93%
7 Ratings · 20 reviews
Avatar
Andrea M.recommends
August 23, 2021
Grass Pitch
Lovely small campsite with campers well spaced out, beautiful view of the coast, nice facilities including a really lovely hot shower! Plenty of space for children to run free and play with each other, and highly recommend the "forest school " which my daughter really enjoyed.
Avatar
Janet S.recommends
September 7, 2020
Grass Pitch
Laid back, friendly, beautiful view. Everything we need from a site.
Avatar
Deb ?.
August 25, 2020
Would really recommend this pop-up wild campsite in Cornwall. Distant views of the sea, dog friendly, beautiful open fields and forests to play hide and seek in, lots of kids running around together and you can make campfires to toast marshmallows. We met one of the owners -James Who was lovely and very helpful and friendly. They run forest schools which I bet are great - we had to leave the day it was on. Very close to lovely dog friendly coves and other lovely beaches. Our daughter had a brilliant time running wild with all the children and foraging !
Avatar
Deb ?.
August 25, 2020
Would really recommend this pop-up wild campsite in Cornwall. Distant views of the sea, dog friendly, beautiful open fields and forests to play hide and seek in, lots of kids running around together and you can make campfires to toast marshmallows. We met James one of the owners and he was lovely and really helpful - he also runs forest schools which I bet are great - we missed the day it was on. Very close to lovely dog friendly coves and other lovely beaches. Our daughter had a great time running free and playing with all the kids. Will definitely return👍
Avatar
Dan ?.
August 20, 2020
If you perfect campsite is one that is well organised with designated pitches, lots of strict rules and home from home facilities then I guess this place isn't for you. If however you prefer to turn up and pitch where there is some good space, unwind and enjoy some wonderful views, get back to nature, have adventures, watch the stars, become part of what this place is and take things at a slower pace then you'll love it here! This place is pretty much what it says on the hand painted sign as you drive in, it's little and it's wild camping. At maximum capacity there is probably space for 10/11 tents in a well spaced out layout over a couple of small fields. The place is beautifully set up.with lots of little hedges creating magical tunnels to places like the shower or compost toilet (more on that later). The trees and bushes divide the area in a great way to allow you to pitch is an area offering more privacy or a more communal area - still not crowded and it's this part that offers the best views over the bay and some incredible sunsets. The facilities are basic, but this is wild camping. The compost toilet is fine, in my opinion, others in our party would have preferred something more conventional. Either way it's quirky and unique and kept clean and tidy by the wonderful and friendly owners. This place is so small that the vibe and atmosphere is made up by those who stay here. All very like minded yet hugely different people while we were here and it was fabulous. Everyone was so friendly and keen to share recommendations for the wonderful beaches and coves that are within easy reach. This place is perfect for kids of all ages and for those without, although if you haven't got kids and want a more peaceful stay then perhaps the smaller, further field would be recommended. The only gripe would be that not everyone adhered to the request that cars are parked along the hedge by the entrance, most did But some didn't. Other than that this place is idyllic.
Avatar
E H.
August 16, 2020
Pretty little site . The owners make the site rustic and simple ( The write up is rather dated though and some facts incorrect and the photos definitely don’t reflect how pretty and green the site is now 💚) Very easy to reflex here . Sadly we had to leave early due to ill health but plan on returning .
Avatar
Piotr B.
August 9, 2020
Good location close to beautiful beaches. Great for children. Very friendly owners. Highly recommended.
Avatar
Abigail T.recommends
August 24, 2019
Grass Pitch
We'd never done wild camping before. It was a fantastic experience. I had reservations about the compost toilet but it was fine it didn't smell it had a beautiful view across to Praa Sands even my 12 & 8 year old didn't mind. The shower was hot and was a new experience. Both the shower and toilet were kept clean, the soap did run out by the toilet and all the bins did get full. The whole experience taught me that basic essentials is all you need for a fab camping holiday, none of these electric hook ups, shower & toilet blocks. The weather was brilliant. We didn't want to leave and I would certainly go wild camping again.
Avatar
Meredith ?.
August 13, 2019
This is a place you want to tell everyone about but you also want to keep it secret. Located near lots of lovely beaches. Beautiful sunsets and most important lovely people.
