (actually it was all pretty special, it's hard to single anything out) was a lovely last night pizza party, making our own and having them cooked in the bread oven. Four days was not enough! We will be back for sure, hopefully regularly, this is the ideal place to wind down, get some clean air and peace, and also be in and around one of the most beautiful parts of the world. If you love camping, but are put off by needing to cart your own gear, this is your place. It has everything you want and more for a magical and relaxing holiday that everyone will love.