91%
40 Ratings · 44 reviews
Avatar
Lutz R.recommends
September 11, 2022
One-Person
Great location. Loved it. Perfect for a get away .
Avatar
Daniel C.recommends
September 7, 2022
One-Person
A lovely view of the nearby village church. The site had all the necessary basics and the tents were spaced out enough that it was quiet and peaceful.
Avatar
Michael W.recommends
September 5, 2022
Wild Meadow Pitches
This is a sheep field which the owners turn into a campsite when (I assume) the land is fallow during the summer season. As such, much of the ground is sloped and only a minority of the pitches are flat. The pitches are large, well-spaced, and neatly mowed in a circle so you don't have to contend with any long grass. The field is amazingly clear of sheep droppings considering its occupants for the other 6 months of the year. We camped here during the last weekend of the season and had the entire field to ourselves for the most part. Another reviewer mentioned the bin was full and the facilities untidy at about the same time - I can confirm this was the case; however the quality of those facilities is very good and I wouldn't expect a campsite like this to be maintained perfectly up to the last day of the season. We spoke with William who was very friendly and offered us some leftover kindling and firewood for free since it wasn't going to be used otherwise (normally surcharged). The management of the campsite in general seems very relaxed and friendly. This is about as rural and isolated as you can get in this country without going into the Highlands. As such it is beautifully quiet and you can hear all sorts of wildlife at night. We will definitely come back if we visit the area again.
Avatar
Mia H.
September 2, 2022
Wild Meadow Pitches
quiet setting, lacks maintenance.
Overall our experience was okay/average. The area is beautiful, quiet and isolated. Near to a beautiful little village and only 15 minute drive to Bourton on the Water, where we spent some time. The campsite itself (one night, arrived on a Tuesday) felt like it had been abandoned. Think maybe it had been busy over the weekend, but it wasn't serviced, restocked and cleaned since. The drop/eco/composting toilets were very full (I'm no expert, but I don't think waste can decompose when stuck on shelves in the design of the toilet, probably one of the more grim/stinky composting toilet we've used), empty toilet rolls everywhere, a quarter roll of toilet paper (lucky we brought our own) and empty hand sanitizer bottles left about in the toilet (it just seemed really messy and uncared for). The showers (we didnt use) were messy. There was a full bin, and a big pile of rubbish/recyclables etc near the entry to the campsite. Which wasn't a nice look when we arrived. Please don't get me wrong, we are not so fussy, but when you advertise toilets and showers, although in a 'pop up' fashion there are some expectations that they will be maintained somewhat. Compared to other wild style campsites I think it was fairly expensive and i probably wouldn't return because of the above. The positives though! Really quiet, beautiful setting, close to many touristy spots in the Cotswolds. So a nice spot to base and adventure about. Apologies for the honest review, but hope it helps.
Avatar
Sarah W.recommends
August 29, 2022
Wild Meadow Pitches
Absolutely beautiful basic campsite without frills but stunning views and a brilliant William who gave us so much local information. Compost toilets so brace yourself but we didn't find them an issue lovely walks and some ace local pubs.
Avatar
Mark T.recommends
August 28, 2022
Wild Meadow Pitches
Friendly greeting, peaceful, beautiful setting quintessentially Cotswold rolling fields with view of village church.
Avatar
Niamh M.recommends
August 22, 2022
Wild Meadow Pitches
Lovely quiet field, short walk from two lovely villages with cafe and pub.
Avatar
Connie P.recommends
August 19, 2022
Wild Meadow Pitches
Happy campers
We loved our 2 night camping stay at Cricket Field Campsite. The pitches were very spaced out so we couldn’t hear noise from anyone else. Facilities were kept in good order. Great for relaxing, stargazing, and walks through pretty fields and lanes. Only slightly annoying thing is that the local church bell (the picturesque one) tolls every hour so you know exactly how much sleep you’re getting! We went on a lovely walk around Guiting Wood and walked to the Halfway House pub which was lovely. Also very accessible to touristy Cotswolds areas (if you have a car) like Stow-on-the-Wold.
Avatar
Chris P.recommends
August 15, 2022
Wild Meadow Pitches
Yes, it's basic but the description makes that perfectly clear. If you want total peace, lots of space, a fabulous view, then give this a go. Beautiful villages and great pubs on your doorstep. What's not to like?
Avatar
Sophie H.recommends
August 13, 2022
Wild Meadow Pitches
Lovely site, nice host. Good facilities. Beautiful spot for star gazing, would recommend and go again
Avatar
Bernard E.recommends
August 13, 2022
One-Person
A lovely well run site.
Camping in the heart of this Area of Outstanding Beauty was made even better by this great site. Showers, toilets, washbasins and George was able to direct us* to the local pubs and shops. *Us being me and Shorty my dog. I can highly recommend this site.
Avatar
Richard G.recommends
August 1, 2022
Wild Meadow Pitches
Really lovely spot. Facilities were basic but functioned well enough. A roof over the sinks wouldn’t go amiss & no on site facilities for recycling was a bit disappointing.
Avatar
Laura B.recommends
August 1, 2022
Wild Meadow Pitches
Cotswalds views with lots of space
We had a great trip! Pitches are very distant from one another and the views from the field are just beautiful. William was really welcoming with information about local walks and pubs. Toilets, showers and washing up facilities were quite good for a temporary site and well-maintained. Walks to the nearest places all start along a road with no pavement, which might be worth knowing for parents with small children. But you can quickly get onto footpaths and bridle paths afterwards. It wasn't completely obvious when we arrived, but the pitches are the mown-down circles, and although they are numbered on the notice board you can pick whichever one you'd like. Of course this setup might be out of date by next year. I hope to be back!
Avatar
James B.recommends
July 29, 2022
Wild Meadow Pitches
A magical campsite
My son and I loved camping on Wild Meadow Pitches. The setting was absolutely beautiful with stunning views of fields and forests. There was plenty of space and privacy. The facilities were great and unobtrusive. The fire pits are brilliant. William the host and owner was both welcoming and full of useful local information. There is lots to do nearby with lovely country and villages to explore. We had a wonderful time and could not recommend it more highly.
Avatar
Liz R.recommends
July 24, 2022
Wild Meadow Pitches
Stunning location for a campsite
Lovely campsite with lots of space and stunning views. Would definitely come back.