100%
17 Ratings · 15 reviews
Avatar
Emilee H.recommends
August 26, 2022
Safari Lodge
Glamping at Danni’s was perfectly, exactly what we were hoping for. With two families of young children and some university friends with a dog it really catered for all parties. The accommodation was exactly as advertised. The scenery was beautiful. The leavers breakfast was so tasty. Dani herself couldn’t have been more helpful and attentive. We absolutely loved our stay!
Avatar
Frances L.recommends
July 30, 2022
Glamping Pod
Stay in Pod
Arrival details are clear. On arrival we were shown to our pod which was amazing. Danni is friendly and welcoming. A problem was rectified promptly. Peaceful, rural location. The pod was not too close to the other pod or safari lodges. Trailers are provided to take luggage to accomodation from the car park which is not too far away. Complimentary breakfast on last morning delicious and very welcome. Children had a fantastic time.
Avatar
Peter O.recommends
July 8, 2022
Glamping Pod
Great views and very peaceful. Clean and well maintained pod with everything we needed. Attentive and friendly host plus a tasty croissant for breakfast on our last morning. Definitely recommend!!
Avatar
Deborah S.
February 27, 2022
Beautiful location, spotless accommodation! But… when we arrived we couldn’t find the hosts and so had to drive around the area to kill an hour until we tried again. Again had to hunt for hosts. When we were finally shown to our pod we then found there was no milk to make a drink so then had to drive off again to find a local shop. Though the small bed was comfortable there was only 1 pillow each and these were extremely flat and offered little support. The host did rectify this when we asked for a couple more pillows. Also though liquid soap was provided there were no complimentary toiletries for us to use such as soap, shampoo or body wash in the shower unit. We did not receive a complementary breakfast hamper on our first morning as advertised/expected so again had to drive off in search of breakfast. Though there was a sofa bed in the pod this was very low and not great if you suffer with a bad back, had to bring in one of the outside chairs to sit on. There were local pubs and we did walk to the closest, though walking back in the dark was not ideal, thankfully we had torches on our mobile phones to use to see the way. We did enjoy some of our short stay, visiting The Forest of Dean and the Butterfly Zoo. But unfortunately we decided to go home early as the thought of another night in the pod just wasn’t attractive enough. That said a summer booking would probably be a much better experience. Don’t go in February!
Avatar
Danni T. (Host)
replied
February 27, 2022
Dear Deborah, thank you for your feedback. We sincerely regret that you didnt enjoy your stay with us as much as we would have liked you to. We appreciate your comments and would address any issues, within our control. Unfortunately, your stay was due just after the severe winds we experienced in the area. The sign we have in the car park, advising guests what to do on arrival, was taken down temporarily. We strive to constantly improve our guests experience and will improve communication. We advise our guests to familiarise themselves with the welcome pack that we provide in each unit, which gives information about the complementary breakfast and a range of other useful tips. Our phone number is on every booking, on our website and in the welcome pack, and we are only a phonecall away. Our Pods are warm and very well equipped with a standard double bed and the vast majority of our guests have commented how comfortable they are.  Kind Regards
Avatar
Lizzie W.recommends
September 27, 2021
Safari Lodge
We had a lovely time at Darnells for my sisters 40th birthday. The views were beautiful and we enjoyed watching the sunset from the balcony. Would definitely recommend and we will be coming again
Avatar
Lisa W.recommends
August 11, 2021
Safari Lodge
We have stayed in a few safari tents over the last few years but I have to say this is one of the best. Myself my husband, two boys (13 & 10) plus my brother and sister in law and their dog stayed for three nights and it was just amazing. The site is a working farm with plenty of cows and sheep in the adjacent fields much to the delight of some of the younger children on site. Our host Danni couldn’t of been more helpful, the tent itself was spotless and very well equipped with plenty of room for us all. Beds were very comfy and we were all as snug as bugs with the help of the wood burning stove which warmed the tent on a few chilly nights. Safety guards, high chair and cot available in the tent for those with little ones. Excellent outdoor furniture with cushions (which has not always been the case with some safari tents we’ve stayed in). Perfect size veranda which protected us from some pretty bad wind and rain with a BBQ available to use. Ping pong table, various games, football area and a pizza oven also on site. The cherry on the cake however was the complementary breakfast provided on the final morning of our stay. This was brought to our tent in a basket and contained filtered coffee, fresh orange and a choice of either croissants and muesli or bacon and egg barm, what a way to end our stay. We all had the most amazing time and can’t wait to return. I would highly recommend Darnells to everyone. Excellent accommodation in some of the most beautiful countryside. Thank you so much.
Avatar
Sally I.recommends
August 7, 2021
Safari Lodge
A friendly welcome and an amazing safari tent with so much space and lots of fun for the children. The view is lovely and it is so quiet and peaceful. The log burning stove takes the evening chill off and the bbq makes relaxing meals on the veranda. Lots to do and see neaby, our little ones didn't want to go home! Highly recommend!
Avatar
Alastair M.recommends
July 10, 2021
Safari Lodge
Lovely safari style glamping tent with superb views over the countryside. Its quiet and peaceful but also felt quite luxurious. The veranda is ideal for relaxing and we loved the complimentary breakfast on our last day. Highly recommend this place.
