86%
25 Ratings · 29 reviews
Avatar
Lucia B.recommends
August 10, 2022
Non-electric grass pitch
Lovely few days all in all, you have thought of everything there, from the hammocks outside to chill in, to real sweets, marshmallows for the fire, and paper towels in the loos - thank you! Lovely site, felt relaxed, lovely views, not too busy which is what I prefer, plenty of space. Highly recommend,
Avatar
Tony S.recommends
August 7, 2022
Ladybird
Beautiful, Bohemian retreat.
A really chilled vibe, Matt is really accommodating, the view is amazing, swimming pool was well received by kids and adults alike. In the evening the hammocks, bar, restaurant are pretty chic, during the day the pool and fields are a sun trap. Pizzas are amazing, breakfast is a highlight. I think Matt could use some help though, he's running the place almost single handedly! The staff that are working there are great, friendly and helpful but the owner is spread thin. Will return in our campervan, due sure.
Avatar
Chris C.recommends
August 6, 2022
Lapwing bell tent
Our first experience of glamping and we were very impressed. The tent was very clean and comfortable with an adjacent tent for private dining. We really enjoyed the excellent food which is served throughout the day. The breakfast was exceptional as was the dinner we had on our second day. The pizzas looked great although we didn’t get the chance to try one. The bar is a real surprise, really modern and clean with a great range of beers, ciders and wines. There is a pool and hot tub and lots of child friendly spaces. The micro goats and the chickens that wander freely are an added bonus. The service throughout was very friendly and we were made to feel very special. The site itself is in a stunning location and there is a pub nearby within a very short walk, although we preferred to stay on site. We even had good Wi-Fi on site. It is early days for this site but we had a fantastic couple of days and look forward to returning.
Avatar
Nicole O.recommends
August 4, 2022
Non-electric grass pitch
Fabulous family camping
Absolutely loved this campsite. Kids loved it, adults loved it, dogs loved it. We will definitely be back! The kids even asked us if we could cancel a trip abroad to come back here again later in the summer :)
Avatar
Anna M.recommends
July 29, 2022
Non-electric grass pitch
Best campsite ever and the pool was brilliant. I loved the hot tub too. Camp fire surrounded by hammocks was amazing. I loved the trampoline and swing ball at the games station. Our view form the tent was terrific. The restaurant and bar were fantastic. I loved sitting by the log fire eating sweets and playing board games. I would love to come back. Thank you so much. Joe His mum loved the on-site facilities such as charging points and kettle etc and the local beer. We all loved our stay very much and will be back.
Avatar
Samantha H.recommends
July 17, 2022
Ladybird
When can we come back!
Fabulous! Absolutely exceeded our expectations, beautiful views, saltwater pool was fab, chilled vibe with great informal seating areas, outdoor kitchen (love the paella station) and bar. Lots of free activities and the hosts were so welcoming and accommodating …who wouldn’t like the excellent glass of local bubbly on arrival! Overall our stay was gorgeous and made my birthday extra special, watching the sunrise through the tent flaps and making s’mores on the fire pit were sure fire hits, can’t wait to go again.
Avatar
Steven N.recommends
July 13, 2022
Non-electric grass pitch
Cool vibe
Wonderful and unusual site with many eco friendly facilities and a quirky, laid back vibe. The team there are all helpful and super friendly. Very cool bar and eating area with home cooked, locally sourced food available. Recommended.
Avatar
Liam M.recommends
June 20, 2022
Non-electric grass pitch
Swimming pool, hot tub and a bar?!
Matthew has a great set up, interesting conversation and an even better vision for the future - I’ll be back!
Avatar
Susie H.
September 4, 2021
My family and I had the pleasure of staying at Willow Hill for 5 days recently. I was very impressed with the glamping bell tents, they were spotless, cosy, warm and spacious for a family of four. Each of the tents had tables and chairs outside which was a great base to chill out. Best part of all were the staff, Sarah and team honestly couldn’t do enough to make sure you relax and unwind - the pace of the camp was a very welcomed break from the craziness of living in London and the offerings of stone baked pizzas, English sparkling fine wines and local produce were all exceptional. Like the other reviews there are a few tweaks which could make the place even better but overall it was a fantastic site which we will most definitely be visiting again! Thank you Sarah and team ❤️
Avatar
Rich E.recommends
September 3, 2021
Non-electric grass pitch
Lovely location - super panoramic view of the floodplain and hills, with a field of horses and cows in the foreground! The local pub really is that fabled '2 minutes walk away' that on some campsites is actually a 45 minute trudge across fields. You can't fault the ambition on the site either - the plethora of pools, balls, football goals etc are an obvious sign that the owners are trying to provide a wealth of on-site activities. Sadly the lack of control and organisation of these means that they end up looking like the detritus from a cheap festival at times... The one (massive) let down is the facilities.3 toilets for something like 30 pitches is unacceptable. The 'open air' shower is a massive fail too - let's not pretend that 'open air' is a feature, it's a fault. Put a roof on, a door with a lock (not a curtain), and make sure there's somewhere to hang the shower head? The washing up facilities (2 sinks) are outdoors too (we're in the UK here folks!), and the hot water didn't make it out of single digits in terms of temperature, so you can't wash your pots properly. Let's not confuse 'quirky' with 'unsanitary' basically. Doubt we'll return - there's so many campsites out there getting things right, that there's no need to put up with places like this.
