100%
17 Ratings · 16 reviews
Avatar
Siubhan H.recommends
August 10, 2022
Wild Camping Pitch
What a view!
It’s one of the most beautiful spots we’ve ever stayed. Amazing views, lovely flat field. Great compost loos and reasonable price. We’ll be back definitely!
Avatar
Oliver J.recommends
August 31, 2021
Wild Camping Pitch
Booked the campsite for a night for a last minute trip to North Devon. Great location close to all the popular beaches with lovely views of the surrounding countryside. Also not too busy with plenty of space to camp even when going on bank holiday. Looking forward to going back soon!
Avatar
Nick H.recommends
August 31, 2021
Wild Camping Pitch
Great views, quiet and central location. Just 10-15 mins to sandy beaches, Tesco and Ilfracombe. Some flat pitches, although we pitched on a very slight incline, but no issue and we are a family with two small kids. ( slight inclines don’t get as muddy if it rains). Plenty of room and huge central grass area for games and kids to play. Toilets kept very clean, regularly checked. Site had very sensibly put sinks under the water taps, so, ground was nice and dry around the tap. Wish more sites used this common sense. Will stay again !
Avatar
Tony G.recommends
August 28, 2021
Wild Camping Pitch
Stayed here for 3 nights in late August. Perfect location for Beaches, bays and coves within the area. You’re only ever a few miles away from shops etc if you need supplies . Very quiet site which is great!… everyone respects the rules and it’s very clean and well maintained. No fuss when checking in , it’s a simple text. Didn’t feel rushed to leave and I talked to owners over the phone beforehand as I had a few questions about the area .. really friendly and full of answers too! You can hire a fire pit and buy wood using the honesty box near the main house. Toilets cleaned every day and there are 2 Belfast sinks and running water taps too. Loved it here!
Avatar
Daniel P.recommends
August 24, 2021
Wild Camping Pitch
The campsite is a sloping field (no water pooling under your tent in the rain!) with plenty of space for people to spread out. There are great views too from all parts of the field. The toilets were kept fastidiously clean by the owners and there is plenty of signage in and around the toilets explaining how to use the composting toilets and covid guidelines. I was a little worried about finding the campsite itself, especially since it was getting dark by the time I arrived - I wouldn't want to end up in the wrong field! But there are also plenty of clear signs leading you from the house/glamping area down the lane to the correct field. The site is in the perfect location to act as a base while you explore north Devon. Ilfracombe, the coastal path around Mortehoe and Lee, and Woolacombe Sands are only a short drive away.
Avatar
Bradley M.recommends
August 16, 2021
Unfurnished Lotus Belle Tent (no dogs)
Had a great trip! Stayed in the lotus bell tent which was very spacious and exactly what was needed. Fire pit was lovely and added to the evenings. Camp site was not far from woolacombe or illfracombe so perfect links to nearby areas. Will definitely stay again. Thank you!
Avatar
Imogen L.recommends
August 14, 2021
Unfurnished Lotus Belle Tent (no dogs)
We stayed at Cheglinch in one of the lotus Belle tents on the wild camping side. The view was absolutely breathtaking and became more beautiful with every sunrise and sunset! The facilities are just what you need, the compost loo is surprisingly sweet with bunting and fairy lights and is very well maintained - feels like a proper loo! The tent itself is extremely spacious, weatherproof (we had some rain) and just delightful to stay in with bunting around the top and a proper floor so there’s not damp/soggy bedding! The fire pits are great for sitting round in the evening and chatting in a very tranquil environment. You can text the host any issues you may have and they are very polite and responsive. Their covid safety was excellent with alcohol wipes to use in the loos after each use and clear information. 10/10 would recommend staying at this lovely site, we will be back! :)
Avatar
Keshena B.recommends
August 11, 2021
Wild Camping Pitch
Simple but very well looked after camping spot in a great location. Friendly and accommodating owners and the bell tent was spacious, clean and perfect protection from wind and rain. Would stay again for sure!
Avatar
Brian M.recommends
August 5, 2021
Wild Camping Pitch
Nice location, roughly equal distance from (about 8 min drive) to Woolacombe and Ilfracombe. Gentle sloping farm field overlooking valley. Lots of space which suited us as we stayed with two dogs and there was enough space that the dogs weren’t too much bother to anyone else. Toilets and sinks at top of field and that’s about it but that’s all you need really. All clean and functional and regularly checked. A storm blew up overnight when we stayed and the tent just about survived the battering from the wind - although the pre-pitched Bell Tents next to us didn’t budge! The entrance to the field started to get a bit boggy and churned up with the rain (July in England eh) but at least twice a load of gravel was deposited there to sort that situation out so it didn’t seem to cause any hassle for any of the campers coming and going. Overall a good experience here. Would have been absolutely lovely if the weather gods co-operated
Avatar
Amy S.recommends
August 4, 2021
Wild Camping Pitch
There was a great amount of space available and a beautiful view of the village. The stars on a clear night looked wonderful! The owners kept the toilet facilities very clean and were out morning and night to do so.
Avatar
Verity S.recommends
August 3, 2021
Wild Camping Pitch
Had the most gorgeous view of the valley. Quite easy to get to- beware if your car is quite wide as it’s not the easiest track! Check in was very simple and finding your own pitch really suited us with distancing from other fellow campers. Facilities were kept pretty clean and the tap is functional Great place for proper camping… only sad point was the storm hitting us pretty hard and our tent barely survived which couldn’t be helped- just unfortunate for what we thought would be perfect July weather Would happily return and recommend! We will be back!
Avatar
Kathryn R.recommends
August 2, 2021
Wild Camping Pitch
There was loads of space for our group of four tents to pitch up together, the toilet facilities were very clean, and the host was friendly and helpful. I'd happily stay there again.
Avatar
Hilary M.recommends
August 9, 2019
Wild Camping Pitch
The facilities were very good and the host friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again
Avatar
Dayxman ?.recommends
August 1, 2019
Wild Camping Pitch
A well kept, peaceful field with stunning views and plenty of space around you. Basic facilities, but everything you need. The very pretty composting toilets are kept spotlessly clean (don't be afraid, they are honestly lovely). Just a short stroll to The Crown Inn in West Downs, with friendly staff, good food and a very pretty garden. I would definitely recommend a stay.
Avatar
Clarissa ?.recommends
July 29, 2019
Wild Camping Pitch
100% best camp site in Devon, owners are absolutely lovely, campsite is quiet and away from the hustle and bustle business, unlike any other campsites, so much room to yourselves and stunning views. Obviously it’s a wild campsite so be prepared for no shower, but there is a cute little compost loo available to use which was perfect, the fire pits also prove for a gorgeous evening! Will 100% be coming back!