100%
31 Ratings · 34 reviews
Avatar
S L.recommends
September 13, 2022
Ash - Shepherds Hut Sleeps 2
A lot of effort and superb bbq!
Fantastic! This is not just a hut shoved in a field. This is a hut in a stunning secluded area, where the owners have put in so much effort to make it look nice. We stayed in Ash, the smallest which was superbly decorated. Even the shower was a good size. Two evenings was about right to enjoy it. Three would have been good, but anymore would have began to feel a little squashed. The log burner area and especially the bbq hut really made it superb, with sheep skins and cushions. We didn't expect to have to pay £10 for the charcoal, as we used a tiny amount but we took it with us. Didn't find many places to eat in the area, but why eat out when you have a bbq like that!
Avatar
Liz W. (Host)
replied
September 13, 2022
Thank you for your complimentary review, we are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and enjoyed your experience. We apologise you found the charcoal expensive, however, we make no money from it at all. We know garage charcoal is much cheaper, but we like to support a local small business. It is purely a convenience to our guests, and is fired within a mile away. It’s organic with no harmful additives which we feel is better for guests health and the environment. Thank you again for your lovely comments and we hope we see you again in the future. Love from Liz and Neil x
Avatar
Pippa D.recommends
August 30, 2022
Oak - Woodman's Cabin Sleeps 4
This hut is a lovely place to stay, clean and quiet. The owners are really helpful and friendly. I wouldn’t say walking to the railway works, we got lost in the woods so if they are recommending this a clearer route or map needs to be provided. Would definitely stay again.
Avatar
Liz W. (Host)
replied
September 3, 2022
Hi Pippa Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you had a great stay. Sorry to hear about your walk through the wood to the train station, and fully appreciate how frustrating that must have been. It’s never been an issue before with guests, however, we will make a map as you suggest and put little signs up to avoid this happening again. Hope we see you again in the future. Love to you both Liz x
Avatar
Jane T.recommends
August 24, 2022
Oak - Woodman's Cabin Sleeps 4
Incredible - an amazing find!
This place is beyond amazing. The huts were spotlessly clean and the little communal area is perfect for having a bbq. Really worth the money and through the forest (trainers needed not flip flops as we did!) is a 30 minute walk to the steam railway that takes you straight to Windermere. Could not have asked for any better so good we have already rebooked for next year!
Avatar
Kim R.recommends
July 31, 2022
Birch - Shepherds Hut Sleeps 4
Beautiful huts
I loved the quirky huts they are so beautiful. The inside has everything you need and we only needed to take food. The grillkota was a fun extra with the grill to BBQ and the fire pit. The reindeer skin covers were lovely and cosy.
Avatar
Craig L.recommends
November 22, 2021
Oak - Woodman's Cabin Sleeps 4
Highly recommend this quirky accommodation. Liz and Neil fantastic hosts. Due to CoVid you have to book using the fire pit hut instead of the normal communal use. Just off the main road and the noise did not effect us. The hut has a microwave that you can grill/cook as well as 2 hot plates. Tea,sugar and coffee is provided if you like instant coffee please remember to bring your own. Since you need to drive to the local pub/eatery we used Rusland pool hotel lovely food and reasonable prices. We would definitely use the accommodation again.
Avatar
Andrea C.recommends
September 29, 2021
Birch - Shepherds Hut Sleeps 4
Booked the Woodman Hut for me and a friend as a little retreat and so glad we found this little gem. Had everything you need for a perfect break, the bunk beds were very comfy! There’s no oven, so bear that in mind. The communal kitchen/bbq is a great addition and a great way to get talking and meeting new people so a fantastic idea! Not far off the main road so you can hear passing traffic but it’s not too much of an issue (wasn’t for us anyway). We arrived late and the owners were very friendly and nice about us getting there so late. I would definitely book this again, the 4 berth hut would be a bit of a squeeze having 4 in there at the same time. Really do recommend this lovely little place!
Avatar
Donna P.recommends
September 21, 2021
Ash - Shepherds Hut Sleeps 2
We stayed in the 2 birth woodmans hut. Fist time staying in a shepherds hut and we were impressed at how well thought out it was. There is everything you need in there for a comfortable stay, it’s modern, there’s underfloor heating to keep you warm although it’s well insulated. The little extras like tea, coffee, cleaning products and shower gels were really thoughtful. The owners looked after us, providing logs for the outdoor fire pit and coal and fire lighters for a small charge for the arctic hut. We had the hut to ourselves, it was nice to have somewhere to chill and cook our tea and have a few drinks. The owners even recommended a local taxi driver to take us to L’Enclume in Cartmel, so we didn’t have to worry about getting there and back. The huts are really well placed for local walks, pubs and to use as a base to explore the lakes. I would not hesitate to book to stay here again, there is nothing to dislike. Thanks for having us.
Avatar
Dan G.recommends
September 13, 2021
Oak - Woodman's Cabin Sleeps 4
Absolutely brilliant. Very clean and the owners where incredibly welcoming. Couldn’t have asked for more!!
