99%
49 Ratings · 221 reviews
Avatar
Helen M.recommends
June 7, 2022
90 - Meadow Camping Pitch
This was either our third or fourth trip to the secret campsite. We love it so much. Tim is very friendly and it is really well thought out. The kids love helping with the wheelbarrows emptying the car and washing up at the washblock. The pitches are spaced out and quiet so you really feel like you are immersed in nature! The wash block is rustic but I think adds to the natural charm of the place. We have already booked to go again next year. Perfect for families.
Avatar
Tim B. (Host)replied
June 23, 2022
Hi Helen, Thanks for your review, it is really appreciated. We look forward to your visit again next year. Thanks Tim
Avatar
Sam L.recommends
June 7, 2022
151 - The Bank Camping Pitch
What a totally fabulous stay
What a site! Our first camping trip alone and we survived putting our tent up! Tim was a legend, offering help if we had needed it but was also a wealth of knowledge not just on the local area but recent wildlife spottings. Very laid back place and Tim has set the tone perfectly here. It was a joy to wake to the sounds of the dawn chorus and to hear the owls after dark. Just what we needed to shift down a gear and would highly recommend to anyone else wanting the same. We shall definitely be back before the year is out
Avatar
Tim B. (Host)replied
June 23, 2022
Hi Sam, Thanks for taking the time to post a review and I'm really pleased you enjoyed how we have set up the site for wildlife and a peaceful escape. Tim
Avatar
Noah R.recommends
June 6, 2022
146 - Orchard Camping pitch
Beautiful Campsite
A really beautiful campsite with lots of trees and plants. Pitches were spaced far apart which meant it felt really private and secluded. The staff and owners are friendly and wonderfully helpful. I highly recommend this place.
Avatar
Tim B. (Host)replied
June 23, 2022
Hi Noah, Thanks for taking the time to post a review, we really appreciate it and I'm glad you enjoyed the way we have landscaped the site for peace and nature regards Tim
Avatar
Robert M.
May 31, 2022
30 - Meadow Camping Pitch
While the pitches are fantastic the facilities, especially showers should be improved. Additionally it would be nice if they provided some fresh bakery products in the morning (pre-booked a day before, many other sites do it).
Avatar
Tim B. (Host)replied
June 23, 2022
Hi Robert, thanks for taking the time to post a review and offer you advice, we really appreciate it. We keep the site and the items we sell very simple, in keeping with the sites ethos of connecting people with wildlife and the natural world Thanks again Tim
Avatar
Eliane P.recommends
May 29, 2022
Site 14 - Meadow Camping Pitch
Private and beautiful site
Fab campsite, very private pitch with a lovely area for a fire. Also met some lovely astronomers from Seven Sisters Astronomical society who showed us some stars through their telescope. Lovely weekend, would definitely go again.
Avatar
Tim B. (Host)replied
June 23, 2022
Hi Eliane, thanks for taking the time to post a review which we really appreciate. The site is all about connecting with wildlife and the natural world and I'm glad you enjoyed the astronomers who stop by occasionally. Thanks again Tim
Avatar
Beth P.recommends
May 23, 2022
161 - The Bank Camping Pitch
We booked last minute and were super pleased that we did. The campsite is great quiet and remote with all the things youwould need. Nice surrounding area and lots to do. Tim was great and very helpful, we would definitely go back there and look forward to booking another trip.
Avatar
Tim B. (Host)replied
June 23, 2022
Hi Beth, Thanks for taking time to post a review, we really appreciate it and look forward to your next trip to Sussex. Thanks again Tim
Avatar
Daniel J.recommends
September 29, 2021
Meadow Camping Pitch
Firstly, I can’t talk and praise how nice and accommodating Tim is! Super helpful and nice, called to say he wasn’t in reception and if I needed anything. I loved that no cars can go to the pitch and each pitch is kept very well and spaced nicely for privacy. Sinks and freezers were a great touch and super handy! If you do pick a pitch with no electricity, bring a good power bank for your devices. We would 100% stay again! If you’re thinking about it, do it!
Avatar
Tim B. (Host)replied
September 29, 2021
Morning Daniel, Thanks for leaving a review. We really appreciate you taking time out to post it and look forward to seeing you both again sometime soon all the best Tim
Avatar
Ben S.recommends
September 26, 2021
The Bank Camping Pitch
I’m a seasoned camper at The Secret Campsite and my girlfriend finally decided to brave it and give it a go. Where did I take her? To the BEST campsite I’ve ever stayed at of course. Friendly welcome from the owner Tim, great pitches with space between different pitches. Becky particularly enjoyed the cosy camp fires, plus the clean facilities as well. We took the walk down the old train line to Barcombe in the day, which was lovely Can’t wait for more camping trips to come at The Secret Campsite.
Avatar
Tim B. (Host)replied
September 26, 2021
Hi Ben,Thanks for leavong a review, we really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you both again soonTim
Avatar
Greg B.recommends
September 21, 2021
Meadow Camping Pitch
Tim the owner is full of energy, passion for the natural environement and making sure all questions are answered and any problems rectified and I think what makes the stay that extra special. It really is an immersive nature expereince unlike any other campsite I've been too. Toil and shower blocks moving to a bigger building soon and looking forward to seeing the new ones when they're up and running.
