Hipcamp host Edelweiss  D.,
Hosted by
Edelweiss has self-certified that Hipcamp’s COVID-19 Safety Standards have been implemented at this listing. See what’s being done here.

Situated on 3.66 acres of mostly rainforest, with a creek on the boundary. You'll enjoy the sound of birds as well as the sound of the flowing creek . You should see Ulysses butterflies as well as visits by Cassowaries. 

Located only 7.8 km from Mission Beach and 18 km to Tully. This location is quiet as well as being secluded from the road.

Pets are allowed, as

Read more...

Situated on 3.66 acres of mostly rainforest, with a creek on the boundary. You'll enjoy the sound of birds as well as the sound of the flowing creek . You should see Ulysses butterflies as well as visits by Cassowaries. 

Located only 7.8 km from Mission Beach and 18 km to Tully. This location is quiet as well as being secluded from the road.

Pets are allowed, as long as they are well behaved. If a cassowary comes through dogs will need to be restrained or put inside. There is a table inside the enclosed shared BBQ area available for use, along with a cooktop and hooded BBQ and a shared fridge/freezer. The BBQ must be left clean.

The property has a land line and wifi available as well as water and power outlets If you have any issues please contact me as I’m just a phone call away. Upon booking you will get the address the wifi password, the landline number for the property and my contact number.
Campsite area
Bring your own tents, vans and truck campers, trailers, RVs
2 sites
Up to 6 guests per site
Park at listing
Wheelchair access
Essentials
Toilet available
Pets allowed
No campfires
Amenities
Potable water available
Kitchen available
Showers available
Picnic table available
Wifi available
Bins available
Laundry present
Camping vehicle details
Electrical hookup available
Water hookup available
Sewage hookup available
TV hookup available
Generators not allowed
Pull-in site
Max length 45ft
Surface type: loose gravel
Surface levelness: flat
Have a question? Send Edelweiss a message!
  • Check in: After 2PM
  • Check out: Before 11AM
  • Cancellation policy: Strict
  • On arrival: Go straight to camp
  • Minimum nights: 1 night
  • Accepts bookings: 12 months out
  • Weeknight discount: 5% off

Activities

Offered on the Host's property or nearby.

Biking

Mission Beach is a short 7.7 km ride away with Illuka National Park along the way. There are also bike paths all the way to Nor...Read more

Boating

If you’re bringing a boat there is a board ramp at Carmoo into the Hull River. There are boat ramps at South Mission and Clump ...Read more

Hiking

There are several walks around the local area. South Mission has a walking trail at Frogs Hallow and to Kennedy. There is also ...Read more

Paddling

Paddling out front of South Mission with Kayaks for hire. You can paddle all up the coast with Beach access at Garners Beach an...Read more

Fishing
Wind sports
Swimming
Wildlife watching

Terrain

Natural features you'll find at Edelweiss’ Hideaway in Queensland.

Forest

Lucila is the closest but plenty of forest to explore in the property.

Beach
Coastal
River, stream, or...
Swimming hole

9 Reviews

This listing has no reviews yet.
If you stayed here and have some insider info for us, let us know!
Hipcamper Christine

Natural rainforest retreat

Christine M.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
October 19th, 2021

Lovely location, beautiful gardens and quiet.

Hipcamper Jasmin

Amazing scenery!

Jasmin C.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
September 17th, 2021

Just a great spot to camp! Amazing greenery surounding you and kids loved racing along the tracks. Had 1 cassowary visit in the morning. Access to a laundry and bbq/kitchen and shower/toilet. Loved it.

Hipcamper Kent

Wonderful

Kent G.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
September 2nd, 2021

Edelweiss is a beautiful spacious lawned garden with perfectly level ground.
The possibility of cassowaries crossing the grounds adds to the exotic feel alone with the birdsong.
The location is perfect for exploring Mission Beach area and walks.
There is a resident man who lives near the entrance and made us welcome and added to the feeling of security. His dog Bosch, is formidable in size but friendly.
We were able to access power and water.

Hipcamper Pattyg

Disappointed

Pattyg G.
doesn't recommend this listing.
(Dispersed site)
August 26th, 2021

We were unable to plug in to our powered site as the powerpoint was a black melted mess and even the caretaker said not to use it. So we couldn't stay as needed 15amp power to our motorhome. I requested a refund but haven't heard back in that respect possibly because she believes that the power outlet is safe but why risk the electrical system in our $70k motorhome

Hipcamper Edelweiss
Response from Edelweiss , the Host, on October 31st, 2021

Hi Patty The power point works and was checked by an electrician The Power point is old and had that burn mark when I purchased the block. I have used it myself as well as other campers. The person you asked for advise was the mower man. It is unfortunate that you didn’t ask me before vacating. I have had the power point cover replaced by an electrician so as this confusion doesn’t happen again.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Ting-I
Ting I Y.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
August 6th, 2021

Amazing spot! We had two wonderful nights there. The creek beside gives a relaxing natural music and lots of shade for camping. We also spot a juvenile cassowary in the back yard.

Hipcamper Edelweiss
Response from Edelweiss , the Host, on August 6th, 2021

So pleased you enjoyed your stay and even got to meet a cassowary. I too enjoy the relaxing sound of the water cascading from under the bridge. It is a magical spot and surrounded by rainforest and a host of birds. There is also an enormous goanna that occasionally wonders through. I miss it too but need to be in Brisbane to help my daughter who has cancer. Very pleased you found Bruce helpful and his dog friendly. Maybe I’ll get to meet you one day if you ever decide to come back for another stay.

Helpful
0
Helpful
0
Remove vote :(
Hipcamper Sheila
Sheila W.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
August 5th, 2021

We had spent two nights in Edelweiss. We are very pleased with our stay. The owner was extremely helpful. We had all the necessary support. It was easy to locate and only 10 minutes drive from Mission Beach.

Hipcamper Eliane
Eliane L.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Dispersed site)
July 24th, 2021

A beautiful propwrty set amongst the rainforest. The gardens are beautiful and it's very peaceful. The ameneties coulr have been better kept for the price and we would have appreciated clearer instructions but overall very nice little spot.

Hipcamper David

Ok, but......

David M.
has mixed feelings towards this listing.
(Dispersed site)
July 22nd, 2021

You are basically situated at the lower rear section of a property with two other residences- one is permanently occupied and the other could be for guests so do not assume you will have full privacy. Entry and exit is tight. We have a 22ft van and unfortunately did some damage trying to get out a certain way, and should have tried the other way, which is how we got out in the end. The best option for getting in and out should probably be instructed rather than each caravanner having to work it out themselves, and like me the hard way. The spot itself is nice enough, however being low and near rainforest the sunshine is relatively short and as soon there is shade the mosquitos attack! We did not use or need to use the available bbq, toilet, laundry, so for us and our experience, relative to the many other hip camps we have been on, this stay was overpriced and would expect to pay roughly half the asking price. The creek is not really a place you would hang out, it's small and guarded by mozzies!

Hipcamper Laurie
Laurie C.
recommends this listing.
(Dispersed site)
June 12th, 2021

Really nice spot, well grassed and very quiet. Love seeing the cassowary’s wandering through the property. A great chance for some photography, we had one with 2 juveniles. Water ,power and toilet available. We have a 22 foot caravan and had a problem manoeuvring it onto the site but well worth the effort.
Thanks to our host Edelweiss

Property
Edelweiss D.’s Land
State
Queensland
Country
Australia
AU$30/night
2 Sites