100%
13 Ratings · 19 reviews
Avatar
Rich L.recommends
July 23, 2022
Achak Tipi. Romantic Adult Escape
Who needs Sri Lanka anyway?
Our honeymoon was canceled at the last minute, so we decided to take a long weekend and stumbled upon Camp Mela. When we arrived we were greeted with Maddie's beaming smile and positivity. She went through everything and seemed over the moon to be hosting us. The teepees were amazing, our biggest worry was that the temperature would be freezing at night and boiling through the day, but they were wonderful throughout. The facilities were more than we expected, everything was clean and well equipped. There was plenty of room in the fridges for our BBQ food (and a co-op around the corner if you need more!) A compostable toilet was a nice alternative to the horrible chemical ones you sometimes get at campsites. BUT the main star was the open-air shower which was incredible! There was a communal cooking fire in the center and every tent had its own, smaller fire to watch the sun go down next to. Honestly, I can say it was wonderful from start to finish. As a place to meditate and disconnect from the world, it was perfect to watch the sunset sent with a bottle of wine as the embers flickered. Somehow as we watched the horses in the next field play in the dusk each night, all the heartbreak of our lost honeymoon evaporated. It was the perfect break. R&C
Avatar
Annabelle ?.
August 6, 2021
My partner and I stayed at the Camp Mela for 2 nights a few weeks back and were absolutely blown away. We were blessed with gorgeous weather and were lucky enough to have the whole site to ourselves! Maddie & Nick were truly excellent hosts and even offered to assist us in building our campfire! It’s such a magical space and I really would recommend it to anyone and everyone. Can’t wait to visit again in the future.
Avatar
Maddie & Nick .. (Host)
replied
August 6, 2021
Thank you Annabelle for taking time to write such a lovely review - you’ve really captured the essence of the place! Thrilled you had a beautiful time staying with us.. look forward to welcoming you again.
Avatar
Gillian A.recommends
July 20, 2021
MAHKA~ Magical Escape
Just spent 3 lovely days at the tipis! The tipis themselves were well equipped and clean and spacious. There was a lovely fire pit for us to enjoy and the outside shower was such a lovely addition. This really was a very blissful few days only wish we could’ve stayed longer!
Avatar
Maddie & Nick .. (Host)
replied
July 20, 2021
Hi Gillian, thank you so much for writing a review!I’m so pleased you loved your stay and felt the magic of the place. Happy to have you for longer next time!
Avatar
Peter G.recommends
June 29, 2021
MAHKA~ Magical Escape
We woke early to the sound of birdsong and made bacon sarnies in the nicely equipped kitchen. We loved the freedom of the open-air shower before heading off to explore the area - beautiful countryside with walks (and pubs) in all directions. We used the kitchen again in the evening before lighting the fire pit and watching the sun go down. The tipi was perfect - spacious, with a wooden floor, comfortable bed and huge warm duvet. Little solar lights came on at night so that we weren’t in total darkness. As the fire dimmed and the sun disappeared below the horizon, we heard the first owl-calls - wonderful. A perfect break - totally chilled.
Avatar
Maddie & Nick .. (Host)
replied
June 29, 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review … I’ve loved reading about your experience at camp. Yes, so many owls! 
Avatar
Alli ?.
June 17, 2021
Never tried Glamping before and really enjoyed it. The Tepee was spacious enough. The bed/mattress was hard (but fine for me). All the facilities were accessible, kitchen, utensils were handy and the outdoor shower was great. However the compost toilets not entirely my thing but it does fit with the experience / nature. The grass was quite high onsite i.e. around the tepees which wasn't always great/pleasant i.e. table and chairs, but manageable.. Location wise, it was 20/30mins drive from costal walks and beaches which was great. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend it for a break away / weekend if you love being with mother nature.
Avatar
Maddie & Nick .. (Host)
replied
June 17, 2021
Hi Alli, thank you for taking time to leave a review - it’s really appreciated. Honoured that we were your first ever glamping experience too!
Avatar
Caroline L.recommends
June 9, 2021
Achak Tipi. Romantic Adult Escape
The site is everything you would want and could hope from a weekend tipi experience. Maddie and Nick have done an incredible job at making the site an ideal location for a weekend (or more) gateway to experience Norfolk. The site itself is perfectly catered with the kitchen, showers and toilets. The tipis are VERY comfortable and the main tipi + fire pit are great spots to hang out. Thank you again for a wonderful time - we will be back !
Avatar
Alison O.recommends
June 7, 2021
MAHKA~ Magical Escape
We could not have loved our stay with Maddie more! The site was perfectly outfitted for our group of 10 - each of the tipis were beautifully curated, with incredibly comfy beds. We had a mix of sun and rain for our stay, but the 'living room' tipi saved us on our one rainy evening! The property itself is great, well spaced out and with beautiful sunsets from the central firepit. We took advantage of some local walks, but the coast and broads are also easily accessible within driving distance for a day trip. Would 100% recommend and our group hopes to be back next year - thank you for everything!
Avatar
Nicholas M.