Avatar
Ali H.recommends
July 8, 2021
Safari Lodge
A great weekend away with our parents and inlaws... they staggered down the hill to their pods. Tent was very comfortable and a great view. Pizza oven provided a great dinner on Saturday night before watching England win their match. Thank you
Avatar
David J.recommends
June 26, 2021
Glamping Pod
We stayed Monday to Friday and cannot rate our experience highly enough. We stayed in one of the glamping pods, which was superbly layer out,with shower, comfy bed, sofa, cooking facilities and a balcony equipped with chairs, table and a BBQ. Set just outside of Ross on Wye, it was a peaceful and perfect location to have as a base whilst we explored the Malvern Hills and Wye Valley. We even had a complimentary breakfast on the final day. Very reasonably priced, this is a great place to stay and we have very happy memories of it
Avatar
Nina L.recommends
April 17, 2021
Safari Lodge
Despite us glamping in a super cold nighttime temps week (mid-April 2021) we had a lovely stay at Darnell's. Danni helpfully got our stove ready to go before we arrived and supplied us with plenty of wood & kindling for our stay - plus some farm broccoli - and once lit we were snug enough especially beneath duvets and the hot water bottles provided. During the day the sun shone and this and the fresh air gave the campsite an alpine feel. My young son loved the farm trip to feed the lambs and also the farm cat Ollie. He also enjoyed watching the cows and bull in the morning. All in all a great spot and close to many great places to visit - we'd recommend the wonderful Puzzlewood, especially which was full of wild garlic at this time of year, and the views from Symonds Yat.
Avatar
Danni T. (Host)
replied
April 17, 2021
Thank you so much for your kind review! We loved having you here and would like to wish you all the best and hopefully see you again!
Avatar
Mari L.recommends
October 14, 2020
Safari Lodge
What a great spot to get away from it all. The views of the Herefordshire countryside were wonderful. There are only two safari tents (one was new this year) and two pods, all with self-contained facilities, so it's a very peaceful place to stay. A real treat to have our own bathroom whilst camping. The bed was really comfy, and the bedding kept us toasty and warm. We enjoyed being able to sit out on the balcony overlooking the fields. We used the barbeque provided on a number of occasions, but also having the electric hotplate was useful if you wanted to rustle something up quickly. There's a handy village shop nearby, along with a number of village pubs not far away. Despite being out in the country, it didn't take very long to get to the M50, and so this was also an ideal base for exploring the local area. Would definitely recommend to others. We're already planning our next visit!
Avatar
Gail P.recommends
August 29, 2020
Glamping Pod
Great setting with lovely views from the front of our pod, overlooking the typically English countryside. Unfortunately, the weather was also typically English, with gale force winds one day / night and continuous heavy rain another, so we were really pleased not to be in a tent. The pod was dry, warm, comfortable and had everything we needed in it. The hosts were friendly and helpful and we would recommend Darnell's Glamping to anyone wanting a quiet, 'away-from-it-all' break in a beautiful part of the country.
Avatar
Danni T. (Host)
replied
August 29, 2020
Dear Gail,Thank you very much for your kind review. We really appreciate our customers' feedback. The weather was quite tricky, it was definitely one to remember. Glad you enjoyed your stay, we would love to welcome you back.Kind Regards
Avatar
Geoff M.
August 15, 2020
I cannot recommend enough what a fantastic place this is to stay if your looking to get away from the hassle and bustle of daily life to the great outdoors but still have that luxury and comfort. The safari tent we stayed in overlooked the animal fields, valley and woodland below - stunning views to wake up to. We found ourselves content with watching the world go by from the idyllicl located varanda which was part of our luxurious safari tent. With just two pods and two safari tents mean that there is lots of space to be shared. We had the joy of having half the holiday baked in sunshine and then the wonder of watching the stunning night thunder storms from the balcony. I would never usually want to be under canvas in stormy weather but this well thought out 'safari' experience made it just comfortable, perfect and truly exciting. The owners have really put time, care and thought into all aspects from the luxury duck feather beds, to the well equipped kitchen facilties and the relaxing chesterfield located next to a log burning stove and oven. Our kids loved the cabin hideaway bed, so much so that all three decided they had to share the bed. For anyone who is looking for camping but with a touch of luxury in a quiet picturesque location then this is the place. Our two labradors loved the place too, being able to watch the world from their elevated position, run around chasing a tennis ball and go for walks in the Forest of Dean was their utopia! Lots to do in the local area too, from those who like a walk or cycle to the quient country pubs. Well done to the owners on creating a fantastic UK holiday experience for us.
Avatar
Danni T. (Host)
replied
August 15, 2020
Dear Geoff,Thank you so much for taking the time to describe your family's glamping experience and for your wonderful feedback and recommendation. We absolutely thrive on knowing that our customers have enjoyed their stay, it really makes it all worth it! We wish your family all the best and we hope to welcome you again! Kind Regards
Avatar
Gareth C.recommends
July 21, 2020
Glamping Pod
Location is great - in a quiet valley overlooking fields and woodland - but convenient for getting around the Wye Valley and beyond. Pod accommodation comfortable - loved the outdoor deck and barbie. Hosts welcoming, friendly, and always helpful.