95%
11 Ratings · 23 reviews
Avatar
Heather C.recommends
August 31, 2021
Standard Shared Facility Pitch
Foxlease is great value for money. Other campsites in the area were charging for one night what we paid for three. The fields are large and spacious with good views. The grass has been left long so I'd recommend some wellies for the mornings. The facilities are basic but always very clean. We were camping right next to the road and traffic noise was quite noticeable so just don't pick this site if you're looking for complete quiet. All the other campers were friendly and considerate and we liked being able to choose where to pitch our tent so we didn't feel on top of each other as you can at other campsites. We didn't use any of the activity centre facilities but had the option of doing various activities that were running during our stay which would be good for families. I would definitely stay again but probably ask to be in one of the fields at the back of the site which don't seem to be near a main road.
Avatar
Miss T.recommends
August 23, 2021
Standard Shared Facility Pitch
me,the family and dog had a lovely few days away.kids enjoyed the zip wire.had lovely walks around the area.was peaceful and just nice to get away.the toilets and showers were nearby.will definately be returning.highly reccomend
Avatar
Erkan B.
August 14, 2021
Standard Shared Facility Pitch
1/3 of the site is very close to a busy road and there was traffic noise even after midnight. After having visited more than a dozen campsites in UK I can say cleanness of toilet & showers were below average. Not unclean but definitely below average. On top of that there were no kitchen facilities nor any freezing. On the plus side the pitches are enormous and it is very close to the city centre.
Avatar
Marius O.
July 29, 2021
It's a very good place for access to New Forest and it's got very good activities for older kids (ours are 2 and 5 so didn't get to take part, but there's plenty to do even for younger children in the surroundings). The staff was very helpful and friendly both on site and on the phone. We've, though, been unlucky enough to have been placed closer to the road, which is pretty noisy, even at night. Facilities could do with an upgrade, they are (at lest where we've been allocated) towards the lower end of cleanliness and features compared to other places we've camped in.
Avatar
Clive C.
July 20, 2021
The weather made the days we were there otherwise you had to put up with traffic noise, trains I think and the gate house having a party till early hours. The pitches were suppose to have been marked out, but wasn't and if they had you would not have noticed as the entire field was so overgrown, wet and full of a weed that must have had 2.5cm thick stems, not ideal for a camping site.
Avatar
Foxlease ?. (Host)
replied
July 20, 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking time to leave feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience at Foxlease. We hope if you come back you will have a better experience. Many Thanks, The Foxlease Team
Avatar
Beck B.
July 20, 2021
This site has just what you need for a short break, especially with a dog. Loads of open space, other campers very chilled and helpful staff (tip for route through nature reserve into Lyndhurst was a winner - thank you!). Only negative would be the road noise for pitches in first field.
Avatar
Foxlease ?. (Host)
replied
July 20, 2021
Hello Rebecca, we are glad you had a good time camping at Foxlease. Many Thanks, The Foxlease Team
Avatar
Rebecca H.recommends
July 6, 2021
Standard Shared Facility Pitch
So this site is about half the price of others in the area with no restrictive rules about pup tents which was the main reason we chose it but glad we did. Very spacious and relaxed site. You can choose where you pitch around your designated toilet block so the groups were well spaced out but never far from facilities. Other campers all well behaved and very easy access to Lyndhurst and the forest. As far as we could tell: no electric sockets, no place to freeze ice packs, no washing up sinks, no caravans, no lights in the toilets - but you do have toilets and showers and water and if this basic style of camping is what you're after, or you're just on a short trip, its great. Unfortunately we had no hot water in our block on our stay but we just braved the cold showers for the health benefits and didn't bother to mention it. I'm sure this is not usual as there is obviously a boiler. The only other down side is the constant road noise on the shared field but other campsites in the area also seem close to road. Would definitely be happy to return to this site again. Idyllic little spot - Thanks for a lovely stay
Avatar
Foxlease ?. (Host)
replied
July 6, 2021
Hello Rebecca, we are glad you had a good time camping. We hope to see you at Foxlease again in the future. Many Thanks, The Foxlease Team
Avatar
Bonnie W.recommends
June 20, 2021
Standard Shared Facility Pitch
A well maintained campsite in an ideal location. A short walk from Lyndhurst centre - short enough that my fish and chips were still warm by the time I got back to the campsite! With gates (locked to stop just anyone getting in) directly in to the forest at a few points. Staff were helpful and friendly. Toilet and shower blocks are basic but cleaned daily. Toilet roll and anti bacterial hand soap was provided and the water was wonderfully hot. When I say the blocks are basic, they have flush toilets and running water so not really that basic! But some blocks don't have lights so you may want to take a torch/head lamp and there isn't any heating which personally I don't think is an issue. Prices are amazing! This was my second stay at Foxlease and I will be going again!
Avatar
Foxlease ?. (Host)
replied
June 20, 2021
Hello Bonnie, we are glad you had such a great time camping for a second time at Foxlease. We hope to see you at Foxlease again in the future. Many Thanks, The Foxlease Team
Avatar
Mark C.recommends
June 15, 2021
Standard Shared Facility Pitch
Excellent place to stay. Greeted by very friendly and welcoming member of staff, plenty of space in a well laid out estate used for Girl Guides outdoor events. Some might find the utility blocks a little too rustic, but they were fine, showers were good and hot, were cleaned daily. 5 min cycle to Lyndhurst, nice old pub just 5 mins walk and direct gates into the forest. Spot on. Highly recommended.