Avatar
Alice W.recommends
August 11, 2019
Grass Pitch
We absolutely loved staying here, proper wild camping at its best. Stunning views of mounts bay, and stars at night. Our three year old made great friends and didn't pass out till eleven most nights! Thanks for a lovely stay and we will be back (if we can get in!)
Avatar
Alastair B.recommends
August 5, 2019
Grass Pitch
A great little site, and as I type this I am thinking I should not be, as you can all STAY AWAY this is a great retreat from the modern world, and we want it all to ourselves :) Let your children run free, let them climb trees whilst you cook an off-grid supper on the fire, do not care when your mobile runs out of battery - the night time view of the stars and Penzance at night is enough + Merlot + fire. Highly rated and ypou shall enjoy, but be prepared for minimal camping, the loo and shower are great, but this is wild camping, not plugging in and pretending. We shall be back next year, thank you James.
Avatar
Janine P.
August 19, 2018
What a fab stay in Cornwall. Proper campsite which is dark at night with amazing views of the stars and distant ships on the ocean. A peaceful field with a nearby compost loo and a shower in the shed - both very quirky. The owners James and Baya are fab and very informative about the local area. Baya also put on a clay modelling workshop which the children (and grown ups) loved. A true experience of the great outdoors and a place for the children to run free and be safe. The campsite is a great spot for exploring the nearby towns and villages and amazing coastline. Definitely recommend a visit to The Ship In, Porthleven; a traditional Cornish pub and great food. Also Kynance Cove which is breathtaking as well as Porthcurno Beach. Highly recommend. Thanks for a great holiday.
Avatar
What F.
August 12, 2018
Who would love a toilet at a campsite?! But it was so spacious and the aroma of sawdust, a cosy wooden seat, fairy lights with a view out to sea looking straight at St Michael’s Mount, I never wanted to leave. We looked out of our tent to see Praa Sands every morning, climbed the hill where you could see both coasts and regularly went to Porthleven where there are great shops, pubs & a Rick Stein with an awesome fish soup on the menu. A perfect holiday.
Avatar
Ellena ?.
August 28, 2016
What an amazing holiday we have just had. In fact we left sadly this morning, leaving other campers debating "just maybe one more day..." (2 days after they were due to leave...) as once you arrive here you simply never want to leave. The site is so simple. Two big unmanicured, wild fields abundant with wildlife, fire pits, cold water sinks to wash up, a clean and effective compost loo and the most amazing hot shower! In fact we are still marvelling how they managed to achieve the shower in a hut in a field with not an ounce of electricity and not a single rule anywhere in sight. The only disappointment on arriving was to find James and Baya are no longer holding a communal bonfire, however, James explained this was simply due to people naturally self grouping around their own firepots at night. I wasnt convinced but low and behold once the yellow warning Gales had passed we found ourselves every night gazing at the most immense stars around a communal fire pit, making the most amazing friends ever, once we had quite literally all communally dragged our children to bed, who didnt want to leave their own childrens fire pit, campsite games and old fashioned playing. The forest school days were great, we had two adult days to walk the costal path and cycle. James and Baya's wonderful simple paradise has enabled all 5 of us to laugh, relax, play, share food, learn to campfire cook and make wonderful friends. I wish I could have bottled the atmosphere! As my 8 year old techology obsessed son put it "you dont need technology or wifi to make friends" before running off to play another game of sardines....
Avatar
Ewelina ?.
August 5, 2015
I stayed in a very charming Shepherd's hut. It was very last minute arrangement and luckily for me the hut became available due to cancellation. I loved every minute spent there as the campsite facilities, the owners and their lovely children, combined with gorgeous views, made this place so special. I was made feel very welcomed and comfortable. The landlady offered some great advice about the local area. Location of the campsite is perfect for access to Praa Sands beach and lovely village of Porthleven. The walk from Rinsey to Porthleven was very beautiful and I can highly recommend it. Visit to Mousehole village is a must and cream tea at the Rock Pool cafe will complete the perfect day out! I would highly recommend staying at this campsite and will definitely come back to spend more magical time there.