100%
7 Ratings · 17 reviews
Avatar
Simon G.recommends
July 18, 2022
Apple Tree Yurt
Amazing weekend at Sunrise ☀
Sunrise Camping at Penhill Farm is a must. Wonderful, comfortable and spacious yurt for a family of four. Outdoor living at its best. Wonderful views of the Devon countryside, within easy reach of Holden Forest for a family cycle ride. Our host Simon was fantastic, very welcoming and offered great tips for our Kayaking trip to Stoke Gabriel. The bucket showers were an adventure in themselves and our 2 children loved them. Early morning breakfast with the sun coming up and dinner cooked on the campfire with the sun going down. We will be back 👍
Avatar
Om N.recommends
September 7, 2021
Apple Tree Yurt
A great location with beautiful sunset views. The hosts Simon and Kate were equally great in providing help.
Avatar
Simon F. (Host)
replied
September 7, 2021
Hi Om. Thanks for this - glad you guys enjoyed your time with us.
Avatar
Robinson L.
August 31, 2021
Totally nature immersive experience of glamour glamping! The tent was magically set for us, it felt like we were in a private state alone, enjoying the views over the outstanding natural beauty and even over the river Exe Estuary, better still we saw the sunrise from the cosines of our bed. We felt rather at home with old friends than mere weekenders. We treasure these memories and would gladly come back again!
Avatar
Simon F. (Host)
replied
August 31, 2021
Hi Robinson - thanks for this review - really glad you had a good time on the farm and well done for making it for the sunrise! We hope to see you on the farm again soon. Best wishesSimon
Avatar
Rosa D.recommends
August 31, 2021
Plum Tree Bell Tent
Amazing location with awesome views over the area of outstanding beauty and even the river Exe's stuary. The bell tent was magically set for us and hosted by heart warming attention on every aspect of the glamping experience.The sunrise was there, for us to watch from bed ! We felt secure and among old friends, specially when we volunteered for little farm chors, like potato digging :-) No rush, no frills just a relaxing experience we all enjoyed. A place we would gladly come back to.
Avatar
Simon F. (Host)
replied
August 31, 2021
Hi Rosa - so glad you guys had such a nice weekend - thanks for putting in a shift with the potato digging! Look forward to seeing you again on the farm. Best wishes. Simon
Avatar
Emma T.recommends
August 23, 2021
Willow Hut
We had a wonderful long weekend staying at Penhill Farm, I wish we could have stayed longer! The shepherds hut was so comfortable and cosy, we slept extremely well. The views were incredible and we were treated to a fantastic sunrise on the last day, just stunning. We will certainly be back, might try the yurt next time! Thanks for having us!
Avatar
Simon F. (Host)
replied
August 23, 2021
Hi Emma. Really glad you guys had a good weekend and even hit the jackpot with the sunrise! We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes. Simon
Avatar
Ben D.
August 14, 2021
Loved our stay in the shepherd's hut! Can't imagine a finer place for a morning brew. Breathtaking views over the exe estuary. Stars and quiet at night. And only a few pedal strokes to haldon forest. Simon and Kate were fantastic hosts. Showed us everything we needed, making us welcome, but leaving us to enjoy the space.
Avatar
Emma ?.
April 27, 2021
My husband and I have just had the most relaxing stay in Penhill Farm's shepherds hut. The location could not have been better, the views stunning, and the hut cosy as could be. Both Kate and Simon were so helpful with great suggestions for food, walks and activities, but more than anything the location oozed relaxation and calm. Would definitely return!
Avatar
Simon F. (Host)
replied
April 27, 2021
Hi Emma. Thanks so much for this lovely review  - we're really glad you enjoyed your stay in the hut. Hopefully see you again soon. Best wishes. Simon
Avatar
Felicie ?.
April 17, 2021
The Shepherds Hut was absolutely perfect for my two kids and myself. The site is stunning with a breathtaking view. The hut had all the comfort we needed. It was the most perfect holiday we could dream of after lockdown #3. A lot of activities and things to do in the area. Kate, Simon and their boys were the most welcoming and caring hosts, we felt at home immediately. Highly recommended!!!
Avatar
Catherine ?.
February 16, 2021
We stayed in the yurt at Sunrise Camping for a week in August 2020 as a family of five and had the most fantastic stay. The family who own it are lovely, they were extremely welcoming and we knew we could call on them if there was anything we needed but at the same they weren't at all intrusive. The yurt was well equipped, the main bed was lovely and comfortable and it didn't feel too cramped in there with the additional three beds out for the kids. We loved the location, the views over the countryside are wonderful and the sunrise from the yurt was amazing, as promised! It felt like a proper escape from it all but not too secluded that we couldn't easily drive to the coast or walk/cycle to Haldon Forest Park with it's cycle and walking trails, Go Ape, play parks etc. We weren't sure how our three children would find a whole week in a yurt, off grid in the middle of a field in Devon but they all had a fantastic time and are desperate to go back. They loved that we cooked all our dinners on the campfire (not sure they've ever eaten so many marshmallows in one week!!) and meeting the owners Simon and Kate, their boys and dog Molly. We will definitely be back!