Avatar
Foxlease ?. (Host)
replied
June 15, 2021
Hello Mark, we are glad you had such a great time camping. We hope to see you at Foxlease again in the future. Many Thanks, The Foxlease Team
Avatar
Rachel B.
June 7, 2021
We loved our trip to Foxlease and would definitely return! The site is gorgeous and very peaceful, with no noisy groups! You can literally walk into the forest from the campsite snd see the wild horses, and the twin is only a10/15 min walk away with a lovely pub only a 2 min walk away from the campsite. The toilets were good and we had one assigned to us which was great. However, the showers are advertised as being cleaned regularly and I’m not sure how true this is. I don’t mind basic, but we found two dead cockroaches in one of the showers and three days later they were still there, so that shower obviously wasn’t being cleaned. I feel like an actual ceiling might be a good idea as well as insects just fall from the rafters while you are showering! It didn’t ruin our stay but I do think it’s something to think about
Avatar
Foxlease ?. (Host)
replied
June 7, 2021
Hello Rachel, we are glad you had such a great time camping. We have noted your comments about the cleaning and improvements to the shower and will look into your suggestion. We hope to see you at Foxlease again in the future. Many Thanks, The Foxlease Team
Avatar
Paul A.
June 1, 2021
I was unsure what to expect from Foxlease as many reviews on Google are from scout/guide group leaders. Let me assure you that this place is fab. All the staff (there seem to be plenty of them) are friendly, attentive and helpful. They all seem to genuinely care about ensuring your stay is a great one! I love that it's just for tents with no electric hookup so that in itself creates a nice vibe. Assigned facilities (private toilet and shared showers) are good and cleaned regularly. About 3-4 toilets are in each wooden hut, so there's no long walk in the mornings! Plenty of space so always felt safe re: Covid. I was in a small field with only 2 other tents so it was really quiet in the evenings and mornings. It's PERFECT if you or your kids want to take advantage of the on-site activities (small additional fee) like archery, kayaks, zip line. The location is perfect if you want to head into Lyndhurst (15min walk), local pub (8min walk), Beaulieu for an event (20min drive) or just explore the trails of the New Forest. There was a pizza van on Friday (£9 cash only) and they also put on a BBQ on Saturday which was a trial run for them. Hopefully this will continue as it's nice to have the option of pre-cooked grub after a busy day. I would like to see clearer recycling bins so I can separate rubbish accordingly, but that's literally the only room for improvement. I've stayed at many other campsites in the area (some of those large ones nearby are over priced and busy) and this stands out for me as the best. I look forward to returning. Keep up the great work team!
Avatar
Foxlease ?. (Host)
replied
June 1, 2021
Hello Paul, we are glad you had such a great time camping. We will look into making the recycling area clearer. We hope to see you at Foxlease again in the future. Many Thanks, The Foxlease Team
Avatar
Dexter F.recommends
May 4, 2021
Standard Shared Facility Pitch
My friends and I stayed for a few nights, last year, and we want to come back! Very generous space for pitches, the staff are lovely, and the private bathrooms allocated for each pitch are also very considerate of the Corona Virus regulations.
Avatar
Foxlease ?. (Host)
replied
May 4, 2021
Hello Dexter, We are glad to hear that you had a lovely time camping at Foxlease. We hope to see you back in the future. Many Thanks, The Foxlease Team
Avatar
Gemma B.recommends
April 28, 2021
Standard Shared Facility Pitch
The campsite was completely empty except for our party which was great. We stayed on Bridges field next to the ponies and goats which the kids loved. The private toilets were good and the showers hot. The staff organised an alterfire and we collected firewood from the around the site. The site is perfectly situated near Lyndhurst and we had a great time cycling and exploring. The site is basic and quiet, no bells or whistles so if this is your kind of camping then Foxlease is perfect for you.
Avatar
Foxlease ?. (Host)
replied
April 28, 2021
Hello Gemma, We are glad to hear that you had a lovely time camping at Foxlease. We hope to see you back in the future. Many Thanks, The Foxlease Team
Avatar
Adam S.recommends
September 22, 2020
Standard Shared Facility Pitch
We've just returned from 3 nights at Foxlease and can't rate it highly enough! If you're just after a no frills base to explore the New Forest then it's perfect. You're own allocated toilet and sink, 2 hot showers shared between 4 plots but as we were alone that was basically just ours too. All super clean and safe. Yes they're in sheds but does that really matter? Well stocked shop with extremely friendly and helpful staff. We saw 2 other tents the whole weekend on this enormous site. All for £36. Foxlease, we will definitely be back!
Avatar
Alexandra B.recommends
September 22, 2020
Standard Shared Facility Pitch
We had a wonderful stay here. Beautiful spot, convenient access to Lyndhurst. Enjoyed lovely hot shower in the wash block, and our own toilet (like having an en-suite) by our tent. Friendly and helpful staff. We were able to charge our phones at the shop. Last but not least, excellent value for money and easy access to the entire New Forest! We would definitely stay here again.