100%
7 Ratings · 20 reviews
Avatar
Premanand G.recommends
July 15, 2022
Seatoller Yurt no4
Beautiful setting
The site & yurt had everything we needed in the most beautiful peaceful Lakeland setting & we were made very welcome
Avatar
Pauline C.recommends
August 1, 2021
Seatoller Yurt
We had an amazing four night stay at Seatoller. The Yurts are fantastic, comfortable and very well equipped, the log fire adds atmosphere and was very cosy. The location is ideal with easy access to Derwent water where we went swimming and hired a boat, Honister slate mine where we had an extreme adventure and walking distance to the corridor route to the top of Scafell Pike. Utterly fabulous holiday, highly recommended.
Avatar
Bev B.recommends
July 24, 2021
Seatoller Yurt
We have just returned from 4 nights in a Yurt and we had a great time. The yurt was comfortable, clean and charming. We had heat in excess of 29c so the yurt was very hot! What would have made the experience even better would have been some sort of fridge, or access to a 12 volt car cigarette socket to charge our cool box as we had no way of keeping anything cool at all. The Inventory was very good and we had everything we needed. The showers were just a 5 minute walk away and they were lovely and hot too. Thank you Simon for making our stay great and going out of your way to bring the Prosecco.
Avatar
David B.recommends
May 24, 2021
Seatoller Yurt
Well-equipped yurt with all the comforts of home! Comfortable and warm beds, two burner stove, and lovely cosy log fire. The gentle noise of the beautiful river close by lulls you to sleep and the dawn chorus helps wake you up! Noticeably quiet road - so little traffic. Showers are large and spacious with unlimited free hot water (100 yards away). Toilets and washing up facilities are a little nearer (50 yards), but cold water only.
Avatar
Tamzyn J.recommends
May 22, 2021
Seatoller Yurt
Great facilities- cooker, stove, gas and first bag of wood supplied for the wood burning stove. A little chilly whilst we were there, but the stove took the edge off that at night. Really good local walks on your doorstep. The reason for 4 stars is that the bedding was mostly down and non hypoallergenic (I'm sure Simon would have sorted this is we had asked but signal was hard to come by!), and the showers were a little further than we had hoped- although they were nice and clean and hot. We would definitely recommend and stay again ourselves.
Avatar
Sarah G.recommends
September 11, 2020
Seatoller Yurt
If you enjoy camping but dread never being fully dry or warm and cooking in the rain then this is perfect! One week in the wettest place in England was fantastic. The yurts were perfect, clean, tidy and well provisioned. Big enough for 3/4 not to feel on top of each other, small enough to be cosy. We were worried initially about the lack of electricity but they have an excellent solar power system of lights and USB chargers which was great, not that you need it there's zero phone signal so no need for phones anyway! Check in was super easy, we just turned up and were ready to go. Toilets were a minute walk away, no frills cold water only and washing up facilities. Showers are at the main farm house, other reviews say they're a 15min walk away, my 3yr old made it in 7. I've walked further in other campsite. Shower cubicles are enormous and easily wash a family in one go, warm and clean. Major bonus is Apple Jacks pizza and breakfast place at the farmhouse for a cheeky takeaway! Brilliant location for walks or rides. Regular buses into Keswick and up Honnister. Simon was a star, quietly present and was great with some troublesome campers. Couldn't recommend it more, would definitely do this again!
Avatar
Hazel B.
August 18, 2020
Pros: Perfect location, lovely to paddle/swim in the river Hot showers Toilet facilities cleaned regularly (several times a day) Yurts are generally cool Cons: The yurts are fairly basic and I would describe them as towards the camping end of the glamping scale (futons, small gas camping stove, solar powered lights, wood burning stove for colder weather). All other facilities are shared with the Seatoller campsite, which was very busy when we stayed. Tents were pitched outside the designated pitches and opposite the yurts, making the site feel quite cramped, and meaning there was often a queue for the toilet and taps. The showers are great, but are a reasonable walk away for a young child and the road was busy at times. The 3 white pictured on the website yurts stand together in their own field, which when we stayed these were occupied by a large group (>20 people) who had pitched additional tents. Unfortunately this group were very loud until the early hours of the morning, giving the whole experience a decidedly un-glamping feel. I like camping, but that’s not what I was expecting. I would visit again, but would aim for a quieter time of year. We enjoyed our holiday overall, but it wasn’t the secluded getaway we were hoping for.