Avatar
Tim B. (Host)replied
September 21, 2021
Thanks for leaving a reviw Greg, we really appreciate you doing this. See you again Tim
Avatar
Sarah N.recommends
September 14, 2021
The Bank Camping Pitch
We finally got the chance to return after a year or so and were very happy to see it was just as good as before. Nice addition with the woodland corridor and our favourite pitch was as big and quiet as ever. Got the opportunity to see the Milky Way this year due to clear skies and were lucky with very warm sunshine in the day. Was a fantastic opportunity to reset the dial, and totally relax. Always friendly and welcoming, the ethos of the campsite as a place to escape and enjoy wildlife is clearly a real passion for Tim. Fabulous to see how much the young trees have now grown up, and you can easily lose an afternoon just watching birds of prey wheeling around above the woodland.
Avatar
Tim B. (Host)replied
September 14, 2021
Hi Sarah, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really apprecite your thoughts and look forward to seeingyou again whe you need to recharge. Tim
Avatar
Sonya H.recommends
August 21, 2021
Meadow Camping Pitch (small)
An amazing little part of the world where you are surrounded by nature. It was lovely having our own pitch amongst the wild hedges. It felt like our own special place as we sat around the camp fire enjoying our night. Tim and his family were very friendly and made us all feel very welcome. We will definitely be visiting this wonderful site again.
Avatar
Tim B. (Host)replied
August 21, 2021
Hi Sonya, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It is really apprecited. See you again Tim
Avatar
Mikejj ?.recommends
August 8, 2021
Meadow Camping Pitch
Another fantastic stay at The Secret Campsite, this was our third time and each time we discover something new. Its an amazing place to unwind and just listen to how the world sounded before man came along and ruined it. Whether its the cry of the Red Kite above or the Owl somewhere across the field the sounds that we seem to have lost from our everyday lives can be found at The secret Campsite. When was the last time you were able to bid a frog "good evening" as you came face to face with him/her just sitting in the middle of the path as you make the usual 'nocturnal' toilet run. Or see smoke drifting up from a campfire and hang in the trees before disappearing on the breeze.... OK enough of the poetic stuff, just go there you will not regret it, oh and the kids will love it.
Avatar
Tim B. (Host)replied
August 8, 2021
Afternoon Mike, thanks for posting your review, we really appreciater it and im glad you got the full nature connection. Nice poetry, Tim
Avatar
Marianna L.recommends
August 1, 2021
Meadow Camping Pitch (small)
Tim and his team have created the perfect spot to relax and merge with nature. I stayed with my granddaughter for 2 nights and she decided she might not ever go home she loved it so much. Pitches spaced carefully with room to hide away but close enough for her to safely explore and find friends. If you are thinking of going be prepared to let go and relax. Leave the internet and your radios behind and see and listen to what is offered in this gorgeous place
Avatar
Tim B. (Host)replied
August 1, 2021
Hi Marianna, Thanks for taking the time to post a review on the site. we really appreciatr it and look forward to seeing you another time. Thanks Tim
Avatar
Jonathan J.recommends
July 27, 2021
Orchard Camping Pitch (small)
We stayed here about 8 years ago and were impressed then, but coming back we’ve been overawed at how Tim & Co have developed this wonderful campsite. The orchards & wildflower meadows have added to the peace & tranquility, and created a haven for wildlife, including glow worms next to our tent! A starry moonlit summer’s night in front of a fire was the perfect antidote in these stressful times. Thank You!
Avatar
Tim B. (Host)replied
July 27, 2021
Hi Jonathan, thanks so much for leavig a review. We really appreciate it and look forward to 8 years time... Tim
Avatar
Iris D.recommends
July 23, 2021
Orchard Camping Pitch
What an idyllic place this is! Best campsite I've seen in the UK (and seen quite a few!). We stayed in the orchard as well as the meadow and both were fabulous. The pitches are super spacious, surrounded by beautiful meadows, fruit and nut trees and the surroundings are just a wildlife heaven. Peace, tranquility, the smell of nature to greet you in the morning! We've seen many birds, butterflies, glowworms(!), foxes and deer. The bunnies are hopping around your tent! Campfires are encouraged (each pitch has a lovely firepit) which results in an atmospheric view and feel when the sun starts setting and the camp settles in for the night. Lots of beautiful walks straight from the campsite and lots to see and do within driving distance (forests, beaches, towns). The owners and staff are passionate about the place and the friendliest bunch of people, very helpful, always there if you need anything. They really go the extra mile for you. Facilities also really good, not too many showers/toilets but decent, clean and spacious and we actually never had to wait once while the campsite was fully booked. Everything carefully thought out and eco friendly too! We had the privilage of staying for almost two weeks and would have loved to stay even longer. Truly special campsite, our absolute favourite. If you think you need a psychologist or pill to get you back on track, think again. All you need is a stay at the Secret Campsite and you'll return fully refreshed, recharged and inspired. :-) Thank you so much and keep up the good work!