Avatar
Sophie C.recommends
October 18, 2020
Apple Tree Yurt
What a fabulous week we had at Penhill Farm, with its spectacular views. The holiday gave us all the perfect opportunity to unwind and slow the pace of life down. Our hosts were so very welcoming and went out of their way more than once to ensure we were comfortable during our stay, even during an unexpected August storm! They managed to achieve the perfect balance between being helpful and available but not intruding. The yurt and shepherds hut were cosy and well-equipped. The fire pit was very practical (for cooking meals and heating water) and a great focus for meals, marshmallows, story-telling and games. We had fun using the bucket showers - more effective than you might imagine! We didn't lack for firewood once. Compost loos were not a new experience for us, but definitely less smelly than others we have known! The site also offered extra interest in the form of a giant swing, cargo net, tree house, chickens and a healthy vegetable patch. Beyond Penhill Farm we found there was more to do than we had time for - kayaking and paddle boarding, horse riding, cycling and walking in the forest, hiking on Dartmoor, beach trips and exploring Exeter. We would love to come back and see those amazing views again - at sunrise or any time of day or night!
Avatar
Tayah W.recommends
September 8, 2020
Apple Tree Yurt
The views of the landscape are simply incredible. The sunrises are a must see and will take your breath away, while the stars in the night sky are just as wonderful. The location is amazing, being so close to Exeter, but we also enjoyed the trails in the Haldon Forest Park, which is a 2 minute journey from the site. The yurt was in amazing condition and has everything we needed with a small fire-lit oven which also doubled up as a radiator to keep us warmer at night. Such a relaxing get away and we would defiantly try and come back again :).
Avatar
Larry ?.
September 3, 2020
We had a wonderful few days' stay at Penhill Farm. The landscape and views are spectacular out across Exeter and the mouth of the Ex to the sea. The light here is beautiful. We weren't sure if our young girls would take to eco-camping and compost loos but they loved every minute of it - roaming free in the beautiful fields, barbecuing our meals. It's a really good location as feels totally secluded but really easy to get to from the M5 and not far from Exmouth beach by car. Our hosts Simon and Kate were also super obliging and helpful. We've camped in a few places this covid summer and this definitely felt the most relaxing and beautiful because it's really secluded and on such a small scale. So we're hoping to come back next year...
Avatar
S B.
August 16, 2020
We had a lovely stay at the yurt, with our two kids. Kate was away but had send us detailed instructions and everything was exactly as explained. The site is truly beautiful, with a fabulous view across the valley, with Exeter in the distance. Get up early for sunrise, it is worth it! There is a fire place overlooking the valley which we made great use of, grilling marshmellows for the kids and watching the lights of Exeter and the stars. Hectars of fields, woods and meadows are great for exploring, with ample wildlife to observe, but the moor, rivers and beaches of Devon can also easily be reached by car. For us, it was just the right level of comfort, not luxurious, but not too spartan either. Would love to come back soon.
Avatar
Dan G.
July 27, 2020
We have just left Penhill Farm feeling Like all great holidays that we would have loved to have stayed longer. Lovely, friendly and amenable hosts greeted us and made it easy to unwind. A great yurt with an even greater bed and room for our two young children to hunker down too. The wood burning stove provided us warmth, tea, toast and we easily cooked one pot wonders on it too. The views were stunning to Exmouth and the estuary and it was great to watch The wildlife over an open firepit as the sun went down. We were totally in love with this beautiful quiet getaway, from watching the Swallows catching flies over the meadow below to the owls in the woodland behind hooting us to sleep we had a hugley memorable stay and hope to return soon.
Avatar
Simon F. (Host)
replied
July 27, 2020
Hi Dan. Thanks for this review. It was great to meet you all and I'm really glad you had such a nice time at our farm. Hopefully see you again sometime soon. Thanks again. Simon
Avatar
Elizabeth D.
July 22, 2020
High on a hill, we fell asleep to the sound of owls hooting in the woodland right behind us and woke to the most glorious vista of the valley of the Exe and the sea in the distance, with a little wren from the wood hopping around my balcony. I've camped a lot and I'm finding it hard to remember feeling so surrounded by nature and waking up to such a magnificent view from my actual bed. Heating water on the fire for the shower was fun and the compost toilet was fascinating for the kids. Eggs and veg from the farm for breakfast, cooked over the open fire, topped off a memorable stay. With Dartmoor on the doorstep and the sea not far away, there's so much to do we will definitely be back soon. An inspiring place! Didn't want to leave....