Avatar
Clive C.
November 6, 2018
The yurts are based within the Seatoller farm campsite and as such share the same facilities which could be considered on the basic side compared to today's glam camping standards. Have a look at the Seatoller campsite for a review of these facitlities but if you are seasoned campers looking for a yurt experience the facilities will not present a problem. The location of these yurts is absolutely the best thing here (fells, woods, river) but a close second is the yurts themselves which are light filled and well equipped with just about everything you will need - oh and very, very warm even on one morning when the October temperature dipped to -5C. The Yurts are operated by Simon who is the third best thing and an absolutely great guy seemingly eager and happy to assist with any query. Our family aged 11 and 8 loved every minute of our stay.
Avatar
Fresian123 ?.
August 24, 2018
A lovely location, but overall disappointing. The yurts are in a nice quiet setting, with great views and a river running alongside, which my children really enjoyed paddling and swimming in. The wood burning stove was great, and the quilts warm. Unfortunately we did have a few issues which meant our experience with Inside Out Camping didn’t meet our expectations of a ‘glamping’ holiday. While the furniture/floor etc. of the yurt were clean, the yurt itself was not – with algae/mould on the inside of the roof and a skylight which was so dirty not a single star could be seen – not the stargazing experience promised on the Inside Out Camping website. The campsite facilities are very basic and do not meet the standards expected for a ‘glamping’ holiday. There is no hot water for washing up, no lights in the toilets (tricky at night with young children). The men’s facilities were inadequate and dirty. The toilet roll wasn’t replaced in the toilets for 4 of the 7 nights we were there, until my husband managed to find someone at the farm to speak to about it – this also suggests they presumably weren’t being cleaned during this time. I didn’t mind walking to the showers, which were nice and hot, but you do have to leave the campsite and walk up a road (which was surprisingly busy) to get to them – again not ideal with young children. We have both camped and 'glamped' as a family over the years and it takes more than a yurt (a not very clean one at that) to call a holiday 'glamping'. A shame as the location is great.
Avatar
Lj ?.
September 9, 2016
Oh dear...read the last review and wondering whether to book? Well...don't believe all you read!!! Simon is fab. From the start of the booking process he is excellent. If you want to check in then book a hotel. Otherwise drive down the unsuitable track (last year I saw an 18 year old girl in her mum's ford Kia navigate the track on a number of occasions) amble across the stream and then make your way across the field surrounded by glorious views. You will know it's your yurt because Simon will have told you which one..but lest you lose your memory when faced with such glorious peaceful surroundings...your name is in big letters on the front door. And when you enter you can't fail to suddenly think you are back in Brownies by the camp fire. All the 'glampers' that have gone before you have enjoyed the wood burning stove and the aroma nestles around the yurt... It's a mixture of Christmas...fun...peace...reflection. If you arrive late, as I have, then you leave the unpacking until the morning, throw the Eco logs in the burner, pour yourself a glass of wine and dive into bed..the duvets are thick, soft, warm...you fall to,sleep with the twinkle of the fairy lights and you may get a glimpse of the moon through the roof. I've no complaints about the toilet block. It's clean, it's functional and I've never been caught in the dark! In the morning the dew has settled on the grass, and the short walk to the toilet block is a pleasure the peaceful hum of the site is not obtrusive, everyone is getting ready for the day's activities. The facilities within the yurt are just fine. Clean. Everything you need..and it's fun. And the 'walk of shame' to the showers?!?! Haven't a clue what that is?!? The walk isn't 10 minutes...more like 7. It's a lovely walk. Last year I was blasted by the hot water came out refreshed and bought a dozen eggs before I hot footed it back to the yurt. Milk? I'd brought a pint with me..but I hadn't packed olive oil and salt...but luckily they were in the cupboard so the glorious golden yellow yolks were perfectly scrambled and tasty on the two gas burner hob. I will return time and again to Hollow Farm. It's gorgeous.
Avatar
Ho Pa ?.