March 7, 2021
Wonderful,wonderful,wonderful!!!! From start to finish my three day stay was exactly what I needed! Maddie and Nick were so welcoming, informative and lovely to meet! Once shown the beautiful facilities I was then presented with my luxurious tipi. Perfect!! My own fire pit outside for cooking on or just staring into the flames . The kitchen, showers, loos so clean and thought out so well! And I never realised how stunning Norfolk is! Especially this part! I returned home feeling so uplifted and refreshed. Can’t wait to see Maddie and Nick again. Definitely going to return!!!
Avatar
Amanda W.
October 1, 2020
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Camp Mela. We were blessed with good weather and really made the most of being outside. We cooked dinner on our fire pit, went for lake swims and lovely walks. The tipis themselves are stunning, traditionally crafted structures. Beautifully furnished inside with gorgeous Egyptian cotton sheets, this is definitely a bucket list glamping experience for the summer. All the lovely furniture, crockery and decor was vintage and all the structures crafted from reclaimed wood and the bamboo outdoor shower was a joy to use. These thoughtful details gave the site a beautiful energy. A lot of love has gone into creating this place by it's friendly owners Nick and Maddie, who greeted us warmly with a big smile. If you're a couple or group of friends looking for a retreat to unwind, I would recommend it wholeheartedly.
Avatar
Maddie & Nick .. (Host)
replied
October 1, 2020
Thank you so much Amanda for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed  your stay so much -It’s what it’s all about! It was a pleasure to meet you all and hope to welcome you again next season.
Avatar
Claudia C.
September 18, 2020
We spent the bank holiday weekend here for a 40th birthday and largely had a great time. However we have been left with a sour taste in our mouth - having had to sleep in leaky tipis that did not resemble anything like the pictures depicted on the website, the most disappointing thing was the response (and lack of) from the owners. Having all left our various bases to get to Norfolk (some coming from Wales) we were called on our journey to suggest we reschedule, which was obviously impossible. This caused unnecessary anxiety! Rain in England is inevitable, and so you would expect precautions would be made on a glamping site, however this was not the case. It is a massive shame that the owners were so defensive and did not respond to our last email. I can’t therefore recommend this place as you can’t be sure of great customer care.
Avatar
Maddie & Nick .. (Host)
replied
September 18, 2020
Thank you Claudia for taking the time to write. We have listened to your comments and taken them onboard. Firstly, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. This has not been the experience of any of our other guests. I sympathise, nobody likes to camp when there is a massive storm!  Unfortunately your stay coincided with the worst Storm (Ellen) to hit the UK in years. 11am  that morning we phoned the booking member of your group and offered a full refund of £1475 or option to move the dates of your choice. I’m sorry your group felt unable to accept this offer or the offer of a complimentary weekend stay in 2021.
Avatar
Sj L.
September 14, 2020
This was a nice weekend away. Tipis were nicely kitted out and there was a full kitchen wagon to use with tea and coffee. Good location with North Norfolk Coast nearby. The only downside was the Allday Brewing Company, which was part of the attraction for us. Service was slow and they had a very limited selection of beers available as they were running down their beers.
Avatar
Maddie & Nick .. (Host)
replied
September 14, 2020
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to comment.... we  really appreciate your feedback.  It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Tipi and made the most of the location.Just to let you know , the  All Day Brewing Company is a separate business from us, therefore beyond our control. I believe they were reducing their brews for the oncoming winter season. I promise to whisper in Simon’s ear and ask him to brew much more beer please’! As All Day Beers are very popular!!!
Avatar
Sean C.
August 30, 2020
Amazing tranquil location and beautiful, comfortable tipis. Perfect mix of nature, outdoors and the right amount of comfort (lots). We had a lovely time in spite of bad luck with the weather. Nick and Maddie were great and there when needed. Would recommend the breakfast box. Will definitely be back
Avatar
Eleanor G.recommends
August 27, 2020
Achak Tipi. Romantic Adult Escape
Four of us stayed here for a long weekend and absolutely loved it. The tipis were cosy and every little thing had been thought of. We loved the outdoor hot showers and spent every evening cooking round the communal fire with newfound friends from other tipis. Can't recommend it highly enough
Avatar
Valerie C.
August 27, 2020
Maddie and Nick were great hosts. Everything was better than we expected. The bed was really comfortable with lovely cotton bedding and fluffy towels. The showers and kitchen area had everything we needed and more. Was great to use the fire pit outside our tipi and use the communal pit to chat to the other people staying. The sky was very clear and you could see so many stars. Was also lovely to try the craft beers and the veg curry on the farm. The village of Reepham was beautiful and we had breakfast in Sarah’s cafe. We did not have the best of weather but the tipi survived storm Francis.
Avatar
Liam D.recommends
August 27, 2020
MAPIYA TIPI ~ Magical Escape
We absolutely loved our stay at Camp Mela. The tipi was immaculate and amazingly furnished with a large comfortable double bed. The facilities were flawless and we particularly loved the outside shower! We used the communal kitchen to cook on a couple of evenings which was very easy. We also definitely recommend the brewery on site called ‘All Day Brewing Company’ which was a 30 second walk from the campsite. Overall we loved our stay and Maddie and Nick made us feel very welcome! Definitely would recommend!
Avatar
Maddie & Nick .. (Host)
replied
August 27, 2020
Thank you Liam for your great review! We really appreciate all the thoughtful comments you have shared. Thrilled that you really loved your stay here in Norfolk... it means a great deal to us. It was a pleasure to have you at camp - you are always welcome.