Avatar
Louisa T.recommends
September 13, 2021
Oak - Woodman's Cabin Sleeps 4
I stayed in the Woodman's cabin with my son for a few days last week and had the most magical time. The site is absolutely beautiful and the accommodation for me was perfect. The hut we stayed in is amazing. There is absolutely everything you need there. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in and the attention to detail in design and decor is outstanding. Liz and Neil are probably the best hosts I have ever come across. They are warm and welcoming and went over and above to make my stay special. Thank you so very much for your kindness :) I honestly didn't want to leave this place. I could quite happily live here. Ohh and my son loved it to. So peaceful
Avatar
Rebecca M.recommends
September 6, 2021
Oak - Woodman's Cabin Sleeps 4
Me & my partner stayed in the Woodmans Cabin for our Anniversary weekend and it was lovely and cozy with everything we needed. The bed was comfy and duvet/bedding were straight out of a hotel. The site was lovely and quaint and parking was a breeze as just park outside the entrance as on a dead end road. Liz & Neil were a great help, both before getting there and while staying there. You aren't too far away from things to do but also just far away enough to enjoy the peace and views. Just a few cons - The cabin advertised in room wifi and smart TV but the Wifi signal cuts off a bit before the cabin so renders smart tv to just a freview tv, there is a skinny pathway to get round the bed to the bathroom and the bathroom is quite small to manoeuvre around but overall a great place, cosy and comfy and lovely place to come back to after a day of adventure. Just wish we had more time there to do more!
Avatar
Liz W. (Host)
replied
September 6, 2021
Hi Rebecca Thank you for your review.It’s good to hear you had a great stay in the Cabin.We do apologise you incurred issues with the Wi Fi dropping and not providing you with the Smart TV facility.It is regrettable you did not notify us of this during your stay as it transpires the modem in the Four Berth Hut has been switched off in error, hence the speed dropping.This could easily have been resolved and we apologise for the disappointment caused.In light of this happening, we are installing a modem in the Cabin to prevent this happening again.Although a little “overkill “ as the Wi Fi signal is excellent throughout all the Huts, it has dropped when one of the modems had been switched off.We really appreciate you bringing this to our attention, it allows us to prevent this happening again.We hope you may return to the Lakes and stay with us again.Many thanks Liz and Neil
Avatar
Amie R.recommends
August 16, 2021
Oak - Woodman's Cabin Sleeps 4
The huts were fully booked so we booked the cabin and wow, we were delighted!! It’s easy to keep your own privacy even though there are others onsite. The quality of accommodation is wonderful and it felt like a special and luxurious experience. We were warm and cosy :) The shared artic cabin is a fantastic addition for a rainy evening and just a little something extra. The cabin is situated in a Japanese garden at the back of the site and gives you the feeling of true privacy and also has a breakfast table that catches the sun. My holidays are made or broken by the quality of my shower and this was hot, powerful and perfectly clean and so passed the test with flying colours! The only fault I can find is that the road nearby is a busy one and you can hear the noise, but the parking for the site is on a quiet dead end road. Overall an experience I won’t forget and it’s clear love and attention has been applied in bucket loads to this site, hosts are friendly and relaxed. If you can book the whole site as a group DO IT! It’s perfect for three couples / group of friends as you have a wonderful communal space in the arctic hut but plenty of privacy in your own units.
Avatar
Pete B.
August 10, 2021
We stayed in the two berth for a week and enjoyed the whole experience. There were only two small areas where we could comment and that was storage and nowhere to sit inside on a wet day except for the bunk beds. We were lucky and had good weather for four days, so sitting next to the fire pit having had a Bar-b-q was ideal. We definitely are going back but either in the log cabin or four berth hut for that added luxury. We ate at the local pub in Bouth one evening and the food was excellent but the service (as most of the country is experiencing with lack of staff) was very slow. If singles, couples or families are going to use the Huts as a base for day trips etc then you will struggle to find a better all round accommodation.
Avatar
Bryan C.recommends
August 7, 2021
Oak - Woodman's Cabin Sleeps 4
We stayed for 4 nights in the Woodmans Hut and we loved each and every minute. The accommodation is very comfortable and it is set in a lovely area with privacy in the beautiful Japanese garden. We just enjoyed sitting having breakfast in the morning and a quiet drink in the evening. The facilities in the hut are perfect and some really nice homely touches. The shower is great!! The owners are very friendly and helped us with advice on things to do which made a big difference to our enjoyment. Their check-in and out was so easy. Must go to the White Hart Inn. It's a 30 minute pleasant walk to get there and the food is marvellous. We would thoroughly recommend this accommodation for those who prefer tranquil setting. It is such a nice place to spend a short holiday. ❤
Avatar
Joanne M.recommends
July 27, 2021
Ash - Shepherds Hut Sleeps 2
Very pretty with everything you need! We used the artic BBQ hut the first night then the outside fire pit the last 2 nights, beautifully presented. We struggled to find a takeaway that delivered but Ulveston was only a 10 minute drive to pick up food. We went to Bowness on Windermere which was only 25 minutes away. The new cabin looked gorgeous and we would have booked that too for added privacy and space would highly recommend! Thank you.
Avatar
Simon H.recommends
June 4, 2021
Ash - Shepherds Hut Sleeps 2
The Woodsman hut had everything and more that we needed. Spotlessly clean, comfy beds, hot shower and intimate surroundings as there are only three huts to stay in. The owners were brilliant, friendly, informative and extremely helpful. A great location for exploring the lakes away from the crowds of the honey pot sites. Will definitely be booking again. Thank you Liz and Neil!