July 8, 2016
My partner and I spent 4 nights "glamping" here a couple of weeks ago and I am sorry to say that the experience was far from glamorous...We arrived at the campsite after driving down a track unsuitable for cars to find the tent and its surroundings infested by midges. The Yurt itself seemed cute and the views were lovely. On entering the yurt that was what looked like a welcome book but how I was wrong... this was in fact a book of dos and dont's which included the need for us to strip our beds and clean the tent on departure. After searching the website before we went we found out that there was no electricity in the yurts so therefore no fridge to store food & drink. We did find however that there was a BBQ? But no outside seating. There were tea bags and some left over coffee. But no milk.You catch my drift. Great thinking with the solar lighting though and the wood burning stove was a nice touch. There wasn't any soap in the toilets, no hot water for washing up and the light in the men's toilets seemed to be on a timer of around 20 seconds (much to my partners delight). The showers were great - very hot and powerful but were a 10 minute walk away at the farm where parking is prohibited so walking down in the morning was like doing the walk of shame. We are not happy campers which is why we opted for the glamping option but unfortunately we were disappointed. I have never reviewed anything before but felt that people should be better informed about what to expect. These are all points that we would have made to Simon had we have met him. We got a deal which meant we paid £32 per night but I would not be willing to spend more than this.All in all a great idea but lacking attention to detail. 
Avatar
Simon T. (Host)
replied
July 8, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay. It's always good to hear how things went. The folder in the yurt is to provide information for guests and yes there are quite a few practical do’s and don’ts around keeping safe and looking after the yurt. In my opinion asking to leave the yurt as found isn’t an unreasonable request but i will review the wording in the folder.I rent a space from the farm who own the regular campsite as a whole and was asked me not to put seating outside for guests – I will though look into the possibility of folding chairs and table etc and how to store them.Leaving milk in the past has ended with the majority of it unused and left to go off so I decided not to do it anymore and just make sure there is tea and coffee.I'll check timing of the light in the toilets and due to there being no electricity on the campsite hot water isn’t available and for the same reason the showers have needed been built in the barn 10 mins away. I will also pass on your comments to the farm re the track to the field.
Avatar
Bekblayton ?.
March 28, 2014
We stayed over two weeks here last summer in an ordinary tent and it was a great experience! Really great service too...Lovely view, calm and quiet fields and genuinely family friendly. Lots to do around as well, and some great walks immediately from the site. Shower blocks and clean toilets make all the difference too... 
Avatar
Chloe J ?.
August 13, 2013
Myself and 3 friends headed up to The Bell Tent at Hollows Farm for the weekend - and what a great place to stay. There a solar lights in the tent, a wood burning stove, kettle, futons - this is the way camping should be. None of us own a tent, and The Bell Tent was a great alternative. I'm a converted 'glamper' for life. The area is also fantastic, we are keen(ish) walkers, and even went for some rowing on Derwent Water. Found the local pub, and had a great breakfast at the Shepherds Cafe in the lovely hamlet 10 mins away. There is also a beautiful river at the bottom of the campsite. Which I fell in. Simon was great in providing information for us in the run up, so even when we arrived in the dark we knew where we were going. Highly recommend!
Avatar
Jimmytheonlysaint ?.
August 11, 2013
If you are a traditional 'tenter', don't overlook this wonderful campsite. The prices are very reasonable (£6 per adult per night, under 3's free) but don't detract from a beautiful camping experience.Pooh sticks? The small stream will provide ample opportunity for fun. Dinghys? the river is even flowing and shallow enough for the smallest campers. The site offers cold water toilet and washing facilities for day to day use and a short walk (5mins) provides beautiful hot showers with unlimited time allocation.This is a turn up and pitch site, no bookings taken, but has plenty of room and never seems to get overcrowded. Enjoy your stay!
Avatar
Sheena ?.
August 5, 2013
We've just returned from a fantastic weekend in the Bell Tent at Hollows Farm.  It was the first time we have taken our two children camping and they loved it.  The setting of the campsite is idyllic, with streams, trees, hilly bits and the river all around you - perfect for entertaining 2 young children all day long.  The nearby villages of Grange and Rosthwaite are easy to walk to, with tea rooms and a hotel with bar in Rosthwaite.The bell tent was great.  Very cosy and spacious enough for the 4 of us.  The booking process was very friendly and efficient too.Highly recommended by us.