Avatar
Iain M.recommends
September 3, 2021
Non-electric grass pitch
We had a great weekend away with our 6 and 2 year old. We camped on the tent side - very happy with the facilities and the kids loved playing with the many games provided - including swing ball, ping pong and in the paddling pool! Well maintained site and lovely location surrounded by apple trees. We had breakfast both days and pizza one of the nights - all lovely. Informal, relaxed campsite with great staff - special shout out to Henry who was particularly nice and super helpful. Thanks Willow Hill for a lovely weekend.
Avatar
Jatin O.recommends
August 30, 2021
Non-electric grass pitch
Loved our weekend here just now. We had 4 kids (aged 6-11) and 4 adults. Getting there and setting up was easy and the views from the site were excellent. Kids ran around, cycled around, made friends and played games. Ordered pizzas on the first night which were yum. Fire pits and wood available. Went on a fantastic bike ride right from the camp site, along a B road for a bit but then onto super-quiet roads through some small villages. Had lunch at Yew Tree Inn, a waterside pub which was fantastic. All the food was made fresh by the chef and was delicious! By the time we cycled back to camp the kids were ready to splash in one of the pools while we chilled out in the cafe area. All sorts of foods and drinks available on site making this a super-easy camping trip to enjoy with the family. The guys working here were really helpful in all respects and I cannot compliment them enough. Toilets were clean and super-well maintained (even the eco one!). Shower was good. Whatever the teething problems were, they seem to have worked them out. I cannot wait to return next year.
Avatar
Esilvester ?.recommends
August 28, 2021
Non-electric grass pitch
One of the pleasures of Willow Hill, is the laid back nature of the management. There’s no plethora of instructions or sign posts. Campers are left to chose their own pitches and sort out their own holidays with little interference. The campers we shared the field with were a delight and we were all equally delighted and confused by the hands-off management. It’s all a bit chaotic and haphazard. It’s a strength and also a little opaque when you arrive and try to get organised. The pizza and food on offer for sale is outstanding. Once you’ve been here a few hours, you will soon be as laid back as the owners. Initial frustration turns in to relaxation once you start to unwind. The view from the camping field is fantastic and made the holiday special, for me. I’d like to make some suggestions if management is reading this: turn the shower in the camping field 90 degrees. Have the wall of hay bales form an L and hang the shower curtain so it is parallel with the wall. The lack of privacy didn’t bother me but Im not sure other campers would have enjoyed the view when the wind blew the curtains open. Let the grass grow long and section up the field by mowing paths and sites. It would give a nicer vibe. A welcome sheet that has some information on it and lists your services would have been welcome.
Avatar
Christian ?.recommends
August 27, 2021
Teasel
The farm dog Craig, the friendly staff that went above and beyond to ensure we had a positive customer experience ensured we enjoyed our 4 days onsite. The organic food was excellent and the tents were nicely positioned with comfortable beds. There are some rooms for improvements around the compost lavatories and a few more showers would be a great addition for next season. We enjoyed the bohemian vibe and the English wine was terrific. We will definitely visit again and recommend it to glampers looking for a nice relaxing retreat. Thumbs up and five stars from our family. We wish the team continued luck in establishing this new business and hope they have lots of success going forward.
Avatar
Lee ?.
August 23, 2021
Non-electric grass pitch
The campsite is in a lovely setting with great views from the camping field. The marquee for campers to use and the paddling pools etc are a nice touch, but our children were disappointed that balls etc were missing so they couldn't play with most of the games in the marquee. The area near the little shop seemed a little random, with inflatable hot tubs and gazebos scattered around. Communication wasn't great, I emailed a few days before arrival to ask if we needed to pre book the pizzas, but I had no reply, and when I tried calling the day we were due to arrive to advise them we would be late, there was no answer and my text apparently wasn't received until the following day. The main drawback of the site was the limited toilet, shower and washing facilities, which were inadequate for the number of campers staying. Overall it felt well meaning and as if it could have been really lovely, but I think a bit more thought was needed to realise the ambitions of the owners.